Working Life in Singapore V5

dokidoki
post Jan 19 2011, 01:38 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:25 PM)
even i m not PR, my current company pay me the employer contribution in cash.

can anyone convince me why should i be the singaporean PR? I wanna listen to more opinions before i decide.tq
why need people to convince you? we are not paid to do that tongue.gif

decide yourself..it's your future..

now i am considering to become sg citizen and convert my daughter and son as s'porean and my wife too..shd i do that?....(just a question to myself)
elie3173
post Jan 19 2011, 01:39 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:36 PM)
hmm.gif mind to share ?

i do knw some company who hire a lot of foreigner , do have a system to cash back the cpf for employee.  rclxms.gif
working in banking industry...

is PR being taxed cheaper than wp holder?

Added on January 19, 2011, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jan 19 2011, 01:38 PM)
why need people to convince you? we are not paid to do that tongue.gif

decide yourself..it's your future..

now i am considering to become sg citizen and convert my daughter and son as s'porean and my wife too..shd i do that?....(just a question to myself)
haha...yup...u r not paid to give advice...but u will feel good if u can help ppl xp

i just moved to singapore....still thinking about whether I should be a PR....if i have become a PR, my money will be in the CPF fund...

btw...i m single lady....still thinking what i should do to have a better future...

This post has been edited by elie3173: Jan 19 2011, 01:41 PM
SUSkl87
post Jan 19 2011, 01:45 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:39 PM)

haha...yup...u r not paid to give advice...but u will feel good if u can help ppl xp

i just moved to singapore....still thinking about whether I should be a PR....if i have become a PR, my money will be in the CPF fund...

btw...i m single lady....still thinking what i should do to have a better future...
??? i do remember if we work more than certain days in Sg, we will be taxed same rate as the citizen tongue.gif so no worry about the tax rate....

is ur company write that "cash back CPF " scheme system in the employee handbook ? coz mine dun have ....

maybe is different for different working field and company after all whistling.gif jealous ...
dokidoki
post Jan 19 2011, 01:52 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

u cant take PR until u work for at least 6 months if you taking P1 or P2 pass. i almost serve full 6 mths tongue.gif

application of PR need pay $100 which are not refundable sad.gif if fail mean say bye bye to 100~

i will wait after GE only go apply~
Lester1987
post Jan 19 2011, 01:57 PM

2,017 posts

ok then, i am a single male, then we be PR and get married asap so we can both buy a HDB flat and save on rental tongue.gif (joking).

anyway, becoming a PR is definitely yes for me, but its just a matter of time. Coz after i become PR, i can't ride my Malaysian bike to work anymore and need to buy a Singapore bike. My Malaysian bike is just 2 months old. I got it new when i move to JB in december. So i think i need to wait at least another 2-3 years before i will get another new bike.

crapp0
post Jan 19 2011, 02:01 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:57 PM)
ok then, i am a single male, then we be PR and get married asap so we can both buy a HDB flat and save on rental tongue.gif (joking).

anyway, becoming a PR is definitely yes for me, but its just a matter of time. Coz after i become PR, i can't ride my Malaysian bike to work anymore and need to buy a Singapore bike. My Malaysian bike is just 2 months old. I got it new when i move to JB in december. So i think i need to wait at least another 2-3 years before i will get another new bike.
You can sell you malaysian bike. No probs over there.
shanelai
post Jan 19 2011, 02:04 PM

MAyd@y M@ydAy!
1,820 posts

what if i currently buy a hdb flat and subsequently going back to malaysia, PR cant renew and will my hdb will be collect back by the government? or force-sell or nothing happen?
uberlebender
post Jan 19 2011, 02:32 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:57 PM)

hi again lester, so now that u use the bike, how is it? what's the time taken like? i recall u used to take public only before? and also ur work place is near the border right?
elie3173
post Jan 19 2011, 02:38 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:45 PM)
??? i do remember if we work more than certain days in Sg, we will be taxed same rate as the citizen  tongue.gif so no worry about the tax rate....

is ur company write that "cash back CPF " scheme system in the employee handbook ? coz mine dun have ....

maybe is different for different working field and company after all  whistling.gif jealous ...
it is stated in my offer letter blush.gif

Added on January 19, 2011, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jan 19 2011, 01:52 PM)
u cant take PR until u work for at least 6 months if you taking P1 or P2 pass. i almost serve full 6 mths tongue.gif

application of PR need pay $100 which are not refundable sad.gif if fail mean say bye bye to 100~

i see...

when is the GE?

This post has been edited by elie3173: Jan 19 2011, 02:39 PM
dokidoki
post Jan 19 2011, 02:44 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 19 2011, 02:38 PM)
it is stated in my offer letter  blush.gif

i see...

when is the GE?
good la...my company dont want pay cpf for me..cos they say if they pay..then alot other will ask for it too.. sweat.gif
SUSkl87
post Jan 19 2011, 03:02 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 19 2011, 02:38 PM)
it is stated in my offer letter  blush.gif

i see...

when is the GE?
i have a friend and it did stated in the employee handbook (insurance line).

thats y i in dilemma , whether i should apply for PR or should ask my company about this pratice tongue.gif

for me PR is useless , but without the PR oso can get the CPF thats my dream come true whistling.gif
Lester1987
post Jan 19 2011, 03:08 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(uberlebender @ Jan 19 2011, 02:32 PM)
hi again lester, so now that u use the bike, how is it? what's the time taken like? i recall u used to take public only before? and also ur work place is near the border right?
My house is in Taman Ehsan Jaya (16KM from Causeway) and office is in Yio Chu Kang (around 15KM from causeway)

For JB to SG in the morning, its really depends on ur luck. coz when we enter from JB-SG, there are 4 side that we can queue to pass the immigration, there is 2 side that is very fast (1 side is for BIKES). another 2 side is slow. let say if i am lucky and those ICA police didn't halau us to the other side, then i can reach office less than 1 hour from my house. But if unlucky, then it will take around 1 hour 15 mins to 1 hour 30 mins depends on traffic. yesterday i leave house at 7:30am, reach office at 8:25am. Today leave home at 7:30am, reach office around 8:20am. If u leave home at 7:30am, definitely won't be late.

For SG-JB in the evening, same thing, there is 4 side to pass the immigration, depends on luck as well. 1 side is only for Singaporean, PR and registered BIKES user only. If you travel by bike very frequent, can go and do the BIKES thing in the immigration but they are only open in office hours. same like morning, 2 side fast (1 side is BIKES), 2 side slow, if got to the slow section, will reach home around 7:15pm lo. If got the fast section, can reach around 6:50pm. I off work at 6pm.

Public transport is only testing la, last time bcoz i stay in SG ma, don't have bike, so went to my friend house in Taman Sentosa and try to travel to work with Bus, leave his house at 5:30am and reach Kranji MRT at 7am. To me, its a waste of time, better travel by bike. But my friend say he don't like the smoke smell, blah blah blah (as usual la, those people that are grown in a pampered family, sure cannot tahan this, tahan that 1). then he decided to take bus. If you ask me, i think u sleep less 1 hour a day will do more harm then inhaling those smoke for 15 mins when u are on the queue. moreover, if u went to the slow section, there will be police there to scold those people that didn't turn off their engine when they are on the queue, so most people will be eating breakfast, reading newspaper when they are queuing on the slow section and the air is very fresh (morning ma).

Overall, if u let me choose again, i will still choose to stay in JB coz last time when i stay in Sembawang, if i work at 9am, i need to leave my house at 8:10am as well. So i only need to leave home 40 mins early and i get to have my own transport, i can keep my Malaysian car in JB so i can go back KL whenever i like and don't have to squeeze with those people in MRT in the morning.
TSwashabushi
post Jan 19 2011, 03:32 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jan 19 2011, 01:52 PM)

erm...i think wrong info here...

application no need money...
you will only need to pay once your application successful...

in regards with application...
anytime u can apply...
but the chances of kena reject is almost 100%
r1v3r
post Jan 19 2011, 03:49 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 19 2011, 12:28 PM)
why? ....
save the cash money from employer and self CPF contribution. save and wait for a good time (or bargain) to buy condo. You have less restriction to rent out condo than a HDB. IMO, the hot money is pushing up the price way over its true value. Time will come, you have to time your purchase but if you don't have enough cash in hand when the opportunity jump on you then you are not in the game. People paid a few 100k less from current market price for a condo during last economy downturn.

The price of a HDB is more than enough to buy you a SG car and a landed JB house with nice garden. If you or your family are ok to drive in SG daily for work/school, why pay more for maid, SG petrol and small HDB?

Added on January 19, 2011, 3:56 pm
QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jan 19 2011, 02:44 PM)
good la...my company dont want pay cpf for me..cos they say if they pay..then alot other will ask for it too.. sweat.gif
??? why not ask other to make request together. All get extra pay!

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Jan 19 2011, 03:56 PM
SUSkl87
post Jan 19 2011, 04:01 PM

390 posts

[quote=r1v3r,Jan 19 2011, 03:49 PM]
save the cash money from employer and self CPF contribution. save and wait for a good time (or bargain) to buy condo. You have less restriction to rent out condo than a HDB. IMO, the hot money is pushing up the price way over its true value. Time will come, you have to time your purchase but if you don't have enough cash in hand when the opportunity jump on you then you are not in the game. People paid a few 100k less from current market price for a condo during last economy downturn.

The price of a HDB is more than enough to buy you a SG car and a landed JB house with nice garden. If you or your family are ok to drive in SG daily for work/school, why pay more for maid, SG petrol and small HDB?

Added on January 19, 2011, 3:56 pm

nice say , thats y if it is possible, i really dun want to apply PR and lock up my 20% cash tongue.gif
precursor80
post Jan 19 2011, 04:13 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 18 2011, 02:39 PM)
not really, when i travel back to JB daily, i see a lot of PR taking bike to work daily on Singapore bikes. I can apply PR with a Singapore residential address coz i have relative in Singapore and my official address on my workpass and also all my things in SG is on my aunty's house address. still wondering whether to apply or not. I heard that the chances of getting is quite high coz a lot of people(pinoy) in my company applied and they got it with just 6 months working in SG.
They do check immigration records to see if you are really "residing" in Singapore.
There are cases where people who go back Malaysia every weekend got their application rejected.
r1v3r
post Jan 19 2011, 04:21 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Jan 19 2011, 04:01 PM)

nice say , thats y if it is possible, i really dun want to apply PR and lock up my 20% cash  tongue.gif
if you stay in SG then you are at the mercy of rental "market". While you wait for your opportunity you have to endure the owner keep pushing for higher rent else "want to sell house", "O$P$" kind of stunt. Then move here and there after a few years until you get your condo.

Some of us want to start a family and travelling to and fro btw JB and SG is not a good idea especially when you have young children. They need a permanent place to call home so they want to "lock" the rental by buying a HDB. Once you sign the dotted line, you arrange your "rental" with the bank. My installment is lower than renting the same type of unit in my area.
casgy
post Jan 19 2011, 04:32 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 19 2011, 12:28 PM)
why? coz if u are on EP, you can't buy HDB in Singapore and got no CPF. I am still in dilemma whether or not to apply for PR since i stay in JB. I really wanted to buy a HDB flat since its a sure win investment, but I am not married and not attached. So it will take another 11 years before i can apply to buy for a HDB flat.

Plan A is if i get my PR now, i can start saving on CPF and got more money for down payment later when i reach 35 years old.

Plan B is i buy a Studio apartment in JB now (around 100k) and pay for my own house and wait till i reach 35 years old, then apply PR and sell off the studio and buy a HDB with the money i get from the studio apartment.

Plan C is to apply PR, then use this 10 years time to get my self a degree in Singapore, and plan those property things later after i get my degree (I am only on STPM and i asked b4, if i want a degree, i need to study diploma + advance diploma then degree).

So you guys think, which is better har? btw i am very satisfied with my current life earning small SGD salary but using RM daily in JB and i find the traffic is really not as bad as most people say. KL traffic is far worst than the causeway.
Dude, if not mistaken the 35-year-old single HDB ownership schme is only applicable for Singaporean.

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jan 19 2011, 02:04 PM)
what if i currently buy a hdb flat and subsequently going back to malaysia, PR cant renew and will my hdb will be collect back by the government? or force-sell or nothing happen?
I gather this info from google search.
HDB ownership depends on the PR status and if by any means you do not hold PR status you will have to relinquish the HDB ownership.
Following are the options in such scenarios -
1.) You can transfer the HDB on someone else's name (your relative or someone trustworthy).
2. You can sell the HDB in open market.
3. Worst case HDB will take back the flat either on the evaluation or Purchase price whichever is lower at that time.
4.) On the case to case basis ICA can extend you a Visa to sell off your flat for 3 months maximum and HDB will also give you grace period to maintain the ownership during that period.

uberlebender
post Jan 19 2011, 04:49 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 19 2011, 03:08 PM)
My house is in Taman Ehsan Jaya (16KM from Causeway) and office is in Yio Chu Kang (around 15KM from causeway)

For JB to SG in the morning, its really depends on ur luck. coz when we enter from JB-SG, there are 4 side that we can queue to pass the immigration, there is 2 side that is very fast (1 side is for BIKES). another 2 side is slow. let say if i am lucky and those ICA police didn't halau us to the other side, then i can reach office less than 1 hour from my house. But if unlucky, then it will take around 1 hour 15 mins to 1 hour 30 mins depends on traffic. yesterday i leave house at 7:30am, reach office at 8:25am. Today leave home at 7:30am, reach office around 8:20am. If u leave home at 7:30am, definitely won't be late.

For SG-JB in the evening, same thing, there is 4 side to pass the immigration, depends on luck as well. 1 side is only for Singaporean, PR and registered BIKES user only. If you travel by bike very frequent, can go and do the BIKES thing in the immigration but they are only open in office hours. same like morning, 2 side fast (1 side is BIKES), 2 side slow, if got to the slow section, will reach home around 7:15pm lo. If got the fast section, can reach around 6:50pm. I off work at 6pm.

Public transport is only testing la, last time bcoz i stay in SG ma, don't have bike, so went to my friend house in Taman Sentosa and try to travel to work with Bus, leave his house at 5:30am and reach Kranji MRT at 7am. To me, its a waste of time, better travel by bike. But my friend say he don't like the smoke smell, blah blah blah (as usual la, those people that are grown in a pampered family, sure cannot tahan this, tahan that 1). then he decided to take bus. If you ask me, i think u sleep less 1 hour a day will do more harm then inhaling those smoke for 15 mins when u are on the queue. moreover, if u went to the slow section, there will be police there to scold those people that didn't turn off their engine when they are on the queue, so most people will be eating breakfast, reading newspaper when they are queuing on the slow section and the air is very fresh (morning ma).

Overall, if u let me choose again, i will still choose to stay in JB coz last time when i stay in Sembawang, if i work at 9am, i need to leave my house at 8:10am as well. So i only need to leave home 40 mins early and i get to have my own transport, i can keep my Malaysian car in JB so i can go back KL whenever i like and don't have to squeeze with those people in MRT in the morning.
All this talk is starting to make me consider the bike again. the only thing stopping me is that i'm required to travel extensively and there is a problem of me bringing some equipments i might need to bring along as well and also problem of me going to the airport in singapore. sometimes it is early in the morning and it would be too risky to take the public to the airport which is so far away from the border. :-(

option, find a different job! :-)
SUSkl87
post Jan 19 2011, 04:49 PM

390 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jan 19 2011, 04:21 PM)
if you stay in SG then you are at the mercy of rental "market". While you wait for your opportunity you have to endure the owner keep pushing for higher rent else "want to sell house", "O$P$"  kind of stunt. Then move here and there after a few years until you get your condo.

Some of us want to start a family and travelling to and fro btw JB and SG is not a good idea especially when you have young children. They need a permanent place to call home so they want to "lock" the rental by buying a HDB. Once you sign the dotted line, you arrange your "rental" with the bank. My installment is lower than renting the same type of unit in my area.
i dun plan to buy any properties in sg . i only interested in MY

126 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:04 PM