Working Life in Singapore V5

dokidoki
post Dec 11 2010, 10:39 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 11 2010, 09:11 PM)
Did u guys notice why almost all Singaporeans like to park their cars with their front facing outside?
sg got limited space for parking...if u didnt park like that...u most likely will hit the car beside u~ wink.gif
dokidoki
post Dec 15 2010, 11:01 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 15 2010, 10:20 PM)
hey guys... next year how much increment do you expect to get?

for me low wage earner sad.gif earning fresh grad's pay can expect how many % ar?
it shd be around 8-12% bah~
dokidoki
post Jan 4 2011, 11:30 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(mrportable @ Jan 4 2011, 12:45 AM)
oh thanks, i'll try to find it.
there is a moneygram service near tampines central 1..just opposite the tampines branch office there..
dokidoki
post Jan 6 2011, 09:02 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 6 2011, 11:16 AM)
Maybe they have an Ops after the holidays.

When I flew into the Budget Terminal on Monday evening, all passengers from incoming flights had to go through the metal scanner and their luggage x-rayed.
isnt it normal? even take ktm if incoming all have to go thru the same thing.
dokidoki
post Jan 6 2011, 09:30 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Jan 5 2011, 11:10 PM)
haha.. never see ramly burger before.. and their maggi goreng ... so RED !! they cook with their own style perencah.
ramly burger can be found at tanjong pagar ktm but not worth to try..the standard i can only rate 3 out of 10...
dokidoki
post Jan 8 2011, 11:40 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(lavenderlover @ Jan 7 2011, 09:00 PM)
hi there,

do you think is it good to work at Singapore compare to Malaysia?

i'm thinkin to work at Sin...
stress level is 3x more compare to m'sia sad.gif
dokidoki
post Jan 8 2011, 03:35 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jan 8 2011, 01:46 PM)
You not yet kena the "expat" status.

Every morning b4 work, you and the guys have a smoke and a couple of rounds of beer b4 you start work at around 9.30-10.

Plus freeflow beer during work hours.
i dun drink nor smoke sad.gif
dokidoki
post Jan 8 2011, 07:08 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 8 2011, 05:52 PM)
for me yes, but i dont think it is the same with other companies...
when i compare to my previous job ..the stress is more..

seee...i dun come to lowyat that often from few months ago till now...then u know why cry.gif

pay is better..so have to sacrifice something.. sweat.gif
dokidoki
post Jan 11 2011, 10:18 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jan 11 2011, 07:13 PM)
I wanna get the MacBook Air 13" 128gb model by this or the next month + APP. Anyone can get discount higher than 10% smile.gif
boss...i think u can get more than 10% right? tongue.gif
dokidoki
post Jan 13 2011, 04:17 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 13 2011, 03:28 PM)
how do u spend ur weekends in singapore?
stay home or go to neighborhood shopping mall smile.gif
dokidoki
post Jan 15 2011, 10:23 AM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(danny1010 @ Jan 15 2011, 10:05 AM)
was wondering if my office is in robinson road, whats are the available residential are surrounding that area and what is rent like for an intermediate bedroom with air-con?
i m working near robinson road but stay in tampines tongue.gif
dokidoki
post Jan 15 2011, 01:13 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(danny1010 @ Jan 15 2011, 10:31 AM)
in tampines.... whats the rent like ?
600 including PUB for a common room.. top up extra 10$ for maid service which include laundry (wash and iron) also room cleaning (change bedsheet...mop floor...all included).

my place is very near mrt..just 10mins walk.. laugh.gif

dokidoki
post Jan 17 2011, 06:58 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Chihuahua @ Jan 17 2011, 05:47 PM)
Hello fellow LYNers, I have a question:
Let's say I'm looking for a room in Simei/Tampines/Pasir Ris area, is it correct to presume that I would need about SGD$1500 for the first time?

Break down:
SGD$500~600 for rental + deposit SGD$500~600 = SGD$1000~1200
Agent fees = SGD$250~300
Utilities etc. = ~SGD$50

Could this amount be lower? Or I'm actually expected to spend more?
That's a lot of money ler  cry.gif

p/s: any comments/tips/etc regarding rental/renting in SG are welcomed and appreciated icon_rolleyes.gif
ard there...agent fee normally is half of your rental as now they implement landlord pay half..u pay half..
dokidoki
post Jan 18 2011, 03:02 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 18 2011, 01:17 PM)
Frankly speaking, have we debate on the benefit of getting PR before?? I used to be very eager to apply for PR when i 1st landed on SG, but after staying here for a while, i find that getting a PR doesn't really give us a lot of benefits compare to holding a workpass. this is what i found out so far, correct me if i am wrong.

Pros :
1. cheaper education (if u plan to study)
2. easier to job hop and also last option when come to company wanna retrench people
3. can buy resale HDB when u reach 35 years old or married.
4. CPF contribution (for west Malaysian, even after we give up PR, we can only get back when we reach 55 years old).
5. easier to pass immigration (no nid queue the long queue and can use the automated lane)

Cons :

1. cannot drive Malaysian registered car or Bikes.
2. u have to start paying CPF contribution which is a freaking 20% of ur salary.
3. SG gov might force u to convert into a Singaporean after 5 years or kick u out (not sure how true is this, but i dun wanna risk).

The main reason that is holding me back from Applying for PR is because i got 2 cars and 1 bike in Malaysia and i find it a waste if i wanna sell it off coz its very new. Not only that, if we get a PR, buying a car in Singapore is super duper expensive.
not agree on Pros point #5.

new type of EP you can also use your m'sian passport to go thru the autogate like pr and s'porean smile.gif i am using it..
dokidoki
post Jan 18 2011, 11:51 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(Nokia convert @ Jan 18 2011, 07:11 PM)
How? Can I use my green EP card and passport to pass thru the checkpoint faster? My card was issued in Nov 2010.
not using the green card to insert slot but use your passport and scan it...the card need to pay 1..
dokidoki
post Jan 19 2011, 01:38 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:25 PM)
even i m not PR, my current company pay me the employer contribution in cash.

can anyone convince me why should i be the singaporean PR? I wanna listen to more opinions before i decide.tq
why need people to convince you? we are not paid to do that tongue.gif

decide yourself..it's your future..

now i am considering to become sg citizen and convert my daughter and son as s'porean and my wife too..shd i do that?....(just a question to myself)
dokidoki
post Jan 19 2011, 01:52 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 19 2011, 01:39 PM)
working in banking industry...

is PR being taxed cheaper than wp holder?

Added on January 19, 2011, 1:41 pm

haha...yup...u r not paid to give advice...but u will feel good if u can help ppl xp

i just moved to singapore....still thinking about whether I should be a PR....if i have become a PR, my money will be in the CPF fund...

btw...i m single lady....still thinking what i should do to have a better future...
u cant take PR until u work for at least 6 months if you taking P1 or P2 pass. i almost serve full 6 mths tongue.gif

application of PR need pay $100 which are not refundable sad.gif if fail mean say bye bye to 100~

i will wait after GE only go apply~
dokidoki
post Jan 19 2011, 02:44 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(elie3173 @ Jan 19 2011, 02:38 PM)
it is stated in my offer letter  blush.gif

Added on January 19, 2011, 2:39 pm

i see...

when is the GE?
good la...my company dont want pay cpf for me..cos they say if they pay..then alot other will ask for it too.. sweat.gif

0.0435sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:27 AM