Working Life in Singapore V5

stereokumonomu
post Apr 7 2011, 12:14 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 6 2011, 08:07 AM)
wat's HCL?
its and IT company based in India

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Apr 6 2011, 09:22 AM)
http://www.hcltech.com/geo-spread/singapore/

Heard they started a RnD center this year around Buono Vista area
yup, its a Mobility Lab actually,

anyone can help me, what if i were to buy a bike, and use it in singapore, should i retake the license in singapore or could i simply convert MY license to sg?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 7 2011, 12:49 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

updated list

QUOTE(darkages @ Apr 6 2011, 10:03 AM)
Quick question, if 1st round PR application has been rejected, is there a cooling period? If so, how long?

Forgot to add: How long do they take to revert after applying?
for me stated 1 year... i believe 1 year from the rejection letter date
r1v3r
post Apr 7 2011, 01:14 AM

1,305 posts

You have to prove you got your MY license before you enter SG for long term(study or work). Letter from JPJ will show your pass date, that's what they look for. So good luck if your EP or student pass start date is before your license pass date.

I have 2 wallet when driving across country, as PR have to show NIRC and Sg license while MY side is usually easier if you have a MYKad and your wallet don't have too much cash.

Added on April 7, 2011, 1:18 amIf possible just convert your license as taking driving license in SG is very costly compare to MY.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Apr 7 2011, 01:18 AM
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2011, 06:58 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Andr3w @ Apr 6 2011, 09:41 PM)
Hi Mackiddo thanks for your reply.

So in the end no matter what the MY license will be cut? Anyway to not cut the MY license because in certain state like Johor ....sometime see luck but heard of cases police don;t accept Singapore license...so if you get caught and you don't have MY license you are considered driving without license

For no 2, anyway to go around this...it is damn expensive and I believe alot of people is in this situation but not much people talk about this.....

the good thing is LTA will not follow the JPJ instruction in the letter, so they will not cut your license.

as for No 2, there is really nothing much you could do about it besides taking the lesson and test in Sg. Just a rough estimation, it would cost you around SGD2K minimum if you were an experience driver (drive regularly in Msia before) and need only 1 tried to pass the test. If you are newbie then it'll cost a bomb if you keep failing. I've colleague that failed 5X and gave up eventually tongue.gif
yeahs4.1
post Apr 7 2011, 07:24 AM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 7 2011, 12:49 AM)
updated list

for me stated 1 year... i believe 1 year from the rejection letter date
same case with me, and I quote: "We regret to inform you that your application has not been successful as you have not met the residential requirement".

what is the residential requirement? sweat.gif
mcbarney666
post Apr 7 2011, 07:43 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Apr 6 2011, 12:02 PM)

Added on April 6, 2011, 12:03 pm
McBarney666 and yeahs4.1...u both must be earning big bucks...SGD900 per room budget....can almost rent a private condo liao.....I can only envy u both.....my room rental at SGD500 is quite taxing for me already
Well, it's a good enough salary for me to consider getting such a highly priced room but I won't skimp on comfort because after all I'm going to be in Singapore for some time.

But cheaper is always king. biggrin.gif
Mackiddo
post Apr 7 2011, 08:13 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Apr 6 2011, 09:13 AM)
what? 1% a year? isnt it a little low?
haha. not really if you look at the whole picture smile.gif ..for example like increase in allowance, 40% of housing interest subsidies by company, club membership discounts .... etc etc ...

Added on April 7, 2011, 8:14 am
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Apr 7 2011, 07:24 AM)
same case with me, and I quote: "We regret to inform you that your application has not been successful as you have not met the residential requirement".

what is the residential requirement?  sweat.gif
singaporean / pr ?

Added on April 7, 2011, 8:16 am
QUOTE(stereokumonomu @ Apr 7 2011, 12:14 AM)
anyone can help me, what if i were to buy a bike, and use it in singapore, should i retake the license in singapore or could i simply convert MY license to sg?
it depends on when you obtain your license.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 7 2011, 08:24 AM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Apr 7 2011, 08:25 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Apr 7 2011, 12:49 AM)
updated list

updated... left out river... lol, more ppl?
siberfriend
post Apr 7 2011, 09:13 AM

190 posts

1. How long have you been working >5 yrs and residing in sg >2 yrs?
2. What pass are you holding? EP Which industry are you from? I.T
3. What's your highest education level obtained? Degree From which university? UK
4. Is this your first attempt of getting PR? Rejected, and will apply on May/Jun ^^

a. years working: >5 yrs
b. industry: I.T
c. increment: 50%, changed job on Nov 2010
d. bonus: dun know yet; checking with HR ^^

This post has been edited by siberfriend: Apr 7 2011, 09:14 AM
precursor80
post Apr 7 2011, 10:11 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Apr 7 2011, 06:58 AM)
the good thing is LTA will not follow the JPJ instruction in the letter, so they will not cut your license.

as for No 2, there is really nothing much you could do about it besides taking the lesson and test in Sg. Just a rough estimation, it would cost you around SGD2K minimum if you were an experience driver (drive regularly in Msia before) and need only 1 tried to pass the test. If you are newbie then it'll cost a bomb if you keep failing. I've colleague that failed 5X and gave up eventually  tongue.gif
I heard LTA also convert your license even if the letter is for converting license for US so just tell JPJ is for US or some other countries.
darkages
post Apr 7 2011, 10:32 AM

Jam Bumi
4,206 posts

Topic coming to 2.5k post. Could someone be kind and detail enough to include all critical information of this version to a new one soon.
Lester1987
post Apr 7 2011, 10:39 AM

2,017 posts

lets say after we get the letter from JPJ, how much we need to pay to sit for the theory test and also to get the SG license.
crapp0
post Apr 7 2011, 10:44 AM

4,414 posts

Who knows. Its the governments OSA to keep foreigners from knowing the exact criteria they need to meet since if they did know it, alot of people would just follow the guidelines and get PR's easily.
ahteok
post Apr 7 2011, 10:46 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 7 2011, 10:39 AM)
lets say after we get the letter from JPJ, how much we need to pay to sit for the theory test and also to get the SG license.
about S$6++ for the test and S$50 for the license.. smile.gif
r1v3r
post Apr 7 2011, 10:49 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Apr 7 2011, 10:11 AM)
I heard LTA also convert your license even if the letter is for converting license for US so just tell JPJ is for US or some other countries.
that's why I said they only look for your MY license start date, the rest not so improtant.

L7Awesome
post Apr 7 2011, 10:52 AM

418 posts

QUOTE(Andr3w @ Apr 6 2011, 09:41 PM)
I think gotta write more how you have contributed to Singapore...like achievement part you can put charity or what you have done to work place because last time I was based in govertment school so easier to say what you have done ..

When I went to apply 2nd time, it was very little people at ICA office compared to first time ..so don;t know is it because of that

Also the difference from 1st time and 2nd time was I stayed in SG during the time fo 2nd application while first I was staying at JB

Hope those helps  thumbup.gif
Meaning that staying in JB vs SG might play a big part of the decision making process eh?
r1v3r
post Apr 7 2011, 11:30 AM

1,305 posts

The number of days you stay in SG is less than their limit but I can't remember the exact number. Once I does not meet the requirement for a few year, ICA renewed my permit for another 3 years instead of 5 or 10 years.

Added on April 7, 2011, 11:33 am
QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Apr 7 2011, 10:52 AM)
Meaning that staying in JB vs SG might play a big part of the decision making process eh?
Most PR from other country also have their "stay-in" requirement, including the US green card.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: Apr 7 2011, 11:33 AM
Semper Fi
post Apr 7 2011, 11:41 AM

58 posts

Hi everyone,

I jz got myself a job offer via recruitment agency.Many ppl said itz not gd to get da offer via recruitment agency, do u agree? M i fallen into a trap? sad.gif
And also, they r applyin S pass for me only. Is dat gd enuff? The salary they offerin is more than SGD2000.
Afta rounds of negotiation wiv them, they agree to let me get my EP approved oni i tender.Cos i dun thnk itz fair for me to tender right away w/o gettin my stuff ready. Agreed?
My employer wil send me da appointment letter via email, and i wil hvta sign n fax it bck. Dat sounds weird, isnt it? unsure.gif Cos normali v wil hvta go over thr n sign it n read da t&c.
I was told dat i can oso go over thr n sign it or wait til da medical chck up oni i go over.
M abit lost here... unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif N da whole thing happened too soon! N very sudden!
I got oni abt a mth to get a room thr! icon_question.gif
Pls shed sum light on my case here.Thnx! notworthy.gif
Any feedbck wil be much appreciated! notworthy.gif
Lester1987
post Apr 7 2011, 12:33 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(ahteok @ Apr 7 2011, 10:46 AM)
about S$6++ for the test and S$50 for the license.. smile.gif
ur S$6++ refer to S$600+ or S$6.00+?
tailtwist
post Apr 7 2011, 01:34 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Apr 7 2011, 12:33 PM)
ur S$6++ refer to S$600+ or S$6.00+?
its SGD6.00 for the basic undang-undang computer based test and SGD50 for the driving license....which doesnt have an expiry date, if you're a PR/Citizen

126 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0297sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:23 AM