Did u guys notice why almost all Singaporeans like to park their cars with their front facing outside?
Working Life in Singapore V5
Dec 11 2010, 09:11 PM
1,695 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Did u guys notice why almost all Singaporeans like to park their cars with their front facing outside?
Dec 11 2010, 09:46 PM
804 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 11 2010, 02:38 PM) Oh, so your a kpp. I thought your one of those engineers who is always onsite. I guess nowadays they use contractors as their eyes and ears. Whats a kpp? QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 11 2010, 09:11 PM) Did u guys notice why almost all Singaporeans like to park their cars with their front facing outside? Haha true! My friend does that also. They all like to reverse parking. I think partly because the parking spaces are so small that reverse parking is the best way to angle the car in. |
Dec 11 2010, 10:12 PM
6,624 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: singapore & ipoh |
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 11 2010, 09:11 PM) Did u guys notice why almost all Singaporeans like to park their cars with their front facing outside? That's how they are taught at driving schools. |
Dec 11 2010, 10:39 PM
4,630 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: PJ somewhere~ |
Dec 11 2010, 10:55 PM
4,283 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Vietnam |
parking space too tight for frontal parking... hard to go in and out... with head out, it is easier...
Dec 12 2010, 12:02 AM
1,695 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(dokidoki @ Dec 11 2010, 10:39 PM) sg got limited space for parking...if u didnt park like that...u most likely will hit the car beside u~ I dont believe in this.I believe like what did seantang said, they are taught in this way... Dont u notice many singaporeans lack of driving skills compare to Malaysians??? |
Dec 12 2010, 12:17 AM
1,616 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 12 2010, 12:02 AM) I dont believe in this. True la. SG no Rempit and Less Bengs. I believe like what did seantang said, they are taught in this way... Dont u notice many singaporeans lack of driving skills compare to Malaysians??? Anyway, I tot frontal parking need some skills aldou it looks easy but front facing outside is more convenient but many ppl dont like it because they thought reverse parking is harder. |
Dec 12 2010, 12:49 AM
804 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Dec 12 2010, 12:17 AM) True la. SG no Rempit and Less Bengs. I second that. I drove here before and the parking lots are so small with parking so cramped that I had to reverse park, otherwise difficult to enter and exit the lots.Anyway, I tot frontal parking need some skills aldou it looks easy but front facing outside is more convenient but many ppl dont like it because they thought reverse parking is harder. |
Dec 12 2010, 01:17 AM
An interesting observation from expatsingapore.com about the prevalence of reverse parking here
QUOTE Whatever the real reason, it certainly fits into the Singaporeans' mindset. If you reverse in you can make everyone wait for you while you complete the maneuver. If you reverse out, you're pretty much forced to give way to all the people whizzing by. Pretty obvious why the reverse in method predominates here. Added on December 12, 2010, 1:21 am QUOTE(reign226 @ Dec 12 2010, 12:49 AM) I second that. I drove here before and the parking lots are so small with parking so cramped that I had to reverse park, otherwise difficult to enter and exit the lots. Some parking lots, I have to agree. For most though, not really.If you notice, Singaporeans will typically swing the nose of the car into the opposite lane - making the angle less acute - and then reverse in. On the other hand, if you just swerve wide near the center line or a bit into the opposite lane before turning opposite full lock, it's entirely possible to drive straight into the average Singaporean parking lot. This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 12 2010, 01:23 AM |
Dec 12 2010, 07:33 AM
1,678 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
and also help u saves couple dollar of gas per year by "reverse parking"
Dec 12 2010, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 12 2010, 07:33 AM) and also help u saves couple dollar of gas per year by "reverse parking" How is that? |
Dec 12 2010, 11:38 AM
4,414 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Dec 12 2010, 12:02 AM) I dont believe in this. Isnt reverse parking tougher? If thats the case, why should singaporeans driving be worse off then malaysians. Plus their driving test are much more stringent and no lesen kopi as well.I believe like what did seantang said, they are taught in this way... Dont u notice many singaporeans lack of driving skills compare to Malaysians??? |
Dec 12 2010, 12:27 PM
484 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 12 2010, 11:38 AM) Isnt reverse parking tougher? If thats the case, why should singaporeans driving be worse off then malaysians. Plus their driving test are much more stringent and no lesen kopi as well. u guys are really free eh?anyway, anyone can recomend some sites/methods to watch hk dramas in SG? |
Dec 12 2010, 12:33 PM
1,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Some place where miracle happen.. |
u mean online streaming?
Dec 12 2010, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 12 2010, 11:32 AM) oh...found an article... http://www.articlealley.com/article_610258_31.html Added on December 12, 2010, 12:50 pmi think malaysian driver are more skilled thanks to our road condition(ex minister samy velly) and we are also trained by ourself to be street smart to avoid those ah bengs n rempits racing on the road This post has been edited by washabushi: Dec 12 2010, 12:50 PM |
Dec 12 2010, 02:19 PM
4,206 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang USJ |
Not sure about you guys but for one reason I tend to opt for 'nose in first' and then steer the wheel to either most left or right in the parking lot is to make it slightly more difficult for thieves to drive off.
Dec 12 2010, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(darkages @ Dec 12 2010, 02:19 PM) Not sure about you guys but for one reason I tend to opt for 'nose in first' and then steer the wheel to either most left or right in the parking lot is to make it slightly more difficult for thieves to drive off. those without car knowledge can never steal any my car...even can maybe he/she cant reach the destination safely...muahaha |
Dec 12 2010, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 12 2010, 12:39 PM) I'm not quite convinced.Firstly, there is no difference in fuel consumption whether you're reversing or going forward. It's all about engine rpm and throttle. True, of course you go faster driving forward and therefore warm up the engine faster... but how much longer does it take to reverse a car out of a parking lot? 15 seconds? Definitely not long or far enough enough to make any difference to warming up. Secondly, in the tropics, the only time there is a engine fluid temperature difference that is significant enough to cause changes in fuel consumption is during the first start in the morning. After that, the temperature difference (as it relates to fuel consumption) is really not significant for the rest of day. Added on December 12, 2010, 3:02 pm QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 12 2010, 02:24 PM) those without car knowledge can never steal any my car... I hid a main circuit breaker switch between the battery and the ECU. Works well if I park my car overnight. They can't move the car unless they use a tow truck. I also had a circuit breaker switch between the battery and the fuel pump, like the type they use in race cars in case of fires.even can maybe he/she cant reach the destination safely...muahaha Then I have a circuit breaker switch hidden in the cabin between the ignition and the starter motor. I use that when I'm parking normally. If you like, you can also pull fuses out of the fuse box to disable the car. This post has been edited by seantang: Dec 12 2010, 03:03 PM |
Dec 12 2010, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Dec 12 2010, 02:56 PM) I'm not quite convinced. hmm...not sure thoughFirstly, there is no difference in fuel consumption whether you're reversing or going forward. It's all about engine rpm and throttle. True, of course you go faster driving forward and therefore warm up the engine faster... but how much longer does it take to reverse a car out of a parking lot? 15 seconds? Definitely not long or far enough enough to make any difference to warming up. Secondly, in the tropics, the only time there is a engine fluid temperature difference that is significant enough to cause changes in fuel consumption is during the first start in the morning. After that, the temperature difference (as it relates to fuel consumption) is really not significant for the rest of day. Added on December 12, 2010, 3:02 pmI hid a main circuit breaker switch between the battery and the ECU. Works well if I park my car overnight. They can't move the car unless they use a tow truck. I also had a circuit breaker switch between the battery and the fuel pump, like the type they use in race cars in case of fires. Then I have a circuit breaker switch hidden in the cabin between the ignition and the starter motor. I use that when I'm parking normally. If you like, you can also pull fuses out of the fuse box to disable the car. wahahaha...the thief must be frustrated to troubleshoot how to get the car working...lol btw...u DIY? |
Dec 12 2010, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(washabushi @ Dec 12 2010, 03:12 PM) wahahaha...the thief must be frustrated to troubleshoot how to get the car working...lol My personal wireman did it (my cousin).btw...u DIY? |
| Change to: | 0.0278sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:10 PM |