125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Official Nikon Discussion thread V1, All under one roof !

TSKTCY
post Nov 17 2010, 11:10 PM, updated 16y ago

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

As per poll results, this is the new house for all NIKON discussion.

This post has been edited by KTCY: Nov 18 2010, 12:34 AM
TSKTCY
post Nov 17 2010, 11:11 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Ken Rockwell facts !

Ken Rockwell is the Chuck Norris of photography

Ken Rockwell's camera has similar settings to ours, except his are: P[erfect] Av[Awesome Priority Tv[Totally Awesome Priority] M[ajestic]

Ken Rockwell doesn't color correct. He adjusts your world to match his.

Sure, Ken Rockwell deletes a bad photo or two. Other people call these Pulitzers.

Ken Rockwell doesn't adjust his DOF, he changes space-time.

Circle of confusion? You might be confused. Ken Rockwell never is.

Ken Rockwell doesn't wait for the light when he shoots a landscape - the light waits for him.

Ken Rockwell never flips his camera in portrait position, he flips the earth

Ken Rockwell ordered an L-lens from Nikon, and got one.

Ken Rockwell is the only person to have photographed Jesus; unfortunately he ran out of film and had to use a piece of cloth instead.

When Ken Rockwell brackets a shot, the three versions of the photo win first place in three different categories

Before Nikon or Canon releases a camera they go to Ken and they ask him to test them, the best cameras get a Nikon sticker and the less good get a Canon sticker

Once Ken tested a camera, he said I cant even put Canon on this one,thats how Pentax was born

Rockwellian policy isn't doublethink - Ken doesn't even need to think once

Ken Rockwell doesn't use flash ever since the Nagasaki incident.

Only Ken Rockwell can take pictures of Ken Rockwell; everyone else would just get their film overexposed by the light of his genius

Ken Rockwell wanted something to distract the lesser photographers, and lo, there were ducks.

Ken Rockwell is the only one who can take self-portraits of you

Ken Rockwell's nudes were fully clothed at the time of exposure

Ken Rockwell once designed a zoom lens. You know it as the Hubble SpaceTelescope.

When Ken unpacks his CF card, it already has masterpieces on it.

Rockwell portraits are so lifelike, they have to pay taxes

On Ken Rockwell's desktop, the Trash Icon is really a link to National Geographic Magazine

Ken Rockwell spells point-and-shoot "h-a-s-s-e-l-b-l-a-d"

When Ken Rockwell went digital, National Geographic nearly went out of business because he was no longer phyically discarding photos

For every 10 shots that Ken Rockwell takes, 11 are keepers.

Ken Rockwell's digital files consist of 0's, 1's AND 2's.

Ken Rockwell never focus, everything moves into his DoF

Ken Rockwell's shots are so perfect, Adobe redesigned photoshop for him: all it consists of is a close button.

The term tripod was coined after his silhouette

Ken Rockwell never produces awful work, only work too advanced for the viewer

A certain braind of hig-end cameras was named after people noticed the quality was a lot "like a" rockwell

Ken Rockwell isn't the Chuck Norris of photography; Chuck Norris is the Ken Rockwell of martial arts.

Ken Rockwell never starts, he continues

This post has been edited by KTCY: Nov 18 2010, 10:03 AM
TSKTCY
post Nov 17 2010, 11:11 PM

BumbleBee™
12,505 posts

Buying second hand items guidance for noob tongue.gif

QUOTE(ezrasang @ Dec 1 2010, 10:06 AM)
Nobody answer? Nevermind, I will use my experiences and tell you. So if anyone would like to add further details or do some corrections, please do so  laugh.gif

Firstly, check the outlook for both Body and Lens, if you're happy with it, then proceed to the next stepsssss.  cool2.gif

For the Body:
1. check the Shutter Count, the lower the SC, the better it is, just like a car's milage. Google has a clearer explanation.
2. if the Body has motor and top LCD, make sure they both work well, it's sux if the motor doesn't work, it's sux if the top LCD can't light up.
3. test the Body with various memory cards, you don't want to have error while shooting, don't you? (sometimes it's the memory card that give trouble)
4. test Continuous shoot, will the shutter jam?  rclxub.gif
5. basically you'll have to test everything, every single functions and settings of the body, like ISO, pop-up flash, the condition of hot shoe, the buttons etc etc

As for the lens:
1. it's important that the rubber is still firm.
2. make sure it works on more than ONE Bodies.
3. play with aperture, the zoom if it has, play with it like a toy.
4. if the lens got dust and fungus inside, you can send it for cleaning.
5. if the contact points are dirty, gently use eraser to clean it.
6. if the lens is AF-S, make sure the motor inside is silent while auto focusing, no loud squeaky sound.

what else?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

Remember, these are based on my personal experiences, correct me if I'm wrong  notworthy.gif
This post has been edited by KTCY: Dec 1 2010, 10:14 AM
geekster129
post Nov 17 2010, 11:15 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

Congratulations on the new Nikon thread. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by geekster129: Nov 17 2010, 11:19 PM
razuryza
post Nov 17 2010, 11:19 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

wah? its happening la..
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 17 2010, 11:24 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

yeah, we're living in a democracy so majority rules. Good work on the merging!
Faint

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Nov 17 2010, 11:19 PM)
wah? its happening la..
As the result of poll, Nikon threads are merged into one.
edwardgsk

I believe I can fly
2,966 posts

New legend begins. laugh.gif

Added on November 17, 2010, 11:25 pmProsumer thread and D7000 not yet close sweat.gif

This post has been edited by edwardgsk: Nov 17 2010, 11:25 PM
General_Nic
post Nov 17 2010, 11:26 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

A new empire of d dark force replacing d old republic system biggrin.gif

Added on November 17, 2010, 11:27 pm
QUOTE(edwardgsk @ Nov 17 2010, 11:24 PM)
New legend begins. laugh.gif

Added on November 17, 2010, 11:25 pmProsumer thread and D7000 not yet close sweat.gif
Ts mia nw, nt so fast close bah laugh.gif

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Nov 17 2010, 11:27 PM
zellleonhart
post Nov 17 2010, 11:30 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

Checking in the official nikon thread =D

BTW Nic, I think I will attend the KL International motorshow on 3rd Dec... Are you going? Long time didn't shoot, time to catch up =D
Faint
post Nov 17 2010, 11:32 PM

Moving forward :)
2,474 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 17 2010, 11:30 PM)

BTW Nic, I think I will attend the KL International motorshow on 3rd Dec... Are you going? Long time didn't shoot, time to catch up =D
Where can I get ticket ? I'm from Ipoh.
radi0head
post Nov 17 2010, 11:35 PM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

okie... now all nikon threads are all in one... sure to move fast! rolleyes.gif

wink.gif

General_Nic
post Nov 17 2010, 11:37 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 17 2010, 11:30 PM)

Wah, 1st day u going d?
Im going on either 11 or 12, cos my fren back in kl on 10
Maybe i'll go on 3rd oso, will inform u tongue.gif

QUOTE(Faint @ Nov 17 2010, 11:32 PM)
Where can I get ticket ? I'm from Ipoh.
Tickets buy on d spot smile.gif
lpyycy
post Nov 17 2010, 11:37 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(lpyycy @ Nov 17 2010, 11:13 PM)
Yes, personally i prefer 35mm too...
Thx a lot for the ans  smile.gif
35mm f/2d is an old lense, is it hardly find it in the camera shop just like 18-200 VR1? price to be announced for 35mm f/1.4, after visit some foreign website, the price is totally out of my budget >.<
Thx for the info...i am surveying to get between D90 and D7000...but the more i survey, the more i get poisoned  sad.gif
D7000 has been improve overall compare to D90, do you think the diff of $ worth for D7000? shooting is just my hobby and not my job.
my concern will be more on the camera capability in coming few years time than the value of $.
Eventhough i think this is not appropriate thread to ask here, but thr are some D90 users here, can advise little bit? thx thx  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 17 2010, 11:28 PM)
I think the extra RM1.2k is quite worth it. Honestly, the D7000 brings the mid-range level to a whole new level. It has the features of a D300 but packed in a mid-range body which is priced somewhere in between the mid-range and semi-pro.
Seems the thread closing, then i have repost here..
Need more advise... thx tongue.gif
BenSow
post Nov 17 2010, 11:39 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Hellooo Nikon thread~~ but im not a brand-ist biggrin.gif

damn.. i still have questions frm the old thread unsolved...
Mikeshashimi
post Nov 17 2010, 11:40 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Nov 17 2010, 11:39 PM)
Hellooo Nikon thread~~ but im not a brand-ist biggrin.gif

damn.. i still have questions frm the old thread unsolved...
you can ask again, and now that all 3 nikon threads are in ONE thread, MORE people will see and hence, answer ur question. rclxms.gif
zellleonhart
post Nov 17 2010, 11:40 PM

Stars stars stars
5,075 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Nov 17 2010, 11:37 PM)
Wah, 1st day u going d?
Im going on either 11 or 12, cos my fren back in kl on 10
Maybe i'll go on 3rd oso, will inform u  tongue.gif
Tickets buy on d spot  smile.gif
doh.gif didn't research, I thought only 1 day at PWTC @@
Oh it's from 3-12 DEC la... Then I think maybe not 3rd already, cuz my final until 2nd, quite rush XD
geekster129
post Nov 17 2010, 11:42 PM

Janitor
1,180 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Nov 17 2010, 11:40 PM)
you can ask again, and now that all 3 nikon threads are in ONE thread, MORE people will see and hence, answer ur question.  rclxms.gif
The discussion is getting more interesting. thumbup.gif
celciuz
post Nov 17 2010, 11:42 PM

14,033 posts

Woah, new thread for Nikon users all under one roof biggrin.gif.
BenSow
post Nov 17 2010, 11:44 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

ok.. @Vampyr3
which method u use for this photo? reverse lens? macro lens?

2- Regarding shashinki.com's product with (import) behind the model name
"Means it is not local unit by Futuromic. Parallel import in, if got problem you need to send back to your seller."
Then why "import" model cheaper?

Does D3100 video mode support manual focus?

Thanks icon_idea.gif

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:07 AM