125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Canon EOS thread V31, The White Knights

ADVedder
post Nov 6 2010, 01:06 PM

122 posts

hi guys, is Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 a good buy to replace the kit lens?
goldfries
post Nov 6 2010, 01:07 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if that's the range you like then "YES".
ADVedder
post Nov 6 2010, 01:12 PM

122 posts

yea, cos im not into the zooming on distant object kinda person.. anybody here uses it? wanna know their experience using it.. beside than read review on the net..
xLegato
post Nov 6 2010, 01:13 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 6 2010, 12:22 PM)
Anyone can explain to me.. what is the flower hood that people usually use infront of the lense for? what is the purpose for it? I've seen the 85mm 1.2 ii used it alot..
The 85mm f/1.2L doesn't use a petal hood.
ComradeZ
post Nov 6 2010, 01:41 PM

Feelwayoveryourhead
1,460 posts

QUOTE(xLegato @ Nov 6 2010, 01:13 PM)
The 85mm f/1.2L doesn't use a petal hood.
yea ... not really petal hood... more like a cilinder kinda thing.. seen in youtube 1 of my fav photographer
pengster
post Nov 6 2010, 02:14 PM

eVoWeiâ„¢
7,757 posts

QUOTE(xLegato @ Nov 6 2010, 03:06 AM)
Oh that's nice! 1.6k is a pretty good price. I think I'll drop by his shop soon and check it out.

Yeah I have the 50L but the Sigma's also something I've looked into for a long time. Always thought it was very sharp and good. The only concern I really had was a bad copy and the crinkle paint. I just happened to chance upon a 50L at a reasonable price sooner than I got a Sigma. brows.gif

Now that they've fixed the paint I might just get one too. laugh.gif
Haha yeah for a grey set it's not bad. Cheapest local set I could find was from DY Divine, and it was RM2080 if I'm not mistaken.

So far the Sigmalux seems to be performing pretty well, needs a little bit of MA though. It's on +3 currently. Needs more testing though biggrin.gif
Redcross
post Nov 6 2010, 02:30 PM

1,680 posts

Sigmalux it is Sharp, that day KLPF i play play also i poison to get one~ so does the 85mm 1.4 drool.gif
xLegato
post Nov 6 2010, 03:14 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Nov 6 2010, 02:14 PM)
Haha yeah for a grey set it's not bad. Cheapest local set I could find was from DY Divine, and it was RM2080 if I'm not mistaken.

So far the Sigmalux seems to be performing pretty well, needs a little bit of MA though. It's on +3 currently. Needs more testing though biggrin.gif
+3 is good. My 50L is on -20. laugh.gif I thought it didn't need any microadjustment (from normal shooting), but then I did a proper test and I saw how terribly frontfocused it was. laugh.gif
pengster
post Nov 6 2010, 05:08 PM

eVoWeiâ„¢
7,757 posts

QUOTE(xLegato @ Nov 6 2010, 03:14 PM)
+3 is good. My 50L is on -20. laugh.gif I thought it didn't need any microadjustment (from normal shooting), but then I did a proper test and I saw how terribly frontfocused it was. laugh.gif
Whoa -20? I think you better send it to Canon for calibration laugh.gif

My +3 adjustment is based on taking pics of objects near and far. Haven't tested it on a focus chart yet laugh.gif
ckdenion
post Nov 6 2010, 05:57 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(ADVedder @ Nov 6 2010, 01:06 PM)
hi guys, is Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 a good buy to replace the kit lens?
YEA!
im getting it soon!
waiting for ready stock!
d 2.8 is a slight advantage to d kit lens n is also constant aperture lens...
zoom wise almost same range as kit lens...shorter by 5mm (5mm x 1.6 in crop) lo
but 1mm wider
if budget allow then go for tammy...if got higher budget then consider better lens at d same zoom range =)

Added on November 6, 2010, 6:16 pmmy fren got 85mm 1.8, 16-35 2.8L n one duno wad lens..
using 5dmkII
rich kid but skill wise in photography still nt as good yet...
but gears are really shocking.gif
with no photography knowledge...suddenly pop out all these items...
but dis fren of mine always giv me surprises...thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ckdenion: Nov 6 2010, 06:16 PM
ComradeZ
post Nov 6 2010, 06:24 PM

Feelwayoveryourhead
1,460 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Nov 6 2010, 05:57 PM)
my fren got 85mm 1.8, 16-35 2.8L n one duno wad lens..
using 5dmkII
rich kid but skill wise in photography still nt as good yet...
but gears are really shocking.gif
with no photography knowledge...suddenly pop out all these items...
but dis fren of mine always giv me surprises...thumbup.gif
then can borrow those kind of lense and play2 edi
ckdenion
post Nov 6 2010, 06:30 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

he isnt in KL
T_T
he like buy d lenses for fun only...
i really shocking.gif
rich ppl really different...we buy mostly on our own requirement n budget
but my fren case is tat lens nice...buy...i wonder when he will spend a few 10Ks to buy those world expensive camera...
btw he mostly use it for pns like tat...
ComradeZ
post Nov 6 2010, 06:37 PM

Feelwayoveryourhead
1,460 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Nov 6 2010, 06:30 PM)
he isnt in KL
T_T
he like buy d lenses for fun only...
i really shocking.gif
rich ppl really different...we buy mostly on our own requirement n budget
but my fren case is tat lens nice...buy...i wonder when he will spend a few 10Ks to buy those world expensive camera...
btw he mostly use it for pns like tat...
hahaha lucky for him to be born in richness then again it is a shame that he doesn't have the skill yet.... but skill can be develop trough years of experience... who knows maybe he can be a wedding photographer for his own career?

but I've seen so many people who is in poverty ended up to be millionaire in the future~ we can't predict time... but time always ticking while we wasting it... so instead of sighing over some rich kid have a big stuff.. why not you make them suprise while watching your picture? I used to have that kind of feeling le... my sifu got like a collection of cameras... he give his student to feel it tongue.gif the thing that caught my eyes were the very first slr canon... that he showed me... was so mesmerize by it... later i found myself snapping picture non stop lol~

my first were nikon slr forgot what brand... my dad misplaced it... never seen it again sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ComradeZ: Nov 6 2010, 06:42 PM
ckdenion
post Nov 6 2010, 07:21 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Nov 6 2010, 06:37 PM)
hahaha lucky for him to be born in richness then again it is a shame that he doesn't have the skill yet.... but skill can be develop trough years of experience... who knows maybe he can be a wedding photographer for his own career?

but I've seen so many people who is in poverty ended up to be millionaire in the future~ we can't predict time... but time always ticking while we wasting it... so instead of sighing over some rich kid have a big stuff.. why not you make them suprise while watching your picture? I used to have that kind of feeling le... my sifu got like a collection of cameras... he give his student to feel it  tongue.gif the thing that caught my eyes were the very first slr canon... that he showed me... was so mesmerize by it... later i found myself snapping picture non stop lol~

my first were nikon slr forgot what brand... my dad misplaced it... never seen it again  sweat.gif
yea...skill can be improved through practices...
d main reason my fren bought it is bcz of much travelling la...n he like spending
so another hobby for him to spend
whistling.gif
no doubt everyone is still in d learning n self-improving process no matter what gear an individual has
nod.gif
faizzi007
post Nov 6 2010, 07:34 PM

189 posts

walao...
U guys talkiing bout buying lens Im so jealous laaa...
I oni able to save RM200 a month (max)
But I'll have to go on diet if I do likewise (which I probably won't)..
Im currently funding for a Flash gun with capability to bounce and swivel..
Cheapest is around RM400 like that (Got cheaper price?)..
But I'll only managed to save enough at least 3 weeks moree (at least*)
ComradeZ
post Nov 6 2010, 07:41 PM

Feelwayoveryourhead
1,460 posts

QUOTE(faizzi007 @ Nov 6 2010, 07:34 PM)
walao...
got yn460 = rm200 and yn465 = rm270
xk2
post Nov 6 2010, 07:45 PM

Temporary OFF
2,910 posts

QUOTE(faizzi007 @ Nov 6 2010, 07:34 PM)
walao...
Saving RM200 per month consider very good oredi lo bro ~
i assume u are talking Nissin Di622 for the RM400 biggrin.gif Of course there are still quite a number of cheaper flash gun that can bounce and swiwel , Yang Nuo is one of them biggrin.gif
ckdenion
post Nov 6 2010, 07:53 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

bounce n swivel?
wad do u mean by swivel?
isit like wad d nissin di622 can do?
means can adjust d angle of d flash?
my fren say nissin di622 obseleting...replaced by di622 mkII
faizzi007
post Nov 6 2010, 07:57 PM

189 posts

Yang Nuo good or not?
Got dealer @LYN who can offer me that RM200 bounce and swivel capability flash?

BTW, really? Nissin replacing Di622?
-kytz-
post Nov 6 2010, 07:58 PM

12,573 posts

Nissin Di622 Mk 2 is already out~ RM555~ tongue.gif

125 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0281sec    2.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled