Canon EOS thread V31, The White Knights

lilbluryou
post Nov 16 2010, 11:04 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(wha7ever @ Nov 16 2010, 11:02 PM)
The problem is 58mm. Buying something like CPL or ND filter, you got to make it usable on all lenses with different thread.

If you get one 77mm CPL, you can get one set of step up right and it will be usable for all range of lenses (with different thread size).
But for a 58mm CPL, not much lenses can utilize it (especially those with above 58mm filter thread). Hence, I say it's not a very good investment.

However, if you are very sure that you gonna stick with the 18-55 for very long time, then it's pretty much justified.
Totally agree with u!
DecaPix
post Nov 16 2010, 11:10 PM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

another thing is the 18-55 rotates during AF so you need to keep twisting the CPL to get the effect you want after AF confirmed
ckdenion
post Nov 16 2010, 11:11 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

wow...nvr try CPL filter b4...
seems like vry fun
fruitie
post Nov 16 2010, 11:13 PM

Rise and Shine
72,832 posts

Anybody tried the cheapo 30mm f/2.0 before? Or the 28mm? Something like that right? hmm.gif

Can't afford Siggy 30mm f/1.4 or Sigmalux 50mm f/1.4 la. sad.gif
ckdenion
post Nov 16 2010, 11:15 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

fruitie..got such stuff? shocking.gif
nvr heard b4 leh...cheapo as in how muc?
tongue.gif
Hwoarang45
post Nov 16 2010, 11:20 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

im interested in prime 28mm ,as cheap as possible, saving for it now... maybe a canon 28mm f1.8 or 2.8.... hope price will drop next year...
-kytz-
post Nov 16 2010, 11:22 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Hwoarang45 @ Nov 16 2010, 11:20 PM)
im interested in prime 28mm ,as cheap as possible, saving for it now... maybe a canon 28mm f1.8 or 2.8.... hope price will drop next year...
Grab Sigma 30 f/1.4 laa drool.gif
SUSFeeD
post Nov 16 2010, 11:23 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Jvn11 @ Nov 16 2010, 10:27 PM)
I also have something similar. A tower shot. =D

tower..not so sharp thou

This post has been edited by fruitie: Nov 17 2010, 11:37 AM
Hwoarang45
post Nov 16 2010, 11:31 PM

Hardcore Gamer
1,848 posts

siggy? 30mm? apa harga, the thing is i want a wide angle with larger apertures for at-least some bokeh, i check i see 28mm f2.8 canon also need 1.6k ahh ,,,,sakit.....

anyone in ipoh got plenty of prime lens kasi me test test through my nifty fithy to poison me ? hahaa
lilbluryou
post Nov 17 2010, 12:09 AM

54 posts

This should give u more info on the CLP

Take a look at this link: http://www.zen20934.zen.co.uk/photog...FilterData.htm

azrinarizz
post Nov 17 2010, 12:10 AM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

Just reached home from HK. Here is one from my trip laugh.gif
Hong Kong Island taken from Avenue of Stars smile.gif

lilbluryou
post Nov 17 2010, 12:23 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(azrinarizz @ Nov 17 2010, 12:10 AM)
Just reached home from HK. Here is one from my tripĀ  laugh.gif
Hong Kong Island taken from Avenue of StarsĀ  smile.gif

Nice picture..but I feel that the left hand side of the pic is a little over expose..the lights seem too bright

saru88
post Nov 17 2010, 01:03 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

Just reached home from HK. Here is one from my trip  laugh.gif
Hong Kong Island taken from Avenue of Stars  smile.gif

whoa...nice...

wut lens were u using? and it's a cropped pic or panorama?
goldfries
post Nov 17 2010, 01:19 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ckdenion @ Nov 16 2010, 11:11 PM)
wow...nvr try CPL filter b4...
seems like vry fun
CPL. bought mine many years back. till now i think i use it less than 10 times.

i think it's a 72mm.
ckdenion
post Nov 17 2010, 01:22 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

goldy!
pinjam me main main if got TT
=P
faizzi007
post Nov 17 2010, 07:08 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(wha7ever @ Nov 16 2010, 11:02 PM)
The problem is 58mm. Buying something like CPL or ND filter, you got to make it usable on all lenses with different thread.

If you get one 77mm CPL, you can get one set of step up right and it will be usable for all range of lenses (with different thread size).
But for a 58mm CPL, not much lenses can utilize it (especially those with above 58mm filter thread). Hence, I say it's not a very good investment.

However, if you are very sure that you gonna stick with the 18-55 for very long time, then it's pretty much justified.
thanks for the tips bro, I've canceled my reserve d..
Boomeraangkid
post Nov 17 2010, 10:07 AM

Behind You
2,696 posts

Just reached home from HK. Here is one from my tripĀ  laugh.gif
Hong Kong Island taken from Avenue of StarsĀ  smile.gif

my eu night pics cannot compare ohmy.gif

chucky
post Nov 17 2010, 10:36 AM

Urang Sabah
1,072 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 16 2010, 11:13 PM)
Anybody tried the cheapo 30mm f/2.0 before? Or the 28mm? Something like that right? hmm.gif

Can't afford Siggy 30mm f/1.4 or Sigmalux 50mm f/1.4 la. sad.gif
Sigma 30mm 1.4 and canon 28mm 1.8 are almost the same price. i oso had this dilemma a few months ago - which to buy?

In the end I went with canon 28mm bcos it is an EF lens, so it can be put on full frame body, unlike the siggy, which is for crop body only.

Reason to get this range:
not as tight as the 50mm when using crop body.
Depth of field is wider, so when taking group shots at f1.8, not that many people are out of focus.
Can be used as a walkabout lens? biggrin.gif
When paired with one of the xxxD cameras, it is actually quite small - can stuff into almost any bag you carry.

as for the loss of 1/3 stop of light (compared to the siggy), i thought to myself - "newer bodies can push very high ISO oledi", plus if it really becomes so dark until i need that tiny bit extra f-stop, i might as well use my flash tongue.gif
Jvn11
post Nov 17 2010, 10:53 AM

257 posts

Oh. I also have Hong Kong photos. But I combined them in a gif file. =)

ComradeZ
post Nov 17 2010, 11:06 AM

Feelwayoveryourhead
1,460 posts

QUOTE(Jvn11 @ Nov 17 2010, 10:53 AM)
Oh. I also have Hong Kong photos. But I combined them in a gif file. =)

wth so nice rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ComradeZ: Nov 17 2010, 11:06 AM

125 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:22 PM