126 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V8 (More than 160 owners), All Maemo-ians check in!

gyianz
post Nov 12 2010, 08:07 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 12 2010, 09:06 PM)

i rike this !!!
bro u using mac too? i can see the keyboard.. lol
Zhao
post Nov 12 2010, 08:08 PM

1,267 posts

to all sifu, pls help. i juz bought my n900 yesterday. how do i change my phone emmc name to default? i cant find my files in xterm everytime i type in some command. in file manager i ses it stated as LIAD. but when i type it , it dont work. thanks
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 08:11 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 12 2010, 08:06 PM)

i rike this !!!
This kind of idiocy is expected from Apple.
ShrugsLova
post Nov 12 2010, 08:12 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

if only N900 is armed with a better battery life..
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 08:12 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Nov 12 2010, 08:08 PM)
to all sifu, pls help. i juz bought my n900 yesterday. how do i change my phone emmc name to default? i cant find my files in xterm everytime i type in some command. in file manager i ses it stated as LIAD. but when i type it , it dont work. thanks
Plug your phone to your computer
Choose "Mass Storage Device" at your phone
Go to My Computer & right click at rename
Choose whatever name you want
Disconnect & you should see the new name.
ShrugsLova
post Nov 12 2010, 08:15 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Nov 12 2010, 08:08 PM)
use cable..mass storage..named with your computer.
jananan
post Nov 12 2010, 08:21 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Nov 12 2010, 08:07 PM)
bro u using mac too? i can see the keyboard.. lol
not mine.

i am anti apple.

just a random photo from google.
kurz
post Nov 12 2010, 08:26 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 12 2010, 07:32 PM)
Install the app,run the program,create the folders & start the program.
After a while your menu will be created.
hi thanks for the reply..but the prob is not about using the app
its the GUI that just couldnt load.

now im trying to do it through SSH instead..hopefully can biggrin.gif
RViN
post Nov 12 2010, 08:40 PM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

Ah okay itchy hands go and try kernel power v45 today and thankfully it booted smile.gif

Seems stable so far for an hour already smile.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 08:52 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Nov 12 2010, 08:40 PM)
Ah okay itchy hands go and try kernel power v45 today and thankfully it booted smile.gif

Seems stable so far for an hour already smile.gif
I'm using it.
So far no problem plus I can use OTG too.But not perfect...
Zhao
post Nov 12 2010, 08:54 PM

1,267 posts

Ok. sum nubby question here,

when i use v45 , i overclock to 900mhz, then suddenly phone will reboot. but 850mhz is fine. any suggestion on how to overcome?
gyianz
post Nov 12 2010, 08:55 PM

489 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 12 2010, 09:21 PM)
not mine.

i am anti apple.

just a random photo from google.
Aiyo.. why i see this forum so many anti-apple wan? tongue.gif
Makes me guilty using iPod Touch and Macbook.. lol
i got sifu aspire2006 using iPhone 4..(gifted).. ngek ngek ngek
RViN
post Nov 12 2010, 09:01 PM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Nov 12 2010, 08:54 PM)
Ok. sum nubby question here,

when i use v45 , i overclock to 900mhz, then suddenly phone will reboot. but 850mhz is fine. any suggestion on how to overcome?
What profile you using? Try to bump up the voltages a little

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 12 2010, 08:52 PM)
I'm using it.
So far no problem plus I can use OTG too.But not perfect...

Yeah one of the reasons I took the plunge lol
Zhao
post Nov 12 2010, 09:13 PM

1,267 posts

okay, done. draining much faster now =) thanks sir
Eiraku
post Nov 12 2010, 09:23 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Agreed on the strong anti-apple sentiments lol. I take a picture of my current setup then baru tahu - my trusty N810 with my trusty Apple Wireless Keyboard. They work great with each other.

Okay now, I'm sorry for sounding like a wet blanket or something, but I need to get one thing straightened out. As far as I know, the N900 ONLY DOES HACKED HOST MODE, NOT OTG. Or am I wrong? Last I checked the only way to get real OTG working is to physically mess with the SOC (ehem, chips inside the N900).

Do correct me if I'm wrong.

As for why the N8 wire cannot be used on the N900, the N8 has a Micro AB port which accepts both normal Micro-B USB cables for charging and the like, and Micro-A for USB OTG.

The N900 comes with a (admittedly flimsy) Micro B port which can only accept type B cables, and NOT the type A adaptor on the N8 OTG cable.

I can supposedly use the N8 wire on my N810 tho, wink wink.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 12 2010, 09:26 PM
lightastral
post Nov 12 2010, 09:25 PM

220 posts

because apple is against of what we feel what is right for all.

open source vs closed, controlled, jailed (hence jailbreak)...
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 09:27 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(gyianz @ Nov 12 2010, 08:55 PM)
Aiyo.. why i see this forum so many anti-apple wan? tongue.gif
Makes me guilty using iPod Touch and Macbook.. lol
i got sifu aspire2006 using iPhone 4..(gifted).. ngek ngek ngek
Apple & Linux is like oil & water.
Never mix together.Apple never encourage & sometime prevent open source development on their platform.
Microsoft on other hand don't exactly encourage open source but at same never prevent them either.

Remember unlike any other mobile OS in the market,Maemo is nearly a full blown linux based OS.Since most of the N900 users are linux fan or at very least likes it,it's formal for us to feel anti-apple.

QUOTE(RViN @ Nov 12 2010, 09:01 PM)
Yeah one of the reasons I took the plunge lol
It's nice to be used as guinea pig laugh.gif
Eiraku
post Nov 12 2010, 09:31 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(lightastral @ Nov 12 2010, 09:25 PM)
because apple is against of what we feel what is right for all.

open source vs closed, controlled, jailed (hence jailbreak)...
But they DO make sexy smexy hardware that actually works well - sometimes at least (like my Apple WK, best slab of typable aluminium I know of lol).

On the Diablo front, Tear has just been updated to 0.3.6, and it's almost as good as Frementle MicroB now - minus the swirl zoom and well implemented text select.

Also tried Fennec and Minefield. One was slow, the other was just wierd to use.

Funny that I'm preferring a webkit browser on an NIT lol. Oh well, Meego's gonna be like that too anyway lol.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 12 2010, 09:36 PM
jananan
post Nov 12 2010, 09:33 PM

Android
1,513 posts

just one squarish and one rounded.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Nov 12 2010, 09:34 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 12 2010, 09:23 PM)
Okay now, I'm sorry for sounding like a wet blanket or something, but I need to get one thing straightened out. As far as I know, the N900 ONLY DOES HACKED HOST MODE, NOT OTG. Or am I wrong? Last I checked the only way to get real OTG working is to physically mess with the SOC (ehem, chips inside the N900).

Do correct me if I'm wrong.

As for why the N8 wire cannot be used on the N900, the N8 has a Micro AB port which accepts both normal Micro-B USB cables for charging and the like, and Micro-A for USB OTG.
You're correct on both part.But even shortening the pins it doesn't always work perfectly.

Well,for me reading flash drives are more than enough for me.It'll help me in plenty of ways when I'm inside campus.
But that doesn't mean I'll stop working on making h-e-n detec my ext-hds

Added on November 12, 2010, 9:35 pm
QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 12 2010, 09:33 PM)

just one squarish and one rounded.
nod.gif Internally both micro A & B is similar.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 12 2010, 09:35 PM

126 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:24 AM