6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia N900 V8 (More than 160 owners), All Maemo-ians check in!

jananan
post Nov 4 2010, 06:45 PM

Android
1,513 posts

2 days not online you guys already open v8....
jananan
post Nov 6 2010, 09:21 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 6 2010, 06:20 PM)
no tweaks...no edits smile.gif
shots are taken using N900 through FCAM smile.gif

Added on November 6, 2010, 6:25 pm

I think N900 should be good for you...
since Movies N900 can support a lot of format...ie .avi
Internet experience of course lar...N900 beats E7...N900 is Internet Tablet laugh.gif
and Camera...N900 should be better though resolution is lower...why?...because E7 camera is fixed focus...you can only take shots starting from 50cm to infinity...N900 is 5cm to infinity icon_rolleyes.gif

hahah...I'm just lucky and still a beginner with the shots...you guys should check Sifu Aspire's shots...it's total awesomeness thumbup.gif
edof camera on e7 has its advantages. the dof is almost unnatural
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 12:23 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 8 2010, 12:20 AM)
urm...guys...my LED notification light not flashing anymore...no light...what happen?please assist me sad.gif
havent seen mine flash since PR1.3....

didnt bother also...

maybe i accidentally disabled something somewhere....
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 12:27 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 7 2010, 11:42 PM)
I still believe that Symbian is a good OS.But it's also true that it needs some revamp mainly on UI & browser to make it attractive.

@To those who involved on microSD bulk kindly check you pm.
Sorry for the noob mistake.
anyway how many ppl in the bulk so far ?

no updates ?

maybank2u.com down now.... i'll try again later...
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 12:29 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 8 2010, 12:26 AM)
My phone LED is blinking right now doh.gif Missed call...
Try restarting your phone.Else test the LED notification with HealthCheck.
something i did.... healthcheck also cannot turn on the LED or the vibrate, but rest assured its still there as the LED still lights up when i switch it on... the device vibrates ok when i switch on as well.

so its definately some sw bug/accident thats causing it...
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 12:44 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 8 2010, 12:40 AM)
Custom Network Name Applet won't effect LED indicator.But I don't know about theme customizer.
Try pm meLi about this.He's using theme customizer too.
nah... theme customizer does not mess with LED settings...

but i've got theme-customizer installed as well... who knows...

but no mention of LED bugs/changes in theme-customizer changelogs

did not notice when the LED started having issues....

Added on November 8, 2010, 12:47 amsome good news...

usb hostmode for n900 finally reaching beta stage...

but there is no mention if the power drain bug when hostmode installed in PR1.3 is going to get patched or not...

beta should have some sort of installer as well...

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 8 2010, 12:47 AM
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 01:10 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 8 2010, 01:06 AM)
Red Petals by hengguowei, on Flickr
this guy getting better all the time...

N900 daytime shot quality is surpassing N8 shots...

nighttime of cos the xenon win hands down...

why oh why nokia is so 'kedekut' with their xenon...

Nokia N82 > Nokia 6220 > Nokia N8
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 01:15 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 8 2010, 01:08 AM)
WB is white balance...adjustment to make it whiter or yelloish
Burst of 4 and Burst of 8 means you take 4 shots in one time or 8 shots in one time...I didn't try this but even 1 shot takes time to be saved into memory...

Added on November 8, 2010, 1:09 am
because Nokia and Android is not Nokia 3g/ Nokia 3gs/ Nokia 4g/ Android 3g/ Android 4g etc laugh.gif
first you price your phones high, like RM3000...

then you negotiate with service provider and provide packages...

make it look like its really worth it to get with the monthly plans....

and you're stuck with either digi/maxis/celcom

both apple and service providers earn while you get stuck paying for services that you might not need... and pay fixed amount every month

the service provider no need to worry about users abandoning their service no matter how much it sucks... since they've 'got' you this time...

i have to give it to apple... and their clever marketing strategy...

nokia only using this strategy in europe...
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 01:39 AM

Android
1,513 posts

any one of you guys tried the volume hack ? by removing the protection limit in pulseaudio ?
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 02:06 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cartman87 @ Nov 8 2010, 01:48 AM)
volume hack?! how to do it?! gimme da guide/link/page. i'll go try it! i need LOUDER MUSIC!  sweat.gif
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
cd to folder /var/lib/pulse-nokia

(you need root access)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

edit this file

ihf.parameters

1)change this 2 parameters to false

x-maemo.xprot.displacement = false

x-maemo.xprot.temperature = false

then change the value of this entry to true

x-maemo.sidetone = true

then change the values of these 3 entries (never exceed 10000 and -9999)

x-maemo.sidetone.lgain = 10000

x-maemo.sidetone.rgain = 10000

x-maemo.ear_ref_padding = -9999

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

save and exit

then type (still root)

stop pulseaudio

wait 15 seconds

type (still root)

start pulseaudio

REDUCE SYSTEM VOLUME TO 50% FIRST

open the media player, play any song that is not too loud first.

increase the volume a bit by a bit... you will notice 80% - 100% max volume is louder than usual.

be warned, if you feel your speakers cant take it (crackling) reduce and restore original values.

original values,

true
true
false

Added on November 8, 2010, 2:09 amyou can try exceed the values if you dare...

i dare not try above 10000

as super_evil_alien said... i also rarely fire up my speakers. furthermore i dont use it as a phone, so it never rings.

Added on November 8, 2010, 2:09 amagain, warning... this might permanently DAMAGE YOUR SPEAKERS.

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 8 2010, 02:09 AM
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 02:40 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 8 2010, 02:25 AM)
Seriously I'll say this,those who are not willing to learn even the simple reflashing should not use/own N900 or any other NITs.
I don't expect everyone to be pro's at linux but it's a simple steps plus it's also fun learning something new.

As long as I'm TS I won't add this at FP or suggest this either.
seriously, this smells like disaster...
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 03:04 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 8 2010, 02:47 AM)
and i'm not expecting this to be added on the FP either..  smile.gif

it's not i'm demotivating people to stop learning though..but i was just sharing it.. =)

i myself had some hard times learning linux..thus when i got the N900..i have some quite of a knowledge about linux commands too.. so no biggie for me..

it's just that (not pointing finger to anyone) there are some users who are really afraid of doing one of the basic stuff in N900..and that is MANUAL FLASHING..

1. "i don't trust manual flashing" - it's not manual flashing u didn't trust..it was yourself who u didn't trust..
2. "i'm afraid of flashing..afraid of doing something wrong" - this is obviously the most lame excuse to shout out about..MISTAKES IN FLASHING DOESN'T KILL YOUR PHONE..
3.. "aiya..OTA upgrade is easier than manual lehh" - do you know that u can't flash the same firmware using OTA?meaning if u are currently in PR1.3, u can't OTA to PR1.3..only if you are in PR1.2, then only u can OTA to PR1.3...

and guess what, all of these happen AFTER using/owning the N900..  blush.gif

now this you can add above the FLASHING PART on the FP to motivate N900 users to learn to manually flash their phone

sorry super_evil_alien if my post doesn't help..i'll edit it..
its not a bad post at all...

just we encourage learning instead of spoonfeeding...

imho, those kind of programs can cause more issues sometimes...

its just a script written in ms script or dos batch, that does things automatically for you.

but its sure to run into problems when your machine is not 100% equal to the computer that it was developed on.

things like which folder you're running from, or spelling of certain filenames and folders, even the drive that you installed your windows on can be an issue.

just a simple glitch could cause issues to your computer as well. (some ms script codes, if not all, are considered threat by most anti virus programs)

it is easy to flash manually, the script still requires you to reboot your phone, press U key and do all that stuff.

it just automates typing this in your command prompt 'flasher-3.5 -f xxxfiascoxxx.bin -F -R'

if you can download the script files, unzip it and set up the folder and copy all the necessary files in the right folder with the right names, i am sure you can type that command in too.

(by you, i dont mean you one1002, i mean generically)

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 8 2010, 03:06 AM
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 04:24 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(one1002 @ Nov 8 2010, 03:25 AM)
your point is good..

that's y ASPIRE and SUPER_EVIL_ALIEN created the front page guide..it's full of basic informations..

nonetheless, there are still some users who come in, click on the last page, start asking questions which had already been answered on the FP..

we all know that reading the whole thread is a pain in the a.ss..but spend just a moment on the front page..thread starters created the FP for a reason..not just to be displayed..

so the reason i posted the link in my previous post were meant for those who i describe in my previous posts too..

but i forgot to add some sentence below the link which is "learning to flash manually doesn't cost u a single thing, except making u smarter and understanding the way N900 behaves"..

Added on November 8, 2010, 3:29 amowh yeah..super_evil_alien..i wonder if you could edit the first post on the front page to add "NEW-COMERS, PLEASE READ THE FRONT PAGE BEFORE ASKING QUESTIONS ABOUT SOMETHING THAT OBVIOUSLY ARE INCLUDED ON THE FIRST PAGE. FAILING TO DO SO WILL RESULT YOUR QUESTIONS WILL BE IGNORED" whistling.gif

bahahahahhahaa....that'll goes well with your nickname, hence super evil.. =P drool.gif

just kidding.. tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
learning to flash manually :

1) learn to unbrick your device if you accidentally bricked it.

2) learn to reset/re-install the OS on the phone if you feel something is wrong and cant find the cause.

3) learning how some basic MS DOS commands work

4) learn another way to update instead of using OTA update

5) the knowledge might be useful if you want to experiment with other alternative OS's (NITdroid, meego, etc)

6) manual flashing is much faster when you get the hang of it, takes about 5 minutes to update fiasco and emmc (rather than waiting for OTA or NSU downloads)

7) the exact same commands works in any hard disk installed or cd/usb bootable copy of any linux flavors too (useful if you're stuck with Windows 64 bit)

8) the ability to choose to flash just the fiasco, emmc or both depending on your needs

9) the manual flashing works in any 32-bit version of windows that ships with command prompt functionality (yet to confirm)

10) works even in a newly installed copy of Windows without any extra components (.NET libraries, drivers, etc) or for problematic computers, might even work in Safe Mode as long there is USB connectivity (yet to confirm)
jananan
post Nov 8 2010, 04:34 AM

Android
1,513 posts

the best thing is,

if any new users have tried and failed using any of the guides in the front page, then there are lots of people here willing to help.

but if you just want us to tell you step by step when you have not even seen what's on the front page, then i have to tell you i am really sorry but i cant comply.

this message goes out to those people who stalk the thread, and PM me asking questions about the device. read the front page, try the guide, tell us how you did it and why it didnt work.

dont just PM me, asking 'can you help me install this app?' or 'can we meet up and you help me install this app?'

Added on November 8, 2010, 4:36 am
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 8 2010, 04:28 AM)
@alien: Rather then 'advanced mobile OS', it's more like an 'mobile desktop OS'  - hence all the issues lol. Once you use a true-blue NIT you will understand why the N900 is so flawed as a phone, because Maemo wasn't really designed for that.

As a tablet tho, other then a distinct lack of apps and battery life, it's great really.

BTW, anyone plan to buy USB host cables online or have spares? I'm itching to poke a few thumbdrives into the N810 just for the heck of it.

I wonder if the N8 OTG cable would work on the N900/N810? Can try arr sifu aspire?
those designers had to make the N8 USB OTG cable with a squarish micro usb connector.

it wont go in any other device with a micro usb port unless you make a bigger hole in your device.

Added on November 8, 2010, 4:39 ambut standard micro usb cable works just fine with the N8.

some sort of exclusivity for the N8 or just dumb design.

the sort of stuff that Steve Jobs does to standard ports on PC and adapts them to MACs

Added on November 8, 2010, 4:45 amhttp://thenokian8.info/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/N8-3.jpg

notice the extra space around the port ?

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 8 2010, 04:45 AM
jananan
post Nov 9 2010, 12:24 AM

Android
1,513 posts

no one tried the new hostmode beta ? but its compiled against PR1.3, so its either hostmode kernel or OC kernel. cant have both...

Added on November 9, 2010, 12:27 am
QUOTE(Augus7 @ Nov 8 2010, 11:45 PM)
n8 shots so nice? seriously on auto mode?

anyways, i found a thread in lowyat, seller name ebiz2u, he recently msg me that 16gb class 10 microsd is currently available, so future dual/triple booters want to organize a bulk ><? My internet is totally rubbish so i don dare organize it.

the discount depends on how many is purchased,
normal price is RM150 including postage, i consider it quite cheap oredi, but im quite sceptical on kingmax brand
kingmax should be ok...

better than brands like DNA...

super_evil_alien already going on with 8GB class 10 bulk. kingmax as well...

but 16GB class 10 for RM150 is a bargain as well...

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 9 2010, 12:27 AM
jananan
post Nov 9 2010, 12:52 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 9 2010, 12:47 AM)
@everyone: Anybody heading to Lowyat or PJ Digi Mall in the next few days? Wanna ask for help to see the prices of 4-16GB miniSD or microSD cards WITH A MINISD ADAPTOR.

I'm not gonna be in KL until the school hols start so anyone can help? Now suffering for choosing a 2 year old device using an outdated mass memory slot (miniSD).
yeah, minisd is hard to come by....

the question is... does your n810 support minisd or minisdhc ?

if it supports minisdhc... i guess u can pop in a 32gb microsdhc into minisdhc converter and use it...
jananan
post Nov 9 2010, 01:14 AM

Android
1,513 posts

h-e-n project beta working just fine with my external 1TB drive... with external power of course...

the question remains... how am i going to power that monster when i am on the go...

jananan
post Nov 9 2010, 01:24 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 9 2010, 01:20 AM)
Even with N8's OTG 3.5" device need extra power....
2.5" ext hard disk working without external power?
SSD based external storage ?
jananan
post Nov 9 2010, 01:31 AM

Android
1,513 posts

using 1/3 of 1TB....

Added on November 9, 2010, 1:34 am
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 9 2010, 01:30 AM)
Mmmm, female 2 female. Lol, that aside, I think I'll need one of those too soon. And alien bro, do you have spare host/ OTG cables?

@jananan: Yeah it supports microsdhc cards, problem here is finding retail packs of those cards with bundled minisd adaptors. Has anyone seen Sandisk or Kingston 8-16GB cards that come with minisd adaptors these days? Malas to go buy from the net really.
i think someone might have the minisd adaptor...

i bought a kingston 4gb card for someone... came with a micro-mini adaptor if i am not mistaken...

if u really cant find any, i can check with that person...

but put it as the last option... cos i am in penang...

This post has been edited by jananan: Nov 9 2010, 01:34 AM
jananan
post Nov 10 2010, 04:09 AM

Android
1,513 posts

guys...

someone compiled kernel-power 40 against PR1.3 modules.

they call it kernel-power 41 but its actually kernel power 40 for PR1.3

no new functions whatsoever....

ftp://mesa.nl/pub/n900/kernel/

gonna try it out now...

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:22 PM