Nokia N900 V8 (More than 160 owners), All Maemo-ians check in!

ShrugsLova
post Nov 4 2010, 02:42 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(mrfarhatadib89 @ Nov 4 2010, 12:55 AM)
help..why my sms counter widget just appear as black box?cannot c a thng inside the black box

btw,cngratulation for the v8
erm..that thing can't work..download the other one..forget the name..some sms widget also

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 4 2010, 01:04 AM)
let's repost some photos :
u do that with Fcam? mind to teach..that's something to delay your shutter speed right?

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 4 2010, 01:49 AM)
u think tis is gila haha? should see nokia N8 thread 20 days since the phone out already V10

Added on November 4, 2010, 1:49 am

did u check is it your telco ringing limit? or the phone limit?
N8 better or N900 better?
aspire got new toys (v10)..old toys (v8)

congrats on V8 grandmaster super_evil_alien
ShrugsLova
post Nov 4 2010, 04:00 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 4 2010, 02:52 AM)
N8's browser simply no good for me.N900 got webOS games now.For music N900 can play all files just fine + I have a decent headset now...
So N900 is still good for me.
webOS is something new, never had the chance to read about it..on some exam crisis here: but pathetically i spend more than 4 hours on IM just now, darn!!

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 4 2010, 02:53 AM)
multi touch  tongue.gif
i see that coming too..seriously aspire, N8 really fail to attract me..the design maybe a little. the camera maybe a little.
that's all

(should i deleted this before aspire see it?)
ShrugsLova
post Nov 4 2010, 03:50 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 4 2010, 10:57 AM)

First, I'm not sifu laugh.gif
it's very easy, just use FCAM...
Exposure adjust to 1s (that's the longest we can get from FCAM but the longer the better)
ISO adjust to 100 (lowest) to prevent noise due to lowlight (actually no light tongue.gif)
then get inside a room, with no lights to interfere the image...
get an LED torch or something that has specific lights...when your partner snap the photo move the light quick (draw patterns you want)
but I snapped that image from a mirror cause nobody was holding the camera for me...

that's about all blush.gif easy right smile.gif
great tutorial, i was in photography club last time, more exposure=less shutter speed..hahaks why i cant see that coming..haha
nice!

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 4 2010, 11:02 AM)
geng sifu u got the idea from the video they use light to draw lines. Aamzing. Sadly Nokia N8 dont even have such option
there go your multi touch..hahaks
just kiddin' aspire, like you joke about my rx-8 NFS

QUOTE(cartman87 @ Nov 4 2010, 01:05 PM)
OC-ed to 1ghz using titan's kernel (ideal settings). super smooth.

and btw, to all da grandmasters and sifus here, any photo recovery software to recommend me? accidentally deleted some photos in my phone. =(
classic! try recuva..ask lord google for it.

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 4 2010, 01:06 PM)
but is it smooth without OC? smile.gif
PR 1.3 no need OC..walau! but i failed to download..always break at the middle. internet suck!

QUOTE(Amedion @ Nov 4 2010, 01:25 PM)
oc so much.. when game still running u put in ur pocket.. does it make ur balls sweat.. ??
i can't help but wonder, why put your phone with game running in your pocket?
balls sauna?

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 4 2010, 02:14 PM)
i going tomorrow no matter what. That day i tried to walk finish cant too big.
let's hope it rain! lol
ShrugsLova
post Nov 4 2010, 04:40 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

josh become so pro already? darn!
ShrugsLova
post Nov 4 2010, 07:25 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 4 2010, 06:45 PM)
2 days not online you guys already open v8....
i didnt online for a week, and i already don't know what they're talking about
ShrugsLova
post Nov 7 2010, 07:13 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 7 2010, 04:34 PM)
I was busy in the weekend. Wanna know where i went do check out the gallery
http://www.flickr.com/photos/thenokiagallery/
so it didn't rain huh?

@HGW: your photo is wicked!! nice shot!

by the way, do you guys know where low light camera output store at? Everytime after i played with low light, the photo dunno store where..

Added on November 7, 2010, 7:15 pmaspire, no more n900 Fcam nowadays?
i see only N8 photos.. 'ada baru tak mau lama'?

Added on November 7, 2010, 7:20 pmaiseh, aspire, your N8 photo make me wanna-wanna-wanna grab a N8!!

This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: Nov 7 2010, 07:20 PM
ShrugsLova
post Nov 7 2010, 07:31 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

i wanna wanna put that webOS thing into my N900
but im busy leh..

PR 1.3 also not yet download..now it's my dinner time/ online time.
ShrugsLova
post Nov 7 2010, 07:55 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

EXAM!
ShrugsLova
post Nov 8 2010, 04:25 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 8 2010, 02:25 AM)
Seriously I'll say this,those who are not willing to learn even the simple reflashing should not use/own N900 or any other NITs.
I don't expect everyone to be pro's at linux but it's a simple steps plus it's also fun learning something new.

As long as I'm TS I won't add this at FP or suggest this either.
The power of TS!

+1
ShrugsLova
post Nov 8 2010, 04:50 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

by the way anyone know where the low light apps, outcome photo stored. I took some nice low light photo with that apps..but failed to search for the photo in photo gallery.

where can it be?
ShrugsLova
post Nov 8 2010, 05:53 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 8 2010, 07:31 AM)
have u check DCIM or IMAGES folder sifu?
erm..yupe! checked every folder possible. none of the photo found. Strange huh?

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 8 2010, 09:15 AM)
there is a code to refresh it. I forget hr code already something tracker -r something
tracker -processes -r
i asked aspire so many times, now i remember by heart!

QUOTE(mwirs77 @ Nov 8 2010, 12:39 PM)
Doc2go is viewer only & have to pay to use editor.. i mean is free apps.. BTW tks 4 replying mate..  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
ada 'lubang' punya!>_<

guys i just downloaded PR 1.3, it say that i need to restore the default phone speed (without OC)? or do i need to reflash the whole phone first before update?
*excitingnya*

This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: Nov 8 2010, 05:56 PM
ShrugsLova
post Nov 8 2010, 06:00 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

TS, can you please add the link for maemo flasher in the FP.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=VJ214G5V (it come with PR1.2..from N900 V6)

just incase for those who don't have maemo flasher, just a recommendation though.

Added on November 8, 2010, 6:03 pm
QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 8 2010, 05:57 PM)
just plug in and flash it..
im currently on 900Mhz btw.

just plug in and flash or just plug in and update?

This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: Nov 8 2010, 06:03 PM
ShrugsLova
post Nov 8 2010, 07:04 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 8 2010, 06:28 PM)
if you are using flasher, just plug in and flash.

just make sure to do back ups if you are flashing emmc.
can i skip the flash part, i just want to update?

ShrugsLova
post Nov 8 2010, 07:26 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 8 2010, 07:05 PM)
sifu its  up to u. Mine i just update only. Some old apps all missing some still there

Smses, contacts, email all missing and some stuff still there
only u understand my question

aspire if you're not a guy..or if im ghey
ShrugsLova
post Nov 9 2010, 04:33 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 9 2010, 10:59 AM)
I have dropped mine for 1m high and skidded 2m far but no problem. Forever on network.
you sound proud. shocking.gif
ShrugsLova
post Nov 10 2010, 01:10 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

downloaded a bunch of webos games, PR 1.3...but no time.

dear final exam, can u faster end. I wanna play my N900 so freaking bad.
ShrugsLova
post Nov 10 2010, 05:41 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

i typed apt-get install preenv in Xterm

it loads but somehow the end line give something like this:

E: couldn't find package preenv

anyone can help?
ShrugsLova
post Nov 10 2010, 07:45 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

sudo gainroot at the beginning before apt-get install preenv..

i think is the repo problem..hmmm..i try later when im awake..i need to go sleep now..lolz...
ShrugsLova
post Nov 10 2010, 05:33 PM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 10 2010, 03:39 PM)
I blame jananan for posting the v42 news laugh.gif
I think you can download the .deb v40 files manually from the repo,uninstall v42 & install v40 again.
whoa!i'm the first person who saw jananan v42 post..luckily too sleepy after burning the whole night/morning midnite oil. Didnt update though.
lucky!
ShrugsLova
post Nov 11 2010, 08:51 AM

zach of all trade
568 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 10 2010, 06:34 PM)
If that's the case than better include a larger internal memory like N900.
All this fiasco pointing to another failure from Microsoft.
simple answer: save cost.

QUOTE(hengguowei @ Nov 10 2010, 06:54 PM)
I don't understand why Microsoft say the cards in the market might not be suitable and blah blah blah. it's microsd lar. why their system so special? need special microsd doh.gif

Added on November 10, 2010, 6:58 pm
I think it depends on which type you like. I wan to change to crystal clear. matte make my screen colour go blur blur. not crystal clear laugh.gif I prefer clear display so can see my photos clearly laugh.gif
prepare for 'finger-print' magnet after clear SP.

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Nov 10 2010, 09:03 PM)
I asked meLi to buy 5 adapter only.
If you want in I'll have to ask extra from him.
Most probably he'll only buy the adapter this weekend.
me counted in jor?

QUOTE(gyianz @ Nov 10 2010, 11:38 PM)
What is all this kernel thing? mind to explain?
pro, tell him, tell me too.

QUOTE(jananan @ Nov 11 2010, 04:12 AM)
but u cant configure conky to view more than 9 running processes...

too bad... top/htop is a better program...
where to get top/htop?

guys about the preenv stuff..still couldnt got it right.

here is what i do.

open Xterm>>sudo gainroot>>apt-get update>> then this msg pop up:

E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily unavailable)

E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?

help guys?

This post has been edited by ShrugsLova: Nov 11 2010, 08:58 AM

0.0386sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:21 AM