103 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

LYN Breastfeeding Support Group, may u b bless wif abundance of supply~!!

SurpriseZZZZZ
post Sep 8 2011, 02:05 AM

425 posts

QUOTE(sbux @ Sep 8 2011, 12:10 AM)
surprise...
WOW... impressive! I can never fill up my freezer..

Qarezma..
is baby on full BM now? Cuz when my baby was on full BM, her highest record was 6 days... As long as the stool is not hard.. then should not be a problem.
yes, as long as the stool texture is soft, then it will be ok. if you are breastfeeding, constipation should not be the first thing you thought of. Breast milk contains high lactose which causes faster bowel movement in babies. constipation is common in babies on formula milk, but not so common in breast fed babies. hope it helps. icon_rolleyes.gif
qarezma
post Sep 8 2011, 01:52 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(SurpriseZZZZZ @ Sep 7 2011, 11:55 PM)
My wife encountered with this as well last time. What she did, she keeps on pumping. Eventually, your supply will be a lot. There were once where I nag her almost every 2 hours to pump breast milk.

Her breast milk supply was at her lowest after 1 month of confinement. Hardly keep even 1 bottle (6oz) per day. But slowly, after her "determined pumping", she managed to keep some breast milk. For now, I can safely say that if both of us are away for 1 month, my girl will not encounter with any short supply issue as we are having 1.5 months worth of breast milk stored.

thx for sharing...

yday was another such day.. i had to give FM for 1 feeding sad.gif but im positive that it will improve, cos im just 1 mth rite?

today i took some oats wit my tea... gosh i wonder how my son has been eating oats all this while... next gonna drink fenugreek water...

Added on September 8, 2011, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(sbux @ Sep 8 2011, 12:10 AM)
surprise...
WOW... impressive! I can never fill up my freezer..

Qarezma..
is baby on full BM now? Cuz when my baby was on full BM, her highest record was 6 days... As long as the stool is not hard.. then should not be a problem.
full BM, occassional FM once a day

This post has been edited by qarezma: Sep 8 2011, 01:52 PM
SurpriseZZZZZ
post Sep 8 2011, 08:53 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(qarezma @ Sep 8 2011, 01:52 PM)
thx for sharing...

yday was another such day.. i had to give FM for 1 feeding sad.gif but im positive that it will improve, cos im just 1 mth rite?

today i took some oats wit my tea... gosh i wonder how my son has been eating oats all this while... next gonna drink fenugreek water...

Added on September 8, 2011, 1:52 pm

full BM, occassional FM once a day
Your body always work in supply and demand mechanism. The more / frequent you express, the more you trick your body to think that you are not producing enough. Your body will try to compensate by increasing the output eventually. You can do it and have a good day.

Remember this, every mother can breast feed and born with that. It is not a super human ability.
TSnicKit
post Sep 8 2011, 10:39 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(SurpriseZZZZZ @ Sep 8 2011, 08:53 PM)
Remember this, every mother can breast feed and born with that. It is not a super human ability.
i like ur quote biggrin.gif

sbux, syd g used to post her ebm supply earlier... dunno if she still packed her freezer now or not laugh.gif
phythia79
post Sep 9 2011, 12:02 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(SurpriseZZZZZ @ Sep 8 2011, 08:53 PM)

I totally agree with this quote. Which reminds me of my colleague who replied when i ask her if she's going to bf. Her asnwer was..see if baby wants or not? i went like..huh? I told her..of coz baby wants your milk! Then she said dunno if she can if she have enough milk etc etc..well..i guess she's not so determined and chose the easy way out.
Syd G
post Sep 10 2011, 09:13 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(nicKit @ Sep 8 2011, 10:39 PM)
i like ur quote biggrin.gif

sbux, syd g used to post her ebm supply earlier... dunno if she still packed her freezer now or not laugh.gif
My supply dwindles due to Ramadhan so only around 25 bottles of 5oz inside. When it's packed full I'll take piktar brows.gif

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Sep 9 2011, 12:02 PM)
I totally agree with this quote.  Which reminds me of my colleague who replied when i ask her if she's going to bf. Her asnwer was..see if baby wants or not? i went like..huh? I told her..of coz baby wants your milk! Then she said dunno if she can if she have enough milk etc etc..well..i guess she's not so determined and chose the easy way out.
I usually try hard to hide my 'OMG YOU DIDNT JUST SAY THAT' face when someone tells me something like that. I usually ask back lovingly 'if I can help you get enough supplies for your next kid, would you breastfeed then'? Then see their face change brows.gif

TSnicKit
post Sep 10 2011, 10:09 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Sep 10 2011, 09:13 AM)
I usually try hard to hide my 'OMG YOU DIDNT JUST SAY THAT' face when someone tells me something like that. I usually ask back lovingly 'if I can help you get enough supplies for your next kid, would you breastfeed then'? Then see their face change brows.gif
syd, luv ur quote too~! laugh.gif n welcome back to the thread~! tongue.gif
qarezma
post Sep 13 2011, 01:45 PM

71 posts

ive begun to realise that my baby cries when latching sometimes not cos no milk, but cos he just wants to suckle till the cows come home... but now that i am at MIL's place, this is getting harder cos she is constantly on my back asking if my milk is enough.. sigh...

she claims to have BF her 4 kids, but she tells me to give FM everytime baby cries or fusses... in fact if we carry and rock him for a while, he would just sleep away... and she even has the cheek to say 'baby not enough milk, can give cereal now'.. i am like WTF? and i make a mild WTF face to hubby, to which he gives me 'dont bother la' face...

from the beginning she asked me if i am BF-ing.. and now when i want to keep BF, she wants to give FM.. she really doesnt know abt the demand & supply correlation.. otherwise she wont be pushing for FM each time...

sorry for the rant guys... just had to vent out...

another thing.. i feel my medela harmony's suction is becoming less, or is it just paranoia? when i pump macam takde susu, but when baby suckle there is plenty.. lol
sbux
post Sep 13 2011, 03:39 PM

225 posts

lol... erm.. i think the problem with breastpump is the valves. check the valves and see..

i did not use medela before but my old breastpump's valve always tear thus resulthing in lower suction.

mIssfROGY
post Sep 13 2011, 04:15 PM

2,155 posts

hey nickit...heheh me too me too! I am a bf mom! Start since 17Nov2010 tongue.gif
TSnicKit
post Sep 13 2011, 04:38 PM

374 posts

mIssfROGY, added ur name~! yoo hoo~!

bf mummies still going strong? laugh.gif
Tess_87
post Sep 13 2011, 06:43 PM

I just had my baby yesterday n tried breastfeeding but my boy seems dowan to latch on n keep sleeping throughout breadtfeeding session.. Any1 know how to make my boy latch on as this is the 2nd day i still dun have milk n the colostrum as well.. Worry!!!
phythia79
post Sep 13 2011, 11:18 PM

398 posts

Congrats Tess_87!

Just keep on trying. If I'm not mistaken, qarezma had the same issue..her NB was also sleeping most of the time after delivered.

Do u hv breastpump? If not, try to express by Hand.

During this time...it's quite frustrating and worrying but u got to persevere...and need loads of patience.
TSnicKit
post Sep 13 2011, 11:25 PM

374 posts

Tess_87, congrats n welcome~! u need to try again n again... it'll seem like an endless trying but u still need to try... qarezma has the same problem too but look at her now... she can bf like pro tongue.gif if u have problems u can always turn to us or the breastfeeding advocates network on fb...

calling qarezma~! paging for qarezma~! do share ur experience for Tess_87~!

oh i oso wanna add something else to Tess_87

if ur baby sucks n sleep soundly, no fuss no cry then ur baby is full... at this time u'll probably feed almost every hr or once every 2 hrs... if u got comment like "baby is not fed full that's y keeps feeding every hr or feed so long" that's coz breastmilk (bm) is easy to digest... so if easy to digest mean faster to digest so faster to get hungry lo... at this time baby's stomach is as big as a pea... so no point force feed him or expand his stomach... imagine this - take ur hand against ur baby's hand... c how small is his hand... then imagine how big is his finger bone... then u'll understand how "big" is all his organs now... plus he's out of his comfort zone i.e. ur tummy so he'll b scared... all he needs is u n ur boobies laugh.gif gambateh~!

This post has been edited by nicKit: Sep 13 2011, 11:38 PM
phythia79
post Sep 14 2011, 06:57 AM

398 posts

Well said nicKit!
TSnicKit
post Sep 14 2011, 01:48 PM

374 posts

phythia, this is the result of hard work after learning n reading here n there tongue.gif u guys r so proud of me rite? brows.gif compare to me from earlier posts smile.gif
phythia79
post Sep 14 2011, 03:10 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(nicKit @ Sep 14 2011, 01:48 PM)
phythia, this is the result of hard work after learning n reading here n there tongue.gif u guys r so proud of me rite? brows.gif compare to me from earlier posts smile.gif
yes..yes..you have come a long way through the hurdles of no milk...in-laws.. tongue.gif
Syd G
post Sep 14 2011, 03:52 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Auwwww.. your milk stories are making me beaming with pride tongue.gif

There's a new user in the lactation room where I often pump - 2nd kid, first one she BF until 4 months onli. Wah I was like a cheerleader encouraging her to BF till at least 6 months.. heheheh.

qarezma
post Sep 14 2011, 05:05 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Tess_87 @ Sep 13 2011, 06:43 PM)
I just had my baby yesterday n tried breastfeeding but my boy seems dowan to latch on n keep sleeping throughout breadtfeeding session.. Any1 know how to make my boy latch on as this is the 2nd day i still dun have milk n the colostrum as well.. Worry!!!
QUOTE(nicKit @ Sep 13 2011, 11:25 PM)
Tess_87, congrats n welcome~! u need to try again n again... it'll seem like an endless trying but u still need to try... qarezma has the same problem too but look at her now... she can bf like pro tongue.gif if u have problems u can always turn to us or the breastfeeding advocates network on fb...

calling qarezma~! paging for qarezma~! do share ur experience for Tess_87~!

oh i oso wanna add something else to Tess_87

if ur baby sucks n sleep soundly, no fuss no cry then ur baby is full... at this time u'll probably feed almost every hr or once every 2 hrs... if u got comment like "baby is not fed full that's y keeps feeding every hr or feed so long" that's coz breastmilk (bm) is easy to digest... so if easy to digest mean faster to digest so faster to get hungry lo... at this time baby's stomach is as big as a pea... so no point force feed him or expand his stomach... imagine this - take ur hand against ur baby's hand... c how small is his hand... then imagine how big is his finger bone... then u'll understand how "big" is all his organs now... plus he's out of his comfort zone i.e. ur tummy so he'll b scared... all he needs is u n ur boobies laugh.gif gambateh~!
congrats Tess!! welcome to motherhood!

as Kit said, i din have a smooth BF start.. just like you. I insisted the maternity center that i wanna BF so they said they wont feed FM. But for the 2 days i was there.. my baby never latched cos he was such a sleepy baby.. i tried tickling and other methods.. some saw stripping baby works, but i din try cos there was air con there.. in the end, due to pressure from hubby i had to let the nurses give him FM, but i still brought him in for latch attempts, also another thing, i got hubby to latch and get some suction *blushing* a tip the nurse told me once, we continued this for a few sessions at home

once home.. abt 3rd day he could latch.. but he was such a sleepy baby... even FM oso 1oz perhaps for the whole day... and since i was giving him FM in bottle, he suddenly forgot to latch on my boobs!! imagine the horror!! i was so sad.. but i continued attempting latches before every FM feed.. and suddenly on the 6th day he could latch again!!

for your sleepy baby, i say try again and again.. if u can wake him up, better still.. otherwise dont give up and try again, maybe get hubby to help cos only the suction can get the supply coming in

like Kit said, i also had some comments from hubby and MIL... at least my mom was pretty sensible towards my efforts... not enuf milk la.. baby hungry.. this and that... baby's tummy is so small plus BM digest so fast, so be prepared to spend most time latching baby, which is a good thing cos constant latching can help the supply to come in!

in my situation there were times when i supplement FM due to giving time to my first kid... otherwise my baby is very much 100% on BM.. ive covered 1st month... 2 more weeks to 2 mth milestone wink.gif

you can do it! we are here to support you!
TSnicKit
post Sep 14 2011, 06:19 PM

374 posts

phythia, in laws eh? brows.gif i dun think i've covered that one well enuf tongue.gif

syd, u should be~! rclxm9.gif aren't we all just excited n cheering for other bf mummies too? smile.gif

qarezma, u're the best n latest sample to Tess_87 coz ur babies r just a few weeks apart... u guys should b able to relate to each other n perhaps support each other... i'm so proud of u dear~!

Tess_87, gambateh~! do update us whenever u can smile.gif bf journey is not always smooth but the end result is worthwhile (dunno where i heard this liao laugh.gif)

103 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:10 PM