LYN Breastfeeding Support Group, may u b bless wif abundance of supply~!!

Tess_87
post Sep 5 2011, 09:34 AM

Dear All,

I have 1 stupid question to ask. Is it most first time mum might not have breastmilk immediately after labor? If really so, is it we have to feed baby formula first? I'm delivering soon but until now din have any milk leakage..
Tess_87
post Sep 5 2011, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(Mommy_2011 @ Sep 5 2011, 10:15 AM)

Pls don't think your question is stupid, cos most of the 1st time moms have this question, including me.

Before I delivered, I oso didn't have any milk leakage so I was wondering will I have BM or wud have to take FM to hospital to feed baby after labor.

But don't worry, u will have BM after u deliver baby. Milk will come automatically when u see u r lovely baby's face, no matter how exhausted you are after the labor. BTW if u r delivering in BF friendly hospital the nurses will always be supportive and some more when they clean baby and bring him to u, they will squeeze your nipple and feed your baby cholestrum (not sure of spelling tongue.gif ) the first milk u get with a lot of nutrition.

So pls don't be scared and wish u all the best!!! thumbup.gif
Dear Mommy_2011,

Thanks alot. feel better when sees ur reply. Before that i'm pretty worried that my milk wont come in as no matter how i squeeze, no milk come out. Do hope my milk will come when my baby is here.. smile.gif

Added on September 5, 2011, 11:31 am
QUOTE(phythia79 @ Sep 5 2011, 10:54 AM)
Dear Tess...

No question is a silly question smile.gif.  It's good that you ask so that you get info.

I read somewhere that our baby stores some fat in their system so that when they are born, they can still survive if milk from mommy is not sufficient yet.  After delivering, the first milk that comes out is colustrum which is the most nutritious of all and pls pls..give this to your NB.  Keep on latching on as this would indicate that your body needs to produce more milk to feed your NB.  Once you give FM..it subconciously informes your body that there is no demand..so less milk is produced.  Do remember this formula: DEMAND = SUPPLY.  If there is demand..there will be supply.  Another formula you need is DETERMINATION.

Kindly bear in mind that milk that comes from us is not free flowing ya...coz lots of mommies and daddies think it's free flowing. My advise..read up, go for classes (from professional and experienced lactation consultant ie Gina Yong or Jenlia group) and prepare mentally as I can assure you that it's not an easy road...but it's worth it smile.gif.

Added on September 5, 2011, 10:56 amAnother thing i'll like to add is NB's stomach is a size of a pea...so..they need less liquid but frequently.  That's why NB tends to feed every hour or 2.
Dear phythia79,

Thanks.. I cant wait for this whole BF process now.. haha.. tongue.gif

Added on September 5, 2011, 11:34 am
QUOTE(nicKit @ Sep 5 2011, 10:57 AM)
Tess_87, i dun think i experience the milk leakage during the last trimester... but good news is i'm still bf until now tongue.gif

u've got all the advice here so i just kepo saje la laugh.gif

gundamalpha, welcome abroad~! name added... but so far only 10... hmm... the rest is either shy or dun come to this part of forum laugh.gif
Dear nicKit,

Ur milk comes in as well after u give birth? As a first time mum, i have no knowledge on this at all.. Some ppl tell me milk will come in few weeks/ days before labor, or mayb that does not apply to first time mum?? haha tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Tess_87: Sep 5 2011, 11:34 AM
Tess_87
post Sep 5 2011, 12:00 PM

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Sep 5 2011, 11:47 AM)
My milk only came in after i delivered.  Some women takes them a few days for milk to come in.
U feed baby with FM during that few days when ur milk havent come in? I'm quuite curious on this actually. Scare if feed baby with FM, he will not prefer BF when my milk come in or maybe he dowan to latch on.. hmm.gif
Tess_87
post Sep 5 2011, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Sep 5 2011, 02:10 PM)
I just kept on giving baby my breast...even my milk is not much..but it's enough to feed a NB as i said earlier, their stomach is a size of a pea...try putting 2 or 3 oz of milk into that small space. 

Always think positive that you have milk..it does help. 

yes..some babies are smart that they may refuse your breast as you have given him bottle ..which is called nipple confusion as bottle..they don't need to work hard to get the milk compared to breast. 

As for latching on, both baby and mommy have to learn as this particular process is new to both.  Some babies know how to latch on..some don't..which then, you need patience to teach them...and at the same time..calm your fears when they are screaming while trying to latch on..or refuse to latch on. 

Try to google now (since you'll be delivering soon) at kellymom.com on photos or pictures that shows how to latch on and the correct latch on...to give you some idea.  Or if you have friends or family that have bf successfully..get them to be on standby to just show you the rope. 

I'll also suggest you to join the breastfeeding advocate network group on FB.  The lady, Gina Yong, is a very helpful person.  She can help you if you run into any problem...the mommies over there too can also share you with their experiences.  Don't worry..coz most moms go through the same fears and problems the first time.  You are definitely not alone on that. 

Even though I managed to bf successfully for 2 years...i can tell you that it wasn't so easy at first.  My supply is not abundant too and i had to work very hard to increase and maintain my supply. 

You may encounter many roadblocks..from latching on, to supply, to unsupportive family/friends, Confinement Ladies who doesn't encourage BF, blocked ducts, engorgement..so on so on..many of us here (and in FB) has gone through the same path too...just voice out and we'll be there to give some advice or lend our ears.

Good luck!

Added on September 5, 2011, 2:15 pmoh..i had no milk at exactly 1 month! I panicked..tried giving FM but son rejected.  I just kept on giving my breast while trying to get my milk flowing again using the method (posted on 1st page).

Babies are smart too..when you give them the best milk at first...they won't take any other milk later on.
Really thanks alot. I'm looking forward to BF my baby soon but now need to wait for him to come out first.. Kinda losing my patient d.. haha.. Btw do you have any FB link to this lady Gina Yong that u mention? Would like to add her in FB. Thanks.. biggrin.gif

Tess_87
post Sep 7 2011, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(sbux @ Sep 5 2011, 06:34 PM)
Thanks alot sbux.. smile.gif

Added on September 7, 2011, 9:25 am
QUOTE(nicKit @ Sep 6 2011, 12:23 PM)
Tess_87, sorry for the late reply... my milk (the white fatty one) comes in on the 5th day when i felt the engorgement... so u dun have to worry abt baby hungry coz u're giving him or her the best milk ever~! quoting from someone in the breatfeeding network - u can't buy bm off the shelf from tesco~! laugh.gif if possible get ur hb on ur side so u won't b alone in this bf battle... i say it's a battle coz u really have to "fight" a lot of things... as a new 1st time mum u'll b overwhelm by a lot things... if u can get support then u're in good hand... if ur hb is on ur side at least he can become ur shield should in-laws/CL/relatives/frens give any funny funny ideas... meantime either attend bf classes or get gina's book n get lots lots information so ppl will know u dun just simply do things... u did ur research so u know wat u're doing smile.gif

thanks, sbux, for helping out~!

updated post #1
nicKit, thanks.. My HB wont be with me during my 2 months confinement, me & BB will be staying at my IL's hse which is in kedah (we're actually staying & worki in Penang). So i'll be all alone.. HB will only visit us duirng weekend.. sigh, do hope i can really cope that 2 mths.. stress just to think of it.. ph34r.gif

This post has been edited by Tess_87: Sep 7 2011, 09:25 AM
Tess_87
post Sep 13 2011, 06:43 PM

I just had my baby yesterday n tried breastfeeding but my boy seems dowan to latch on n keep sleeping throughout breadtfeeding session.. Any1 know how to make my boy latch on as this is the 2nd day i still dun have milk n the colostrum as well.. Worry!!!
Tess_87
post Sep 18 2011, 04:25 PM

Hi all, thx for all the advise.. After seeing qarezma advice for the latching on method, had tried n at last i had successfully to get my boy to latch on.. I'm direct bf him at daytime but nitetime after the last direct bf at 11pm, will give him fm if he wans milk after that as he sleeps with my mil at nite..few days ago did express bm for nite use but its kinda painful compare to my boy suckle, so i stop express d.. Perhaps i should start back?
As my boy will wake up for milk almost every hr so i'm not sure when should i express my milk for storage..
Being a bf mum reali is busy.. Haha..
My mil n the confinement lady keep on saying my boy waking up coz my milk not enuff to make him full, reali hate it when they said that!! Keep pushing me for full fm as well..IRRITATING!!
Tess_87
post Sep 18 2011, 11:33 PM

Qarezma, thx alot.. but my ebm still very slow & less. around 1hr - 1 hr half i just can pump out 3oz of bm.. maybe that is y my baby nvr get enuff og milk & keep waking up for bm?? he wakes up almost every hr or 45mins sometimes, seldom will sleep thru 2hrs or longer.. sometimes seeing him so frustrated & cry just make me feel like i'm so useless for not feeding him enuff.. N my milk seems like watery & not thick as well.. sad.gif

nicKit, as my mil said want me to rest at nite so she insisted my baby sleep with them.. I'm having my confinement at my hb hometown, staying at my mil place so hb only can back on weekends to be with us.. sad.gif
Honestly, without my hb here, do feel so stressful & lonely.. sometimes just miss him so much when my baby cry or i cant handle my baby.. cry.gif
Tess_87
post Sep 20 2011, 04:50 PM

Hi all, sry couldnt get any internet connection yesterday.. Apologize to all as wat i mean is i pump 2hrs only can get 2-3oz, not every 2hrs.. Haha..
Btw, my left nipple skin kinda peel off, hurt badly when my boy latch on, even pump oso hurts.. Ppl tell me to apply my own milk on the wound but still hurts.. Any way to make it heal faster? Hard to pump out milk from the wounded nipple.. =(
My CL keep saying n telling my bb that his mama milk cant make him full enuff, everytime keep askin me my bb full onot after each feeding.. Frustrated with her!!!
Tess_87
post Sep 25 2011, 08:50 PM

Hi all, had talk to her n now she's finally feeding my son with bm.. I have a question in mind, will pumping out milk decrease milk supply? As my mil keep askin whether my baby had enuff by direct latch n say better to give him ebm. N she oso said my son will wan to suck on suckle on somethg due to direct latch as sometimes he just want to suckle for falling asleep.. I'm kinda frust of her keep asking me stop direct latch n giving bottle feed of ebm.. Actually i only wish to stop direct latch by 6th weeks as i'll start working d but now cant stand her keep adkin when my son still fuss after direct latch..
Really feel so hard especially confinement at my mil place!!
N i can only be with my boy when he's 8mths old.. My son will be staying at my mil place till 8mths old.. Sad~

Added on September 25, 2011, 8:52 pmSbux, sry im using avent manual pump.. Seems like the pump making my aerola skin to peel off..

This post has been edited by Tess_87: Sep 25 2011, 08:52 PM
Tess_87
post Sep 27 2011, 07:06 PM

Phythia, too bad my hubby said unless there are proves to show my mil.. As my mil's fren that just give birth told her that its not a prob for her to maintain high milk supply even though no DL at all so guess she think every1 is the same.. Plus she dun like my boy to get use to suckling as she forbid pacifier to be use..
Another thg is i duno whether my bb is full onot thru DL.. Any1 know how to see whether bb is full onot as we do not know how many oz bb get thru DL.. He keeps waking up every hr asking for milk sometimes.. Thru bottle my boy drink 3-4oz now..

Added on September 27, 2011, 7:18 pmNickit, due to bb is still too small so my mil suggest for bb to stay in hometown.. Bb will send to nanny in hometown for daycare n my mil will take care of him during nitetime.. According to her, nanny will only accept job which at least last up to 6mths, so pluS this 2mths of maternity total will be 8mths.. Ya, will send ebm back to hometown few times perweek when my hb is visiting cust near there.. Im going to miss my boy so damn much when im back to work..=(

This post has been edited by Tess_87: Sep 27 2011, 07:18 PM
Tess_87
post Sep 28 2011, 06:19 PM

My bb do pee & poo quite freq everyday.. Hope this is a good sign that he's drinking enuff.. I dont mind feeding him often just had enuff of nagging n doubting from cl n mil..
Btw i found that the side which my boy always latch on will produce more milk than the side which i always pump.. Is any1 facing this?
My left nipple is crack so i used to pump it out only, n i let my boy DL on the right breast all this while..
Sigh, as per my mil she wan us to focus on work 1st as baby will keep us awake at nitetime so she dowan us to bring baby back with us when i start work..my mil is still workin so baby send to nanny at daytime, nitetime only she'll take care of him.. Regarding this, even my hb oso support her..pity my boy cant be with his parents.. i'll be sad to be force to leave him like this..
Im scare too that my boy will get used to sleepin with granny instead of his parents.. 8mths is a LONG time.. even though this is only my 2nd wk of confinement so i still have 1mth plus to keep him by myside but sometimes thinking that i'll leave him here after i start work makes me cry.. =(
Tess_87
post Nov 22 2011, 10:57 AM

Dear all, sry for the mia tongue.gif ..
My maternity holiday ends finally and i've start working since last week. Till now i'm still breastfeeding my son thru EBM. As I've mention in my post prev, my son is in my hb hometown so i'll pump out milk daily n take the frozen milk back to my son during weekend. But my milk suppply start decreasing to 30oz per day, might be due to busy working schedule i guess as i'm only able to pump 3times daily, but weekend i'll try to pump 4 times.. smile.gif
At the moment being a full time b/f working mum is still ok for me, except that duno why i feel like my boobs not very comfortable.. rolleyes.gif haha..
btw, does any b/f mum here wear nubra?? I have dinner coming up n i have no idea how to wear nubra with breastpad for the milk leak.. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Tess_87: Nov 22 2011, 10:58 AM
Tess_87
post Nov 22 2011, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(nugget @ Nov 22 2011, 11:06 AM)
Tess,

When u transport the ebm...does it stay Rick frozen all the time?
How u disinfect the case?
I tried the pureen pils..but it smell like Clorox?!!

Many thanks

Cheers

Nug nug
I stored my EBM in EBM storage bottles/those kaya or pudding bottles and pack it in the cooler bag with some ice cubes n 1 ice pack only. up to now i had 3 transportation, my frozen EBM can stay frozen up to 3-4hrs in the cooler bag.. but i've nvr disinfect anythg, just sterilize my bottles after every use..
Tess_87
post Nov 22 2011, 11:34 AM

phythia, ya i'll need to keep pumping to make sure my supply is enuff n luckily i'm still able to cope with work n milk pumping in between.. Bit bout of topic here, does any or ur bb drkining less milk than usual? my son milk intake start to become less since his 2nd mth injection.. usually he can drink 4.5oz to 5oz but now he only drinks 3oz+ and even skip feeding time.. Kinda shocked when he can go thru 7hrs without milk last sat, as usually he will fuss for milk every 3-4hrs.. worry sick on this.. sad.gif
Tess_87
post Nov 22 2011, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Nov 22 2011, 02:42 PM)
Their intake varies.  There'll be up and down times.  7 hrs without milk..as in when he's asleep?
ya, my last feeding is at 3am with 5oz, he wakes up at 6am but dowan to drink milk.. i carry him up n he just fall back to sleep.. after that everyhour he will wakes up fuss n when i carry him he will sleep back agn.. tot he wan milk but when i feed him, he dowan.. ard 10am when we force him to drink only drink abit.. now he drinks but either nvr cant finish 5oz or more than 5hrs only he wans milk.. prob is my son is only 2mths old..

0.0507sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:31 AM