41 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

News Dell XPS 15 is back! ~ rm2999 ~ It has launch!, Core i5, GT420M, 4GB, 500GB, JBL subwoof

LightningFist
post Oct 30 2010, 02:07 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

I mean Windows 7 definitely is nicer, with the looks and new functions and stuff. But I have used XP, Vista, and 7 across many desktops/laptops, and while Vista's speed depended on the PC, even for faster, newer PCs on paper, Windows 7 was slower for me than XP. I don't use SSD.
botak91
post Oct 30 2010, 09:01 PM

132 posts

So you guys think that this is a vlue buy? Okay then, will be getting the notebook!
alister88
post Oct 30 2010, 11:45 PM

1,367 posts

well, once we get used to one we wont wanna use back the old one.. haha
But im not really adapted to W7 yet. Cos my lappy is only Vista but also spoil...
Now Im using my bro's Mac and I somehow dont get use to Windows. LOL

but overall i think this is a value buy laptop. =)
wongpeter
post Nov 1 2010, 07:05 PM

973 posts

@astria & LightningFist: Thanks for the info. I learned something. smile.gif
LightningFist
post Nov 4 2010, 04:23 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Any shops have XPS 15 so we can have a look-see before purchase?

Does Dell have a specialised Dell Store any longer?
Casperwinde
post Nov 4 2010, 10:47 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Nov 4 2010, 04:23 PM)
Any shops have XPS 15 so we can have a look-see before purchase?

Does Dell have a specialised Dell Store any longer?
hav a same q v u tongue.gif tongue.gif therefore im going for ECOM fair at mitc,melaka 2mrw.....
wic area r u in? can try mid valley's pc expo though....
LightningFist
post Nov 4 2010, 11:02 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

I was not aware that Mid Valley had a PC expo - I'm in PJ/KL.

Ironically there used to be a Dell store in Mid Valley, but I'm not do not know whether or not it still exists.

Busy at the moment, though I desperately wanted to order a new laptop, the current state of the config does not please me.

Waiting for stores to have it, I guess.
putochip123
post Nov 4 2010, 11:42 PM

1,496 posts

PC wont give discount la, y so many people misunderstand that PC fair give discount
PC mainly is to show what is the new tech for currently market
LightningFist
post Nov 5 2010, 12:17 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Yeah, of course, PC Fair gives no discount. They may have "free gifts" which shops give anyway.

PC Fairs often have the fliers only, but not the product. You may have to "order" and wait 2/3 months.
ZeratoS
post Nov 5 2010, 12:56 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

That depends on the model. Higher end models they may keep one or two. I know they won't bring more than two G series for Asus in at any booth cause realistically not many people want one.

Also I checked with my cousin, not likely to have better specs so soon. You might want to keep waiting or go for it. I'm not too pleased with the GPU but its still a value buy.
LightningFist
post Nov 5 2010, 01:01 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Yes it's a value buy (for the i7 + GT 435M).

But I'm looking for i5 with the GPU.

Well, I don't expect the specs to change for the better, as poor as some of them may be at the moment. But I do want some of the options to change, otherwise I'd rather wait.

It's not too long before Sandy Bridge rolls around, and not that it's extra great or anything, but if the current offering sucks (to me), then why not.
ZeratoS
post Nov 5 2010, 01:16 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

Yeah, I contemplated on it and seriously wanted to get it but my dad raged and told me to get a Macbook or no deal. :/

I declined, I refuse to pay RM5~6k (USD$2199) for equal or less with regards to specs.
LightningFist
post Nov 5 2010, 01:23 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

That's funny, why would a parent prefer a Mac or a brand? Hehe.

MBPs are designed good, tho MacBook was flawed in some ways. But their battery life is legendary (though a good Dell or Acer would be just as well).

If you were in Malaysia expect 6k specs to be equal to that of a RM2599 laptop, or much worse.
Holyboy27
post Nov 5 2010, 01:28 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(ZeratoS @ Nov 5 2010, 01:16 AM)
Yeah, I contemplated on it and seriously wanted to get it but my dad raged and told me to get a Macbook or no deal. :/

I declined, I refuse to pay RM5~6k (USD$2199) for equal or less with regards to specs.
Usually it would be the other way around, a parent raging when kids suggest MBP!

On another note, is your house an iHouse? And yes, if your dad is willing to spend that much, at least spare the man from some raging =P
Computing is not all specs alone yo.. at least that is what i was led to believe by reading mac forums.
lengnui89
post Nov 5 2010, 01:28 AM

134 posts

yeah my parents also ask why dont u buy macbook? swt..

they only know macbook is good but for me, it just exp apple product =/(sorry no offence ya macbook user)

anyone know when the laptop will reach ur hand after u placed the order?
DoubleU
post Nov 5 2010, 01:42 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Nov 5 2010, 01:28 AM)
Usually it would be the other way around, a parent raging when kids suggest MBP!

On another note, is your house an iHouse? And yes, if your dad is willing to spend that much, at least spare the man from some raging =P
Computing is not all specs alone yo.. at least that is what i was led to believe by reading mac forums.
computing, as in web browsing, watching movies... day to day activities... its not specs alone. But when you factor in intensive stuff like gaming, video editting (especially those that do these for a living) you don't want to waste half a day rendering your videos, you dun want to play games at low0medium detail, at a low resolution. So you know... just which type of user you are.

I mean if you just do web browsing, watching movies, listening music, abit of word processing... (i know some friends that do this only) Ur better off buying a macbook air. Thin, light, durable, stylist, long battery life. Perfect!
LightningFist
post Nov 5 2010, 01:43 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

Dell? About 2/3 weeks.
putochip123
post Nov 5 2010, 02:41 AM

1,496 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 5 2010, 01:42 AM)
computing, as in web browsing, watching movies... day to day activities... its not specs alone. But when you factor in intensive stuff like gaming, video editting (especially those that do these for a living) you don't want to waste half a day rendering your videos, you dun want to play games at low0medium detail, at a low resolution. So you know... just which type of user you are.

I mean if you just do web browsing, watching movies, listening music, abit of word processing... (i know some friends that do this only) Ur better off buying a macbook air. Thin, light, durable, stylist, long battery life. Perfect!
ya, i own a macbook pro before, the battery life is damn nice, 1 charge hold me for whole day in campus doing editing and web browsing
kineticsem
post Nov 5 2010, 02:44 AM

38 posts

So how long can this last? GT420M better or ATI 5650?
ZeratoS
post Nov 5 2010, 02:45 AM

Oh you.
1,044 posts

That's a plus, but I play games. Plus with GW2 coming out, figures why I wouldn't get a MBP.

41 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0294sec    1.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:10 PM