AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V24, Thuban or Bulldozer!? Its 6-Season

kuntawakaw
post May 5 2011, 12:34 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(shajack @ May 5 2011, 12:28 AM)
bulldozer aside...is it safe to run the tmpin02(nb or imc) over 50'c?
how can u jump to conclusion that tmpin2 is nb or imc?
i never know imc have any temp sensor on it..

plus, i checked ur prev post, u using gigabyte..most gigabyte mobo i tested all having tmpin2 around 79-82 (depends on ur ambient temp, might get higher but seldom lower)
i assume that is a bug.. and usually i ignore

Added on May 5, 2011, 12:37 am
QUOTE(cllee86 @ May 4 2011, 07:28 PM)
I did not say the new socket is BS. Please find a word in my post that says the new socket is BS. I have NEVER EVER said the AM3+ is BS. I stand stand firmly on this statement.
as asrock marketing the new socket mobo.. so now what is the BS then? asrock?

ok.. i quote the tittle "ASRock reveals Socket AM3+ CPU details"

ok.. now tell me is revealing the AM3+ socket details is BS?

This post has been edited by kuntawakaw: May 5 2011, 12:37 AM
shajack
post May 5 2011, 12:44 AM

semi-retired@everything
872 posts

well this gigabyte 890fx didnt jump as high as my previous mobo,770...proc oc to 3.8ghz,100% utilization,tmpin02 max out at 50c
with the vimc bumped to 1.5v,proc to 3.9ghz, tmpin02 past 53c n climbing...if tmpin02 aint nb or imc,then ill ignore it tho
kuntawakaw
post May 5 2011, 12:52 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(shajack @ May 5 2011, 12:44 AM)
well this gigabyte 890fx didnt jump as high as my previous mobo,770...proc oc to 3.8ghz,100% utilization,tmpin02 max out at 50c
with the vimc bumped to 1.5v,proc to 3.9ghz, tmpin02 past 53c n climbing...if tmpin02 aint nb or imc,then ill ignore it tho
vimc = 1.5? thats high actually.. im not gonna stress test that if i were u.
tmpin2 i dont think it is imc... but nb, i donno... alot of mobo have nb temp sensor..but i havent heard of imc temp sensor yet..

if that is NB temp... 5x is safe for me.. (long time havent monitor nb temp liao.. last time with 790gx is 6X consider normal with igp off)

ps: NB i mentioned is motherboard northbrigde.not CPU-NB witch is IMC
shajack
post May 5 2011, 12:57 AM

semi-retired@everything
872 posts

time to lower my oc then sad.gif
thanks rclxms.gif
cllee86
post May 5 2011, 01:17 AM

540 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ May 5 2011, 12:34 AM)
how can u jump to conclusion that tmpin2 is nb or imc?
i never know imc have any temp sensor on it..

plus, i checked ur prev post, u using gigabyte..most gigabyte mobo i tested all having tmpin2 around 79-82 (depends on ur ambient temp, might get higher but seldom lower)
i assume that is a bug.. and usually  i ignore

Added on May 5, 2011, 12:37 am
as asrock marketing the new socket mobo.. so now what is the BS then? asrock?

ok.. i quote the tittle "ASRock reveals Socket AM3+ CPU details"

ok.. now tell me is revealing the AM3+ socket details is BS?
Hmm..I see that ur refering to the Bit Tech link. And I was refering to the Asrock link, which is a lot more marketing that cite why you should choose Asrock AM3+ mobo over standard AM3.
The way they present those so called "Details" is very marketing type. Ok, calling it Marketing BS may be a bit over but still...like I said, Marketing..

And the Bit Tech's title is very misleading lorr...where got AM3+ CPU details. Just the socket info they got from Asrock.
So in the end, what's the difference between Gigabyte's AM3+ and Asrock AM3+ ?
Even the article wrote Asrock is using the current generation chipset for their AM3+ mobos.

As for the Bulldozer's compatibility with AM3 mobos, some say can some say not stable. Will only know when AMD officially release Bulldozer and someone tries it out.
Before that is confirmed, Asrock's marketing is Marketing...

This post has been edited by cllee86: May 5 2011, 01:21 AM
saturn85
post May 5 2011, 01:31 AM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

my board tmpin02 temperature around 60'c on full load. unsure.gif
kuntawakaw
post May 5 2011, 01:40 AM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

Many motherboard makers claim that their AMD AM3 mainboards are compatible with AM3+ processor by BIOS upgrade. However, this method may be not stable enough to provide a reliable computing, and may result in certain effects. The latest ASRock Real AM3+ socket motherboards were solidly built with AM3+ CPU power solution and all AM3+ related hardware components that provide users an advanced and efficient computing choice! Why users should choose Real AM3+ MB? We provide six reasons for answers!

this comparing am3+ socket with am3 socket..
not asrock am3+ better than giga am3+

those mobo manufacturer not dumb..they already have hands on BD before make any "BD support mobo" statement
if they say support, it supports..
stable or not is depends...maybe asrock saying on the vcore or the noise thing..
but i strongly believe it just cant deliver the full power of BD..thats all..

old chipset? i dont see problem with that..marketing? yes..but BS? no.. there r facts overthere that unless got ppl that prove that facts are lies..then only it is marketing BS
asus make m5eXXX
giga make 3.1v mobos..
cllee86
post May 5 2011, 08:24 AM

540 posts

Marketing BS does not necessary mean lies. They just gives you figures or details that doesn't really mean much and do heavy promotion on these details to differentiate themselves.
If ur really upset with the word BS then I apologize to you. But to me, that's what they are.

I can't believe we are arguing about sockets. They don't really make much difference to the overall performance sumore...
And since u say those manufacturers are not stupid then I wanna confirm something, Asrock says that AM3+ sockets have 11% bigger holes than AM3. Based on that we can assume that BD has bigger pins, if not why make bigger holes. But then again, if BD has bigger pins, it surely won't fit into AM3 sockets.
But since manufacturers has BD on their hands and like u said, have tried them before, they surely know about this "FACT" rite. Then why do they still come out with statements like AM3 mobo with BIOS upgrade will be able support AM3+ BD?
Don't tell me bigger pins can fit into smaller holes...I believe u have swap so many procs that u can tell it won't. And if BD pins are the same size as current Phenom line, then why market AM3+ has bigger socket holes?
cloudwan
post May 5 2011, 12:56 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(cllee86 @ May 5 2011, 08:24 AM)
Marketing BS does not necessary mean lies. They just gives you figures or details that doesn't really mean much and do heavy promotion on these details to differentiate themselves.
If ur really upset with the word BS then I apologize to you. But to me, that's what they are.

I can't believe we are arguing about sockets. They don't really make much difference to the overall performance sumore...
And since u say those manufacturers are not stupid then I wanna confirm something, Asrock says that AM3+ sockets have 11% bigger holes than AM3. Based on that we can assume that BD has bigger pins, if not why make bigger holes. But then again, if BD has bigger pins, it surely won't fit into AM3 sockets.
But since manufacturers has BD on their hands and like u said, have tried them before, they surely know about this "FACT" rite. Then why do they still come out with statements like AM3 mobo with BIOS upgrade will be able support AM3+ BD?
Don't tell me bigger pins can fit into smaller holes...I believe u have swap so many procs that u can tell it won't. And if BD pins are the same size as current Phenom line, then why market AM3+ has bigger socket holes?

Maybe early BD models come with smaller pins to make easier migration for current users? Maybe bigger pin BD models are only a must with future BD models with APU? sweat.gif
So better we not speculate too much coz got a lot of variables, but i do agree with kunta, its a normal business model for manufacturers to have early production/engineering chips coz without them they could not test their prototype mobo's etc hmm.gif
cllee86
post May 5 2011, 01:33 PM

540 posts

Aii...what the hell are we doing. Arguing based on speculation and rumors doh.gif
Alright, I'm gonna back down from this argument. Sorry if I offended you bro kunta.
kuntawakaw
post May 5 2011, 04:07 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

QUOTE(cllee86 @ May 5 2011, 08:24 AM)

ok.. now i see.. where is ur level at

u jumped into conclusion that u have no idea on that.. even i dont have any idea on it, but im not saying that no performance difference..

how come u know bd have bigger pins? they never state that.. even if bigger, but if they say can fit, it will fit.. even asrock said "to avoid bent" not "cant fit"

so u assume that am3 pin is ngam2 fit into am3 socket? no small space left? ngam2? even increase the pin size abit will make it bigger than then hole?
have u ever try to move the processor side to side when it fit into the socket (before u lock lever down) ? guess not..

dafreak
post May 5 2011, 04:26 PM

1,064 posts

@cllee
i'm pretty sure those "Marketing BS" are specs form AMD

you saying AM2+ --> AM3 no performance difference?

do you know how small those holes are? 11% increase is very small doh.gif and like kunta said they never mention that BD chips will have fatter pins, just larger holes to prevent bending the pins

This post has been edited by dafreak: May 5 2011, 04:26 PM
cllee86
post May 5 2011, 04:43 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ May 5 2011, 04:07 PM)
ok.. now i see.. where is ur level at
Wow. I already apologize and u still come at me like that. Now I know where ur level is.
So, you don't agree that most of the time marketing gives a bunch of rubbish info that doesn't mean much. Ur telling me that u believe every single word that those leaflets or pamphlets tells you. So this is ur level..lemme tell you kid, don't believe everything they tell you. I can give tons of marketing scheme or figures that large manufacturer use that don't mean shit..

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ May 5 2011, 04:07 PM)
how come u know bd have bigger pins? they never state that.. even if bigger, but if they say can fit, it will fit.. even asrock said "to avoid bent" not "cant fit"
so u assume that am3 pin is ngam2 fit into am3 socket? no small space left? ngam2? even increase the pin size abit will make it bigger than then hole?
have u ever try to move the processor side to side when it fit into the socket (before u lock lever down) ? guess not..

You see, I don't. But assumption can be made since they decided to make the holes larger, and its a VALID assumption. In your infinite wisdom. Please enlighten me. How bigger hole can prevent bending of pins.

Again, in your statement you assume that I have never touch a proc before. Well, I did. Maybe not as much as you but I have touch all AMD sockets since Socket 7. I remembered every single AMD cpu I bought and install since 98.
I have moved the proc side by side and I am aware that there are still very small space for it to move a little. But u seem to forget to mention, it becomes tight after u lock the lever down. So a tiny room is needed. Imagine, if they make the pins bigger it'll be a very tight fit even before locking the lever, and the pins might actually bent if u lock it down.

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 5 2011, 04:26 PM)
@cllee
you saying AM2+ --> AM3 no performance difference?
Yes, I have tried my 955 on AM2 before moving to AM3. Even the move from DDR2 to DDR3 does not produce much noticeable performance increase. Are you telling me other wise. I know that newer socket is indeed better than previous ones, but only if they are paired with newer Chipset. Just the SOCKET ALONE will not produce much performance improvements. Unless they go crazy and introduce LGA for AMD laa..I'm actually hoping AMD would introduce LGA for BD. I admit I'm slightly disappointed when AMD decided to use AM3+ for BD.

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 5 2011, 04:26 PM)
do you know how small those holes are? 11% increase is very small doh.gif and like kunta said they never mention that BD chips will have fatter pins, just larger holes to prevent bending the pins
Dude. U think the pins and holes are made of soft rubbers arr? 11% increase is freakin huge for those hard materials. U really think those socket holes will expand if you put slightly larger pins.

Again, AMD never release statement that BD will have larger pins. But assumptions can be made since Asrock says the holes are larger. And again, in your infinite wisdom. Please enlighten me. How bigger hole can prevent bending of pins.

I can't believe we are arguing based on speculations, rumors and marketing. The whole argument starts when I see the links as Marketing BS while kunta sees it as previous details.

So kunta, can we agree to disagree. I call truce.

This post has been edited by cllee86: May 5 2011, 07:23 PM
verdict
post May 6 2011, 12:20 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

What is this guys? is it AMD brotherhood start to falling? blush.gif
uzer85
post May 6 2011, 10:28 AM

love............love......
3,812 posts

what happen to amd tered ah?? shooting sana shooting sini~

lets make it simple ok? until the actual product comeout and PROVEN crap/bs whatsoever u want to call it, then only call it marketing BS. if not, just read and wait....no point assuming something that didnt comeout yet...
shajack
post May 6 2011, 10:57 AM

semi-retired@everything
872 posts

heed d words of auntie uzer tongue.gif
y no one selling used thuban ahh as im not gonna jump 2 bd till next year.waiting 4 matured/stable series 900 mobo
saturn85
post May 6 2011, 01:32 PM

Folding@home
8,686 posts

AMD slashes processor prices, Big cuts make way for Llano rclxm9.gif
dafreak
post May 6 2011, 03:37 PM

1,064 posts

http://www.techpowerup.com/145301/ASUS-M5A...p-Detailed.html

something do drool at laugh.gif drool.gif
cloudwan
post May 6 2011, 04:15 PM

- Knob -
8,523 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ May 6 2011, 03:37 PM)
Can drool but cannot buy laugh.gif
kuntawakaw
post May 6 2011, 05:48 PM

imma tag fag!
3,795 posts

ok2..last reply.. then draw laugh.gif

QUOTE(cllee86 @ May 5 2011, 04:43 PM)
Please enlighten me. How bigger hole can prevent bending of pins

the pins might actually bent if u lock it down.

this..
but previous post u say bigger am3+ pins wont fit into smaller am3 hole..but now the lever is the problem.. hmm.. i dont think so, but, i donno.. u also donno.. but MSI,ASUS, what else? know..

So, you don't agree that most of the time marketing gives a bunch of rubbish info that doesn't mean much. Ur telling me that u believe every single word that those leaflets or pamphlets tells you. So this is ur level..lemme tell you kid, don't believe everything they tell you.

well..doesnt mean much is depends on the user. if office user, use pc to surf internets and MS office, yeah, thats its a total waste, but for me, i take that details.. plus i dont think the link is made for normal user.. if u looking that link as a normal user, is normal to not bother or even to look at the link at all..

if the more stable volt, then better oc ability (yeah,im making assumption)
believe? yes cuz now no one can prove that is a lie...
how far this asrock marketing affects me? not much.. im not into asrock.. just curious over new socket..

Yes, I have tried my 955 on AM2 before moving to AM3. Even the move from DDR2 to DDR3 does not produce much noticeable performance increase. Are you telling me other wise. I know that newer socket is indeed better than previous ones, but only if they are paired with newer Chipset. Just the SOCKET ALONE will not produce much performance improvements. Unless they go crazy and introduce LGA for AMD laa..I'm actually hoping AMD would introduce LGA for BD. I admit I'm slightly disappointed when AMD decided to use AM3+ for BD.

since u posting/replying in OCU, yes, huge difference ddr2 > ddr3.. .. try reply at HW QnA subforum.. dozens of ppl will reply u with "+1" or "agreed"

but performance socket difference, not so sure.. last time no details on socket this and that.. but iinm, try put ur am3 into am2 socket and ull see the ocability drop..
newer chipset also not any better if u just casual user.. let say 7series to 8series.. the great thing is the ram oc.. other than that, i donno..

123 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:28 PM