176 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread, Maxis FTTH launched 1st Sep 2010!

cmchung
post Feb 7 2011, 12:25 PM

14 posts

I've discovered a brand new problem with FTTH - the users are sharing the same IP address (few users one IP address). I had not been able to watch my favourite anime on Megavideo since I installed FTTH, I'm always "exceeded my 72 minutes watch time" even when my computer is being switched on for the first time of the day! I never switch off my modem otherwise my VOIP phone will not be functioning.

So, modem no re-set, IP address no change, switch on the computer, can't watch anime on Megavideo due to IP address had exceeded the allowed timing!

IF our IP address are not being shared, then... WHY?

Added on February 8, 2011, 4:14 pmShocking reply from Maxis as follows, and best part is they are not going to do anything about it!

Dear Ms Chung,

Based on our finding, we write to affirm that the Maxis FTTH service is using private IP thus you will face difficulty accessing to megavideo unless it is running on public IP like ADSL does, you may be able to access.

At this juncture, there are no immediate plans to convert the IP from private to public. With this, we collectively conclude the above is final and our reply remains status quo. Should you have any further queries, please call our Customer Care Hotline at 1800 821 123 for assistance.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by cmchung: Feb 8 2011, 04:15 PM
TStoofriggingslow
post Feb 9 2011, 11:50 PM

46 posts

Hah ! this is the typical, couldn't care less, don't give a shit attitude from Maxis Home Services people when I complained numerous times about their FTTH line.

A few days ago, an unknowing customer service agent from Maxis called to ask me to consider subscribing to their FTTH line again, too bad for her, she got a full 10 minutes of lashings from me. In the end I told her to convey the message to her boss that they need to immediately stop cheating customers with this type of shitty service.

cmchung
post Feb 10 2011, 04:18 PM

14 posts

You are lucky to have NOT subscribe to this really shitty service! As for me, I'm conned, cornered, cheated, doomed.. It's surely a bye bye from me to Maxis 24 months later, oh wait.. 21 months later to be exact!
numbertwo
post Feb 11 2011, 02:41 PM

1,785 posts

cmchung, what's ur IP address (google 'what is my ip address') ?
i'll try to get mine when i get back home today...Let's see if they are identical.

Added on February 11, 2011, 2:46 pm
ok..just sidetrack a lil:

a BU resident has just opened up a FB group page for BU folks to join...
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=116568645047150
Hope to see you guys in there soon..

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Feb 11 2011, 02:46 PM
aricat
post Feb 27 2011, 04:11 AM

It's sad there seems to be no improvement still about this...

I hoped it was bad enough on the reception of this service for them to change, but it seems their strategy have changed since a lot of ppl have been requesting for termination and waived from liable penalty... So they're being an ass now about termination, or at least force you to pay something to cover their losses... hmmmmm

Anyway, on question about public IP, few pages back I did share some information on it :-
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=36874680

Sadly nothing can be done even if you manage to access the ONT, because the ONT is controlled centrally by their system, and I think they have a scheduled 'push' of instructions to your huawei ONT each day, so all changes you've done will be reset. And furthermore, you can never set to change your ONT having a public IP. Dealing with the ONT is something new, which needs qualified personnel to deal with it's settings, but if you're feeling adventurous, there is a device document available in Chinese :-
http://wenku.baidu.com/view/c6c46f69a45177232f60a2f5.html

I only managed to get into the device but felt it's too much work to figure out it's language via telnet or that I don't have sufficient access to do anything to it.... The way how to access it was:-
- Configure a static IP on your computer : 192.168.100.3
- Other settings can be left as is...

- Plug your computer directly behind the ports on Huawei device (any will do)
- Access UI through webpage http://192.168.100.1
- Username : telecomadmin
- Password : admintelecom

It all seems to be a stupid architecture to me... and also one of the show stopper for me... I want a public IP, it's "MY" line, I'll settle with cybercafes if I'm OK with shared lines. On answers to the 'what's my ip' test, your result will show differently each time you reload the page, it's an alternating proxy (whichever proxy with the lower load will handle your page). And there should be a maximum of 6-7 proxies from what I know last time. So basically if there are more than 7 ppl in the whole maxis FTTH going for filesharing sites (megaupload, hotfile etc), you will always get the "Your IP have exceeded the bandwidth for the day". So daily, you'll have to hope that you're one of those 7 lucky ppl to grab that line.

Anyway, I am glad I managed to hop off this and gone back to normal ADSL.
But another thing upon termination, they sent me another bill at RM400++ in which all my VoIP calls are charged as conventional phone charges... lol Complained to them and ended up their system fault and I was only supposed to pay RM40++

Whoever running this Maxis FTTH project needs to take up more project management skills and qualification. Service is failing (and still failing) in all areas.
iipohbee
post Feb 27 2011, 09:44 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(aricat @ Feb 27 2011, 04:11 AM)
It's sad there seems to be no improvement still about this...

I hoped it was bad enough on the reception of this service for them to change, but it seems their strategy have changed since a lot of ppl have been requesting for termination and waived from liable penalty... So they're being an ass now about termination, or at least force you to pay something to cover their losses... hmmmmm

Anyway, on question about public IP, few pages back I did share some information on it :-
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=36874680

Sadly nothing can be done even if you manage to access the ONT, because the ONT is controlled centrally by their system, and I think they have a scheduled 'push' of instructions to your huawei ONT each day, so all changes you've done will be reset. And furthermore, you can never set to change your ONT having a public IP. Dealing with the ONT is something new, which needs qualified personnel to deal with it's settings, but if you're feeling adventurous, there is a device document available in Chinese :-
http://wenku.baidu.com/view/c6c46f69a45177232f60a2f5.html

I only managed to get into the device but felt it's too much work to figure out it's language via telnet or that I don't have sufficient access to do anything to it.... The way how to access it was:-
- Configure a static IP on your computer : 192.168.100.3
- Other settings can be left as is...

- Plug your computer directly behind the ports on Huawei device (any will do)
- Access UI through webpage http://192.168.100.1
- Username : telecomadmin
- Password : admintelecom

It all seems to be a stupid architecture to me... and also one of the show stopper for me... I want a public IP, it's "MY" line, I'll settle with cybercafes if I'm OK with shared lines. On answers to the 'what's my ip' test, your result will show differently each time you reload the page, it's an alternating proxy (whichever proxy with the lower load will handle your page). And there should be a maximum of 6-7 proxies from what I know last time. So basically if there are more than 7 ppl in the whole maxis FTTH going for filesharing sites (megaupload, hotfile etc), you will always get the "Your IP have exceeded the bandwidth for the day". So daily, you'll have to hope that you're one of those 7 lucky ppl to grab that line.

Anyway, I am glad I managed to hop off this and gone back to normal ADSL.
But another thing upon termination, they sent me another bill at RM400++ in which all my VoIP calls are charged as conventional phone charges... lol Complained to them and ended up their system fault and I was only supposed to pay RM40++

Whoever running this Maxis FTTH project needs to take up more project management skills and qualification. Service is failing (and still failing) in all areas.
Does this means that Maxis High Speed FTTH Pilot project failed already? biggrin.gif

cannavaro
post Feb 28 2011, 01:50 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Around Bukit Damansara area, you can see Maxis contractors deploying their NGBB (Next Generation Broadband). Guess that's the new name for their High Speed FTTH?
xiaoniu70
post Feb 28 2011, 06:22 PM

MaxShits FTTH definitely sucks BIG TIME!!!
Check out the screenshots below of my FTTH connections since yesterday.
It's more like dial up connection than highspeed broadband.

And the LATEST speed taken just few minutes ago. WTF!!!

Added on March 1, 2011, 12:20 am

Just want to update you guys.

Here are the LATEST screenshots of the shit MaxShits FTTH speedtest results.
One taken at 11:51pm 28th Feb and the other at 12:06am 1st March.

So you see, once the bloody MaxShits catches you downloading torrent files and it'll punish you by throttling down the speed to below 512kbps. You'll then have to wait till the start of next calendar month before you can get back the normal speed you subscribe for, 6Mbps in my case.

SO BE WARNED!!!

BEST DON'T SUBSCRIBE TO MAXSHIT FTTH!!! PERIOD!!![SIZE=14]

This post has been edited by xiaoniu70: Mar 1 2011, 12:21 AM
apanama0202
post Mar 1 2011, 11:15 AM

Yes I can also attest to it that Maxshits HSBB's(aka Maxis FTTH) speed is really like shit.

Guys, DON'T SUBSCRIBE TO MAXIS FTTH!!!

Maxshits - WTF!!![cool.gif

This post has been edited by apanama0202: Mar 1 2011, 11:18 AM
scamboy
post Mar 31 2011, 07:15 PM

230 posts

The service is officially launched- http://www.malaysianwireless.com/2011/03/m...-home-services/
szaku89
post Mar 31 2011, 10:43 PM

Amazing Z
1,351 posts

seems like maxis FTTH is nowhere better than tm Unifi.
soul2soul
post Apr 1 2011, 12:26 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

i think Unifi still pawns maxis.

Unifi at least can call few million TM's fixed lines FOC, but maxis only limited to maxis fixed lines only. The IPTV from maxis - 5 channels only??

I think can only work if Maxis offers Astro channels inside their iptv lor
numbertwo
post Apr 1 2011, 09:48 AM

1,785 posts

QUOTE(scamboy @ Mar 31 2011, 07:15 PM)
The service is available at areas where TM’s UniFi are deployed. In other words, consumers get to choose between Maxis Home Service or TM UniFi.

but I like the fact that it has the ability to offer the service in TM's territory.. When there is a competition granted, improvement will come from either party..
soul2soul
post Apr 1 2011, 10:15 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 1 2011, 09:48 AM)
but I like the fact that it has the ability to offer the service in TM's territory..  When there is a competition granted, improvement will come from either party..
RM128 for 4mbps , 30 Gig limit.

Not bad but hard to fight with Unifi RM149 with 60Gig limit.
numbertwo
post Apr 1 2011, 10:27 AM

1,785 posts

like i said, don't look at what packages are being offered now...let's look forward to what packages will be available after the competition begins..

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Apr 1 2011, 10:32 AM
bai1101
post Apr 1 2011, 11:04 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

are u mean that once u run torrenting the maxis system will auto throtle the whole connection to below average?

That suk, streamyx at least throtle p2p only and other still normal
teelim
post Apr 1 2011, 11:07 AM

588 posts

at first I tot unifi pricing quite suck liao.

now see maxis ftth doh.gif
numbertwo
post Apr 1 2011, 11:57 AM

1,785 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Apr 1 2011, 11:04 AM)
are u mean that once u run torrenting the maxis system will auto throtle the whole connection to below average?

That suk, streamyx at least throtle p2p only and other still normal
no, it is not.. at least not to my account.
The throttle starts only when the cap is hit... I just managed to d/l torrent for another 4GB last nite in an attempt to fully utilize that 40GB...
hanifw
post Apr 1 2011, 11:57 AM

389 posts

Unifi ftw!~ Unifi pwn Maxis!~
bai1101
post Apr 2 2011, 04:31 PM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

QUOTE(numbertwo @ Apr 1 2011, 11:57 AM)
no, it is not.. at least not to my account.
The throttle starts only when the cap is hit...  I just managed to d/l torrent for another 4GB last nite in an attempt to fully utilize that 40GB...
IC than 4mb package is sure not suitable for average downloader~~~~ since i think any 1 for got chase chinese drama can easy hit that limit

176 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:23 PM