Sep 14 2011, 09:38 PM
990 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Bolehland |
QUOTE(narong @ Sep 14 2011, 09:21 PM) Depends. It certainly won't beat SB in single core benchmarks, that is a given. But it appears to clock very well. At worst, it'll be like Pentium D minus the extreme power and heat.This post has been edited by yimingwuzere: Sep 14 2011, 09:39 PM |
Sep 14 2011, 10:04 PM
186 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Sep 14 2011, 10:20 PM
6,012 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Sep 14 2011, 10:28 PM
159 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
dont care if its slower than SB. if it scales well in games, its a success.
Sep 14 2011, 10:40 PM
546 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Tawau,Sabah,MY Status: AFK |
Oh yeah, gaming benchmark haven't done yet, now looking forward into it.
Sep 15 2011, 05:31 AM
186 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Sep 15 2011, 11:00 PM
15,694 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Sos : http://news.mydrivers.com/1/204/204366.htm
Bulldozer Official Benchmark Result : Handbrake : Bulldozer : 223FPS | i5 2500 : 188FPS Dirt 3 (Eyefinity) : Bulldozer 82.8FPS | i7 980X 80.9FPS This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Sep 15 2011, 11:01 PM |
Sep 15 2011, 11:48 PM
9,856 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, WP |
That review hardly tells us anything in detail.
Sep 15 2011, 11:56 PM
4,619 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
It didn't told much, and its in chinese
Sep 16 2011, 12:03 AM
8,711 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan |
QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Sep 15 2011, 11:00 PM) Sos : http://news.mydrivers.com/1/204/204366.htm why they used different CPUs for both tests?Bulldozer Official Benchmark Result : Handbrake : Bulldozer : 223FPS | i5 2500 : 188FPS Dirt 3 (Eyefinity) : Bulldozer 82.8FPS | i7 980X 80.9FPS what about 980X on Handbrake? and 2500 on Dirt3? think about it |
Sep 16 2011, 03:00 AM
8,686 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Sep 16 2011, 04:14 AM
2,994 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Behind You |
which means bulldozer single thread performance is arnd 1st gen i7
Sep 16 2011, 04:55 AM
8,686 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Sep 16 2011, 12:20 PM
18,182 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Dagobah |
QUOTE(wcypierre @ Sep 15 2011, 11:56 PM) It didn't told much, and its in chinese Try this, the original article: Hardware.info: First official benchmarks AMD FX processor...QUOTE(Koen Crijns @ Sep 15 2011, 9:16 AM) In the infamous hotel room two blocks away from IDF, AMD is our first official benchmark results of the AMD FX "Bulldozer" processor shown. Since both tests are presumably carefully chosen for the new platform to put in a good light, we can based on these numbers no conclusions. Yet we want the results do not remember. They only compared with Sandy Bridge Core i5, and not Sandy Bridge Core i7? From the pre-order pricing leaks, it does look probable that AMD is targeting FX against Core i5 2500K range. First they showed a comparison between a new unspecified AMD FX processor and an unspecified Intel processor i5 Sandy Bridge, with the help of the program Handbrake a video of 5 minutes is converted to H.264 video in SD resolution. The AMD FX processor with eight cores perform this function with an average of 223 frames per second, the i5 with four cores came in at 188 fps. Both systems will be comparable in price according to AMD, which it wants to show that AMD a better price / performance offering. That may be the case, but who has a more negative view would conclude that AMD is looking to double the number of cores needs to less than 20% better performance available. In the second demonstration showed up one game in three Dirt 2560x1600 resolution, running on two Radeon HD 6790 cards in Crossfire. In one system, the cards are combined with an Intel Core i7 980X, in the second system with an AMD FX processor. The Intel machine could produce an average of 80.9 fps, the AMD machine averaged 82.8 fps. The much cheaper AMD FX processor is faster than the Core i7 980X - if you want to show - though we should really stick through it: Dirt 3 to this resolution and the chosen card is very GPU thus limited. The extra 2 fps of the AMD-101 system can be explained ways, all of which are not necessarily traceable to CPU performance. For real benchmarks, we'll have to wait for the AMD FX processors actually available. Fortunately, that probably will not take too long. However revealed also a working laptop with AMD processor Trinity, the next generation AMD APU based on Bulldozer cores and a next generation GPU. Trinity middle of next year will reach the market. ![]() Intel vs. AMD ... Fight! ![]() AMD's laptop Trinity demo QUOTE(saturn85 @ Sep 16 2011, 04:55 AM) their fps are close, maybe gpu bottleneck also. At resolutions of 2560x1600, GPU limitation kicks in (as noted by the article). Coolaler leaks benchmark of FX-8120P and compares it with VR-Zone results: XtremeSystems Forums > New information and industry news > New Information >> [processor] [AMD Bulldozer FX-8120P] how Taiwan, like the moon with the foreign round! put a XtremeSystems bulldozers measured multi-test pattern... ![]() More or less similar scores. This post has been edited by lex: Oct 2 2011, 05:58 PM |
Sep 16 2011, 01:10 PM
8,711 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Butterworth, PG / Machang, Kelantan |
one member of the 8.43GHz team chew* has pointed this:
QUOTE To sum up BD facts BD is physically a 4 core 8 thread part. It has no coldbug Samples can bench at 5+ on stock cooler, 6+ on phase change and 8.4 on lhe. |
Sep 16 2011, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(lex @ Sep 16 2011, 12:20 PM) Try this, the original article: Hardware.info: First official benchmarks AMD FX processor...They only compared with Sandy Bridge Core i5, and not Sandy Bridge Core i7? From the pre-order pricing leaks, it does look probable that AMD is targeting FX against Core i5 2500K range. Thanks. Had some problems with the computer jargon in chinese QUOTE(owikh84 @ Sep 16 2011, 01:10 PM) So its actually like i5/i7 instead of having 8 physical cores? |
Sep 16 2011, 06:29 PM
18,182 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Dagobah |
QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Sep 15 2011, 11:00 PM) Bulldozer Official Benchmark Result : Trying to extrapolate the benchmark numbers...Handbrake : Bulldozer : 223FPS | i5 2500 : 188FPS Based on Tom's Hardware : Performance Charts Video Transcode: Handbrake (MPEG-2 to H.264) - Core i7 980X: 188fps x (151 / 113) = 251.2 fps - Core i7 2600K: 188fps x (151 / 122) = 232.7 fps - Phenom II X6 1100T: 188fps x (151 / 143) = 199.5 fps - Core i7-875K: 188fps x (151 / 151) = 188 fps - Phenom II X4 970: 188fps x (151 / 195) = 145.6 fps Based on Neoseeker : Intel Core i7 2600K & i5 2500K "Sandy Bridge" Review - Page 7 - Handbrake & POV-Ray - Core i7 2600K: 188fps x (117 / 93) = 236.5 fps - Phenom II X6 1100T: 188fps x (117 / 102) = 215.6 fps - Phenom II X4 970: 188fps x (117 / 143) = 153.8 fps Based on Guru3D: Core i5 2500K and Core i7 2600K review - Core i7 980X: 188fps x (28.11 / 16.32) = 323.8 fps - Core i7 2600K: 188fps x (21.6 / 16.32) = 248.8 fps - Phenom II X6 1100T: 188fps x (19.35 / 16.32) = 224.6 fps - Core i7-875K: 188fps x (21.6 / 18.52) = 219.3 fps - Phenom II X4 970: 188fps x (13.56 / 16.32) = 156.2 fps Now I'm beginning to see why it wasn't pitted against Sandy Bridge Core i7. QUOTE(wcypierre @ Sep 16 2011, 02:03 PM) So its actually like i5/i7 instead of having 8 physical cores? Yes, its more like Core i7 with 4C/8T. Check out this quote from Chew* (one of the overclockers at AMD FX overclocking event)...QUOTE(Chew* @ Sep 15 2011, 06:18 AM) Why is there still an on going discussion of core's modules......... I don't give a rats ass what Marketing calls the chip. AMD's patent draws a clear picture. They say a picture says a 1000 words right? AMD's own picture for there own patent. Note core 100 not module 100 aka core 0, and then inside core 0 is 2 clusters A and B. Case closed. ![]() This post has been edited by lex: Oct 2 2011, 05:17 PM |
Sep 16 2011, 07:03 PM
546 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Tawau,Sabah,MY Status: AFK |
Seems like no point jumping to BD if currently using Core i5.
Sep 16 2011, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(lex @ Sep 16 2011, 06:29 PM) Yes, its more like Core i7 with 4C/8T. Check out this quote from Chew* (one of the overclockers at AMD FX overclocking event)... I wonder if you mind explaining a little on the picture, I don't really get it(not really good at hardware part |
| Change to: | 0.0290sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:38 AM |