113 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Bottom

Intel® Core™2 Duo/Quad Overhauled Rev. 4, The journey continues...

OC4/3
post Mar 30 2009, 08:24 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 29 2009, 11:30 PM)
yea, it chould be insufficient vnb, vdimm or vcore, but sometime it able to pass ibt 10-20 loops, but not prime95.
IBT only stress a lot on cpu tongue.gif
uzairi
post Mar 31 2009, 12:21 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 29 2009, 10:14 PM)
it was not same, in intel quadcore, i have tried before..
let say at 4ghz clock, if u use 1600mb of memory, a quadcore will finish 1 loop of ibt test at around 3x sec, while a dualcore will need 7x sec.
as u all know when using ibt, the processor will go back to idle before start to calculate another loop, so the quadcore might not fail in the 1st 3x sec and back to idle again.
i have tried a quad can easily pass ibt test at lower voltage easily, but failed in prime95 within 1 hour smile.gif
I suspect heat problem, since running it longer would produce more heat causing it to produce error. Prolly NB/SB/PWM or ram overheated

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Mar 29 2009, 11:29 PM)
prime95 cant give as much heat as LinX in my case... dats y i ditched prime95 and use linx to test stability and load temp... if stable in linx, im damn sure p95 wil be stable, and if linx give xx temp, im damn sure p95 will give lower temp results biggrin.gif
Correct nod.gif
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 31 2009, 12:23 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Hi.

C2D E7300@2.66Ghz on a Gigabyte EP43-UD3L.
Any guide here for overclocking?

This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Mar 31 2009, 12:23 AM
uzairi
post Mar 31 2009, 12:26 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

Some guide for you.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...0#entry15451675 - Proc

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/626450 - Ram
SUSRaikkonen
post Mar 31 2009, 01:02 AM

I'll be your ♡ ☁ ☼ ☂
8,635 posts

Found this on the net;

Hi!
(i write from hungary, sorry for the writnig error)
I have a EP43-DS3L + E7300 + CM Hyper TX2
Corsair TwinX 800Mhz (CL5) FAN kit 2*1Gb
Gigabyte SuperB 460W
Sapphire HD 3870 GDDR4 512M

I overclock this E7300 to 3,4Ghz!
This motherboar had a big Voltage drop.
You set 1,3 V in BIOS, but CPU-Z show 1,25V

So, my BIOS settings:
In MIT:
Fine cpu clock = 0
CPU host contros = Enabled
CPU host frequency = 340
PCI-E frequency = 100
MHC frequency = Auto
System memory multiple = 2.50A
DRAM Timing = Auto
CPU Vcore = 1,3000 V
DRAM Voltage = 1,9V

Good guide? hmm.gif
hengmy
post Mar 31 2009, 02:38 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Mar 29 2009, 11:29 PM)
prime95 cant give as much heat as LinX in my case... dats y i ditched prime95 and use linx to test stability and load temp... if stable in linx, im damn sure p95 wil be stable, and if linx give xx temp, im damn sure p95 will give lower temp results biggrin.gif
heat is not the main problem to cause the failure in OC, my processor reached more than 100c but still running in linx (due to poor thermal paste applied).
i do agreed linx is better in stability testing but only for dualcore after i tried it with quadcore..
maybe u all with quadcore can try it out and share the outcome, the lowest vcore to pass linx 10 loops and prime it for few hours smile.gif
hilmiangah
post Mar 31 2009, 02:41 PM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 31 2009, 02:38 PM)
heat is not the main problem to cause the failure in OC, my processor reached more than 100c but still running in linx (due to poor thermal paste applied).
i do agreed linx is better in stability testing but only for dualcore after i tried it with quadcore..
maybe u all with quadcore can try it out and share the outcome, the lowest vcore to pass linx 10 loops and prime it for few hours  smile.gif
that one is gonna haunt u............... whistling.gif
iBenQ
post Mar 31 2009, 03:03 PM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 31 2009, 02:38 PM)
maybe u all with quadcore can try it out and share the outcome, the lowest vcore to pass linx 10 loops and prime it for few hours  smile.gif
i did it a few days ago, but i didnt even bother to take ss of it... for ur sake, i'll redo it and post it after a few hours smile.gif

fyi, my friend used linx on dual core as well, but it turned out that prime95 gives out more heat compared to linx @ 1024mb... but as soon he crank it up to 1536mb, linx won biggrin.gif
hengmy
post Mar 31 2009, 03:39 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Mar 31 2009, 03:03 PM)
i did it a few days ago, but i didnt even bother to take ss of it... for ur sake, i'll redo it and post it after a few hours smile.gif

fyi, my friend used linx on dual core as well, but it turned out that prime95 gives out more heat compared to linx @ 1024mb... but as soon he crank it up to 1536mb, linx won biggrin.gif
hmm, what are u trying to say about the heat? i never said that prime given more heat than linx.
just that prime able to test the stability for continuously, while linx are not able due to quadcore finished 1 loop in a short time period.
eg, at linx 1600mb testing
a quadcore at 4ghz finish 1 loop at 35sec, 1st loop(35sec) -> idle -> 2nd loop(35sec) -> idle
while a dualcore 4ghz finish 1 loop at 70sec, 1st loop(70sec) -> idle -> 2nd loop(70sec) -> idle
so the linx are continuous stress dualcore at 70 per loop, while quad at half of the time.
iBenQ
post Mar 31 2009, 04:01 PM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 31 2009, 03:39 PM)
hmm, what are u trying to say about the heat? i never said that prime given more heat than linx.
just that prime able to test the stability for continuously, while linx are not able due to quadcore finished 1 loop in a short time period.
eg, at linx 1600mb testing
a quadcore at 4ghz finish 1 loop at 35sec, 1st loop(35sec) -> idle -> 2nd loop(35sec) -> idle
while a dualcore 4ghz finish 1 loop at 70sec, 1st loop(70sec) -> idle -> 2nd loop(70sec) -> idle
so the linx are continuous stress dualcore at 70 per loop, while quad at half of the time.
wwww... y they produce that much heat? cos the program is making the cpu work like mad, although its just a short time, its constantly being pushed to its limit.... have u tried running applications when linx is stressing the proc to its limit? rite now im running prime95, and waddya say, i can play any sort of games without feeling a single lag, where as i couldnt play dota smoothly when running linx... and u cant blame my ram, i have more than enough ram for wat im doing smile.gif

nevermind... picture tells a thousand words... and i have 2 pics to show u

if p95 is more stressing than linx, i wonder y my superpi is faster than linx?

p95 is not even a stress test to me compared to linx... i can turn on p95 while doing other things that uses processing power, but if i turn on linx, ill get frustrated of the lagging caused by it

edit: i've added the normal super pi result without any sort of cpu stress

This post has been edited by iBenQ: Mar 31 2009, 04:08 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
hengmy
post Mar 31 2009, 04:40 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Mar 31 2009, 04:01 PM)
wwww... y they produce that much heat? cos the program is making the cpu work like mad, although its just a short time, its constantly being pushed to its limit.... have u tried running applications when linx is stressing the proc to its limit? rite now im running prime95, and waddya say, i can play any sort of games without feeling a single lag, where as i couldnt play dota smoothly when running linx... and u cant blame my ram, i have more than enough ram for wat im doing smile.gif

nevermind... picture tells a thousand words... and i have 2 pics to show u

if p95 is more stressing than linx, i wonder y my superpi is faster than linx?

p95 is not even a stress test to me compared to linx... i can turn on p95 while doing other things that uses processing power, but if i turn on linx, ill get frustrated of the lagging caused by it

edit: i've added the normal super pi result without any sort of cpu stress
omg.. since like u have misunderstanding.. rclxub.gif
i never say prime is more stress than linx, no doubt that linx is most stress program available..
instead i am telling that the nature of the software is not so optimize for quadcore compared to dualcore.
iBenQ
post Mar 31 2009, 04:52 PM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 31 2009, 04:40 PM)
omg.. since like u have misunderstanding.. rclxub.gif
i never say prime is more stress than linx, no doubt that linx is most stress program available..
instead i am telling that the nature of the software is not so optimize for quadcore compared to dualcore.
ahhhhh, maybe we both got misunderstood... im trying to say, its very effective for quad as well.... i did say my friend tried dual core linx 1024mb, and he got same temp/stress level with p95... in fact, i feel linx is more demanding on quad than dual core, since on same settings, my p95 and linx 1024mb give totally different results compared to my friend's result which is same heat, same stress level since he dont feel lag... only when he put 1536mb, then he can feel it biggrin.gif

btw, my friends dual core is e5200... could be c2d different due to larger cache perhaps? cause my q6600 took longer time to complete 1 loop compared to q9650 biggrin.gif
hai5
post Mar 31 2009, 05:01 PM

14 posts

hai

Added on March 31, 2009, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(uzairi @ Mar 31 2009, 12:21 AM)
I suspect heat problem, since running it longer would produce more heat causing it to produce error. Prolly NB/SB/PWM or ram overheated
Correct  nod.gif
what is overclocking?????

This post has been edited by hai5: Mar 31 2009, 05:03 PM
hengmy
post Mar 31 2009, 05:26 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Mar 31 2009, 04:52 PM)
ahhhhh, maybe we both got misunderstood... im trying to say, its very effective for quad as well.... i did say my friend tried dual core linx 1024mb, and he got same temp/stress level with p95... in fact, i feel linx is more demanding on quad than dual core, since on same settings, my p95 and linx 1024mb give totally different results compared to my friend's result which is same heat, same stress level since he dont feel lag... only when he put 1536mb, then he can feel it biggrin.gif

btw, my friends dual core is e5200... could be c2d different due to larger cache perhaps? cause my q6600 took longer time to complete 1 loop compared to q9650 biggrin.gif
lol, yaya.. we look into diff things.. laugh.gif
usually i test linx with more than 1600mb, as cstk1 suggested before, at this setting it surely more stress compared to prime95.
but linx will stress the processor whenever it calculate the loops, after calculate each loop, the processor will enter idle stage before starting to calculate the next loop.
so the linx process will be load 100% ->idle 1-2 sec -> load 100% -> idle 1-2 sec
so in this case, a dualcore will needed 2x time compared to quadcore to finish 1 loop, so the linx will stress 1minute in dualcore, but 30sec in quadcore then the processor went to idle stage.
so in the 30sec, the chance for the error to come out is lower than 1minute.
and i said prime95 is better in this case is due to it stress all the way until the error come out or we stop them, although prime95 is not as stress as linx, but in longer stressing time, the error to come out has become higher smile.gif
linx is good when the processor is slower, eg, a celeron single core will need very long time to finish 1 loop, eg, 10 minute, so it continuously stress the core for 10minute, while a 4ghz dualcore need more than 1 minute as well..
so imagine now a C2Q 4ghz need around 35sec to finish 1 loop in 1600mb linx, when faster processor coming in future, it will able to finish 1 loop in no time(assuming still using 1600mb in testing), there will no chance for the error to come out..
that y i said the nature of the software is not optimize for quadcore testing. but if using 4gb ram in 64bit with 3xxxmb in linx testing, it will be a diff story smile.gif
hilmiangah
post Mar 31 2009, 06:16 PM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

the best way is to run the LinX under diagnostic mode as it free a lot of ram and hence more stressfull test.
bobiac
post Apr 2 2009, 03:20 AM

Geek / Gamers
2,051 posts

hello.
i juz buy the GA-EP45-UD3P.
is there any button need to be pressed in bios for more setting?
B u B u
post Apr 2 2009, 08:45 PM

chill
1,479 posts

Can anyone teach me how do i OC my E5200? I really have read through most of the topics and most of them never really help since im a TOTAL noob in this...so can please,anyone give me a DETAIL INSTRUCTION on how to OC my E5200 to like 3.0ghz or 3.2ghz pleasE?

E5200 (original HSF)
Gigabyte G31
KVR 1GBx2 DDR2-800
9600GT
Cooler master extreme 500watt

PLEASE HELP ME icon_question.gif

bobiac
post Apr 2 2009, 10:29 PM

Geek / Gamers
2,051 posts

hard to tell the max OC for ur proc. better u search internet for other oc result.
btw u are using g31 chipset.
dunno how the chip perfroms.

anyway here my result.
max FSB at 1.568v with team elite ram. i dunno which in limiting my fsb cry.gif cry.gif

iBenQ
post Apr 3 2009, 08:15 AM

1,550 posts

memang e4xxx hard abit to oc fsb... i remember when i had e4600, couldn't even get it to boot up at 333mhz... highest i got oso was 300mhz T_T, so i'd say, nice fsb man!
mmohdnor
post Apr 3 2009, 11:57 AM

1,021 posts

any one use QX9650 with AC freezer 7 Pro?
whats the temp like?

i dont plan to overclock or buy new hsf for the time being ...

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Apr 3 2009, 12:11 PM

113 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0198sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:21 AM