113 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Intel® Core™2 Duo/Quad Overhauled Rev. 4, The journey continues...

IcEMoCHa
post Oct 6 2008, 11:41 AM

~本田~
1,988 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Oct 6 2008, 11:35 AM)
5G result??? drool.gif  drool.gif

I'm still testing my E8500 at 4G, lowering the vcore...currently running Prime95 at 1.275vbios/1.264vdrop...no vdroop on my mobo...quite surprise.
already passed 7hrs when i was leaving to work this morning at around 7am...hopefully no prob.
later on will only see how hi can it go...5G is a no-no on air i guess...
even on water my e8600 @ 5ghz is idling at 49C and load at 74C... sweat.gif
lichyetan
post Oct 6 2008, 11:59 AM

2,295 posts

My original theory when I first started out was that 45nm and 65nm sensors were very similar with similar amounts of error. Intel's release of TjMax for 45nm showed me that I completely underestimated the amount of error in the 45nm sensors.

I couldn't imagine that Intel would be using a sensor that could be off by as much as +/- 10C at 50C but that is their official spec for the 45nm sensors used on the Intel Atom CPUs. Based on the data I've seen and user feedback, that amount of error seems to be what the 45nm Desktop E8000 and Q9000 sensors also have. Some sort of calibration is not an option for 45nm.

With the correct TjMax for 65nm, users should have very accurate temperatures from idle to TjMax. The 65nm sensors are far more accurate and rarely if ever suffer from saturation or sticking in the temperature range that most users operate at. The amount of slope error in these sensors is probably one quarter of the amount of error in the 45nm sensors. I think the latest beta of RealTemp is using the correct TjMax for most 65nm processors but it will be good to finally get this information from the manufacturer so all temp programs can finally agree at least to one part of the equation.

There are still a few minor things to do to RealTemp but it works OK so I haven't been too motivated lately. I've been having too much fun playing with my new Reapers! Not too bad for the old P5B.

copy the post from xtremesystems real temp thread, post by unclewebb, the real temp program writer i think.

its seems tht 45nm proc sensor are more lousy and have more error rate compare to olderr 65nm proc temps... looks like intel using cheaper sensors on the 45nm.

tht's y everyone getting different temp readings, even my friend e8400 on my pc using same cooling also different temps... not sure about E0 steppings though.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...=179044&page=94
remysix
post Oct 6 2008, 12:15 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Oct 6 2008, 11:41 AM)
even on water my e8600 @ 5ghz is idling at 49C and load at 74C...  sweat.gif
at least u touched the 5G mark...i can only dream i guess

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Oct 6 2008, 11:59 AM)
copy the post from xtremesystems real temp thread, post by unclewebb, the real temp program writer i think.

its seems tht 45nm proc sensor are more lousy and have more error rate compare to olderr 65nm proc temps... looks like intel using cheaper sensors on the 45nm.

tht's y everyone getting different temp readings, even my friend e8400 on my pc using same cooling also different temps...  not sure about E0 steppings though.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showth...=179044&page=94
if that is the case, then i dont dare to use IBT anymore. mmm...on 2nd tot, i never used IBT tongue.gif ...only OCCT/Prime95/Orthos and yet if uncleweb is correct, +10c is bad...wouldnt want to kill my proc yet...not till Nehalem came out and the price is stable for me to grab one sweat.gif

This post has been edited by remysix: Oct 6 2008, 12:29 PM
lichyetan
post Oct 6 2008, 12:32 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Oct 6 2008, 12:15 PM)
at least u touched the 5G mark...i can only dream i guess
if that is the case, then i dont dare to use IBT anymore. mmm...on 2nd tot, i never used IBT...only OCCT/Prime95/Orthos and yet if uncleweb is correct +10c is bad...wouldnt want to kill my proc yet...not till Nehalem came out and the price is stable for me to grab one sweat.gif
its +/- 10c, means ur temp readings might be higher or lower...

i using my e8400@4ghz@1.325v(bios)@1.35v windows, 1.33v load C0 steppings, running IBT on water reaching 72-76c depends on ambient... prime test is 61-66c depends on ambient as well, both idle at 46-50c depends on ambient as well. I suspect mine getting higher temp readings as my friends e84 more cooler thn mine... checked my own mountings though, yet my q9550 run cooler on the same cooling system sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
remysix
post Oct 6 2008, 02:07 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Oct 6 2008, 12:32 PM)
its +/- 10c, means ur temp readings might be higher or lower...

i using my e8400@4ghz@1.325v(bios)@1.35v windows, 1.33v load C0 steppings, running IBT on water reaching 72-76c depends on ambient... prime test is 61-66c depends on ambient as well, both idle at 46-50c depends on ambient as well. I suspect mine getting higher temp readings as my friends e84 more cooler thn mine... checked my own mountings though, yet my q9550 run cooler on the same cooling system  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
correct...it's +/- 10c...but we need to look at the worst case scenario...so, if u r running IBT at 76c, how can u really tell the actual core temp is 86c or 66c...if 66c, then great but if 86c...not so great, isnt it. for me, occt/prime/orthos is enuff...IBT is too extreme for me even thou it generate error faster but issit due to the proc instability or due to the heat generated passed it's standard spec...i'd rather stressing my proc at near-normal usage for long hours rather than putting it in the oven for a short while...dont know about others, but i dont think i'd be stressing my proc to that level of IBT...but then again, it's individual preference on which apps to use wink.gif

btw, ur mobo got overvolt meh hmm.gif ...no vdrop. and, maybe ur q9550 surface has a better contact...just a slight concave/convex compared to ur E8400 which has higher degree, thus spoiling the contact between IHS and the HSF hmm.gif .

This post has been edited by remysix: Oct 6 2008, 02:15 PM
lichyetan
post Oct 6 2008, 02:16 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Oct 6 2008, 02:07 PM)
correct...it's +/- 10c...but we need to look at the worst case scenario...so, if u r running IBT at 76c, how can u really tell the actual core temp is 86c or 66c...if 66c, then great but if 86c...not so great, isnt it. for me, occt/prime/orthos is enuff...IBT is too extreme for me even thou it generate error faster but issit due to the proc instability or due to the heat generated passed it's standard spec...
ur mobo got overvolt meh...no vdrop.
btw, maybe ur q9550 surface has a better contact...slighly concave/convex compared to ur E8400.
dunno... the new DFI bios tends to overvolt... set 1.325 in bios, bios reading 1.34, windows 1.35-1.36, run IBT 1.33v.

but the new 45nm really need fine tuning on GTL references to get lowerr vcore for OC'ed clockspeed... b4 i change to Q9550, i need 1.4v to run 4ghz on my e8400 stable. After go to quad and comeback to e8400, i only need 1.35v(assume mobo overvolt), but still one notch lower.

now funding for another mobo for better OC of my Q9550. cause whenever its over FSB1600, the P35 UT seems struggle with the 45nm quad, getting random instability prroblem, passing IBT + 8 hours prime, and will get random bsod once off pc and on again.

remysix
post Oct 6 2008, 02:42 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Oct 6 2008, 02:16 PM)
dunno... the new DFI bios tends to overvolt... set 1.325 in bios, bios reading 1.34, windows 1.35-1.36, run IBT 1.33v.

but the new 45nm really need fine tuning on GTL references to get lowerr vcore for OC'ed clockspeed... b4 i change to Q9550, i need 1.4v to run 4ghz on my e8400 stable. After go to quad and comeback to e8400, i only need 1.35v(assume mobo overvolt), but still one notch lower.

now funding for another mobo for better OC of my Q9550. cause whenever its over FSB1600, the P35 UT seems struggle with the 45nm quad, getting random instability prroblem, passing IBT + 8 hours prime, and will get random bsod once off pc and on again.
i second that on the GTL Ref...after finding the sweet spot of my GTL (i meant the mobo one, not my GeniTaL tongue.gif ), i can run my E8500 at 4Ghz wif 1.256v...the vid is 1.25v; so, quite happy with it.

This post has been edited by remysix: Oct 6 2008, 02:52 PM
-pWs-
post Oct 6 2008, 04:15 PM

8,545 posts

Ermmm...GTL is like abstract thing. Hard to know which one is sweet point.
Have to trial and error many many times. sad.gif

-pWs-
remysix
post Oct 6 2008, 05:14 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Oct 6 2008, 04:15 PM)
Ermmm...GTL is like abstract thing. Hard to know which one is sweet point.
Have to trial and error many many times. sad.gif

-pWs-
well, for me, i think i got lucky on the first attempt...considering managed to stabilize at 4G wif the vcore, before that it was a no-go...didnt tried with other GTL setting thou...
to be honest, i copied from lichetan (thanks notworthy.gif ) bios ss blush.gif ... lichyetan using 62/61 but since my board does not have 61...i used 62/60 instead...so far it works for me rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by remysix: Oct 6 2008, 05:23 PM
tech_frix
post Oct 6 2008, 07:31 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

i rahter use speedfan or using my mobo temp display...
using coretemp and realtemp, my temp fly up to 68c...
but if using speedfan or d display, it actually around 49-51c...
an i OCed my proc as my siggy...
hengmy
post Oct 6 2008, 07:40 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Oct 6 2008, 02:42 PM)
i second that on the GTL Ref...after finding the sweet spot of my GTL (i meant the mobo one, not my GeniTaL  tongue.gif ), i can run my E8500 at 4Ghz wif 1.256v...the vid is 1.25v; so, quite happy with it.
wow, nice one.
can share me the gtl value?
the gtl u set is for cpu gtl and nb gtl? or just cpu gtl only?
remysix
post Oct 6 2008, 08:08 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

got back from office...the Prime is still green...
stopped the P95, 19hrs is enuff i think...

QUOTE(hengmy @ Oct 6 2008, 07:40 PM)
wow, nice one.
can share me the gtl value?
the gtl u set is for cpu gtl and nb gtl? or just cpu gtl only?
if not mistaken, only the CPU: CPU1/3 : 62 and CPU0/2 : 60
tkh_1001
post Oct 6 2008, 08:18 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Oct 6 2008, 07:31 PM)
i rahter use speedfan or using my mobo temp display...
using coretemp and realtemp, my temp fly up to 68c...
but if using speedfan or d display, it actually around 49-51c...
an i OCed my proc as my siggy...
mobo display temp is not accurate as it might differs with bios change...

so its not really safe to take that as the reading sweat.gif

read here for more: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/666785
lichyetan
post Oct 6 2008, 08:27 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Oct 6 2008, 08:18 PM)
mobo display temp is not accurate as it might differs with bios change...

so its not really safe to take that as the reading sweat.gif

read here for more: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/666785
core temp are more accurate as its indicate ur core temperature... but 45nm proc using lousy temp sensor, which got error rate of +/-10c after 50c... makes user hard to get the correct temp although the official Tjmax is 100c.

This post has been edited by lichyetan: Oct 6 2008, 08:27 PM
hengmy
post Oct 6 2008, 09:52 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Oct 6 2008, 08:08 PM)
if not mistaken, only the CPU: CPU1/3 : 62 and CPU0/2 : 60
how come i dun see the setting u mention? only got cpu gtl ref.. 0.63x, 0.65x etc.. is it this one??
can show the screenshot ar?
remysix
post Oct 6 2008, 11:13 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Oct 6 2008, 09:52 PM)
how come i dun see the setting u mention? only got cpu gtl ref.. 0.63x, 0.65x etc.. is it this one??
sorry, i was using lichetan bios screenie format...his bios using % format i.e. 62 which is 62% = 0.62x...in rampage bios, it would be 0.62x and 0.60x
decarusz
post Oct 6 2008, 11:31 PM

225 posts

my noob OC result.. wink.gif

forgot mention.. its Intel Factory Heatsink(bronze core), ASRock mobo

This post has been edited by decarusz: Oct 6 2008, 11:32 PM

lichyetan
post Oct 7 2008, 01:05 AM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(remysix @ Oct 6 2008, 11:13 PM)
sorry, i was using lichetan bios screenie format...his bios using % format i.e. 62 which is 62% = 0.62x...in rampage bios, it would be 0.62x and 0.60x
actually the DFI bios is different from all other bios in terms of GTL references...for the UT only...

i also not sure whether i set it at wat percentage... my assumptions is 80 is the 67% default for 1.2v vtt, which is 0.8v. thn i calculate 63% of vtt which is roughly 0.77 volt. thn each increment or decrement in the bios represent 0.0016v. from there i deduct the value using calculations.

the value i set is roughly 62-63% reference value. so basically the GTL reference for every mobo and proc are different, i mean the sweet spot. but intel 45nm series gtl reference are normally around 58%-63%. So its up to the owner fork out some times to fine tune it and get lower vcore.

the theory above only applicable to P35 UT, and its actually only prediction, we need trial and error to fine tuning it as its around tht value range calculated. for X-48 LT/UT, the table are different again. So i am not sure whether my assumptions are correct. But its works so far for me tuning yorkfield and wolfdale, just tweaking the quad more headache and i gave up due to random BSOD after 1600FSB no matter it passes 8 hours prime or 15 loops of IBT, it just keep on getting bsod. sometimes on 24 hours + 8 hours prime, IBT stable, off the power for few days random BSOD thn stable again rclxub.gif mayb its mobo problem.

*** update ***
tested 500FSB, now GTL is 62-61-56

This post has been edited by lichyetan: Oct 7 2008, 02:31 AM
remysix
post Oct 7 2008, 12:39 PM

Hardcore Leecher!!!
1,311 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Oct 6 2008, 09:52 PM)
@hengmy,
sorry...didnt check my bios b4 replying...
the GTL is for CPU and NB...CPU : 0.62x and NB : 0.60x... blush.gif

just before leaving to work, brought down the vcore another notch...don know ok or not...
btw my vid is 1.125v not 1.25v as mentioned earlier...that one was my Q6600 G0...another blush.gif doh.gif
seanlimys
post Oct 7 2008, 02:35 PM

2,751 posts

got E5200 oc screenies?

113 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:56 PM