132 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Bottom

The Weight Loss thread v2, Ask all your weight loss questions here.

darklight79
post Mar 8 2012, 02:29 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 8 2012, 01:23 PM)
Sorry, maybe I put it the wrong way. I mean that because of such theory, people have this thinking of spreading few meals throughout a day is more superior.
What i mean is follow a diet plan and see how is your body progress....if practicing such diet for some time and you still grow fats or not losing weight..then it's time to change ur diet or maybe your training regime. Because everyone is different. For example, DL your diet works for you right? and if someone ask for what kind of diet can build a body like yours, you show that person your diet but is your diet able to work on him?That is what i mean by listening to your body, not listening to your mind but equip yourself with info and knowledge so that you can make better selection of your diet..it's the whole package though as i understand, your daily activity, your workout intensity and all...i feel that you don't go follow a diet blindly without knowing anything behind....but i doubt anyone's body will tell you they need big mac 3x a day, if there is one, i'd envy of him/her.
Fair enough.
playerseeker
post Mar 8 2012, 02:53 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 8 2012, 02:29 PM)
Fair enough.
thank you smile.gif
darkseifer
post Mar 8 2012, 02:56 PM

255 posts

player, please share your thoughts on what makes a diet "clean".
playerseeker
post Mar 8 2012, 04:07 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(darkseifer @ Mar 8 2012, 02:56 PM)
well, what i mean by clean diet is proper diet. My thought about it is something like this

let's say person A's breakfast is nasi lemak with teh tarik while person B's breakfast is 2 slice of whole meal bread with low fat cheese and some lettuce with fresh milk. No doubt both type of breakfast will give some full feeling but i'd say person B's breakfast is more "clean" or proper than person A's. So what I meant by go for cleaner diet is means something like this. smile.gif But of course, again, everyone is different.
darkseifer
post Mar 8 2012, 04:49 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 8 2012, 04:07 PM)
well, what i mean by clean diet is proper diet. My thought about it is something like this

let's say person A's breakfast is nasi lemak with teh tarik while person B's breakfast is 2 slice of whole meal bread with low fat cheese and some lettuce with fresh milk. No doubt both type of breakfast will give some full feeling but i'd say person B's breakfast is more "clean" or proper than person A's. So what I meant by go for cleaner diet is means something like this. smile.gif But of course, again, everyone is different.
Ahhh. I think I see what you're getting at. Your definition of "clean" is probably referring to nutrient density, meaning foods that are rich in vitamins and minerals. Allow me to share my concerns with your example and the whole concept of clean and dirty foods. Your example consists of only 1 meal not the whole diet, therefore its hard to judge, whether the diet is healthy or unhealthy without looking at the entire composition. I understand the purpose of your example was to illustrate your point, but bear with me for a moment.

-There is no such thing as a clean or dirty food. Any food can be part of a one's diet if consumed in an appropriate quantity.
-The concept of clean typically refers to a small list of foods and you would eat these foods, whether you like it or not.
-Does not refer to nutrient density per se. More so, the state of processing
-Clean eating usually does not cater to individual preference.
-Clean foods change with time. In the 80's, fat was evil, so foods that are high in fat were considered dirty foods. At this time, carbs are evil. So anything high in sugar is considered dirty.
-Clean eating varies with different dieting approach. With paleo type diets, grains are dirty. With vegan type diets, meat is dirty.

If a dieter was worried about clean eating. Wouldn't it make the experience more miserable? Lets consider nutrient density and not the made up labels such as clean or dirty. With just nutrient density alone, the list of foods is now very large. Doesn't this make sticking to the plan long term become easier? Of course when making dietary choices, we must use common sense. It is important to have a diet comprised of mainly whole and minimally processed foods. There are exceptions to this rule, such as protein powders, which are refined, but is micronutrient dense.

playerseeker
post Mar 8 2012, 05:35 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(darkseifer @ Mar 8 2012, 04:49 PM)
Ahhh. I think I see what you're getting at. Your definition of "clean" is probably referring to nutrient density, meaning foods that are rich in vitamins and minerals. Allow me to share my concerns with your example and the whole concept of clean and dirty foods. Your example consists of only 1 meal not the whole diet, therefore its hard to judge, whether the diet is healthy or unhealthy without looking at the entire composition. I understand the purpose of your example was to illustrate your point, but bear with me for a moment.

-There is no such thing as a clean or dirty food. Any food can be part of a one's diet if consumed in an appropriate quantity.
-The concept of clean typically refers to a small list of foods and you would eat these foods, whether you like it or not.
-Does not refer to nutrient density per se. More so, the state of processing
-Clean eating usually does not cater to individual preference.
-Clean foods change with time. In the 80's, fat was evil, so foods that are high in fat were considered dirty foods. At this time, carbs are evil. So anything high in sugar is considered dirty.
-Clean eating varies with different dieting approach. With paleo type diets, grains are dirty. With vegan type diets, meat is dirty.

If a dieter was worried about clean eating. Wouldn't it make the experience more miserable? Lets consider nutrient density and not the made up labels such as clean or dirty. With just nutrient density alone, the list of foods is now very large. Doesn't this make sticking to the plan long term become easier? Of course when making dietary choices, we must use common sense. It is important to have a diet comprised of mainly whole and minimally processed foods. There are exceptions to this rule, such as protein powders, which are refined, but is micronutrient dense.
Ah...thank you for explaining.... smile.gif

Added on March 8, 2012, 5:41 pm
QUOTE(Kriish @ Mar 8 2012, 04:56 PM)
My 2 meal a day plan wasn't exactly a crash diet, due to my lunch being full of junk (chicken rice, McD, fried kuay teow...Office food la). Luckily I prepare my own dinner so usually my dinner meal is well planned to balance off my macro and calories for the day. For me that is the most ideal because I still get to enjoy my food and lose (in current case, maintain my current weight) Of course relying on food restriction alone to lose weight is not ideal. You might lose weight but you get skinny fats, hence that's why I do lifting as well.

The basic principle still stand, calories in> calories out= weight loss. I get what you're trying to explain, but sometimes I feel nowdays people always complicated themselves too much. tongue.gif

To put it simple, slightly decrease your calories in (through diet) and increase your calories out (lifting, cardio etc.) and it will lead to weight loss.
well, then i guess you know what you are doing....which is good smile.gif

This post has been edited by playerseeker: Mar 8 2012, 05:41 PM
darklight79
post Mar 8 2012, 08:26 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(darkseifer @ Mar 8 2012, 02:56 PM)
It depends on the soap.
darkseifer
post Mar 8 2012, 09:24 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 8 2012, 08:26 PM)
It depends on the soap.
It doesn't stop there. Its all about dedication bro. Must sacrifice to win. Gotta stay at home like a hermit cooking 12 square meals a day and eat them from a plastic tupperware. Must stop going out with friends just to stay joocy. Otherwise you're doing it wrong. whistling.gif
natalie.loo
post Mar 9 2012, 03:40 PM

Oh my God, from my last post I have been diligently going to Fitness First to workout.
My workout now: Cardio 3x a week, weights 2 x...what do u guys think?

I did notice some difference, not much lah but I feel much better.
Anyone heard about International Fitness Week or not around your area? I wonder whether it's going to be fun :-/
Supposedly endorsed by Mel B of Spice Girls

wilsontxe
post Mar 10 2012, 02:23 AM

anyone know where can i get cheaper chicken breast? i got mine now from cold storage and it costs rm8-10 for two small pieces..
sad.gif sad.gif
darkseifer
post Mar 10 2012, 02:20 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(wilsontxe @ Mar 10 2012, 02:23 AM)
anyone know where can i get cheaper chicken breast? i got mine now from cold storage and it costs rm8-10 for two small pieces..
sad.gif  sad.gif
Ummmmm.... how bout the wet market?
bull eye
post Mar 11 2012, 08:23 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(Hermanong @ Mar 8 2012, 12:35 PM)
Dear all,

I am 27 years old and recently got married

i am about 167 cm and 84 kg.. consider myself over weight.

For the past 1 week i have been doing stairs climbing about 15 mins(total of 66 levels).. 22 lvls x 3 intervals.

Not sure if this is good enough for me to lose weight? I did not do any weight exercise or push ups because i have big chest and big arms and my wife doesnt like it.. if i build up muscles with the current mass i have i might look very bulky..

Diet i take oats + milo for breakfast and dinner..

for lunch i take quarter rice, 2 vege and 1 meat..

what else can i do?

my goals: lose weight and body mass.. i will build muscles later smile.gif
here is my tip..i only taking bread as source of food..and only half plate of rice during lunch only

and i can see difference in weight and feel lighter from day to day.. beside that with long jog on the park, 2 times a month

i m happy ,cud feel a differences already..

another tip, dont forget to drink water whenever u feel hungry.

Sarah Angelina
post Mar 12 2012, 09:57 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(natalie.loo @ Mar 9 2012, 03:40 PM)
Oh my God, from my last post I have been diligently going to Fitness First to workout.
My workout now: Cardio 3x a week, weights 2 x...what do u guys think?

I did notice some difference, not much lah but I feel much better.
Anyone heard about International Fitness Week or not around your area? I wonder whether it's going to be fun :-/
Supposedly endorsed by Mel B of Spice Girls
I heard of that too, but not too sure what's that all about
Oh, spice girls, I miss them tongue.gif

QUOTE(wilsontxe @ Mar 10 2012, 02:23 AM)
sad.gif  sad.gif
Chicken breast price @ Jusco is RM0.99/100g. Cold Storage is more expensive. If you're lazy to go wet market (Which sometimes also can be around same price with Cold Storage), Jusco will be better choice.
natalie.loo
post Mar 12 2012, 11:58 AM

QUOTE(Sarah Angelina @ Mar 12 2012, 09:57 AM)
I heard of that too, but not too sure what's that all about
Oh, spice girls, I miss them tongue.gif

Chicken breast price @ Jusco is RM0.99/100g. Cold Storage is more expensive. If you're lazy to go wet market (Which sometimes also can be around same price with Cold Storage), Jusco will be better choice.
Yah I just found out got FREE 7-Day pass from 19-25 March. Anyone can come in Fitness First during that time! If only I knew about it, I would have waited til then to join la.
But heard some good activities happening then. Cannot wait for it. Hey come too lah, maybe we can buddy buddy go workout for free!
I am more worried about whether the Chicken is "clean" or not, meaning organic or free range. I don't like those big big chicken: cheap but I am not sure if it's healthy :/

On a separate note, I have lost 2 kgs, so proud! =)
noonies_naruto
post Mar 12 2012, 12:43 PM

736 posts

hey guys. i weigh around 118kg. height is 170cm.

i really dun like my figure. so i dedicate myself towards slimming down.

everyday, twice, in the morning and the evening, i jog at the park.

circling the park takes about 2km. i do it non-stop taking 20-25 minutes each time i jog. so that means i do 4km a day. is that enough?

i also am following the breakfast like a king, lunch like a _____ and dinner like a beggar style diet. when they say like a king, what does that actually mean? eat lots? eat until full?
Sarah Angelina
post Mar 12 2012, 09:13 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(natalie.loo @ Mar 12 2012, 11:58 AM)
Yah I just found out got FREE 7-Day pass from 19-25 March. Anyone can come in Fitness First during that time! If only I knew about it, I would have waited til then to join la.
But heard some good activities happening then. Cannot wait for it. Hey come too lah, maybe we can buddy buddy go workout for free!
I am more worried about whether the Chicken is "clean" or not, meaning organic or free range. I don't like those big big chicken: cheap but I am not sure if it's healthy :/

On a separate note, I have lost 2 kgs, so proud! =)
Where's your location about? Perhaps can arrange for a workout together smile.gif
The chicken at Jusco are clean, as far as I notice, the chicken from Carrefour and Giant aren't fresh most of the time. I only get from morning market nearby when I don't have time to go for grocery shopping at the shopping mall. Anyway, if you'll want only fresh clean chicken, wet market is the best choice. I don't believe in so call organic chicken la smile.gif

I don't count on my weight anymore now, but already build up a better shape for my arms, and waist smile.gif
Aiming to be 23 before May smile.gif
almond94
post Mar 13 2012, 12:19 AM

47 posts

Is it weird that even though my weight went up by two kilo and yet I look more slim that I previously was...
Faith+1
post Mar 13 2012, 12:58 PM

1,420 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Mar 12 2012, 12:43 PM)

circling the park takes about 2km. i do it non-stop taking 20-25 minutes each time i jog. so that means i do 4km a day. is that enough?

i also am following the breakfast like a king, lunch like a _____ and dinner like a beggar style diet. when they say like a king, what does that actually mean? eat lots? eat until full?
Eat breakfast like a King, lunch like a Queen, dinner like a Jester and supper like a Peasant?

I dunno lol.

Just make sure you have lean meat, complex carbohydrates and good fats in every each meal.

Eat fewer calories than you burn and you will eventually lose some weight.

Diet is the key and never ever starve yourself in order to lose weight - crash diet.

popcorn513
post Mar 13 2012, 02:53 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Mar 12 2012, 12:43 PM)

wow, you really need to reduce your weight, good luck

We almost same height, I fattest time is 168cm 65kg (after CNY doh.gif ), after diet plus simple cardio for 1.5 months only reduce 4kg, but i'm not rushing myself since I'm within BMI now

My diet is more vege less oily meat, i can 1 day eat 1 medium bowl of vege but really dont starve yourself, i try to eat only when i feel hungry
total calory burn > total calory consume = lose fat

This is a sample salad made by me, i accidentally made it too large bowl

Added on March 13, 2012, 3:08 pm
QUOTE(Hermanong @ Mar 8 2012, 12:35 PM)
Dear all,

I am 27 years old and recently got married

i am about 167 cm and 84 kg.. consider myself over weight.

For the past 1 week i have been doing stairs climbing about 15 mins(total of 66 levels).. 22 lvls x 3 intervals.

Not sure if this is good enough for me to lose weight? I did not do any weight exercise or push ups because i have big chest and big arms and my wife doesnt like it.. if i build up muscles with the current mass i have i might look very bulky..

Diet i take oats + milo for breakfast and dinner..

for lunch i take quarter rice, 2 vege and 1 meat..

what else can i do?

my goals: lose weight and body mass.. i will build muscles later smile.gif
Somehow i feel 66 staircase climbing is not enough, atleast for me

but for your weight with your diet i suppose you can further reduce your weight very soon

This post has been edited by popcorn513: Mar 13 2012, 03:08 PM
noonies_naruto
post Mar 13 2012, 04:39 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Mar 13 2012, 03:53 PM)
wow, you really need to reduce your weight, good luck

We almost same height, I fattest time is 168cm 65kg (after CNY doh.gif ), after diet plus simple cardio for 1.5 months only reduce 4kg, but i'm not rushing myself since I'm within BMI now

My diet is more vege less oily meat, i can 1 day eat 1 medium bowl of vege but really dont starve yourself, i try to eat only when i feel hungry
total calory burn > total calory consume = lose fat

This is a sample salad made by me, i accidentally made it too large bowl

ya laa.. i also dunno wat to do la wit myself.. feel like fat basterd la cry.gif you 168 and weighing 65 very nice lo! id die to get those figures..

wow.. that does look nice~~ tell me la the ingredients! i think I'd love to try..

132 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:44 PM