QUOTE(fuhrer_69 @ Mar 3 2012, 12:10 PM)
as far as i know, u need to eat small portion 5 to 6 times per day (including bfast, lunch, dinner)exercise... cardio and weight training will increase ur metabolism rate.
The Weight Loss thread v2, Ask all your weight loss questions here.
Mar 7 2012, 08:31 AM
260 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Past: Southampton, Present: Shah Alam |
Mar 7 2012, 12:21 PM
9,006 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: PJ |
QUOTE(Max_07s @ Mar 7 2012, 08:31 AM) No you don't. Imagine if someone has a maintenance calories of 1200 cals a day. Try eating 200 cals per meal. That would be a miserable experience because each meal would make you end up feeling hungrier and hungrier. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, maybe light supper. |
Mar 7 2012, 04:43 PM
630 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I understand that why many people mentioned to have 5 to 6 meals a day because to avoid the body to go into starvation mode, where the body will sort of going lower metabolism rate to ensure the brain and the heart have enough energy to function in longer period. It will still lose fat but until certain stage, you will start to lose muscle mass. Hence, the idea of spread out your meal throughout the day in order to inform our body that we are not in starvation and keeps our metabolism going.
But it's all depend on individual though. The best way is go for calories deficit per day (Not to extreme). Plan your meal sequence properly. That is why losing weight by starving yourself will work for a while but screw up when you start eating again. So as for me, I'd say there is not necessary to have 5 to 6 meals per day in order to lose weight. |
Mar 7 2012, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 7 2012, 04:43 PM) You are correct. Sometimes I don't have time i just eat 3 a day. Actually most of the time just 3. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « It's fine. You won't lose mass as long as your macros are fulfilled. =) |
Mar 7 2012, 05:29 PM
545 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: SG & KL |
if you watch the Dr Oz show, it seems that he's the expert talking about obesity and loosing weights. He's a heart surgeon. Seen lots of fatty hearts.
It's a case of going thro a regime and be discipline I guess. Recently there's a show where 100 people looses more than 100lbs each. OMG. You can google for him if you have obesity problem. Watch his shows. Good info. For those with normal BMI, you can go to the gym and do some work out lor... |
Mar 7 2012, 05:34 PM
234 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Not sure if anyone has mentioned this before (sorrry too many pages to look through). Try Zumba! It's fun and you dont feel like you're exercising. I do that about 3-4 times a week at the gym, plus 2 body conditioning classes , sometimes go for a spinning class (the cycling class- really really effective this one, but i get bored) . All up average one hour a day.
Apart from that it's the food. I cut out carbs completely for dinner except for maybe a saturday night. and dont eat too late at night. no fried stuff (once a week ok lah - i also need my KFC fix- but if you do, make sure you exercise more) |
Mar 7 2012, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(Sookie Stackhouse @ Mar 7 2012, 05:34 PM) Not sure if anyone has mentioned this before (sorrry too many pages to look through). Try Zumba! It's fun and you dont feel like you're exercising. I do that about 3-4 times a week at the gym, plus 2 body conditioning classes , sometimes go for a spinning class (the cycling class- really really effective this one, but i get bored) . All up average one hour a day. Don't know about Zumba but I know one thing. Spin classes are overrated. The people there are either skinny fat or just fat. It is absolutely inferior to weight training. Even LISS (Low intensity steady state cardio) is better than spinning.Apart from that it's the food. I cut out carbs completely for dinner except for maybe a saturday night. and dont eat too late at night. no fried stuff (once a week ok lah - i also need my KFC fix- but if you do, make sure you exercise more) |
Mar 7 2012, 07:23 PM
93 posts Joined: May 2011 From: [Floater] |
QUOTE(Max_07s @ Mar 7 2012, 08:31 AM) as far as i know, u need to eat small portion 5 to 6 times per day (including bfast, lunch, dinner) exercise... cardio and weight training will increase ur metabolism rate. QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 7 2012, 12:21 PM) No you don't. Imagine if someone has a maintenance calories of 1200 cals a day. Try eating 200 cals per meal. That would be a miserable experience because each meal would make you end up feeling hungrier and hungrier. Breakfast, lunch and dinner, maybe light supper. so just eat like usual and just increase (do more) exercise? any pills you could recommend? because i'm easy to lose and gain my weight.. hmm |
Mar 7 2012, 07:56 PM
260 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Past: Southampton, Present: Shah Alam |
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 7 2012, 08:43 AM) I understand that why many people mentioned to have 5 to 6 meals a day because to avoid the body to go into starvation mode, where the body will sort of going lower metabolism rate to ensure the brain and the heart have enough energy to function in longer period. It will still lose fat but until certain stage, you will start to lose muscle mass. Hence, the idea of spread out your meal throughout the day in order to inform our body that we are not in starvation and keeps our metabolism going. good point there. starving is not the good way to lose weight. well balance food and know what u eat.But it's all depend on individual though. The best way is go for calories deficit per day (Not to extreme). Plan your meal sequence properly. That is why losing weight by starving yourself will work for a while but screw up when you start eating again. So as for me, I'd say there is not necessary to have 5 to 6 meals per day in order to lose weight. |
Mar 7 2012, 07:58 PM
255 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 7 2012, 04:43 PM) I understand that why many people mentioned to have 5 to 6 meals a day because to avoid the body to go into starvation mode, where the body will sort of going lower metabolism rate to ensure the brain and the heart have enough energy to function in longer period. It will still lose fat but until certain stage, you will start to lose muscle mass. Hence, the idea of spread out your meal throughout the day in order to inform our body that we are not in starvation and keeps our metabolism going. Interesting that you brought up starvation mode. It is something that is very misunderstood. It is real, but it doesn't occur when you skip a meal. It happens after prolonged period of inadequate energy intake. The effect of lowered metabolism takes days to kick in. Our body is not that sensitive.But it's all depend on individual though. The best way is go for calories deficit per day (Not to extreme). Plan your meal sequence properly. That is why losing weight by starving yourself will work for a while but screw up when you start eating again. So as for me, I'd say there is not necessary to have 5 to 6 meals per day in order to lose weight. |
Mar 7 2012, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(darkseifer @ Mar 7 2012, 07:58 PM) Interesting that you brought up starvation mode. It is something that is very misunderstood. It is real, but it doesn't occur when you skip a meal. It happens after prolonged period of inadequate energy intake. The effect of lowered metabolism takes days to kick in. Our body is not that sensitive. Heh. True dat. Which is why people don't get the difference between fasted state and starvation. The body starts getting catabolic only after 3 days of continuous fasting. Amino acids are still being released into the bloodstream after a huge meal. The dogma which is still being circulated these days. Tsk. Added on March 7, 2012, 8:19 pm QUOTE(fuhrer_69 @ Mar 7 2012, 07:23 PM) Yeah, if they can create capsules containing supercondensed food, that's the pills I recommend. Seriously, fish oil, multivitamin, etc. Bare basics. I don't even use things like Animal Pak, Anavite and all that anymore. Just a regular multi. This post has been edited by darklight79: Mar 7 2012, 08:19 PM |
Mar 7 2012, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(darkseifer @ Mar 7 2012, 07:58 PM) Interesting that you brought up starvation mode. It is something that is very misunderstood. It is real, but it doesn't occur when you skip a meal. It happens after prolonged period of inadequate energy intake. The effect of lowered metabolism takes days to kick in. Our body is not that sensitive. Oh well, i don't have much knowledge in body metabolism thingy but you have a point there, but still the theory of spreading meals throughout a day is superior than just only 3 meals in a day because of such theory. Oh well, as i'm still learning and reading up about losing weight, i come to final conclusion, listen to your body and equip yourself with information and knowledge. |
Mar 8 2012, 04:28 AM
9 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
so, losing weight.. whey protein anybody? which brand is recommended? same goes to multi vitamin and all those supplements..
i am clueless (noob here).. |
Mar 8 2012, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(Kriish @ Mar 8 2012, 09:06 AM) The idea of spreading your meal is more like to keep your stomach full the whole day. Personally, when I was losing weight, I only take two meals a day (lunch and dinner, my morning I only drank a glass of milk) and it works wonders for me.Most important thing, calories out > calories in. I personally experience this before and i thought i was losing fats all along...but then i realise that i was losing muscle mass as well because i look all flabby everywhere...so i decided to ditch the crash diet and eat as usual..just choose cleaner diet...then i experience very slow weight lost....but from mirror, i can see that i did increase my muscle mass...so eventhough people say calories out > calories in which is true but i see many did not practice calories out > calories in, they practice calories out >>> calories in a.k.a starving or eat way way lesser...that is not good for long term |
Mar 8 2012, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 8 2012, 10:50 AM) I personally experience this before and i thought i was losing fats all along...but then i realise that i was losing muscle mass as well because i look all flabby everywhere...so i decided to ditch the crash diet and eat as usual..just choose cleaner diet...then i experience very slow weight lost....but from mirror, i can see that i did increase my muscle mass...so eventhough people say calories out > calories in which is true but i see many did not practice calories out > calories in, they practice calories out >>> calories in a.k.a starving or eat way way lesser...that is not good for long term you wash your foods before you eat? |
Mar 8 2012, 11:14 AM
Mar 8 2012, 12:35 PM
43 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Dear all,
I am 27 years old and recently got married i am about 167 cm and 84 kg.. consider myself over weight. For the past 1 week i have been doing stairs climbing about 15 mins(total of 66 levels).. 22 lvls x 3 intervals. Not sure if this is good enough for me to lose weight? I did not do any weight exercise or push ups because i have big chest and big arms and my wife doesnt like it.. if i build up muscles with the current mass i have i might look very bulky.. Diet i take oats + milo for breakfast and dinner.. for lunch i take quarter rice, 2 vege and 1 meat.. what else can i do? my goals: lose weight and body mass.. i will build muscles later |
Mar 8 2012, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 7 2012, 09:33 PM) Oh well, i don't have much knowledge in body metabolism thingy but you have a point there, but still the theory of spreading meals throughout a day is superior than just only 3 meals in a day because of such theory. No. QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 7 2012, 09:33 PM) So if your body tells you that you need a Big Mac 3 x a day, it's ok? |
Mar 8 2012, 12:59 PM
Mar 8 2012, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 8 2012, 12:35 PM) Sorry, maybe I put it the wrong way. I mean that because of such theory, people have this thinking of spreading few meals throughout a day is more superior.QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 8 2012, 12:35 PM) What i mean is follow a diet plan and see how is your body progress....if practicing such diet for some time and you still grow fats or not losing weight..then it's time to change ur diet or maybe your training regime. Because everyone is different. For example, DL your diet works for you right? and if someone ask for what kind of diet can build a body like yours, you show that person your diet but is your diet able to work on him?That is what i mean by listening to your body, not listening to your mind but equip yourself with info and knowledge so that you can make better selection of your diet..it's the whole package though as i understand, your daily activity, your workout intensity and all...i feel that you don't go follow a diet blindly without knowing anything behind....but i doubt anyone's body will tell you they need big mac 3x a day, if there is one, i'd envy of him/her.This post has been edited by playerseeker: Mar 8 2012, 01:27 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0290sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:37 PM |