Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)
TSmememe12
Oct 9 2010, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(nabielz @ Oct 9 2010, 02:45 AM) same  yea.. WD MyBook Studio is great to use.. the smartware stuff i just leave it there.. i love the firewire speed because every time after my shooting, the backup time pretty fast for a few GBs' file.. QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 9 2010, 12:57 PM) one more thing, lets say if i display 800x600 things on a macbook pro 15 inch, does it stretch it? u mean wallpaper? if wallpaper, u get to choose to fill or to stretch and etc.. but if picture, of coz wont stretch.. and if upgrade hdd by yourself will void warranty onot? no, HDD and RAM wont void the warranty
nabielz
Oct 9 2010, 02:36 PM
but when u want to sent warranty,u must put it back in macbook. apple only accept if u bringing ur macbook.
hapa
Oct 9 2010, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(nabielz @ Oct 9 2010, 02:36 PM) but when u want to sent warranty,u must put it back in macbook. apple only accept if u bringing ur macbook. bro are u sure about this? i dont think u need to swap it back.. the warranty jz wont cover it (swapped part).
dvlzplayground
Oct 9 2010, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 9 2010, 12:57 PM) one more thing, lets say if i display 800x600 things on a macbook pro 15 inch, does it stretch it? and if upgrade hdd by yourself will void warranty onot? wont void warranty. the HDD is design to be user replaceable. they even teach u how to do it in the manual. hapa is correct. even if u send ur macbook to claim warranty, it wont void it. just that apple wont cover ur HDD if it's damaged. they will only cover the stock HDD
gurus
Oct 10 2010, 01:38 AM
after 3months ++ of daily usage around 6-7hours every single day... finally my mbp13 2010 hangs for the 1st time, i was on wifi surfing LYN and also downloading an ipa file. i have to use the power button to power it off n turn it back on... any ideas what happen arr bros? just curious This post has been edited by gurus: Oct 10 2010, 01:39 AM
nabielz
Oct 10 2010, 02:00 AM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 9 2010, 09:07 PM) wont void warranty. the HDD is design to be user replaceable. they even teach u how to do it in the manual. hapa is correct. even if u send ur macbook to claim warranty, it wont void it. just that apple wont cover ur HDD if it's damaged. they will only cover the stock HDD ouh. sorry guys my mistake This post has been edited by nabielz: Oct 10 2010, 03:07 AM
dvlzplayground
Oct 10 2010, 03:57 AM
QUOTE(gurus @ Oct 10 2010, 01:38 AM) after 3months ++ of daily usage around 6-7hours every single day... finally my mbp13 2010 hangs for the 1st time, i was on wifi surfing LYN and also downloading an ipa file. i have to use the power button to power it off n turn it back on... any ideas what happen arr bros? just curious  i havent see any gadget that never hangs (well my iphone havent but im sure one day it will hehe). 1st hang after 3months is considered good what
TheLaptopDudeGuy
Oct 10 2010, 06:44 AM
no i mean games, if display at 800x600 got stretch onot?
Ojimaru
Oct 10 2010, 07:26 AM
QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Oct 10 2010, 06:44 AM) no i mean games, if display at 800x600 got stretch onot? Unless the game specifically knows not to stretch to fit the 16:10 aspect ratio, then yes
TSmememe12
Oct 10 2010, 01:31 PM
QUOTE(gurus @ Oct 10 2010, 01:38 AM) after 3months ++ of daily usage around 6-7hours every single day... finally my mbp13 2010 hangs for the 1st time, i was on wifi surfing LYN and also downloading an ipa file. i have to use the power button to power it off n turn it back on... any ideas what happen arr bros? just curious  u mean something like this?  i also wonder how to cure this.. got 2 times in about 6 months use.. once see this screen.. means KO...
dvlzplayground
Oct 10 2010, 01:54 PM
^ IINM that's a kernel panic. i juz got it once earlier this week. in almost 2 years, i probably got that 3 or 4 times only. no big deal lah.
if u get this very often, probably faulty RAM
maocheng
Oct 10 2010, 04:36 PM

Hi guys,do u know where to get applemacbook pro with student price?
iZuDeeN
Oct 10 2010, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(maocheng @ Oct 10 2010, 04:36 PM) Hi guys,do u know where to get applemacbook pro with student price? only available through online store... not available in brick & mortar shops
prasys
Oct 10 2010, 06:42 PM
Heros Never Die
QUOTE(mememe12 @ Oct 10 2010, 01:31 PM) u mean something like this?  i also wonder how to cure this.. got 2 times in about 6 months use.. once see this screen.. means KO...  Boot with command + v and when there is a kernel panic , you'll get a report why it did panic instead of that screen. Used by hackint0sh community to debug. On real mac , you'll find out why it panics and which piece of hardware is causing the issue
ShuUemura
Oct 11 2010, 03:18 PM

I am getting my macbook pro 15 i5 this week! Can't wait!!!!!
Kar Leong
Oct 11 2010, 05:10 PM
Hi all, I'm MacBook Pro 13" new user here T_T Can't afford buy expensive MacBook. Nice to meet you all.
more2teayap
Oct 11 2010, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(mememe12 @ Oct 10 2010, 01:31 PM) u mean something like this?  i also wonder how to cure this.. got 2 times in about 6 months use.. once see this screen.. means KO...  Kernel Panic, hmmm... I only got it back then I'm using my secondary school's ibook G4, now my macbook, even after 1.5 years still haven't get that yet
gurus
Oct 12 2010, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 10 2010, 03:57 AM) i havent see any gadget that never hangs (well my iphone havent but im sure one day it will hehe). 1st hang after 3months is considered good what  yeah i do think that way too bro but to it happens again today freezes on LYN out of a sudden, cant move my cursor or whatever commands... no downloading or whatsoever though  p/s: my iphone 3gs do hang like 3 times in 8 months...so far my ip4 no hang la Added on October 12, 2010, 12:56 pmQUOTE(mememe12 @ Oct 10 2010, 01:31 PM) u mean something like this?  i also wonder how to cure this.. got 2 times in about 6 months use.. once see this screen.. means KO...  no wor...not like this. just freeze only This post has been edited by gurus: Oct 12 2010, 12:58 PM
sigg
Oct 13 2010, 11:54 AM
 Is this okay??? the temperature is frightening I AM TALKING ABOUT THE MAIN LOGIC BOARD, PLS DUN LOOK LOOK ELSEWHERE. This post has been edited by sigg: Oct 13 2010, 12:01 PM
esssymanex
Oct 13 2010, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(gurus @ Oct 12 2010, 01:55 PM) yeah i do think that way too bro but to it happens again today freezes on LYN out of a sudden, cant move my cursor or whatever commands... no downloading or whatsoever though  p/s: my iphone 3gs do hang like 3 times in 8 months...so far my ip4 no hang la Added on October 12, 2010, 12:56 pmno wor...not like this. just freeze only  For me, the new macbook pro 13" not hang for long time, even let open it straight 3 days without off it. Previously using Macbook Aluminium 13" always freeze after sleep due to RAM problem i think. My iPhone 4 still not hang for the moment.