Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)
gurus
Aug 9 2010, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Aug 8 2010, 06:22 PM) It does come with 1 piece of the trackguard when u buy the moshi palmguard. Added on August 9, 2010, 9:42 pmQUOTE(miaka_tama @ Aug 8 2010, 06:17 PM) what do you recommend? any brand? Added on August 8, 2010, 6:18 pmerm... does the moshi palmguard comes with the trackguard? or it's 2 different things? It's the same material on both the palmguard n trackguard This post has been edited by gurus: Aug 9 2010, 09:42 PM
gurus
Aug 10 2010, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(tabs @ Aug 9 2010, 10:08 PM) Hi there, i need some advice regrading the macbook coconut battery issue.. so this is it.. my mbp 15 inch is brand new set but when i download the coconut battery it show that regrading my set has been 3 month.. now the point is i wondering it is refurbish set or just the system error anyone having this issue or anyone can enlighten me? same issue with my mbp13... to me i felt its keep in the store...no one buy and thats why
gurus
Aug 12 2010, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(emperor496 @ Aug 12 2010, 10:37 PM) hi all.. my ethernet port on my mac seem to have a problem, didnt detect cable, been using WiFi all these while. I thinking about sending it to service center for a repair. How long does it take to fix the ethernet port? where is the recommended place for that? thanks in advance.. is it still under the apple care warranty? if yes, just send back to apple else there are a few forumers here that do provide these services as well
gurus
Aug 14 2010, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(yeahs4.1 @ Aug 14 2010, 05:06 PM) actually, MBP 13 is lighter and thinner than MB. apparently polycarbonate is pretty high in density, but in order to match up MBP in terms of unibody structure integrity and strength, it has to be a lil thicker for that. so that explains the extra weight and overall dimensions. there you go, another reason to choose MBP over MB MB = 2.13kg MBP 13 = 2.04kg MBP 15 = 2.54kg wow..i never notice that my MBP13 is lighter than the MB..nice
gurus
Aug 15 2010, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(#Fly @ Aug 15 2010, 06:26 AM) Which is more worth it, a MBP 13" Core 2 Duo @ 2.66GHz with GeForce 320M at RM4899 or a MBP 15" i5 @ 2.4GHz with GeForce 330M 256MB at RM5899? That's like a thousand ringgit hike in price..  actually its quite tempting also, with only 1k extra u get an upgraded mbp from screen to processor n GPU. i myself was tempted to get the mbp15 as well b4 i got a good deal on my mbp13 This post has been edited by gurus: Aug 15 2010, 04:44 PM
gurus
Aug 17 2010, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(Moutzu @ Aug 17 2010, 09:04 AM) Woooeeee.............will be getting my first MBP 15-inch today. Have decided to give up using Windows. Feeling very excited about. Guess, I'll be needing plenty of help from all you sifus here in this Forum which I have been following. Very interesting reading and learning from all your varied experiences in using the Mac. Keep the feedbacks coming in. congrats on ur 1st mac, u will love it
gurus
Aug 19 2010, 10:58 AM
i am thinking of getting an external hd too....any good recommendation guys? how about the compatibility with time machine? all also can?
gurus
Aug 20 2010, 09:34 AM
QUOTE(lexcorp @ Aug 20 2010, 12:12 AM) Safari cannot go fullscreen. try use alternative..Google chrome is good( can full screen ). i think safari can go full screen but abit troublesome only...
gurus
Aug 20 2010, 05:32 PM
Well I actually never charge my mbp to full b4 I use it for the first time. Apple insist us to do so... Any harm done guys?
gurus
Aug 20 2010, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(yetieater @ Aug 20 2010, 10:40 PM) May as well return it for a new one  Why is that so? Mind to clarify more bro?
gurus
Aug 22 2010, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(G_KeN @ Aug 22 2010, 02:03 AM) Hmm, new owner of macbook pro 13.  But unfortunately my macbook was accidentally dented after the 3 pin plug fell over its body *cursing myself for being bloody reckless*. Currently using speck satin purple, but unfortunately the case scratches too easily.  Any recommendation on the case? anyone tried the carbon thingy case? Thx.  well at least it will protect ur mbp from scratches n dents and cases are meant to protect not to be protected in my opinion personally i think the satin case is quite scratch resistance unless u are really rough with it
gurus
Aug 22 2010, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(RiderEternal @ Aug 22 2010, 03:29 PM) Got mine from Apple Malaysia Online... got what?
gurus
Aug 24 2010, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Aug 24 2010, 10:31 AM) hey guys, Before I really decide to buy a MacBook Pro,as I observed it's using glossy sreen. When I played around with the MacBook Pro at Machines, the colour was vibrant and rich. But then I'm not sure whether it gives the right colour accuracy as people compared that matte screen gives better colour accuracy. Need advice , thanks. yeah go for the matte screen if u dont mind waiting and also the price difference. another option is throw in a matte SP if the gloss is really bothering u
gurus
Sep 6 2010, 08:12 PM
wow..20 mths at 50 cycle? i'm already at 42 cycles, close to 5 months old but i use around 3 months only
gurus
Sep 9 2010, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Sep 9 2010, 04:09 AM) my bro just got his MBP 13" yesterday...this whole day only updating all the software and application inside..but after that he can't open his iTunes and Quick Time. When he opens iTunes there's window pop out saying that the iTunes is corrupted...need to reinstall again... huh? i did not have any problems with my mbp from the 1st day till now, how come itunes got corrupted eh This post has been edited by gurus: Sep 9 2010, 11:21 AM
gurus
Sep 14 2010, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(blue16 @ Sep 14 2010, 12:49 AM) anyone know where can i buy the previous generation macbook pro? just wondering, why get the previous generation instead of the latest ones eh?
gurus
Sep 15 2010, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Sep 14 2010, 11:52 PM) I plug the adapter on for the whole 12 hours. Actually, I plug in 24/7. I only switch off my mbp every 2 to 3 days. And I calibrate the batts once a month. Once a week I would take my mbp to the couch and surf internet without the power adapter. me 2... i'm always plug on when i'm home but when i leave my room or my house, i would unplug it and use the battery. but i only calibrate my battery once a month, is it enough? or should i calibrate more often eh?
gurus
Sep 16 2010, 01:15 PM
some say plug in and some say use ur battery more often so whats the best way to maintain the battery eh? quite confuse la
gurus
Sep 22 2010, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(putochip123 @ Sep 22 2010, 01:14 AM) try download this smeFanControl http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/23049/smcfancontrol try tpmaximise ur fan speed at 6000 sure will keep ur system under 70'c, my core i7 620M with 6000RPM runs games at 72'c only thx for the link..very useful indeed
gurus
Oct 1 2010, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Sep 30 2010, 03:14 PM) @dante5047 there's this really amazing invention, called the telephone. I wonder if you've heard of it? also, recently, there's this something called the internet? www.machines.com.my www.switch.com.my www.maccity.com.my haha...u r kinda harsh on him la bro everything also call and google then what is the use of this thread?