124 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

more2teayap
post Oct 13 2010, 12:52 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(esssymanex @ Oct 13 2010, 12:03 PM)
For me, the new macbook pro 13" not hang for long time, even let open it straight 3 days without off it. Previously using Macbook Aluminium 13" always freeze after sleep due to RAM problem i think. My iPhone 4 still not hang for the moment.
so far i don't have any problem with my aluminium macbook 13" I didn't upgrade the RAM, still at 2GB biggrin.gif
hapa
post Oct 13 2010, 01:52 PM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(sigg @ Oct 13 2010, 11:54 AM)

Is this okay??? the temperature is frightening
I AM TALKING ABOUT THE MAIN LOGIC BOARD, PLS DUN LOOK LOOK ELSEWHERE.
Bro, 65 is consider as normal temperature la..
gurus
post Oct 13 2010, 04:33 PM

1.get up! 2.survive! 3.go back to bed!
1,242 posts

QUOTE(esssymanex @ Oct 13 2010, 12:03 PM)
For me, the new macbook pro 13" not hang for long time, even let open it straight 3 days without off it. Previously using Macbook Aluminium 13" always freeze after sleep due to RAM problem i think. My iPhone 4 still not hang for the moment.
thats what im saying lo...why hang arr? ram problem?
mine also mbp13 2010 sweat.gif
more2teayap
post Oct 13 2010, 11:00 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

Guys I need help, today I realized that my iTunes sound had gone weird, the sound is not that clear, vocal kinda blurish, equalizer had turned off but in VLC its ok. any idea on how to solve this problem?
imrozx
post Oct 13 2010, 11:29 PM

40 posts

wew~ finish reading from page 1 till now... haha... never been here before, so i want to take this opportunity to greet all mac user. Hi, i hoped that i will learn a lot from ppl in this thread.

I own Macbook pro 13" mid 2009 model ( i think- forgot la)
Based spec for that model with education price from applestore. ( i feel nostalgic how i was really excited waiting for the arrival of mbp that took about 2 weeks. opening the box,etc, i even put some msg on the receipt just for fun XD)
i bought it for RM~4500 ( dun really remember rm4099 for mbp + iwork+remote+DVI adapter)
Always love my makie for what it is. huhuhu.. sleek, no hassle, long battery life, etc.
what i regret the most, i did not buy any case for makie, last time i drop the macsafe pin on the lid, and it got dented. T.T, looking for one, but the price is almost rm200. XD no budget la. so i make myself ignored it. T.T
well i sleep with it beside me. XD everyday (almost). one more thing i love apple. i never SHUTDOWN makie. (or i forget when i shut it down) just restart for install and etc, i got few freeze, but not more then 10. (sometime i amazed how apple do this, i mean a laptop that would last so long without shutdown- try other brand you will see) some times i left it ON almost 1 month. rely onli on its autosleep feature. even traveling i keep it on sleep,( close the lid only) i only formated once, because i upgrade to snow leo. just because i think its shud folow windows style.XD format is always and option to resolved slowness. but i realize, mac don't. LOL
Love the battery, past one year and still got 84% health (quite good for a laptop that always ON) and reach 5 hours still.
I dont install a lot of software, this is my list of software.

Parallel ( you now. quick access to bootcamp windows)
crossover ( i want to use IDM in native mode-save battery)
iLife09
Iwork09 ( never use, T.T damn i really wanna try use the keynote, but all lost if i convert to ppt. )
office09 ( this office sometimes not so compatible with some software- mathtype)
office 11 ( new, just love it, need sometime to familiarize)
ialertU ( fun to try if you have remote)
Skype ( i think the best IM for mac YM dont work properly in mac)
Sofacontrol ( love to play with the remote)
Squential ( for manga reading)
Stuf-it ( you know what it does)
Teamviewer ( RD software that works even behind firewall or router)
etc software like Acrobat, Bento, and others

games
World of Goo ( fun to play at work if got bored)
Plant vs Zombies ( same )
I seldom play games with my mac as my PC is better spec and more comfortable ( i try playing Modern warfare 2 on High setting on makie. work with not much lag, after 15 minute, lag like hell and with artifacts. worried i'll fried the GFX so dun play on my makie, i do play DOTA some times. no problem.

Overall verdict
I love my makie and i hope you do to. XD
fyi. i gave names to all my computers. XD so makie-chan is for my mbp wub.gif blush.gif

ok, after i read from the start some of the new user does not know much about battery, i think one post in apple forum very good.
do check it HERE

and some on the storage thing
I prefer NTFS over FAT32 as i work most on file above 4GB. i use NTFS-3g but it was slow. so comes Parallel the savior. XD. just load the HDD into parallel and work like normal. XD there is more simple way. to this.. and i just use it. TUXERA it is NTFS driver which works better and faster then NTFS-3g. it is a paid software i dont encourage pirate. but do's the google magic trick maybe you get yourself lucky. XD.

I use perian and some codec i found on the net, but still using Quicktime is very slow la.. sometime not work or problemmatic, any software to suggest? i use VLC before, but it sucks crash all the time mostly on mkv. so i dump it. any recomendation. wanna watch blu-ray on my makie.

Because i love macs. so i have been recomending to my family and manage to get my father and sister POISONED. brows.gif tongue.gif
They both buy the 2010 model, my sister got no problem with her MBP but for my farther, there is problem. he use the customs build 13" with 500GB HDD max 13" spec.

here are what i have post on the apple forum

My farther just got his new macbook pro 13" 2010 version. at first it was ok, the battery was good. even can reach 10 hours. but last month he goes on vacation and left his macbookpro at home. he also has done all the necessary things to make sure the macbookpro ok when he left it. for example.
keep it at 50% charge when storing it. he also store the macbook at normal room temperature which here is around 27-31C. after a month he when back home and start up the macbookpro. nothing wrong. the battery still have some charge left. maybe around 2 hours. then he use normally. things get mess up when he start charging it. the battery took more then 10 hours of time to charge it. and this is a problem for him as he some times need a quick charge. he is a frequent traveler. I've already help him to recalibrate the battery. even try with my macbookpro 2009 adapter. the result still the same. for the information. he did updates all the available updates for last month after he start the macbookpro after the long vacation.

anyone has experience this? or maybe can help me with this.

you can follow it Here

sory for the lenghty post. just want to return what i have read from page 1 till now.. XD worth you know... hahaha

ShuUemura
post Oct 14 2010, 12:31 AM

239 posts

U guys aware of the Back to Mac event which will be held on Oct 20th next week? Looks like i have to hold back my macbook pro purchase until the announcement :S
gurus
post Oct 14 2010, 12:36 AM

1,242 posts

@imrozx
u read from page 1 till the end? sweat.gif
btw u can easily get a branded casing for around rm100++ here laugh.gif

imrozx
post Oct 14 2010, 06:20 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Oct 14 2010, 12:36 AM)
@imrozx
u read from page 1 till the end?  sweat.gif
btw u can easily get a branded casing for around rm100++ here  laugh.gif
yup.. took me 2 day to finish it... LOL.. some i do skip..

just notice that. i already bought for my sister. XD,
actualy got my eye on Carbon fiber thing.. hehehe.. anyone wanna sold cheap2.. drool.gif
dvlzplayground
post Oct 14 2010, 10:12 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

imrozx, thats very good of u to read from page 1 haha. ur post is long so im not gonna quote it here tongue.gif

1st of all, congrats on ur MBP! none of us here regret getting one so im sure u wont haha. also, thanks for the link about the battery, seems very useful

about ur dad's MBP, best is to just bring it to an authorized service centre, take advantage of ur warranty coverage. i hv no idea what's the cause of the problem though
destfull
post Oct 14 2010, 10:39 AM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

QUOTE(maocheng @ Oct 10 2010, 04:36 PM)
Hi guys,do u know where to get applemacbook pro with student price?
Sapura.. only Sapura i think.. they used to have shop at MMU before but now closed already.
But my friend said they still selling at student price for student.. don't know which officce/outlet got
gurus
post Oct 14 2010, 10:52 AM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(imrozx @ Oct 14 2010, 06:20 AM)
yup.. took me 2 day to finish it... LOL.. some i do skip..

just notice that. i already bought for my sister. XD,
actualy got my eye on Carbon fiber thing.. hehehe.. anyone wanna sold cheap2.. drool.gif
u can try google the carbon fiber case on youtube, i remember seeing a review on it and it says that it does not shut your mbp's lid completely...not sure about that myself as i'm using a spec satin laugh.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 10:55 am
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 14 2010, 10:12 AM)
imrozx, thats very good of u to read from page 1 haha. ur post is long so im not gonna quote it here tongue.gif

1st of all, congrats on ur MBP! none of us here regret getting one so im sure u wont haha. also, thanks for the link about the battery, seems very useful

about ur dad's MBP, best is to just bring it to an authorized service centre, take advantage of ur warranty coverage. i hv no idea what's the cause of the problem though
thats so true bro...i've never actually see someone who regret on a mbp around here rolleyes.gif
btw bro, abit off topic ya....u using the razer orochi rite? is it nice to use?
i just got a magic mouse n kinda have a weird feeling with it rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by gurus: Oct 14 2010, 10:55 AM
esssymanex
post Oct 14 2010, 12:16 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Oct 13 2010, 05:33 PM)
thats what im saying lo...why hang arr? ram problem?
mine also mbp13 2010  sweat.gif
Should be RAM problem. Have your hard disk space less than 20% ? If you hard disk full also had factor to hang.

Added on October 14, 2010, 12:17 pm
QUOTE(more2teayap @ Oct 13 2010, 01:52 PM)
so far i don't have any problem with my aluminium macbook 13" I didn't upgrade the RAM, still at 2GB biggrin.gif
I think so if 2GB should don't have any problem but need run many application so 2GB is not enough.

Have u got battery swollen problem ?.

This post has been edited by esssymanex: Oct 14 2010, 12:17 PM
dvlzplayground
post Oct 14 2010, 12:19 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(gurus @ Oct 14 2010, 10:52 AM)
u can try google the carbon fiber case on youtube, i remember seeing a review on it and it says that it does not shut your mbp's lid completely...not sure about that myself as i'm using a spec satin laugh.gif

Added on October 14, 2010, 10:55 am
thats so true bro...i've never actually see someone who regret on a mbp around here  rolleyes.gif
btw bro, abit off topic ya....u using the razer orochi rite? is it nice to use?
i just got a magic mouse n kinda have a weird feeling with it  rclxub.gif
orochi? very nice indeed. previously i was using proclick 1.6, to my surprise the orochi feels exactly the same, except for the shorter length, n just slighttttly narrower. i instantly got used to it. the height is perfect (for me), n i like the texture. i was never a fan of wireless mouse bcuz i dun want to bother with batteries. but since this is a hybrid, i only use it in wireless mode when im not at home. havent changed battery since i bought it. my only qualm is the side buttons are too small n feel very plasticky

comparing with the magic mouse, it's too low for me, not comfortable. 2nd is the location of the sensor. in most mice, the sensor is right in the middle, where in the magic mouse it's more to the front. this makes the MM navigation different bcuz of the extra length between the sensor and ur wrist. of course, this is just my personal opinion tongue.gif
gurus
post Oct 14 2010, 03:50 PM

1,242 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 14 2010, 12:19 PM)
orochi? very nice indeed. previously i was using proclick 1.6, to my surprise the orochi feels exactly the same, except for the shorter length, n just slighttttly narrower. i instantly got used to it. the height is perfect (for me), n i like the texture. i was never a fan of wireless mouse bcuz i dun want to bother with batteries. but since this is a hybrid, i only use it in wireless mode when im not at home. havent changed battery since i bought it. my only qualm is the side buttons are too small n feel very plasticky

comparing with the magic mouse, it's too low for me, not comfortable. 2nd is the location of the sensor. in most mice, the sensor is right in the middle, where in the magic mouse it's more to the front. this makes the MM navigation different bcuz of the extra length between the sensor and ur wrist. of course, this is just my personal opinion tongue.gif
appreciate it bro smile.gif
i also feel the same for the magic mouse though...abit too low and my wrist hurts after using for sometime. the speed is also one problem, quite slow eh sweat.gif
i think i'll invest in a orochi soon cool.gif
thanks bro thumbup.gif
imrozx
post Oct 14 2010, 05:01 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 14 2010, 10:12 AM)

i think so.. i call the call center also ask me to bring to Machines at KLCC... well its a long way from Kota Bharu. need to plan first.

hmm.. i have some question, anyone here manage to find software for bahasa Malaysia proffing tool on mac. its like Dewan eja or somtin.
been searching, but none found. google also cannot handle.. XD
Jeffrey1987
post Oct 14 2010, 05:30 PM

1,661 posts

Hello guys, I have a question regarding on MacBook Pro warranty. Is it equipped with international warranty?

I plan to buy it at M'sia and take it with me to Germany for my study purpose.

Sorry for the noob Q as I never bought an Apple notebook before.
imrozx
post Oct 14 2010, 07:03 PM

40 posts

yup. international warranty.
Jeffrey1987
post Oct 14 2010, 07:22 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(imrozx @ Oct 14 2010, 07:03 PM)
yup. international warranty.
How many years of warranty in stock? Do you guys think that it is necessary to extend the warranty and how?
nabielz
post Oct 14 2010, 08:20 PM

cbr_akra
903 posts

QUOTE(Jeffrey1987 @ Oct 14 2010, 07:22 PM)
How many years of warranty in stock? Do you guys think that it is necessary to extend the warranty and how?
1year
buy applecare protection plan.
il0ve51
post Oct 14 2010, 10:09 PM

1,054 posts

anyone awe are of "back to mac event"? does it mean mbp refresh going soon?

124 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0350sec    1.14    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:15 AM