124 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)

Howard Tan
post Aug 30 2010, 08:46 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 30 2010, 10:39 PM)
well when he mentioned  i assume he was suggesting a fraud case about ur macbook being older than 10 months. it's not, it's just manufactured 4 months before u bought it. no big deal smile.gif

about ur battery life, yes i support him. by the way instead of downloading iStat, juz run Acitivity Monitor. u can see which application is hogging your resources.

also, are u using ur macbook in a hot environment?
Not fraud, just thought it was a display set. Happened to one of my close friends.

iStats is a button away smile.gif and a lot more more simple for people like me who just wants to know the very general stats of my mac.
swinghi
post Aug 30 2010, 10:29 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(Howard Tan @ Aug 30 2010, 08:46 PM)
Not fraud, just thought it was a display set. Happened to one of my close friends.

iStats is a button away smile.gif and a lot more more simple for people like me who just wants to know the very general stats of my mac.
Here I would like to open my flood-gates:

I bought my first Mac, a MBP with student discount from Epicentre, Pavillion in June 2008. I suspected I bought a display set. I was asked to pay at the Cashier first and after that, as I turned to the iConcierge area, my set are already opened and the technician already took my Mac out from the box for the so-called free setting-up a new account for me. They didn't even ask me whether I want to open and to set it up myself. vmad.gif

After all the setting-up, I was only asked to check the things inside the box. Upon closer inspection at home, there's a minor scratch on one of the keyboard keys. Then there's also some scratches around the screw area at the bottom of the LCD. Alright, I thought never mind because of some scratches. On the third day, the graphics card showed signs of failure, scrambled screen. It was only replaced after 1 year through Epicentre. It was a nightmare. They never call me to update the service status and never reply my calls as promised during the intervals. rclxub.gif

Within the one year, the DVD drive, the screen (bubble formation), battery (health fluctuated wildly), LCD hinge (hook problem) and logic board (again) all failed and was subsequently replaced under extended warranty promptly by Machines. Machines handled my case much better than Epicentre. Even I was insulted by one of the Epicentre technician which carries remark that I can't afford better-specced Mac. I complained to Apple directly about the insult but not the display set thingy. Very unprofessional about Epicentre I think. hmm.gif

I was fed-up with the first Mac and the repairs, so I traded it in at Machines and got best specced unibody MBP second revision from Apple Store. Till now, touch wood, not a single problems nor scratches with it. Got to be careful with Resellers and traders especially in Malaysia.
limkj
post Aug 31 2010, 07:53 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(miaka_tama @ Aug 18 2010, 11:38 PM)
kinda not long enuf to plug directly to wall socket..
will try that out..

but now on power adapter
stil getting the electrostatic intermittently..
sigh sigh.. sad.gif
For your information, the extended cable when connected to the adaptor is earthed, so you will not feel any electrostatic shock or electrical leakages.

You will feel this electrical leaks when you connect the adaptor direct to the power socket as it is not earthed.

Hope that answers this.
Masamune
post Aug 31 2010, 10:06 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Guys anybody know whether the apple battery charger is in Malaysia already? I can't find it in Malaysia online store..
matsheikh
post Sep 1 2010, 06:24 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 30 2010, 09:44 AM)
yes that's very slow. juz now i tried copying 13GB from an external drive it only took around 6 mins. of course u cannot expect 480mbps juz like how u cannot expect streamyx 2mpbs to be actually 2mbps lah tongue.gif but 20mins is still too slow

was there any other usb transfer going on at that time? usb transfers get slower if there's another one going on.

it also depends on ur card speed though. if it's an SD card, what class is it?
Hi

I think i forgot to mention one important factor which is it took 20 mins importing these files using iphoto09.

I did try copying direct from the card to the HD and for 8GB it took <6mins. Still slow compared to your rate.

dvlzplayground
post Sep 1 2010, 11:54 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

ohh in that case i think no problem. card transfer speed is slower than external hdd IINM
tarvalslain87
post Sep 1 2010, 03:44 PM

(•_•) / ( •_•)>⌐■-■ / (⌐■_■)
5,054 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Aug 31 2010, 10:06 PM)
Guys anybody know whether the apple battery charger is in Malaysia already? I can't find it in Malaysia online store..
Im not sure other Apple resellers but Switch already have it.... You can head down to their website to check it out
euphoriaa
post Sep 1 2010, 08:58 PM

225 posts

Hi guys!

Would like to know is it possible to buy a MBP at student price at any shop or Apple outlet here in Malaysia? Don't wanna get into those hassle of buying it online.
yeahs4.1
post Sep 1 2010, 09:25 PM

Audio Freako
2,491 posts

student discount is only from apple store. apple exclusive/premium retailers can only offer you some free gifts or discounted upgrades.
dvlzplayground
post Sep 2 2010, 07:44 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i just realized something. yesterday i connected my MBP to my tv, n i had an external hdd and also the charger plugged in. i was watching a movie from the ext hdd.

i accidentally closed the mbp lid but the tv still got display. since when can do like this? tongue.gif i thought it'll go to sleep n have to wake up using keyboard/mouse

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Sep 2 2010, 07:44 PM
crest91
post Sep 3 2010, 04:50 PM

76 posts

Student discount is only available at http://store.apple.com/my
click into the educational store n you'll be able to browse at the student price.

Its recommended to buy there, cheap and fast delivery

Added on September 3, 2010, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(wintzen @ Aug 30 2010, 05:20 PM)
@yezhacolic

Bro, mine was the mid 2010 model, can only last about 4-5 hours and deterioates if I'm using it for SC2. I've only charge it 3 times since I bought it...so hopefully the battery life would be better.
playing SC2 can last 4-5 hours thats just great , my 4 mths old 13" mbp running pro evolution soccer can last for like 2~3 hours only

This post has been edited by crest91: Sep 3 2010, 04:53 PM
tedisgodlike
post Sep 4 2010, 06:16 AM

582 posts

hi guys, kinda blur here =)

just finish google.

want to ask what the difference between macbook and macbook pro 13"?
which one should i buy?
dvlzplayground
post Sep 4 2010, 10:09 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(tedisgodlike @ Sep 4 2010, 06:16 AM)

just finish google.

which one should i buy?
search around...so many ppl have asked this already. bottom line is if u can afford MBP 13", go for it. much better value n will look good longer
inachi
post Sep 4 2010, 12:16 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

just finish google.

which one should i buy?
everyone got their own opinion.some might prefer macbookpro but some might think otherwise..

just do a lil bit searching and see whats the one that u r looking for.
crest91
post Sep 4 2010, 12:33 PM

76 posts

just finish google.

which one should i buy?
Just go to machines or apple website and do the comparison.
http://www.apple.com/mac/whichmacbook/compare.html
here is a full chart for all the macbook and mbp comparison
tedisgodlike
post Sep 4 2010, 05:39 PM

582 posts

thx guys =)
Moutzu
post Sep 5 2010, 12:22 AM

337 posts

I dunno whether this had been asked b4 or not. I am new to Mac. Previously when I was using a Dell lappy, I will connect it direct to an AC outlet, thus bypassing using the battery. Can I do this with my MBP by connecting the Magsafe Power Adaptor to an AC power outlet? Will this be bypassing the battery in the MBP?
uncontrolled
post Sep 5 2010, 12:23 AM

249 posts

How to make a hidden file unhide?! (not just appear but unhide it) Thanks
Mackiddo
post Sep 5 2010, 12:37 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Moutzu @ Sep 5 2010, 12:22 AM)
I dunno whether this had been asked b4 or not. I am new to Mac. Previously when I was using a Dell lappy, I will connect it direct to an AC outlet, thus bypassing using the battery. Can I do this with my MBP by connecting the Magsafe Power Adaptor to an AC power outlet? Will this be bypassing the battery in the MBP?
is there any alternative choice since you can't remove your mbp battery? dunno if I'm consider lucky or not. I always plug in when I use my MacBook unibody ( removable battery) . the battery spoit within 20months. luckily they replace it for me FOC under APP.
nimrod323
post Sep 5 2010, 09:50 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(Moutzu @ Sep 5 2010, 12:22 AM)
this has been the case all this while.

124 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:36 AM