Hardware The New MacBook/MacBook Pro/Air Users Thread v6, Share your joy and hopefully no pain :)
matsheikh
Aug 30 2010, 08:02 AM

Please welcome me to the family with MBP 13", just bought it last night at machines klcc. Everything was well except one.
Now, i find the transfer rate from my sandisk usb extreme card reader to the mbp was extremely slow. I checked in the system and it register both the card and the card reader as capable of read/write at 480mbps.
for the time being i'm using iphoto to import and for a 13GB raw photo, it took almost 20 mins to finish importing.
everyone, this cannot be the correct transfer rate! please share your feedback. TQ!
matsheikh
Sep 1 2010, 06:24 AM

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 30 2010, 09:44 AM) yes that's very slow. juz now i tried copying 13GB from an external drive it only took around 6 mins. of course u cannot expect 480mbps juz like how u cannot expect streamyx 2mpbs to be actually 2mbps lah  but 20mins is still too slow was there any other usb transfer going on at that time? usb transfers get slower if there's another one going on. it also depends on ur card speed though. if it's an SD card, what class is it? Hi I think i forgot to mention one important factor which is it took 20 mins importing these files using iphoto09. I did try copying direct from the card to the HD and for 8GB it took <6mins. Still slow compared to your rate.