What he meant was to continously make probes and not to stop half way through battle or anywhere in between.
Protoss Discussion Thread Ver. 1, [SEASON 2] Tips & Strategies.
Oct 16 2010, 09:32 PM
135 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
What he meant was to continously make probes and not to stop half way through battle or anywhere in between.
Oct 16 2010, 09:35 PM
4,390 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Cheras, Malaysia |
yea, making probe --> basic of all macro
Dont try to be greedy, when you learn 1 strats, keep on to it, when you are 4 gating, do it all the way until the point you know you cant do any better. Dont get distracted into other strategies. |
Oct 16 2010, 09:40 PM
212 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Nibleheim |
go and watch day[9] daily newbiew tuesday 1. I think it is call tht. Summary of tht video is to keep making probe and plyon so you do not get food block. Train yourself to be keep making probe. I am free tomorrow morning so pm me if you would like me to practice with you
Oct 17 2010, 12:54 AM
2,446 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
lol dont make to many bro..
for each base the maximum you should make up to are 30 probes |
Oct 17 2010, 12:59 AM
2,690 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Penang/ Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 17 2010, 12:54 AM) lol dont make to many bro.. optimum is around 26imho...for each base the maximum you should make up to are 30 probes only get to 30 when u are ready to expo... there was a graph about number of workers against efficiency and it ended at 26 as optimum... |
Oct 17 2010, 03:06 AM
ahhh i think the graphs are more accurate ! lol cause blizz stated that 3 for each would be optimum :/
Oct 17 2010, 03:07 AM
Oct 17 2010, 08:44 AM
I personally think that Toss is really at a disadvantage right now... seriously.
Oct 17 2010, 08:46 AM
5,366 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
Oct 17 2010, 08:57 AM
Oct 17 2010, 09:37 AM
I think roaches are way too powerful early game now. Despite knowing the opponent is gonna roach rush also is somewhat difficult to fend off, especially with their range upgrade. Even holding them off at the ramp seemed more difficult than usual.
Oct 17 2010, 10:10 AM
1,314 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Cheras, KL |
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 15 2010, 10:54 PM) first of all this is wut i've observe from viewing on ur camera angle on one go... Sorry for the late reply, hmm in your opinion, what improvement should i focus on first?hope it helps: - 1. constant probe production, ur probe production do stop at times wasting few sec off ur chrono (both of u have 15 workers when u should be roughly 17-18 workers by this stage) 2. scout across the xelnaga first for this map as u might catch some proxies or ur opponent's worker movement (thus some rough idea where his base might be to save ur scouting time) 3. ur 2nd gate too fast, the minerals is better used to get ur first stalker (besides that later on u are nt really having constant production off 2 gate which means u can make do wit only 1 gate) 4. ur building timing are a little out of sync (zealot should be done when ur core is done), partly due to ur focus on the scouting probe a little too much 5. lack of information when u are almost playing blind... try control the middle xelnaga as its important for this map, playing blind too long (poke wit ur first zealot+stalker to see wut unit compo he has to have an idea of his builds) 6. earlier pylon near ur ramp for faster reinforcement and easy micro (and maybe a sentry?) 7. 3rd gate too fast a bit as well as u are not producing off it 8. chrono charges not really used well (lots of times ur nexus is at 100 energy) 9. gateway production not constant (lots of minerals) and make it seemed like u need more production (4 is the max btw) 10. u either tech or u expand... u cant support getting a robo bay and expand at the same time (reason why HuK lost a game in MLG NY last week)... wut more u have 4 gate which is too much resources to be used... as u can see when ur robo bay is done, u dun have enuff resource to get the colossus 11. supply but minor issue as toss are supply heavy lol 12. hotkey ur army (u can double tab that key to change to ur army ASAP 13. colossus need more micro (9 range) so they dun get sniped i think the biggest issue is that ur build order doesnt feel smooth enuff... bonus: high starting apm of 300 but it slowly drops... dun really need to get the initial apm that high... my apm is only 60-90 through the whole game lol... |
Oct 17 2010, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(incx @ Oct 17 2010, 09:37 AM) I think roaches are way too powerful early game now. Despite knowing the opponent is gonna roach rush also is somewhat difficult to fend off, especially with their range upgrade. Even holding them off at the ramp seemed more difficult than usual. i almost lose to a z roach rush just now.. Need a lot of sentry to block off my door while i spam immortal |
Oct 17 2010, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 17 2010, 03:07 AM) Hmmm... You cant FE and mass cannons anymore because roches could hit your gates/forge and your cannons are unable to reach them..Hahaha the only way now is to build units, I find the best method now is to maake a zealot for tank and the rest stalkers.. lets say a 5 roach push, a zealot with 3 sstalkers are able to fend that push off easily.. i find zealots sentry combo a harder way to defend against the roach timing push because before a zealot could reach a roach the roach could deal two attacks instead of one in the previous patch due to its range.. super huge advantage there Nope, have no watched MLG and GSL yet... haha Im to busy taking care of my gf haha.. she was in the hospital but now shes fine ;D thank God |
Oct 17 2010, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 17 2010, 11:40 AM) Hmmm... You cant FE and mass cannons anymore because roches could hit your gates/forge and your cannons are unable to reach them.. good to hear that...Hahaha the only way now is to build units, I find the best method now is to maake a zealot for tank and the rest stalkers.. lets say a 5 roach push, a zealot with 3 sstalkers are able to fend that push off easily.. i find zealots sentry combo a harder way to defend against the roach timing push because before a zealot could reach a roach the roach could deal two attacks instead of one in the previous patch due to its range.. super huge advantage there Nope, have no watched MLG and GSL yet... haha Im to busy taking care of my gf haha.. she was in the hospital but now shes fine ;D thank God but the problem wit the zealot stalker would be the lings... either way i think FE builds are gone =( Added on October 17, 2010, 11:57 pm QUOTE(kEazYc @ Oct 17 2010, 10:10 AM) i would suggest the core macro mechanics...when ur macro is good, u can jz stimroll... so it would be the constant probe production, solid BO/ timing, chrono-ing and supply Added on October 18, 2010, 12:04 am QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 17 2010, 08:46 AM) what i do in toss team games almost every game: 4 gate > expo > 8 gate stalker spam like no tomorrow > 3 forge > GAS (hotkeys) hmmm as good as stalkers seem, hydras > them...lol. i prefer the robo tech now (or phoenixes <3)... or if u are gutsy, do kiwikaki's immortal drop -> 4gate warp off that warp prism build against idra... freaking sick (though hard to pull off for sure) This post has been edited by evofantasy: Oct 18 2010, 12:04 AM |
Oct 18 2010, 12:09 AM
89 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
after watching MLG competition between kiwikaki and idra G1, i tried his tactics , it worked for once but my mind keep thinking what if theres roach rush..hw to fend tht in time without putting cannons at the choke...
any suggestion abt hw to do it ? |
Oct 18 2010, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(his @ Oct 18 2010, 12:09 AM) after watching MLG competition between kiwikaki and idra G1, i tried his tactics , it worked for once but my mind keep thinking what if theres roach rush..hw to fend tht in time without putting cannons at the choke... i think when the roach reach u would have ur first immortal out so not a problem wit some micro...any suggestion abt hw to do it ? |
Oct 18 2010, 12:16 AM
well, what is being played on the competition doesnt really happens tht often so, would be better to put off with a sentry and maybe 2 cannons to fend them off awhile
Oct 18 2010, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(his @ Oct 18 2010, 12:16 AM) well, what is being played on the competition doesnt really happens tht often so, would be better to put off with a sentry and maybe 2 cannons to fend them off awhile nah sentry is not really that good anymore...sentry was used for FE mostly back (korean FE builds) to control the chokes from ling run-by... if u are going cannon then it gotta be a FE based cannon... 1 base cannon would make u fall behind the zerg too much in terms of eco... |
Oct 18 2010, 12:33 AM
i tried this strat like more than 4 times on zerg..build up pylon at their new base (FE) and put up 2 cannons on it with lots of stalkers warping in
maybe a so called coward strategy but it works nevertheless. unprofessional but good move too against aggresive zerg |
| Change to: | 0.0308sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:20 AM |