Protoss Discussion Thread Ver. 1, [SEASON 2] Tips & Strategies.
Oct 13 2010, 08:12 PM
318 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Selangor |
Hmm. It seems I still have to work on my building speed. My enemies (2v2) had 2-3 void rays before I could get my 4gates up. Only a few stalkers, zealots and a sentry. I died.
Oct 13 2010, 11:05 PM
5,691 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
speaking of playing with AI, which I have to do now instead of online because I'm on work trip and can't afford the exorbitant hotel online fees (usd35/day for internet, wtf?), I can cream hard AI easily, but Very Hard normally cannot. I'll match the AI for their first 1 or 2 pushes, but somehow after that it just steamrolls me even without any expansion (regardless of whether i expand or not).
Do i just suck? @Fly, no, you need to scout. No need to say VR, even 2gate zealot push can rape your 4 gate if you're not expecting it. |
Oct 14 2010, 01:26 AM
2,690 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Penang/ Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 13 2010, 11:05 PM) speaking of playing with AI, which I have to do now instead of online because I'm on work trip and can't afford the exorbitant hotel online fees (usd35/day for internet, wtf?), I can cream hard AI easily, but Very Hard normally cannot. I'll match the AI for their first 1 or 2 pushes, but somehow after that it just steamrolls me even without any expansion (regardless of whether i expand or not). hmmm i would say its positioning...Do i just suck? @Fly, no, you need to scout. No need to say VR, even 2gate zealot push can rape your 4 gate if you're not expecting it. i can FE and still defend as long as i get good positioning or good FF placements... which matchup u are having trouble with? |
Oct 14 2010, 02:08 AM
1,314 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: Cheras, KL |
http://www.sc2replayed.com/replays/89655-1...-delta-quadrant
Can anyone review my replay whether i'm doing my things right or not, or is there any space i could improve from this replay? P/S: I'm still in silver league. :S This post has been edited by kEazYc: Oct 14 2010, 02:10 AM |
Oct 15 2010, 06:40 AM
T_T i failed again in TWO 2v2 matches
Oct 15 2010, 08:06 AM
Oct 15 2010, 09:27 PM
212 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Nibleheim |
hi guys i just swtich raace. Yes i the protoss decide to change a human into one of them.
here are some problems i am facing. 1. Before i can get 2nd gateway, terran proxy 3 rack mass marine rush pwn me. 2.Before i can get 2nd gateway, zerg mass roach rush me with drone support.. thanks in advance will upload those sad replays later. |
Oct 15 2010, 09:40 PM
QUOTE(cupmee2nd @ Oct 15 2010, 09:27 PM) hi guys i just swtich raace. Yes i the protoss decide to change a human into one of them. hmmm for him to 3 rax u think u would have 2 gate rite?here are some problems i am facing. 1. Before i can get 2nd gateway, terran proxy 3 rack mass marine rush pwn me. 2.Before i can get 2nd gateway, zerg mass roach rush me with drone support.. thanks in advance will upload those sad replays later. 9pylon12gate14gas and core after gas... 1 zealot and as much stalekrs as u can... |
Oct 15 2010, 10:15 PM
Can u guys suggest me a build order if mine is not good enough?
4 gate : pylon at 8/9 gas at 11 gateway at 12/13 gas after gateway 2nd gate at 15 pylon at 18, near enemy's base cyber core after that, research right after building finish finish 3rd and 4th gate before 26 supply spam pylons then spam stalkers and hope that i win if not im screwed because normally after i finish all of the above i don't continue and only focus on attacking rather than teching to VR/colossus while attacking because my macro sucks. This post has been edited by #Fly: Oct 15 2010, 10:21 PM |
Oct 15 2010, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(kEazYc @ Oct 14 2010, 02:08 AM) http://www.sc2replayed.com/replays/89655-1...-delta-quadrant first of all this is wut i've observe from viewing on ur camera angle on one go...Can anyone review my replay whether i'm doing my things right or not, or is there any space i could improve from this replay? P/S: I'm still in silver league. :S hope it helps: - 1. constant probe production, ur probe production do stop at times wasting few sec off ur chrono (both of u have 15 workers when u should be roughly 17-18 workers by this stage) 2. scout across the xelnaga first for this map as u might catch some proxies or ur opponent's worker movement (thus some rough idea where his base might be to save ur scouting time) 3. ur 2nd gate too fast, the minerals is better used to get ur first stalker (besides that later on u are nt really having constant production off 2 gate which means u can make do wit only 1 gate) 4. ur building timing are a little out of sync (zealot should be done when ur core is done), partly due to ur focus on the scouting probe a little too much 5. lack of information when u are almost playing blind... try control the middle xelnaga as its important for this map, playing blind too long (poke wit ur first zealot+stalker to see wut unit compo he has to have an idea of his builds) 6. earlier pylon near ur ramp for faster reinforcement and easy micro (and maybe a sentry?) 7. 3rd gate too fast a bit as well as u are not producing off it 8. chrono charges not really used well (lots of times ur nexus is at 100 energy) 9. gateway production not constant (lots of minerals) and make it seemed like u need more production (4 is the max btw) 10. u either tech or u expand... u cant support getting a robo bay and expand at the same time (reason why HuK lost a game in MLG NY last week)... wut more u have 4 gate which is too much resources to be used... as u can see when ur robo bay is done, u dun have enuff resource to get the colossus 11. supply but minor issue as toss are supply heavy lol 12. hotkey ur army (u can double tab that key to change to ur army ASAP 13. colossus need more micro (9 range) so they dun get sniped i think the biggest issue is that ur build order doesnt feel smooth enuff... bonus: high starting apm of 300 but it slowly drops... dun really need to get the initial apm that high... my apm is only 60-90 through the whole game lol... Added on October 15, 2010, 10:56 pm QUOTE(#Fly @ Oct 15 2010, 10:15 PM) Can u guys suggest me a build order if mine is not good enough? ur BO is totally wrong mate...4 gate : pylon at 8/9 gas at 11 gateway at 12/13 gas after gateway 2nd gate at 15 pylon at 18, near enemy's base cyber core after that, research right after building finish finish 3rd and 4th gate before 26 supply spam pylons then spam stalkers and hope that i win if not im screwed because normally after i finish all of the above i don't continue and only focus on attacking rather than teching to VR/colossus while attacking because my macro sucks. http://wiki.teamliquid.net/starcraft2/4_Gate_Push http://wiki.teamliquid.net/starcraft2/4_Warpgate_Rush is the general idea... u can read up 4gate for certain matchups over at liquidpedia as well... This post has been edited by evofantasy: Oct 15 2010, 10:57 PM |
Oct 16 2010, 06:35 AM
Website is so useful! Thanks bro
Oct 16 2010, 12:00 PM
2,446 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(cupmee2nd @ Oct 15 2010, 09:27 PM) hi guys i just swtich raace. Yes i the protoss decide to change a human into one of them. marine rush is nyum nyum n instant win for protoss.. unless he goes for ravens banshees later on but still not worry about that.. i think you shouldnt go for zealots because all you need is just stalkers and sentry, no point blocking the marine and your zealots getting free hits from the marine troops that was divided in to half by your sentries FF at the ramp.. here are some problems i am facing. 1. Before i can get 2nd gateway, terran proxy 3 rack mass marine rush pwn me. 2.Before i can get 2nd gateway, zerg mass roach rush me with drone support.. thanks in advance will upload those sad replays later. later on just hold on there because he wouldn't want to go up and get split by FF again, tech to collosus and once there is 1 collosus just push and most probably its a win for you |
Oct 16 2010, 03:50 PM
I am back and kicking! Won a few games in a row now.
But what can I improve on? I got pwn by zerg http://www.sc2replayed.com/replays/91256-1...listering-sands This post has been edited by cupmee2nd: Oct 16 2010, 04:04 PM |
Oct 16 2010, 04:24 PM
58 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
I am really hating the energy removal from Thors, now HTs cant feedback them, lost alot of 3v3 games due to it.
Oct 16 2010, 06:52 PM
2 more replays on my progress of learning 4gate
any suggestions? http://uppit.com/qmizve670gh4/korean_4gate_all_in.SC2Replay http://uppit.com/t6c6aj14vc49/4gate_vs_hard.SC2Replay thx guys |
Oct 16 2010, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(#Fly @ Oct 16 2010, 06:52 PM) 2 more replays on my progress of learning 4gate Downloading it now. Upload it to http://www.sc2replayed.com/ next time dude. I see what i can help you with.any suggestions? http://uppit.com/qmizve670gh4/korean_4gate_all_in.SC2Replay http://uppit.com/t6c6aj14vc49/4gate_vs_hard.SC2Replay thx guys Here is my replays PvT Early bio ball atk. Counter by making them probe. http://www.sc2replayed.com/replays/91378-1...oss-lost-temple |
Oct 16 2010, 08:36 PM
135 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
In the last 4 matches I played was against Zergs and all of them were massively producing roaches.
Oct 16 2010, 08:46 PM
4,390 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Cheras, Malaysia |
Watched one..
U builded Gas before gateway, not recommending. Then you stop producing probe - bind your nexus to a hotkey, a control group you are familiar with. always check it's ok to miss but try not to. Then dont build the gas first you are not intending to harvest it Try do standard when you practice, do standard, dont pylon over enemy's base, I know it's AI, try to make it applicable in real game. Another thing is that 4 gate is usually zealots + stalker + sentry, if you intend to do pure zealot rush, a 2 gate should do it better actually. http://wiki.teamliquid.net/starcraft2/4-Gate_Push |
Oct 16 2010, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(#Fly @ Oct 16 2010, 06:52 PM) 2 more replays on my progress of learning 4gate 1. Make them probe. Juz like Sky say, you need to make them probe. You need at least 30 probe at your base.any suggestions? 2. Use hotkeys, they can improve your multi tasking. 3. Spend your money. You have a lot of minerals at the end of the game. Build more gateway or robotbay or nat expo 4. Early units to def. Make 1 zelot, 1 stalker, 1 sentry. To def aganist rush. This post has been edited by cupmee2nd: Oct 16 2010, 09:00 PM |
Oct 16 2010, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 16 2010, 08:46 PM) Watched one.. Thanks for the advice - I was following one of the strats called "Korean 4 Gate All-In"U builded Gas before gateway, not recommending. Then you stop producing probe - bind your nexus to a hotkey, a control group you are familiar with. always check it's ok to miss but try not to. Then dont build the gas first you are not intending to harvest it Try do standard when you practice, do standard, dont pylon over enemy's base, I know it's AI, try to make it applicable in real game. Another thing is that 4 gate is usually zealots + stalker + sentry, if you intend to do pure zealot rush, a 2 gate should do it better actually. http://wiki.teamliquid.net/starcraft2/4-Gate_Push QUOTE(cupmee2nd @ Oct 16 2010, 08:57 PM) 1. Make them probe. Juz like Sky say, you need to make them probe. You need at least 30 probe at your base. 1. ??2. Use hotkeys, they can improve your multi tasking. 3. Spend your money. You have a lot of minerals at the end of the game. Build more gateway or robotbay or nat expo 4. Early units to def. Make 1 zelot, 1 stalker, 1 sentry. To def aganist rush. 2. Still learning them 3. The reason why I didn't use any money is because I knew I'd win already. Otherwise I would tech to stargate or robo bay 4. I'll remember that Thanks guys |
| Change to: | 0.0276sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:52 AM |