117 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

Protoss Discussion Thread Ver. 1, [SEASON 2] Tips & Strategies.

Quazacolt
post Sep 29 2010, 12:49 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(TENAXIS @ Sep 29 2010, 12:40 AM)
what is this epic replay that i miss?
MUST SEE MUST SEE LINK LINK!!!!!

meh, been on a losing streak soo far... ciiibai, soo depressing... sad.gif, need to make my HuK built better and better....

just a random q, do u guys to 8-pylon or 9-pylon?
i been reading or hearing its better to go 8-pylon because you decrease downtime
on 9-pylon that 11th probe is delayed a bit.

opinions anyone?
i 9, 8 if i know im playing against a very aggressive rusher, just so my probes come out faster a lil, and gateway, slightly pinching my econ.
evofantasy
post Sep 29 2010, 01:08 AM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

meh, been on a losing streak soo far... ciiibai, soo depressing... sad.gif, need to make my HuK built better and better....

i been reading or hearing its better to go 8-pylon because you decrease downtime

opinions anyone?
9pylon is the optimum...
again no replays lol...

i do have HuK's carrier rush http://day9tv.blip.tv/file/4174906/
Calvin Seak
post Sep 29 2010, 02:04 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,446 posts

8th pylon for me! biggrin.gif
TSincx
post Sep 29 2010, 08:16 AM

135 posts

opinions anyone?
Actually it's the other way. If you build a 9-pylon and chrono boost the the 10th probe, you'll be able to continue your boost for the the 11th probe as your pylon finishes immediately after the 10th probe.
Quazacolt
post Sep 29 2010, 09:40 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(incx @ Sep 29 2010, 08:16 AM)
Actually it's the other way. If you build a 9-pylon and chrono boost the the 10th probe, you'll be able to continue your boost for the the 11th probe as your pylon finishes immediately after the 10th probe.
typically chrono will be stuck for a bit (wasting a couple seconds) on the 11th probe. i usually chrono the 11th probe and it affects 11-12, then 12 gate right after should i do typical 9py 12 gate openings
Calvin Seak
post Oct 1 2010, 12:44 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,446 posts

I found a few ways to beat MMM ball.

I believe by rushing him before he gets medivac is the key.

so its just MM. So how do you deal with MM?

if there are more marauuders eg(50%>) immortals are essentials. if there are more marines zealots n stalkers will do fine

I always believe stalkers are the DPS while zealots are the tanks. making too many zealots wont do you good because there wont be any high dps if they kite around.

Sentrys are the most important unit of the game at the end of the day

They serve as two purposes.

1 is to block the entry to your troops when they are stimmed. this means marauders will lose 20 hp and 10 hp for marines. by force fielding he is dealing dmg to his troops while they cant deal damage to yours. ie a stimmed group would lose about 100 - 300hp and you have only spent 100 mana for force field
or maybe 50 only if its at the ramp depending on location

ps. to perform this strat location of the battle is very important..

or you could go stalkers and sentry 1st so snipe 25% of their troops by using force field. try microing units which are going to die since their dps is low. do not use zealots because ur zealots will run infront n the other 75% of his troops behind the force field will be shot down giving him 100% usage of his troop which we do not want that.

To perform such strat you would need to chrono boost your warp gates ASAP because you need to get out stalkers and sentries fast. if there are any Questions i would be pleased to answer.

If the medivac comes out. your best bet would be HT/Collo

and a macro advantages against your opponent.

Added on October 1, 2010, 12:48 amI forgotten to add the 2nd purpose of sentry.

the 2nd would be containing the MM in a circle for example

\_____xxxx______/

The lines above represents the force field

and XXXX represents the MM trapped in it

This however makes full use of your zealots dealing full DPS while tanking the damage.

but there is a flaw towards this style of play. you would need massive sentries because in a battle there would be at least 250 mana worth of force fields.

Is it worth it? Its up to you to decide.

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Oct 1 2010, 12:48 AM
Sky.Live
post Oct 1 2010, 09:05 AM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

I comes to realise FF is almost a must to beat down MM as a toss (earlier game), A good force field will limit their reinforcement, cut down their fire focus and also put your force into a good position to attack, when you are outnumbered you simply use FF to single out their unit and slowly reduce them. Not to mention how essential is guardian shield against marine for being such a high dps unit.

A bad FF would trap your own unit to death too. mind that haha
Kerry1136
post Oct 2 2010, 11:46 AM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Was playing with a terran yesterday, did my 4gateway rush but failed miserably because terran was blocking the front side with siege tanks and bunkers and he play mass banshees =(
Calvin Seak
post Oct 2 2010, 11:53 AM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,446 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Oct 2 2010, 11:46 AM)
Was playing with a terran yesterday, did my 4gateway rush but failed miserably because terran was blocking the front side with siege tanks and bunkers and he play mass banshees =(
Mass pheonix would have own him badly, or a 4 gate with voidrays push biggrin.gif
Kerry1136
post Oct 2 2010, 12:14 PM

One Decade Old
1,925 posts

Any vids or replays on the voidray push early 10mins game?
Grif
post Oct 2 2010, 01:27 PM

378 posts

Wouldn't mass marines like, own any voidray push pretty badly? Plus any Terran that went mass banshees is going to have a huge mineral surplus for rines.
goldfries
post Oct 2 2010, 01:43 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

my latest game i beat MM with purely VR. yeah, totally no gatewat units.

the fella had more marauders than marines, total marine count i think is about 20. i have 3 VR when i start my attack. his MM reached my bass shortly after, so i guess both attacking same time.

by the time he wiped most of my base, his was gone as well. end up showdown of marine vs VR - i had around 10 by then. sacrifice 1 or 2 while the rest charge up and the rest is history.

took a huge gamble going VR spam.
Calvin Seak
post Oct 2 2010, 01:49 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,446 posts

How do i post replays on lowyat?

Added on October 2, 2010, 1:58 pm
QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 2 2010, 01:49 PM)
How do i post replays on lowyat?
So sorry for the double post but here is an effective way on how to rush terrans with VR with your troops supporting them

http://www.sc2replayed.com/replays/87200-1...upgrades;markup

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Oct 2 2010, 01:58 PM
Grif
post Oct 2 2010, 02:09 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 2 2010, 01:43 PM)
my latest game i beat MM with purely VR. yeah, totally no gatewat units.

the fella had more marauders than marines, total marine count i think is about 20. i have 3 VR when i start my attack. his MM reached my bass shortly after, so i guess both attacking same time.

by the time he wiped most of my base, his was gone as well. end up showdown of marine vs VR - i had around 10 by then. sacrifice 1 or 2 while the rest charge up and the rest is history.

took a huge gamble going VR spam.
If he turned back with his rines, he probably could have wiped your VRs there and then.
goldfries
post Oct 2 2010, 03:00 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah it's a very high risk course of action i took.

his rines too far away so my VR had a field day. some more my SG was queing VR production and i had pylons elsewhere. the destroyed probes free up food.
Quazacolt
post Oct 11 2010, 11:57 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

lol just did a mothership rush for a first time (yeah opponents were total noobs, but still!) and it sure felt great. will try to upload replay asap lol (damn fall season anime sad.gif)
dishwasher
post Oct 11 2010, 12:07 PM

heterochromatic babe
851 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 11 2010, 11:57 AM)
lol just did a mothership rush for a first time (yeah opponents were total noobs, but still!) and it sure felt great. will try to upload replay asap lol (damn fall season anime sad.gif)
LOL that game
Quazacolt
post Oct 11 2010, 12:14 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(dishwasher @ Oct 11 2010, 12:07 PM)
LOL that game
>terran attacked me with marines and tanks. (lol tanks)
>i got 2 carriers 1 void ray whole buncha zealots and of course momma ship

sup?
evofantasy
post Oct 11 2010, 03:09 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

sad new, tester got eliminated by flintzenith (terran)...
as cool said, TvP hugely favor terran...

http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=159751
tatyinw
post Oct 11 2010, 11:24 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Oct 11 2010, 03:09 PM)
sad new, tester got eliminated by flintzenith (terran)...
as cool said, TvP hugely favor terran...

http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessag...topic_id=159751
I'll go QQ in a corner right now....

*corner*cry.gif

117 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:04 PM