1,518 posts

only stupid choose stupid
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 20 2010, 11:28 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Nov 20 2010, 10:05 PM)
Yes you still gotta pay
whatever plan , you still gotta pay RM 30 (for uni students) , i ask joshua . Check out his un-official FAQ , can clear up some of your doubts

http://www.joshuatly.com/this-is-the-unoff...-faqs-of-yes4g/
This Joshua fella doesn't know what he's talking about. LTE is 4G? rolleyes.gif
abdul22
post Nov 20 2010, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(ramboo @ Nov 20 2010, 09:30 AM)
0.09sen = 3mb
0.9sen = 30mb
RM 9.00 = 300mb
RM 90.00 = 3000mb @ 3gb ?

right me if im wrong  sweat.gif
Ramboo, from the website, your figures are correct. However, there is a rebate on the 3MB plan taking it to 2.25 sen/MB -- but, this is still 22.50 RM per GB download. Perhaps YES will be good for very light users. I will keep my Unifi.
prasys
post Nov 20 2010, 11:36 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(Forum-Modding Newb @ Nov 20 2010, 11:28 PM)
This Joshua fella doesn't know what he's talking about. LTE is 4G?  rolleyes.gif
LTE is 3.9G anyway !
kyfong
post Nov 20 2010, 11:47 PM

290 posts

was at lot 10 at 8pm.. lots of people are signing up..
Forum-Modding Newb
post Nov 20 2010, 11:54 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Nov 20 2010, 11:36 PM)
LTE is 3.9G anyway !
And WiMAX is not?
speed393
post Nov 21 2010, 12:25 AM

110 posts

LOLs. 3.9 = 4?
p4n6
post Nov 21 2010, 12:53 AM

5,970 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Nov 20 2010, 11:36 PM)
LTE is 3.9G anyway !
QUOTE(Forum-Modding Newb @ Nov 20 2010, 11:54 PM)
And WiMAX is not?
QUOTE(speed393 @ Nov 21 2010, 12:25 AM)
LOLs. 3.9 = 4?
If based on standardization, there are only 2G and 3G at the moment. Any others self proclaimed 2.5G, 3.5G, 3.75G and 3.9G never existed. There are different releases and upgrades from the existing "G" from time to time. However, the standard never gives a "G" differentiation to the releases and upgrades.

1. WiMAX 2 and LTE-Advanced are 4G technologies.
2. WiMAX, HSPA, HSPA+ and LTE are all 3G technologies.
3. GPRS and EDGE are 2G technology.

The reason why there are so many self proclaimed "G" technology is more or less coming from the equipment vendors.

As the equipment vendors want to sell to the operators new equipment, they always grade it a few "G" higher than their existing one to convince them to upgrade/ purchase new one.

And also to the operator, to market their service better than existing one, they take the bait and use the higher "G" to market to their customers as well.

AND one important point is that, it doesn't matter how many "G" are there, everything comes back to average throughput per sub.

If a so-called 3.5G technology can reach a theoretical maximum of 14.4Mbps and sold to 20 people, average each will get is 700kbps.
If a so-called 4G technology can reach a theoretical maximum of 35Mbps and sold to 40 people, average each will get also 700kbps.

So what's the different between these two technologies, it's the SAME!

To operator, the more bandwidth the technology can provide, meaning they can sell to more people. But to the people, they are not getting anything extra!

This type of technology advancement will have no benefit to the user, it will only benefit the operator/provider.

You are conned if you go and subscribe because of the so-called NEW TECHNOLOGY!

kaiserreich
post Nov 21 2010, 12:57 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(speed393 @ Nov 21 2010, 12:25 AM)
LOLs. 3.9 = 4?
Nearest integer tongue.gif

This YES thing, see how long they can live
deodherion
post Nov 21 2010, 01:14 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Nov 21 2010, 12:57 AM)
Nearest integer  tongue.gif

This YES thing, see how long they can live
YTL has a lot of cash to survive.
joshuatly
post Nov 21 2010, 01:15 AM

812 posts

they even have cash to do dirty things.
http://www.joshuatly.com/yes4g-please-play...usiness-ethics/
Renegade67
post Nov 21 2010, 01:20 AM

65 posts

walaweh. so fast liao

gotdamsg
post Nov 21 2010, 01:22 AM

380 posts

Is this the real LTE? We should be like this one.

Renegade67
post Nov 21 2010, 01:24 AM

65 posts

uploading a full hd video to facebook dns server

totally_skint
post Nov 21 2010, 01:28 AM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(abdul22 @ Nov 20 2010, 11:34 PM)
Ramboo, from the website, your figures are correct. However, there is a rebate on the 3MB plan taking it to 2.25 sen/MB -- but, this is still 22.50 RM per GB download. Perhaps YES will be good for very light users. I will keep my Unifi.
Why don't they just give one flat rate like 2.3 sen per MB for example and be done with the rebates?
So much for simplicity. doh.gif
deodherion
post Nov 21 2010, 01:41 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Nov 21 2010, 01:28 AM)
Why don't they just give one flat rate like 2.3 sen per MB for example and be done with the rebates?
So much for simplicity. doh.gif
Cause they want to encourage people to use more and at the same time shield out heavy users.
deodherion
post Nov 21 2010, 01:46 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Renegade67 @ Nov 21 2010, 01:20 AM)
walaweh. so fast liao

I will say currently you might be the only person using the 4Mbps resources.
Imagine next month when there are 20 person sharing your 4Mbps resources then you come back and post the screenshots.
I went to see a 20Mbps DL on P1 Paddock before, that is only used by 1-4 laptops there, it's fast ... but in the commercial network, you know what's happening ... oversell!

Added on November 21, 2010, 1:47 am
QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Nov 21 2010, 01:22 AM)
Is this the real LTE? We should be like this one.

Verizon is the next guy joining the fake-4G marketing program.

LTE is not 4G.

This post has been edited by deodherion: Nov 21 2010, 01:47 AM
chris2k
post Nov 21 2010, 01:52 AM

104 posts

425 MB.... close to RM 13 before rebates rclxub.gif
TSmonkeyking
post Nov 21 2010, 02:11 AM

3,807 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif Dear Yes customer,

We are aware that some of you have not been able to log in with your pre-registered Yes ID to complete the registration steps to activate your Yes service.
If you are facing such an issue, please email yescare@yes.my or visit our Yes Flagship Store or the Yes stores at KL Sentral at the addresses below. The operating hours are from 10am till 10pm, daily.

1)Yes Flagship Store
Ground Floor & 1st Floor

Lot 10 Shopping Centre,
50, Jalan Sultan Ismail,
50250 Kuala Lumpur.

2)Yes Store
KL Sentral, Departure hall and Arrival hall,
KL City Air Terminal,
50470 Kuala Lumpur

We apologize for the inconvenience caused and thank you for your continuous support.

Always at your service,
Customer Advocate
YesCare

wub.gif Cheers to all. wub.gif

abubin
post Nov 21 2010, 02:22 AM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(deodherion @ Nov 21 2010, 01:41 AM)
Cause they want to encourage people to use more and at the same time shield out heavy users.
The business model is good by going for people who are not "heavy users". However it will totally fail. Because nobody monitor or know how to monitor their internet usage. Of course people will go for those with unlimited usage that use subtle rules to block out heavy users in the fair usage policy. Cause Malaysians only see what's laid out in front of them.

134 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:47 AM