128 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V5, Scape it NOW !! for IAPLC2011

pakutekan
post Dec 21 2010, 05:59 AM

161 posts

i've few styrogene... come and collect FOC around klang central.. tq.. prefer tonight... tomorrow no more.. hahaaa
Laine
post Dec 21 2010, 11:51 AM

325 posts

anyone wants some narrow leaf ferns? i have a lot to give away... exchanging for other plants is most welcome.. location is kepong or cheras... do not ask me to do postage for free stuff.. keke.. wink.gif
William7
post Dec 21 2010, 03:32 PM

92 posts

Here is my sharing n caring

My 2 ft.

Cardinal, Green Neon, SAE, Ottos, Yamato

aBc!!
post Dec 21 2010, 03:59 PM

Feel Good~
844 posts

Guys what are the mid size plant that can recommend and replace this plant in my tank??? as you can see it grow kind of tall ad.

T3T

This post has been edited by aBc!!: Dec 21 2010, 04:00 PM
Superdude
post Dec 21 2010, 05:10 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Dec 21 2010, 11:51 AM)
anyone wants some narrow leaf ferns? i have a lot to give away... exchanging for other plants is most welcome.. location is kepong or cheras... do not ask me to do postage for free stuff.. keke.. wink.gif
wah ...free stuff... drool.gif
radver
post Dec 21 2010, 05:16 PM

18 posts

@aBc!!, It means its time to trim it... Scissors time!!!
chuppy2
post Dec 21 2010, 06:58 PM

152 posts

Staurogyne. Cheers. Easy to care for some more
aBc!!
post Dec 21 2010, 08:13 PM

Feel Good~
844 posts

drool.gif

Added on December 21, 2010, 8:33 pm@radver ,
ya i don have the gunting yet, haha might use the kitchen gunting to do so .

@chuppy2 ,
wah nice weh this type of plant will not grow tall.

This post has been edited by aBc!!: Dec 21 2010, 08:33 PM
douge
post Dec 21 2010, 10:39 PM

QUOTE(radver @ Dec 20 2010, 11:31 PM)
This was the condition of my tank when I loss my 30 RCS to the rasboras... cry.gif  Algae plague and the stunted growth of my plants...  sweat.gif

You can see the 'predators' responsible for my loss in the shadow of the driftwood... mad.gif
Radver,
My tank almost has same condition with your previous tank. Algae and stunted growth. May I know how you handle this?
Plant gone yellowish instead of greenish.

Many thanks
radver
post Dec 22 2010, 12:08 AM

18 posts

Well... First, I found out that my plants were having stunted growth and turning yellowish was because I stopped dosing fertilizer since the algae attack occured. So I restarted my dosing regime...

Second, for the algae problem, I used to have ottos cleaning it up for me but they died and living in Kuala Terengganu I could only get them when I go back to KL. So instead, I bought RCS and had them posted to my place as my new algae cleaning crew. Cause for whatever reason, the ottos will die every 4 - 5 months, I don't know why.

Third, I restarted injecting Co2 by using DIY yeast method and it helped a lot also to control the algae and help the plant growth.

Fourth, I also decreased my lighting period from 13 hours a day to 11 hours a day and put the timer according to the sun. Cause I used to have the light on at 10 am and off at 11 pm. So then it was 9 am to 8 pm.

This is what I did to recover, it'll be different on different tanks. So you can modify it according to your tank...

Hope it helps... smile.gif
michanz
post Dec 22 2010, 01:35 AM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

QUOTE(William7 @ Dec 21 2010, 03:32 PM)
Here is my sharing n caring

My 2 ft.

Cardinal, Green Neon, SAE, Ottos, Yamato
loving your glosso bush! hehehe

2500 post soon. pls someone open new thread later
sudosandwich
post Dec 22 2010, 02:13 AM

Hi guys,

Im really new in this, a friend gave a small aquarium with a filter. I started to read a bit and decided to go with planted aquarium.
I planted some mini hairgrass, hc, and glosso. 30% water change every week. Half co2 tablet everyday. Light around 8 hours. 2 small pink fish, forgot the name. 2 cherry shrimp, died after 2 days. The growth is really slow, hairgrass seems to hang on quite ok, hc and glosso not so good, most of them died, and the remaining are turning yellow. Can someone point out what's wrong and what should i do to fix this.
Here how it looks like now... sad.gif

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

unknown warrior
post Dec 22 2010, 02:18 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(sudosandwich @ Dec 22 2010, 02:13 AM)
Hi guys,

Im really new in this, a friend gave a small aquarium with a filter. I started to read a bit and decided to go with planted aquarium.
I planted some mini hairgrass, hc, and glosso. 30% water change every week. Half co2 tablet everyday. Light around 8 hours. 2 small pink fish, forgot the name. 2 cherry shrimp, died after 2 days. The growth is really slow, hairgrass seems to hang on quite ok, hc and glosso not so good, most of them died, and the remaining are turning yellow. Can someone point out what's wrong and what should i do to fix this.

why use 1/2 tablet?

use full lah. Anyway it takes time, result are never immediate.

mine took couple of weeks.
fongzai92
post Dec 22 2010, 02:25 AM

kuli
1,311 posts

Hi guys,

pls provide more information like

how many Litre of water
Lighting wattage, period
water temperature
sudosandwich
post Dec 22 2010, 02:32 AM

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Dec 22 2010, 02:25 AM)
pls provide more information like

how many Litre of water
Lighting wattage, period
water temperature
25 litre
11 watt, around 8 hours
temperature not sure, need to get back on this, non ac room.

Added on December 22, 2010, 2:36 am
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Dec 22 2010, 02:18 AM)
why use 1/2 tablet?

use full lah. Anyway it takes time, result are never immediate.

mine took couple of weeks.
the guy told me i need half only since my aquarium is small
its actually been 5 weeks already, and most of the plants are dead.

This post has been edited by sudosandwich: Dec 22 2010, 02:36 AM
fongzai92
post Dec 22 2010, 02:59 AM

kuli
1,311 posts

dont expect 11watt can grow carpet. especially hc and glosso. i suggest u increase to 32watt for your 25litre tank.
booby
post Dec 22 2010, 09:42 AM

oh god why
658 posts

Hi guys,

newly setup aquarium lights need to switch on longer i think, especially when u plant the hc until so small hmm.gif co2 also nid to switch on longer until the plants are well rooted, then go back to the regular routine, 8 hours a day.

my 1ft aquarium i did that for the 1-2 weeks after my revamp. approx 12-14 hours a day, but after 10 hours i switch off one bulb. that goes from 12W to 6W plus my room light lol. slowly slowly back to the same ol' routine, 8 hours a day.

should not put in the fish so fast, especially when the hc is not well rooted yet, sked they will kacau n uproot it. i see a lot floating in ur pic ...

got put anti chlorine anot? 5 weeks seems unusual hmm.gif if ur fauna die within 2 days, i guess ur water parameter must be something wrong hmm.gif

This post has been edited by booby: Dec 22 2010, 09:49 AM
douge
post Dec 22 2010, 11:04 AM

QUOTE(radver @ Dec 22 2010, 12:08 AM)
Well... First, I found out that my plants were having stunted growth and turning yellowish was because I stopped dosing fertilizer since the algae attack occured. So I restarted my dosing regime...

Second, for the algae problem, I used to have ottos cleaning it up for me but they died and living in Kuala Terengganu I could only get them when I go back to KL. So instead, I bought RCS and had them posted to my place as my new algae cleaning crew. Cause for whatever reason, the ottos will die every 4 - 5 months, I don't know why.

Third, I restarted injecting Co2 by using DIY yeast method and it helped a lot also to control the algae and help the plant growth.

Fourth, I also decreased my lighting period from 13 hours a day to 11 hours a day and put the timer according to the sun. Cause I used to have the light on at 10 am and off at 11 pm. So then it was 9 am to 8 pm.

This is what I did to recover, it'll be different on different tanks. So you can modify it according to your tank...

Hope it helps...  smile.gif
Thanks for your sharing, Radver.
I have 3 otto and 2 flying fox and 3 Yamato in my 1.5ft tank now.
Light is 8 hours per day, PL36W. CO2 is 1bps on for 7.3 hours.
Started using fertilizer since last 3 weeks in order to have my plant growth faster. Maybe this can reduce my algae problem with healthy growth of my plants.
Think i shall follow you to put more shrimp.

Thank you very much.

unknown warrior
post Dec 22 2010, 11:16 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(sudosandwich @ Dec 22 2010, 02:32 AM)
25 litre
11 watt, around 8 hours
temperature not sure, need to get back on this, non ac room.

Added on December 22, 2010, 2:36 am

the guy told me i need half only since my aquarium is small
its actually been 5 weeks already, and most of the plants are dead.
One thing. your plants are very sparse and few, you should buy more and cover at least 40% of your tank.

then use 1 full tablets a day and you should only put in when you turn on the lights.

Hide it in the gravel to avoid fish from nibbling it.

Put the tablet near the filter so that the circulating water distribute it evenly.

BTW I'm using Ocean Free Brand, it has diffusing effect which release Co2 evenly.

So far working for mine and I'm using 2 1/2 ft tank.
ryzzal
post Dec 22 2010, 11:31 AM

2500 post yeahh...

128 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:34 PM