Planted Aquarium V5, Scape it NOW !! for IAPLC2011

chuppy2
post Dec 20 2010, 12:58 AM

152 posts

Well just sharing my Old tank..

Didnt mature in time for the competition.. so I tore it down without submitting ..

Try maintaining such a densely planted tank with 2 co2 tabs.. Impossible LOL.

6-7 bps is equivalent to dosing 3 tabs every 30 minutes.

I miss my ottolincus army.. =(

Btw, this is how it looked like on start up

2 months then it's the result..(1st image)

Cheers.Just sharing and hope this helps
unknown warrior
post Dec 20 2010, 01:04 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Actually 1 tab last about 8 hours. I don't know how many bps but CO2 is circulating inside the water.

The Tablet does not contain Co2 it uses the water chemical reaction changing into Co2.

So 2 Tablets if use one after another is about 16 hours.
Nobody on lights for that long. I suppose if you want to 2 at the same time, it should have the same effect of 4-6 bps.
chuppy2
post Dec 20 2010, 01:08 AM

152 posts

Nope, as you said it yourself, its a chemical reaction thing, it wont be enough to supply the same amount as pressurized in the same amount of time.. hence not being able to cope with all the demanding plants..

when it wont be able to cope = algaeeee

That tank of mine, I have to trim every 2 weeks if not it gets even more buttugly than it is . Now thats what I call thriving growth.
unknown warrior
post Dec 20 2010, 01:10 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Dec 20 2010, 01:08 AM)
Nope, as you said it yourself,  its a chemical reaction thing, it wont be enough to supply the same amount as pressurized in the same amount of time..  hence not being able to cope with all the demanding plants..

when it wont be able to cope = algaeeee

That tank of mine, I have to trim every 2 weeks if not it gets even more buttugly than it is . Now thats what I call thriving growth.
How do you know it won't be enough? You've tried it?
chuppy2
post Dec 20 2010, 01:26 AM

152 posts

Couldnt even sustain my 1footer. even with 2 tabs. instead I have shrimps dying on me

Added on December 20, 2010, 1:27 amI continued dosing such to try to grow plants w/o shrimps. Not much result from the fast growers.. things like ferns and mosses are so so.(they are so so without c02 anyway)

This post has been edited by chuppy2: Dec 20 2010, 01:27 AM
unknown warrior
post Dec 20 2010, 01:28 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Dec 20 2010, 01:26 AM)
Couldnt even sustain my 1footer. even with 2 tabs. instead I have shrimps dying on me
Of course, shrimps eat anything, I think if they touch the tablets, habis.

trick is to hide it in the gravel. So far so good in my 2 1/2 Feet.

Will post pic in few months time, let it time to flourish.
chuppy2
post Dec 20 2010, 01:30 AM

152 posts

We'll see then. Gnight for now.. all this proper discussion here is getting me tired lol.
michanz
post Dec 20 2010, 02:59 AM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

my 0.5L tank. i got it like 11months ago. now still remains about 70%

8- 12 hours irregularly at about 1 - 2 bps..

how u all 1 tank can oni tahan 5 - 6 weeeks
chuppy2
post Dec 20 2010, 10:15 AM

152 posts

Not me man, its that he has the impression that each refill would last only 5-6 weeks..

Even my 4L running on 6-7 bubbles per second could last 6 months at least.
William7
post Dec 20 2010, 11:03 AM

92 posts

i think tablets is jsut taht u have to put it everyday, if you are outstation then you ahve to get someone to do it.

for me everything auto, jsut enjoy the aquarium and feed my fishes.

no need to worry about anything else

ciohbu
post Dec 20 2010, 11:55 AM

Group: Senior Member
2,104 posts

i dun trust tablet... scary when u can't control the reaction rate / release rate of co2..
ryzzal
post Dec 20 2010, 12:15 PM

im selling my 2litter co2 alluminium tank + manual regulator + full refill
pm for details

Added on December 20, 2010, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Dec 20 2010, 12:29 AM)
RM700m + refills that would be around another Rm100-200 for what 5 Years?

Let say you spend RM1000 in total.

1000/15 = 67 rate of my cost

whereas RM15 = 48 days (67 x 48) = 3216 days

more or less translated to 8 years +

LOL, I don't see how this is cheaper.
just to add, u should be time 3 coz chuppys set up is for 3 x 2ft tank... if wanna compare apple to apple

This post has been edited by ryzzal: Dec 20 2010, 12:19 PM

loon1031
post Dec 20 2010, 12:36 PM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

I had used the CO2 Tablets but after 2 week I change to CO2 tank.

After change to CO2 tank, plant grow healthy and happy.
fongzai92
post Dec 20 2010, 12:53 PM

kuli
1,311 posts

Thanks you guys explain for me. Especially our uncle chubby !!
michanz
post Dec 20 2010, 01:05 PM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

well i think co2 tabs would be good for smaller tanks. like around 1 footers. and lower co2 demanding plant. like chuppy said, if u have a very densly planted tank i doubt tabs would be enough.

Added on December 20, 2010, 1:05 pm
QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Dec 20 2010, 12:53 PM)
Thanks you guys explain for me. Especially our uncle chubby !!
eh fongzai! kaotim spm liao?

This post has been edited by michanz: Dec 20 2010, 01:05 PM
chuppy2
post Dec 20 2010, 03:25 PM

152 posts

you think do for you 1 ka fongzai bogggart. hahaha.

Just sharing what I learnt thus far
michanz
post Dec 20 2010, 03:42 PM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

no1 tot of u also la fongzai ahahah
chuppy2
post Dec 20 2010, 03:49 PM

152 posts

Also, FZ, havent seen your tank lately. share hahaha
michanz
post Dec 20 2010, 03:53 PM

How Liddat?
1,224 posts

i heard he got a bigger tank.. all set up already. im waiting for pictures hehe

and today is his last paper for spm. PARTAYYY!!

This post has been edited by michanz: Dec 20 2010, 03:54 PM
broken_string
post Dec 20 2010, 04:17 PM

人生, 如何說得失, 論成敗 ?
7,258 posts

tat fella taking spm meh ?
i thought he finish college liao lolz..

128 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0307sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled