Nokia N900 Thread V3, Where Tablet meets Mobile Phones

TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 10 2010, 05:14 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(narutokun83 @ Jun 10 2010, 05:08 PM)
Already updated to the latest, still the same result.
Its working for alot of us on Firmware 1.2

maybe u mess up certain setting or u didnt provide sufficient information for us to help you.

type *#0000# and type what u see there here

Didnt even install USSD widget

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Jun 10 2010, 05:17 PM
locolyric
post Jun 10 2010, 05:52 PM

185 posts

a gps built in phone without a good map support ..

quite sad for me .....

is there any program we can convert papago or garmin map to sygic?

This post has been edited by locolyric: Jun 10 2010, 05:56 PM
Eiraku
post Jun 10 2010, 06:02 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jun 10 2010, 05:52 PM)

quite sad for me .....

There's always Navit = can read Garmin maps and POIs straight. But it's unstable and is hell to configure.

Go check the Navit thread in Maemo if you wanna try your luck.
Andy214
post Jun 10 2010, 06:04 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(narutokun83 @ Jun 10 2010, 05:08 PM)
Already updated to the latest, still the same result.
Because "hor"... the latest firmware don't need to install the USSD widget "lor".

Eiraku
post Jun 10 2010, 06:48 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Finally finished RE-hacking my N900 after a full reflash (eMMC + Fiasco). Really penat work, but it's times like this I thank God the N900 is a full GNU Linux phone (oops sorry, Internet Tablet with crappy phone module) with the ultra super powerful app known as the ROOT TERMINAL.

I think it's the most killer app on the entire N900, really. Lol. Never mind it's "just" busybox rather than full on bash.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 10 2010, 06:50 PM
nicholas_oh
post Jun 10 2010, 07:22 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 10 2010, 03:08 PM)
@aspire: Sialcom lidat... No hidden charges, speed like snail lol. Shame I travel around so much I actually need the unfailable coverage. But sometimes in kampung areas WITH 3G, boleh tahan the speed. In KL don't have to say, like mabuk snail only.

@Josh_M: That's a "shop", Eviljazz hoax. Really popular in the oc circles.

@Nicholas_oh:Those extra megabytes are the dependencies, which are removed by uninstalling, NORMALLY. If not you have to run "sudo apt-get clean" and "sudo apt-get autoremove" from x-term. Or hunt down and remove it manually with "sudo apt-get remove (package name)".

And yeah, other then the easy Lehto method up front, there's the slightly more complex Titan's kernel, which I am using.

Also you can set up to underclock whewhenver you lock screen, and overclock back when you unlock and all sort of other strange things. But that's a whole different ballgame.

@dannyseoh: enable ex-devel and do "sudo apt-get unrar". Command line unrar, but you can install Xarchiver from the repos for a GUI.
@eiraku.... do u mind to tell me how to remove the actual size of file ? T.T
Eiraku
post Jun 10 2010, 07:44 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_oh @ Jun 10 2010, 07:22 PM)
@eiraku.... do u mind to tell me how to remove the actual size of file ? T.T
Go to xterminal. Type: sudo apt-get autoremove

That should clean things up, though that's not confirmed.
super_evil_alien
post Jun 10 2010, 07:47 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 10 2010, 03:08 PM)
@aspire: Sialcom lidat... No hidden charges, speed like snail lol. Shame I travel around so much I actually need the unfailable coverage. But sometimes in kampung areas WITH 3G, boleh tahan the speed. In KL don't have to say, like mabuk snail only.

Also you can set up to underclock whewhenver you lock screen, and overclock back when you unlock and all sort of other strange things. But that's a whole different ballgame.
I thought Maxis also have good 3G reception nowdays?Kampung also have 3G.

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jun 10 2010, 05:52 PM)

quite sad for me .....

Current OVI Maps Beta was updated 20th May 2010.Still no N900 support.
One of these days N900 users should just "mogok" in front of Nokia HQ cause lack of support for this phone.

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 10 2010, 06:48 PM)
Finally finished RE-hacking my N900 after a full reflash (eMMC + Fiasco). Really penat work, but it's times like this I thank God the N900 is a full GNU Linux phone (oops sorry, Internet Tablet with crappy phone module) with the ultra super powerful app known as the ROOT TERMINAL.

I think it's the most killer app on the entire N900, really. Lol. Never mind it's "just" busybox rather than full on bash.
Why reflash?
angelbratz
post Jun 10 2010, 07:50 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

Aiyoh....

I need of Help...

Anyone got solution on the WPA2 for wireless solution???

Tired of reading around already....

Thanks in advance...
Eiraku
post Jun 10 2010, 07:59 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 10 2010, 07:47 PM)
I thought Maxis also have good 3G reception nowdays?Kampung also have 3G.
Try hutans lol. But the ulu places I usually find myself usually have better Sialcom reception (and yeah I have a Maxis phone too lol).

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 10 2010, 07:47 PM)
Why reflash?
They say a full eMMC reflash might improve battery life. Also, it's about time I started with a clean PR1.2.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 10 2010, 08:01 PM
super_evil_alien
post Jun 10 2010, 08:00 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(angelbratz @ Jun 10 2010, 07:50 PM)
Aiyoh....

I need of Help...

Anyone got solution on the WPA2 for wireless solution???

Tired of reading around already....

Thanks in advance...
What's your problem?
Previouly I had trouble connecting to my university wireless which was using WPA2 with EAP security method.But after updating to PR 1.2 no more trouble.
angelbratz
post Jun 10 2010, 08:09 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jun 10 2010, 08:00 PM)
What's your problem?
Previouly I had trouble connecting to my university wireless which was using WPA2 with EAP security method.But after updating to PR 1.2 no more trouble.
Its Cannot Connect...i think i shall update the firmware 1st....

Will post up results...

T.t

Added on June 10, 2010, 8:20 pmErr guys...

I just checked...Firmware....

Mine is

Maemo5
Version: 3.2010.02-8.207.1

When i go to App Manager > Update > It says no Update Available...

Any advice?

i cant go to Ovi store...it keep on asking me to update my N900 but cannot update...

This post has been edited by angelbratz: Jun 10 2010, 08:20 PM
porselinaheart
post Jun 10 2010, 08:30 PM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(arsaa @ Jun 10 2010, 11:25 AM)
owh ic....no wonder i can't verify the OC successful or not....Conky only show base on the CPU load after many program run at one time....

I'm installing the Enhanced kernel for power users (settings) now!

Do I need to install the Enhanced linux kernel for power users as well?

thanks!
you need to install 'Enhanced linux kernel for power users' and then install the settings after that, then refer to this gudie here, for the xterminal commands:

http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p=595582&postcount=774

@Eiraku, bro do you know where i can find a guide to underclock when phone is locked??? is it a script? cheers!

Added on June 10, 2010, 8:33 pm
QUOTE(angelbratz @ Jun 10 2010, 08:09 PM)
Its Cannot Connect...i think i shall update the firmware 1st....

Will post up results...

T.t

Added on June 10, 2010, 8:20 pmErr guys...

I just checked...Firmware....

Mine is

Maemo5
Version: 3.2010.02-8.207.1

When i go to App Manager > Update > It says no Update Available...

Any advice?

i cant go to Ovi store...it keep on asking me to update my N900 but cannot update...
do you have a pc running windows 32 bit??? if you do,its not that hard to flash it yourself. lemme know if you need help, biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by porselinaheart: Jun 10 2010, 08:33 PM
angelbratz
post Jun 10 2010, 08:47 PM

Same Shit Different Day
539 posts

QUOTE(porselinaheart @ Jun 10 2010, 08:30 PM)
you need to install 'Enhanced linux kernel for power users' and then install the settings after that, then refer to this gudie here, for the xterminal commands:

http://talk.maemo.org/showpost.php?p=595582&postcount=774
@Eiraku, bro do you know where i can find a guide to underclock when phone is locked??? is it a script? cheers!

Added on June 10, 2010, 8:33 pm
do you have a pc running windows 32 bit??? if you do,its not that hard to flash it yourself.  lemme know if you need help, biggrin.gif
Seems like i will need to download it 1st...200+ MB...big woooo.....

I have experienced flashing before on my Z8...but not that pro yet...

Will seek for help if needed...

Let say i follow the instructions as the 1st page...consider it will be a full wipe rite? Like coming out from factory...is it advisable to do that or???

Anyway im using an AP set...No different right... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

wcshin
post Jun 10 2010, 09:05 PM

243 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jun 10 2010, 07:44 PM)
Go to xterminal. Type: sudo apt-get autoremove

That should clean things up, though that's not confirmed.
eiraku, i'm a noob on x-term.
can u share wit us all the x-term commands u know?
i like 2 run commands than gui app...provided i know how lah... wink.gif

thanks...
locolyric
post Jun 10 2010, 10:29 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(kfthoo @ Jun 8 2010, 07:45 PM)
mine is pretty ok....sometime i was wondering why some user encounter such problems but others seems ok....may be n900 is too customizable...

for chinese input, i use emacs...very useful and it wouldn't mess up the system...
hi,
for chinese input,i read through some taiwan forum.i had been told that some input can't use it in browser ? i not sure i getting the right information.

But did you face any problem when using chinese input?

one more things, can stock n900 read simplified and traditional chinese without install anything ?

acks2257
post Jun 10 2010, 10:44 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(locolyric @ Jun 10 2010, 10:29 PM)
hi,
for chinese input,i read through some taiwan forum.i had been told that some input can't use it in browser ? i not sure i getting the right information.

But did you face any problem when using chinese input?

one more things, can stock n900  read simplified and traditional chinese  without install anything ?
there is no pre-install chinese input but u can read simplified and traditional chinese.. refer back few page where i post a java application for chinese input.. quite handy..
TSaspire2oo6
post Jun 10 2010, 10:50 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Guys Last call for accessories bulk order an hour more to closing
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=34174329

azraine
post Jun 10 2010, 10:50 PM

15 posts

Already V3.. so fast.. rclxms.gif
Eiraku
post Jun 10 2010, 10:52 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(wcshin @ Jun 10 2010, 09:05 PM)
eiraku, i'm a noob on x-term.
can u share wit us all the x-term commands u know?
i like 2 run commands than gui app...provided i know how lah... wink.gif

thanks...
Lol... I also noob lar. Know cp, mv, mkdir, rm, chmod, wget, apt-get only lol. Most commands also more less cut paste from web what?

But anyhow, a quick google on "Unix Terminal commands" should help, it's been useful to me so far. Kalau mau bukak class we all TT later can discuss - not sure I can help much though.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Jun 10 2010, 10:54 PM

138 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:00 AM