Photography *_-_-_*Flash Thread V1*-_-_-*, Lighting Up Photography

ieR
post Sep 19 2010, 02:20 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

niwooe, thanks, nice to hear taht... now have to go try it out... hahah biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Sep 19 2010, 03:43 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

biggrin.gif tadaaaaaa.

dual 430EX II triggered by 580EX II, mounted on a 350D.

Added on September 19, 2010, 3:45 amoh i must add - I've personally tested 7D / 60D / ST-E2 and 580EX II as master.

1. 7D's trigger options are fantastic, just like the 580EX II i would say. I didn't study in intricate detail but you get to set power ration and such. lovely.

2. 60D's trigger on the other hand, is like the ST-E2. Can't set power ratio to the groups (like say 1/64 for A, 1/16 for B) but you can adjust the power by going A:B with ratios like 8:1 to 1:1 to 1:8.

Michaelbyz23
post Sep 19 2010, 03:46 AM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,557 posts

uncle goldfries, how did u make 3 flashes flash up in one time?
goldfries
post Sep 19 2010, 03:55 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

er, it's like that wan la. smile.gif the 580EX is the trigger and the 430EX II are slaves that get the signal to fire together.

in this case, the 580EX master mode is set to ON so it contributes along with the rest of the 2 for the exposure.

Added on September 19, 2010, 4:07 amoh btw, that shot I can't remember whether I set MASTER to ON or OFF but i think it's ON.

even if it was OFF, you'll see the master flash firing anyway but it'll be of a very weak light.
Michaelbyz23
post Sep 19 2010, 06:36 AM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,557 posts

owh.... icic.. means that 580EXII acts as the trigger for both the 43EX rite?

hmm... i tried some flash photography for fun and these are some of the outcomes.. my first time.. need sifus here punya cnc ~~
thankiu!! =D
akkihiko
post Sep 19 2010, 09:53 AM

アキヒコ
1,602 posts

I want to get myself a flash gun but dunno which one I shud buy
my budget is around rm 400-500

is it better to get cheap one for first try : DIGIeye D35AF Flashgun

or simply get Nissin Di622?
Michaelbyz23
post Sep 19 2010, 09:57 AM

Sarawak Maju Makmur
4,557 posts

if ur budget for flash only is around 400-500, what for u go for digieye? straight go for nissin di622.
unless u mean the budget includes battery, charger, diffuser, umbrella, wireless trigger etc etc, then different story. but u should always question urself, will u always be using flash? if not, go for digieye, save some bucks by learning from cheaper flash lo.. tats what im doing bro =)
ivan5805
post Sep 19 2010, 12:11 PM

85 posts

i'm using toki 11-16 in my d90 with sb600 when i take a shoot the bottom area will be black!!
photo taked at outdoor without ceiling to bounce what to do to make the photo look perfect??
Isepunye
post Sep 19 2010, 01:04 PM

world famous isepunye
2,537 posts

QUOTE(ivan5805 @ Sep 19 2010, 12:11 PM)
i'm using toki 11-16 in my d90 with sb600 when i take a shoot the bottom area will be black!!
photo taked at outdoor without ceiling to bounce what to do to make the photo look perfect??
set to minimum range. sb600 shud be 24. then pull out the white plastic thing to spread out the light
goldfries
post Sep 20 2010, 12:53 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ivan5805 @ Sep 19 2010, 12:11 PM)
bottom black, look at your shutter speed for that photo. smile.gif
magiclover0716
post Sep 20 2010, 06:01 PM

122 posts

this thread is quite lively i have to say.
i want to ask which flash trigger would y'all recommend?
i can't trigger my 430EX II when it's off the camera la. cry.gif cry.gif
and which battery y'all use for your flash?
is 2000mah enuf for casual use?

This post has been edited by magiclover0716: Sep 20 2010, 06:11 PM
chucky
post Sep 20 2010, 07:10 PM

Urang Sabah
1,072 posts

2000mah is enough
ieR
post Sep 20 2010, 07:22 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(magiclover0716 @ Sep 20 2010, 06:01 PM)
this thread is quite lively i have to say.
i want to ask which flash trigger would y'all recommend?
i can't trigger my 430EX II when it's off the camera la. cry.gif  cry.gif
and which battery y'all use for your flash?
is 2000mah enuf for casual use?
if u have money, grab a new 580exII

else, all other third party trigger is fine, phottix are good smile.gif

2000mAh last me about 600 shots with max of 400iso used. (if ur camera can go iso800, the power is half, means u can easily shoot till 1000 shots)
magiclover0716
post Sep 20 2010, 07:28 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(chucky @ Sep 20 2010, 07:10 PM)
2000mah is enough
Eneloop? tongue.gif
i'm using alkaline battery now and it drain very fast.
just around 30 shots and the recycle rate become unusually slow.

QUOTE(ieR @ Sep 20 2010, 07:22 PM)
if u have money, grab a new 580exII

else, all other third party trigger is fine, phottix are good smile.gif

2000mAh last me about 600 shots with max of 400iso used. (if ur camera can go iso800, the power is half, means u can easily shoot till 1000 shots)
may i know what's the price of the phottix??
no money to buy 580EX II la sweat.gif
ieR
post Sep 20 2010, 08:06 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

erm shashinki has lots of them....

here are few...

http://shashinki.com/shop/phottix-tetra-pt...ver-p-2708.html

http://shashinki.com/shop/phottix-aster-pt...ver-p-5124.html
goldfries
post Sep 20 2010, 08:12 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

2000mAh or 2700mAh - it's just the amount of power stored on the cell.
mH3nG
post Sep 20 2010, 08:25 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(magiclover0716 @ Sep 20 2010, 07:28 PM)
Eneloop? tongue.gif
i'm using alkaline battery now and it drain very fast.
just around 30 shots and the recycle rate become unusually slow.
may i know what's the price of the phottix??
no money to buy 580EX II la sweat.gif
Any battery will be drained quickly if you fire 30 shots at full power. smile.gif

iShoot flash triggers.
Only USD25.99 including shipping. brows.gif

magiclover0716
post Sep 21 2010, 06:27 AM

122 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Sep 20 2010, 08:06 PM)
thx biggrin.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 20 2010, 08:12 PM)
2000mAh or 2700mAh - it's just the amount of power stored on the cell.
and you want to tell me it has nothing to do with recycle rate? tongue.gif

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Sep 20 2010, 08:25 PM)
Any battery will be drained quickly if you fire 30 shots at full power.  smile.gif

iShoot flash triggers.
Only USD25.99 including shipping.  brows.gif
i shoot with e-ttl mode. impossible every shot is full power la

ahpingko
post Sep 21 2010, 03:23 PM

Live.Ride.Run
2,816 posts

wow..flash thread!...sony user with F42am reporting in!.. icon_rolleyes.gif

bought for 1 month+ already still dono how to fully utilize it... tongue.gif
mH3nG
post Sep 21 2010, 08:16 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(magiclover0716 @ Sep 21 2010, 06:27 AM)
thx  biggrin.gif
and you want to tell me it has nothing to do with recycle rate? tongue.gif
i shoot with e-ttl mode. impossible every shot is full power la
No. goldfries is right.
The capacity does not directly affect the recycle rate.
Read this if you're still not convinced. tongue.gif

Could be the batteries then. hmm.gif

QUOTE(ahpingko @ Sep 21 2010, 03:23 PM)
wow..flash thread!...sony user with F42am reporting in!.. icon_rolleyes.gif

bought for 1 month+ already still dono how to fully utilize it... tongue.gif
Welcome! biggrin.gif
You will get the hang of it if you use it constantly.

28 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:29 PM