Photography *_-_-_*Flash Thread V1*-_-_-*, Lighting Up Photography
magiclover0716
Sep 21 2010, 09:35 PM

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Sep 21 2010, 08:16 PM) No. goldfries is right. The capacity does not directly affect the recycle rate. Read this if you're still not convinced.  Could be the batteries then. i do believe him. LOL, frutie had a great time convincing ppl about capacity and recycle rate doesn't have direct connection. QUOTE(fruitie @ Aug 29 2010, 11:59 AM) Exactly, I have been telling this in the rechargeable batteries thread. mAh is capacity and has nothing to do with recycle rate. In the Buy Thread
fruitie
Sep 22 2010, 08:27 AM
Rise and Shine
Thanks for reminding that I actually said it. This post has been edited by fruitie: Sep 22 2010, 08:28 AM
fabianz03
Sep 22 2010, 08:34 AM
So what actually affects the recycle rate ?
chucky
Sep 22 2010, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Sep 22 2010, 08:34 AM) So what actually affects the recycle rate ?  The type of battery determines the recycle rate (how fast the batteries can supply electricity to the device). Actually the battery's internal resistance affects how fast the electrons can move in the battery. you can also try reading through this: http://www.batteryuniversity.com/
Michaelbyz23
Sep 22 2010, 12:32 PM
hi guys, can i ask a question regarding the umbrella / softbox.. after googling, i am still not very satisfied, i wish can see some examples from here. sifus and pros, which one do u recommend and why. by umbrella i mean the shoot through type. if my room is small, wil i still be able to get nice shoot without much fill lights using umbrella? and any samples of pictures comparing umbrella and softbox? hehe... thanks in advance!
fabianz03
Sep 22 2010, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(chucky @ Sep 22 2010, 12:11 PM) The type of battery determines the recycle rate (how fast the batteries can supply electricity to the device). Actually the battery's internal resistance affects how fast the electrons can move in the battery. you can also try reading through this: http://www.batteryuniversity.com/I see, nice link and thanks for your comment ! I really appriciate it.
ieR
Sep 22 2010, 05:37 PM
~Cursed Member~
Michaelbyz23: shoot through have tendency to bounce back, with small room, it will bounce back and bounce around the ceiling etc, ur whole photo will bright up, u cant do shots like 'dramatic shadow'
Michaelbyz23
Sep 23 2010, 10:15 AM
is there anyway for me to do the dark background using umbrella shoot through/reflect?
goldfries
Sep 23 2010, 10:46 AM
40K Club
you need to understand the difference between UMBRELLA and SOFTBOX.
their output is different.
UMBRELLA spreads the light, diffusing it but generally directionless.
SOFTBOX on the other hand is diffused directional light.
small room not an issue. depending on what effect you want, it could be as simple as bouncing off the ceiling / wall.
Michaelbyz23
Sep 23 2010, 12:44 PM
thanks Uncle gold fries... i m now still waiting for the accessories to come. once it come i try to play with it and learn.. have been reading like tons of blogs and reviews n youtube videos bout studio flash.. when i got chance i post picture here then help me cnc! thanks!
goldfries
Sep 23 2010, 12:45 PM
40K Club
you can DIY some light modifiers actually. i DIY some snoot.
Michaelbyz23
Sep 23 2010, 12:46 PM
how u diy snoot? get an umbrella then stick black paper behind? got pictures of it? hehe...
goldfries
Sep 23 2010, 12:50 PM
40K Club
got got. suppose to write article on it but so long have been straying around with other articles. put it in words la. i too Mr Potato container, cut open the closed end - kau tim, you get a snoot already. after that it depends how you want to modify 1. use straws / Corrugated board or whatever you call it to make it into honeycomb 2. stuff tissue to diffuse (close with Mr potato cap.  ) 3. #1 and #2 combined if you feel happy, you can even add color gel (or color translucent paper) to change the lights.  (eg, put orange or whatever to to give warm light)
DJFoo000
Sep 23 2010, 12:55 PM
a snoot is to make the flash into a unidirectional beam of light. Basically anything that you can wrap around the flash head to make the output come out as a beam of unidirectional light will do. Cardboard, soft foam etc.
Wah goldfries even make honeycomb for it ah. Got anyplace can get free gel samplers besides the Rosco one from the internet?
This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Sep 23 2010, 12:57 PM
goldfries
Sep 23 2010, 01:00 PM
40K Club
 taken with the snoot + tissue stuffed inside. the honey comb project i lz to do la. glue + straws = too much work. use cardboard cut is easier.
DecaPix
Sep 23 2010, 06:01 PM
need glue wan ah? tot just tie around with rubber band then stick it inside the snoot can already?
goldfries
Sep 23 2010, 06:02 PM
40K Club
no la. the straws a lot of small pieces la. i use glue but didn't like. rubber band wouldn't work that well i find. 1 wrong move and it's all goner.
ieR
Sep 23 2010, 06:11 PM
~Cursed Member~
u can control ur background light by increase shutter speed, or aperture to control amount of light (flash) to get into the sensor. yes, umbrella can do directional lighting, by using bouncing (not shoot through) and at a certain angle, or say, u have to understand how light 'leaks' and goes. like abang goldfries said, u have to understand the umbrella itself. for example: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « setup:  by controling ur shutter/aperture, u can darken the BG. (also, by closing down the umbrella, u control the light direction(like snoot) and prevent leak to bounce around the room) result:   *btw, i used Light Bulb to light the umbrella, Not Flash.
goldfries
Sep 23 2010, 06:54 PM
40K Club
yeah if you use umbrella that way then yes, it's directional.
instead of using 2, you can also use 1 + reflector for lesser light intensity.
Michaelbyz23
Sep 24 2010, 01:12 AM
thank you for the reply! it really helps ... =) since i already got one umbrella which can do shoot through and reflective shoot, i now maybe will be getting a 24 x24inch / 60x60cm portable softbox. or probably the brolly box? hope to try out as many things as possible.. hehe.. and yea, i ordered the reflector/diffuser sheet already.. comes with silver and gold color sheet so i can choose the type of reflection i wan.
This post has been edited by Michaelbyz23: Sep 24 2010, 01:18 AM