Photography *_-_-_*Flash Thread V1*-_-_-*, Lighting Up Photography

TSMikeshashimi
post Jun 3 2010, 01:18 AM, updated 16y ago

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

user posted imageuser posted image

Something to read in your free time about the art of flash ---> Strobist: Learn How to Light

Canon Flash List:

Nikon Flash List:

Sony Flash List:

Olympus Flash List:

Third Party Flash:

More Info On Third Party Flashes:

PS: If you have extra information that I've missed out. Please do pm me and I will make the necessary changes. Cheers.

This post has been edited by Mikeshashimi: Oct 9 2010, 11:27 PM
fcuk90
post Jun 3 2010, 01:24 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

you also can include the third party flash model in first post . to make it more informative.
JoshuaLee
post Jun 3 2010, 01:28 AM

417 posts

perhaps, you can invite others to share their thoughts and experience with their flash so you would have reviews from real time users.
then perhaps share pictures shot?
goldfries
post Jun 3 2010, 01:34 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

well we had flash diffuser discussion http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=369828

strangely no topic about flash. biggrin.gif

anyway my latest avatar was done using flash.

Canon EOS 550D with phottix trigger, flash is placed on the right side of the subject, with DIY snoot + tissue inside to diffuse the light. can't remember the flash power (i use 430EX II, manual).

The camera setting is at f/8 | 1/200 | ISO200 (but i PP the photo by brightening it)
TSMikeshashimi
post Jun 3 2010, 01:38 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

i think its high time for a flash topic. lol. because some people have alot of questions with regards to flash in general and not just with regards to specific brands.

goldfries
post Jun 3 2010, 01:41 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i'm in support of this thread. biggrin.gif can consolidate all flash related stuff........... but since i'm not moderator of this section, we'll wait for them big boys to decide.

btw you missed out Sigma and Vivitar. tongue.gif among many other brands out there.

you could also list triggers, Phottix, Canon ST-E2 for Canon cameras, Pocket Wizards, Radio Popper. blbalbala..............

my favourite resource for understanding flash / science of light is at http://strobist.blogspot.com/ ......... though I should be making a habit of visiting it more often. tongue.gif
TSMikeshashimi
post Jun 3 2010, 01:44 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 3 2010, 01:41 AM)
i'm in support of this thread. biggrin.gif can consolidate all flash related stuff........... but since i'm not moderator of this section, we'll wait for them big boys to decide.

btw you missed out Sigma and Vivitar. tongue.gif among many other brands out there.

you could also list triggers, Phottix, Canon ST-E2 for Canon cameras, Pocket Wizards, Radio Popper. blbalbala..............

my favourite resource for understanding flash / science of light is at http://strobist.blogspot.com/ ......... though I should be making a habit of visiting it more often. tongue.gif
i dont really know much thats why i missed out on other 3rd party flashes... it would be good if someone could provide a comprehensive list.

and thanks for your support... rclxms.gif really appreciate it...
bad melatonin
post Jun 3 2010, 01:45 AM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

shud includes Metz flash as well under 3rd party list...
goldfries
post Jun 3 2010, 01:45 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

but flash got a lot more, you're listing those hotshoe flash only. biggrin.gif we haven't gone into STUDIO flash.

Added on June 3, 2010, 1:46 am
QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Jun 3 2010, 01:45 AM)
shud includes Metz flash as well under 3rd party list...
ouhh yeah, how could i miss that on. biggrin.gif i nearly bought one of the 58. lovely flash.... or was it the 48.

Metz - http://www.metz.de/en/photo-electronics/me...itz-models.html

Sunpak - http://www.sunpak.jp/english/

Vivitar - http://www.vivitar.com/

Sigma - http://www.sigmaphoto.com/shop/flashes

Nissin - http://www.nissindigital.com/top.html

Minolta - http://ca.konicaminolta.com/products/consu...cc_flashes.html (3rd party yet not 3rd party la this brand.......... come to think of it Sigma too, cos they have their SLR range)
Vincent Pang
post Jun 3 2010, 01:51 AM

1,764 posts

one contribution to creative flash photography

TSMikeshashimi
post Jun 3 2010, 01:57 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 3 2010, 01:45 AM)

thanks for the info, if others have more do share. and also share your flash photography smile.gif
im sure most of us would like to know flash in food photography brows.gif
fas29
post Jun 3 2010, 02:38 AM

948 posts

Yeah , I also need to learn more about strobist and how to take a perfect wireless photography .

Maybe we could make our own Strobist TT one day ?
TSMikeshashimi
post Jun 3 2010, 02:50 AM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

QUOTE(fas29 @ Jun 3 2010, 02:38 AM)
Yeah , I also need to learn more about strobist and how to take a perfect wireless photography .

Maybe we could make our own Strobist TT one day ?
maybe brows.gif it would be a good idea. but it would require wide space.
ginolo
post Jun 3 2010, 02:53 AM

Bugs Bunny running over that way!
1,359 posts

QUOTE(Vincent Pang @ Jun 3 2010, 01:51 AM)
one contribution to creative flash photography

Looks cold. any pp?
TSMikeshashimi
post Jun 3 2010, 01:45 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

i think the 'cold' look actually works.
goldfries
post Jun 3 2010, 02:44 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

choice of color reflects the feel of temperature. that's why food we go for warmer color / WB.
availyboy
post Jun 3 2010, 02:45 PM

So Prettay!
786 posts

Anyone here mind to give some ideas?

Should i get Nikon Speedlight SB600 or SB900 for my D90..
not sure which to get..price oso kinda big diff yeah 1 SB900 = 2SB600 xD
nairud
post Jun 3 2010, 02:54 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jun 3 2010, 01:41 AM)

go ahead
Vincent Pang
post Jun 3 2010, 03:04 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(ginolo @ Jun 3 2010, 02:53 AM)
Looks cold. any pp?
just change the WB

come let's TT for strobist

food photo

nairud
post Jun 3 2010, 03:05 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Jun 3 2010, 02:45 PM)
Anyone here mind to give some ideas?

Should i get Nikon Speedlight SB600 or SB900 for my D90..
not sure which to get..price oso kinda big diff yeah 1 SB900 = 2SB600 xD
SB900 can become commander and slave
SB900 can recycle time is way faster than SB600
SB900 has never Interface

the downside is the size. very bulky

28 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:28 AM