Nissin Di622 and Di866 wat different?!
can tell me the advantages and disadvantages?
Thanks yeah sifu~
Photography *_-_-_*Flash Thread V1*-_-_-*, Lighting Up Photography
Sep 24 2010, 01:29 PM
536 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Sabah, Sandakan Status: Photography Mood ON |
i have a question~
Nissin Di622 and Di866 wat different?! can tell me the advantages and disadvantages? Thanks yeah sifu~ |
Sep 24 2010, 01:30 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
866 has higher Guide Number (stronger flash). generally more features, like being master to the 622. stuff like that. not sure about other details.
Sep 24 2010, 05:33 PM
3,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Incheon, Korea.. currently in Miri, Soviet Sarawak |
Sep 25 2010, 12:15 AM
4,221 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Somewhere on Earth |
guys, is the TTL really that important? wanted to get a yongnuo 460 but the nissin Di622 is in my buy list.
if TTL not that important, then i'll go for the yongnuo 460 |
Sep 25 2010, 12:19 AM
Forum Admin
E-TTL II is more about convenience.
you can always go manual mode. |
Sep 25 2010, 12:22 AM
3,000 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: PeeJay |
manual mode is good if you have time to experiment and play with it
if event shooting or impromptu shooting then all gone |
Sep 25 2010, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 25 2010, 01:19 AM) QUOTE(DecaPix @ Sep 25 2010, 01:22 AM) manual mode is good if you have time to experiment and play with it means TTL flash is just like P mode in camera and non TTL flash is just like M mode right, will be be very hard to set the setting and thing?if event shooting or impromptu shooting then all gone |
Sep 25 2010, 12:30 AM
Forum Admin
yeah depends on what the fella doing la.
shooting even, some people use manual also mah. say you set ISO400 with 1/60 and f5.6 all the way. then fix the flash power also. some people do that. you can use TTL also, no problem. for studio shoot, i don't use TTL already. if you were to equate to camera body P mode and M mode, I'd say it's pretty much like that. go read up on TTL and understand better what it is. |
Sep 25 2010, 12:33 AM
4,557 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Selangor / Sarawak / New York |
TTL depends on ur prefernce.. if u wan stuck at using auto, then buy ttl.. last nite i shoot an indoor event for my school's media for today's newspaper, they provide me nikon sb600 flash, i mount on my canon and shoot whole nite. all manual mode. manual zoom range and light for flash, manual settings for camera.
Sep 25 2010, 01:16 AM
3,928 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Incheon, Korea.. currently in Miri, Soviet Sarawak |
i'd get the TTL... just pay a little more for the flash to 'work' for u.... not u work for the flash. i know a lot ppl will say, use manual is more pro... to me, they are just pro wanna-be. TTL are design to make ur life easier, not harder.
of coz, studio shot are diff, as u have all the time to setup ur lighting and composition, doing it manual give more consistent result.... but in event or birthday party, or wedding, ur mind is so consume into taking photo, u wont have time to think what manual power to use... TTL FTW. |
Sep 25 2010, 01:31 AM
Forum Admin
TTL is always good to have. nowdays TTL flash so cheap, Di622 already got TTL.
Added on September 25, 2010, 1:31 amif no TTL then consider it strictly for studio / strobing. |
Sep 25 2010, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 25 2010, 01:30 AM) yeah depends on what the fella doing la. i've just being assign as the photographer for the event for my associationshooting even, some people use manual also mah. say you set ISO400 with 1/60 and f5.6 all the way. then fix the flash power also. some people do that. you can use TTL also, no problem. for studio shoot, i don't use TTL already. if you were to equate to camera body P mode and M mode, I'd say it's pretty much like that. go read up on TTL and understand better what it is. the only thing i need to set with non TTL flash is just the power, i'm getting a flash just for a event incase my lens is not fast enough, or the event is too dark at some time(eg. performance, talk) as i already wanted a flash since long time ago. QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Sep 25 2010, 01:33 AM) TTL depends on ur prefernce.. if u wan stuck at using auto, then buy ttl.. last nite i shoot an indoor event for my school's media for today's newspaper, they provide me nikon sb600 flash, i mount on my canon and shoot whole nite. all manual mode. manual zoom range and light for flash, manual settings for camera. will it be easy on setting the power? means like, playing M in camera, took me some time to get the setting thoughwhat u need to set on a non TTL flash? beside power QUOTE(ieR @ Sep 25 2010, 02:16 AM) i'd get the TTL... just pay a little more for the flash to 'work' for u.... not u work for the flash. i know a lot ppl will say, use manual is more pro... to me, they are just pro wanna-be. TTL are design to make ur life easier, not harder. currently i'm targetting the YongNuo 560 and the Nissin Di622. of coz, studio shot are diff, as u have all the time to setup ur lighting and composition, doing it manual give more consistent result.... but in event or birthday party, or wedding, ur mind is so consume into taking photo, u wont have time to think what manual power to use... TTL FTW. i've check the Guide number of both nissin and yongnuo, and the result was as below guide number: Nissin - 44m(ISO100) 62m(ISO200) Yongno - 33m(ISO100) is that means the nissin is a stronger flash? 33m is already sufficient for even daylight right? QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 25 2010, 02:31 AM) TTL is always good to have. nowdays TTL flash so cheap, Di622 already got TTL. thanksAdded on September 25, 2010, 1:31 amif no TTL then consider it strictly for studio / strobing. |
Sep 25 2010, 05:22 PM
Alex, honestly, if u have the money to spare, go canon flash. the eTTL is more accurate then nissin/YN ttl. or there is another 3rd party with eTTL is the METZ (slightly more expensive 3rd party, but cheaper then canon ori).
i think u have a question in mind that need answer; when u use M mode on body, the flash TTL still Will Work. meaning it will still find the compensate power level to fire. so u can set M for consistent ambiance light, and let the flash(ttl) find the right amount of light to lit ur subject. but if u set flash to manual, u at least need some experience and guts to use it. because, there might be chance it will go under or over which requires a LOT of work of Post processing, might get a proper AUTO TTL and reduce the post processing. |
Sep 25 2010, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(ieR @ Sep 25 2010, 06:22 PM) Alex, honestly, if u have the money to spare, go canon flash. the eTTL is more accurate then nissin/YN ttl. or there is another 3rd party with eTTL is the METZ (slightly more expensive 3rd party, but cheaper then canon ori). well, thanks for the info. will research more on my own. i think u have a question in mind that need answer; when u use M mode on body, the flash TTL still Will Work. meaning it will still find the compensate power level to fire. so u can set M for consistent ambiance light, and let the flash(ttl) find the right amount of light to lit ur subject. but if u set flash to manual, u at least need some experience and guts to use it. because, there might be chance it will go under or over which requires a LOT of work of Post processing, might get a proper AUTO TTL and reduce the post processing. |
Sep 25 2010, 10:13 PM
16 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Hey guys. I use a Sony Alpha a290 and I can't seem to find much information on third-party speedlights for Sony Alpha. Are there even any?
Sep 27 2010, 10:45 PM
199 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
visited this thread awhile back,saw somone post pics similar to this, so i wanted to try too ><
Finally got my lazy butt to try in my DIY lightbox ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Sep 27 2010, 11:05 PM
1,333 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Denai Alam | Kota Damansara |TTDI |
QUOTE(ColourBoo @ Sep 27 2010, 10:45 PM) visited this thread awhile back,saw somone post pics similar to this, so i wanted to try too >< I think ur light box lighting still got leakage, lol.... You should not have shadows for your object rite.... Correct me if I'm wrong» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by Kent3888: Sep 27 2010, 11:06 PM |
Sep 27 2010, 11:30 PM
Sep 28 2010, 12:05 AM
455 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(Kent3888 @ Sep 27 2010, 11:05 PM) I think ur light box lighting still got leakage, lol.... You should not have shadows for your object rite.... Correct me if I'm wrong There would still be shadows because there's only one light source, He should've used a white reflector to bounce back some light to eliminate the shadows instead.However though D-I-Y softboxes will never be produce that softness as the real ones, unless you're a master at making these otherwise just spend on a real one, a 24x24 inch is only like, RM160? Anyway, buns anyone? ![]() |
Sep 28 2010, 02:17 AM
72,876 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: KUL |
There is someone selling on LYN for RM 80 (60x60x60) and RM 100 (80x80x80): https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1570826
or complete full set equipment for RM 350: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1563032 p/s: In cm measurement This post has been edited by fruitie: Sep 28 2010, 02:18 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0264sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:52 PM |