Astro B.yond V5.0, NEW WORLD OF ENTERTAINMENT

zwanvedder
post Jun 4 2010, 10:38 AM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jun 4 2010, 10:05 AM)
Hmm, btw, anyone here have received confirmation call from Astro or Installer regarding Installation of the new PVR?? hmm.gif
I ordered my PVR 2 days ago from bro Cam..., but until now, still no confirmation call from Astro like my previous Byond.... I think, the queue list now sure getting longer...  sad.gif  Hopefully can get it before WC kick-off...  tongue.gif
me too..subscribe to replace my existing beyond on wednesday at midvalley until now no confrmation receive from astro... vmad.gif
AjkR06
post Jun 4 2010, 10:43 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Jun 4 2010, 10:38 AM)
me too..subscribe to replace my existing beyond on wednesday at midvalley until now no confrmation receive from astro... vmad.gif
I think, for the time being, they will concentrate and give more priority for those who are upgrading to normal Byond.... blink.gif

Added on June 4, 2010, 10:45 am
QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Jun 4 2010, 10:38 AM)
you have tried to use the function of the new PVR? Hmm.. mind to explain about it? like how's the EPG, OSD, recording, rewind so on... Thx.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jun 4 2010, 10:45 AM
cyberkoh88
post Jun 4 2010, 11:20 AM

183 posts

anyone know if i m recorded astro SD or HD content into the WD My Pocket AV 320GB, can i watch the content thru my computer/bluray player (new bluray player got USB drive)/media player. if copy it out, i think surely cannotlah coz of copyright issue.
vnair
post Jun 4 2010, 11:28 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jun 4 2010, 10:05 AM)
Hmm, btw, anyone here have received confirmation call from Astro or Installer regarding Installation of the new PVR?? hmm.gif
I ordered my PVR 2 days ago from bro Cam..., but until now, still no confirmation call from Astro like my previous Byond.... I think, the queue list now sure getting longer...  sad.gif  Hopefully can get it before WC kick-off...  tongue.gif
Same here. I called Astro on 1st June to place the order for the PVR and they told me that someone would call for confirmation in 2 days. I called them again yesterday but got same answer. doh.gif Need it by 11June (WC) too. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by vnair: Jun 4 2010, 11:29 AM
eMKs
post Jun 4 2010, 11:29 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(cyberkoh88 @ Jun 4 2010, 11:20 AM)
anyone know if i m recorded astro SD or HD content into the WD My Pocket AV 320GB, can i watch the content thru my computer/bluray player (new bluray player got USB drive)/media player. if copy it out, i think surely cannotlah coz of copyright issue.

Can I transfer the recorded programme on my Astro B.yond PVR or Ext. HDD to an external device?
No. All television programmes are subject to copyright licensing restrictions.

My smartcard is not working. Will I still have access to my recordings if my smartcard is not replaced?
No, the smartcard is paired with the built-in hard disk in your Astro B.yond PVR or Ext. HDD. Without the smartcard, you will have no access to your recordings.

When my smartcard has been replaced with a new one, will my previous recordings be available?
Yes, your previous recordings were stored at the current hard-disk and now the new smartcard has been paired with your Astro B.yond box and hard disk.

How long are the programs stored in the hard-disk once it has been recorded?
Except for PPV or VOD channels, programmes are stored in a hard disk as long as it is not deleted.
However, a recorded programme tied to a package which you no longer subscribe to, will remain stored in your hard disk but you will not be able to watch it until you re-subscribe to that package.

TSapexg2
post Jun 4 2010, 12:02 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

ok...some minor question here......

if we record some movies in portable WD that they offer...then we want to share the film with others....can this file sent or burnt and past to others and save back in others portable WD.then they play again in their own decorder...can or not?
vnair
post Jun 4 2010, 12:23 PM

53 posts

I have a question about recording from Byond to external DVR.

My Byond is currently connected to my AVR via HDMI. I am also using composite video and analog audio cables from Byond to my DVR. Problem is when I record HD channels, I only get video without audio. There is no problem with SD channels except that the audio is very soft.

Is there any setting I have missed out in the Byond box? I have tried replacing the cables but still no joy. sad.gif . Would appreciate any help I can get seeing that my PVR application will not come through before the WC starts next Fri. Thanks!
cyberkoh88
post Jun 4 2010, 12:28 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(vnair @ Jun 4 2010, 12:23 PM)
I have a question about recording from Byond to external DVR.

My Byond is currently connected to my AVR via HDMI. I am also using composite video and analog audio cables from Byond to my DVR. Problem is when I record HD channels, I only get video without audio. There is no problem with SD channels except that the audio is very soft.

Is there any setting I have missed out in the Byond box? I have tried replacing the cables but still no joy.  sad.gif . Would appreciate any help I can get seeing that my PVR application will not come through before the WC starts next Fri. Thanks!
pls check yr audio settings in yr astro beyond home menu...change the digital to analog + digital....but changing this option will make yr AVR cannot decode Dolby Digital 5.1....fyi, ty external DVR only support analog audio...i m facing the same problem with u also...when want to record HD into my DVR, need to change setting...after that need to change back to digital so that can decode Dobly Digital 5.1 to my AVR.....except need to buy external DVR with HDMI in & out...this only for bluray recorder..i think cannot find in msia market yet and not many model for u to choose...price sure very expensive at the moment...not mistaken 3-4K per set..

This post has been edited by cyberkoh88: Jun 4 2010, 12:31 PM
minimize
post Jun 4 2010, 12:46 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jun 4 2010, 12:02 PM)

if we record some movies in portable WD that they offer...then we want to share the film with others....can this file sent or burnt and past to others and save back in others portable WD.then they play again in their own decorder...can or not?
Yeah.. i want to know too..

But someone here say EHDD will be auto reformat when u plug to decoder. But i'm not sure it is true or not. sweat.gif
nikaizad
post Jun 4 2010, 12:50 PM

Carl Jung Enthusiast
610 posts

bro , if use mobile gear 111gb external HDD can it hook up wit astro plugnplay? rclxub.gif
AjkR06
post Jun 4 2010, 12:59 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Jun 4 2010, 12:50 PM)
bro , if use mobile gear 111gb external HDD can it hook up wit astro plugnplay? rclxub.gif
sorry... you can't use that kind of HDD blush.gif
For the time being, only 320GB WD My Passport AV are compatible with Byond...
nikaizad
post Jun 4 2010, 01:21 PM

Carl Jung Enthusiast
610 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jun 4 2010, 12:59 PM)
sorry... you can't use that kind of HDD  blush.gif
For the time being, only 320GB WD My Passport AV are compatible with Byond...
you already try eh?
lapaq
post Jun 4 2010, 01:27 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Jun 4 2010, 01:21 PM)
you already try eh?
It's stated on their website...not a case of try or not try. doh.gif

p/s: I have B.yond with WD My Passport AV. IT's working perfectly. tried with my other HDD...non of them working. Failed verification error was shown.
baowen
post Jun 4 2010, 01:49 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(lapaq @ Jun 4 2010, 01:27 PM)
It's stated on their website...not a case of try or not try.  doh.gif

p/s: I have B.yond with WD My Passport AV. IT's working perfectly. tried with my other HDD...non of them working. Failed verification error was shown.
what is the feedback after you use it ?
worth it or no?

So i understand that it only able to record the channel you are watching ( for beyond decoder)
what if i didn't watch anything, can i schedule to record the program?

Scenario:
assume now is 8pm, and i am on Channel 311.
1. can i set it to record channel 311 start from 9pm~10.15pm ? ( and i switch off my TV after setting. )
2. this question a bit dumb but can it work after i program it, can i put my astro on standby mode ?

smileguy
post Jun 4 2010, 01:58 PM

3,147 posts

Looks like now they are slow in responding, applied on 1/6 drool.gif until today no calls.Most likely I may get after WC . blush.gif
vnair
post Jun 4 2010, 02:37 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(cyberkoh88 @ Jun 4 2010, 12:28 PM)
pls check yr audio settings in yr astro beyond home menu...change the digital to analog + digital....but changing this option will make yr AVR cannot decode Dolby Digital 5.1....fyi, ty external DVR only support analog audio...i m facing the same problem with u also...when want to record HD into my DVR, need to change setting...after that need to change back to digital so that can decode Dobly Digital 5.1 to my AVR.....except need to buy external DVR with HDMI in & out...this only for bluray recorder..i think cannot find in msia market yet and not many model for u to choose...price sure very expensive at the moment...not mistaken 3-4K per set..
Thanks for the reply. Will give this a try tonite. smile.gif
nikaizad
post Jun 4 2010, 02:44 PM

Carl Jung Enthusiast
610 posts

can you record a program and watch another program in a different channell in the same time with astro plug "n" play?

This post has been edited by nikaizad: Jun 4 2010, 02:45 PM
eMKs
post Jun 4 2010, 02:46 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jun 4 2010, 12:02 PM)

Cannot lor, read the faq.
Your recorded program will only work with your smart card and your decoder only
willkso
post Jun 4 2010, 02:46 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(baowen @ Jun 4 2010, 02:49 PM)
what is the feedback after you use it ?
worth it or no?

So i understand that it only able to record the channel you are watching ( for beyond decoder)
what if i didn't watch anything, can i schedule to record the program?

Scenario:
assume now is 8pm, and i am on Channel 311.
1. can i set it to record channel 311 start from 9pm~10.15pm ? ( and i switch off my TV after setting. )
2. this question a bit dumb but can it work after i program it, can i put my astro on standby mode ?
1. Yes
2. Am not sure but it suppose to be as it should switch on the decoder at specified time and start recording.
azrin_kiko
post Jun 4 2010, 02:47 PM

634 posts

QUOTE(nikaizad @ Jun 4 2010, 02:44 PM)
can you record a program and watch another program in a different channell in the same time with astro plug "n" play?
No. Because the decoder only have 1 tuner...

144 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:27 AM