9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Bad Karma, Do you believe in it?

SUSgtasaboss
post Mar 21 2011, 08:48 AM

Requiem
601 posts

its not karma, its just logical feedback. you kill someone, which is bad, the police are gonna get you which is also bad. you treat your friends with food, they're gonna do the same to you one day.
Zozi
post Mar 23 2011, 01:20 AM

658 posts

Its more like a sense of guilt if you ask me. Sometimes when you do something which you know well is wrong, you tend to worry about the consequences of it. We've been nurtured in a way that we should not wrong others. But if we do, then of course automatically the sense of guilt will appear. Sometimes when you are too worry about something might happen in return, well it will. Law of Attraction. lol
heavenly91
post Apr 8 2011, 02:43 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

I have read and being taught about this law of Karma before.
As a human, we carry good or bad karma depending on whatever we do in the past.
So by existing now, if we are rich, it might be because we have good karma and poor because of bad karma.
And the reason of why some ppl went to heaven or hell is because of the karma as well.
Once we as a human went to heaven because of good karma, the amount of time we will be there is depending of the amount of good karma we have.
Once the good karma is used up, we will be sent back to earth to restart the whole thing over again.
I myself don't really get it but this is what I had been told.
Styrroyds
post Jul 13 2011, 07:25 PM

103 posts

sorry for bumping an old topic.

To me, karma is not applicable individually, not all the time at least. However, when you analyse a large entity, you will see a pattern of action-consequences.

Simple example : why are there more flash floods? Caused by deforestation. Note that the person chopping down trees may not be affected at all while innocents drown. In this case, HUMANITY is a single entity; they acted and received the backlash, though not on individual levels.
SUSDeadlocks
post Jul 28 2011, 10:10 PM

n00b
943 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ May 30 2010, 07:14 PM)
Does not work like that. You cannot actually cancel the Karma. You are playing with probability.

It's even worse you if think there is someone who can absorb your sins away.
QUOTE(soul2soul @ May 30 2010, 11:15 PM)

Added on May 30, 2010, 11:19 pmPut inside your pocket a small white stone (good kamma) and black stone (bad kamma).

Do more good things , you put more white stones into your pocket. When you draw from your pocket, the probability of you getting the white stone is higher, but by no means that you will never draw the black stone, just lower chance. So kamma works like this more or less -  you cannot really cancel your kamma.
That's only because you think Karma only takes effect when an action takes place.

But the reality is, the action is already IN THE MIND, hence, if karma exists, then may people will have a whole lot more bad karma compared to having good ones.
SUShako
post Jul 30 2011, 10:04 AM

245 posts

No. Because it is a logical fallacy.

the entire idea of karma is paradoxical.
soul2soul
post Jul 30 2011, 12:02 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(Styrroyds @ Jul 13 2011, 07:25 PM)
sorry for bumping an old topic.

To me, karma is not applicable individually, not all the time at least. However, when you analyse a large entity, you will see a pattern of action-consequences.

Simple example : why are there more flash floods? Caused by deforestation. Note that the person chopping down trees may not be affected at all while innocents drown. In this case, HUMANITY is a single entity; they acted and received the backlash, though not on individual levels.
There is a group kamma and also individuals. There are really complex thing hard to contemplate. If you kill someone today, there will be consequences to that. Even if the police fails to catch you, you are already wounded psychologically.

The guilt and the remorse will injure you.

Added on July 30, 2011, 12:04 pm
QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Jul 28 2011, 10:10 PM)
That's only because you think Karma only takes effect when an action takes place.

But the reality is, the action is already IN THE MIND, hence, if karma exists, then may people will have a whole lot more bad karma compared to having good ones.
I am not sure what you meant by your first sentence.

Your second statement is correct.

Added on July 30, 2011, 12:06 pm
QUOTE(hako @ Jul 30 2011, 10:04 AM)
No. Because it is a logical fallacy.

the entire idea of karma is paradoxical.
so you think there won't be any effect to your actions?

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Jul 30 2011, 12:06 PM
SUShako
post Jul 30 2011, 12:14 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Jul 30 2011, 12:02 PM)

so you think there won't be any effect to your actions?
those effects aren't karma, more like consequences.

but then it all comes to how do you define karma.

If karma, as in the religious/law of nature;

you do bad things, one day bad things will happen to you. then nope.

However if by karma you mean eg;

i kill person,then will result with me going to prison according to the human law. then yes.

soul2soul
post Jul 31 2011, 08:56 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(hako @ Jul 30 2011, 12:14 PM)

you do bad things, one day bad things will happen to you. then nope.

However if by karma you mean eg;

i kill person,then will result with me going to prison according to the human law. then yes.
ok smile.gif
limfreelance
post Aug 6 2011, 09:51 AM

343 posts

Reality cruel, not what u pay, what u gain. SO,

ppl want seek comfortable for it soul, peaceful in mind.

- Karma created.-
defaultname365
post Sep 9 2011, 01:13 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Karma - do good things, good things happen to you. Do bad things, bad things happen to you.

Well, one forgets to add this - - in your NEXT life.

I have noticed that people who have done so much good in life, die tragically, die young, or just lose everything due to other 'bad' people. Bad people on the other hand, seem to be able to carry out their acts of evil to a great length (e. Hitler, even Kim-Jong Il) but NEVER seem to face the consequencecs.

I believe in this. And controversially so - - you can do as much good or evil in this life as you please.
The consequence - - you face it in your NEXT life.

When you are in the your next life, say B (previous life A), when you suffer a lot more than others, you tend to ask "Why me?! What did I do to deserve this! I did so much good to these folks but I can hammered!" Or you are starved and no food to eat. You blame the heavens and curse at the stars.

All along - - you HAD the opportunity to do good in life A. But you didn't. And you didn't care what the consequences you did in A was going to do. You just did bad things and moved on, and justice (or equivalent) did not take place.

For every action, there is a reaction. And consequence.

E.g if some bad folks throw an animal off a roof, people will respond angrily "I hope in the next life, they become animals and get thrown off the roof". Well, it just can't work this way. Because the person carrying out the act of tossing these "bad folks - now turned animals" in the new lives off the roof will suffer the consequence of their action. This way it will be a never-ending cycle. The person carrying out the act of karma to another, faces the consequence of the karma he unknowingly had put on the other individual, thus he will then face karma for it... goes on and on. There can be only ONE solution - - an equivalent amount of pain these bad folks had inflicted in their NEXT life.

Some people seem to be born rich, some people seem to work so hard to achieve (and they finally succeed) their goals while others suffer a lot more. Well, now you know. How could possibly an evil person (e.g Hitler) be born again as maybe... Bill Gates?

Free will + Previous life action's = This life

Which brings me back to the statement :

Karma - do good things, good things happen to you. Do bad things, bad things happen to you.

Now you know what it truly means.

Oh, and I will say that "free will" is the root of all action, good or bad. When does "free will" end or the ability to control your destiny occurs disengages? - when in death/moving on the next life. So it would make sense that is when you are placed in your rightful next life. Imagine, right now, somewhere out there, is your next life's great-great-great (?) grandfather or next life's ancestral line.

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Sep 9 2011, 01:20 PM
3dassets
post Sep 9 2011, 04:17 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

You mean Karma need to change to: do good receive good and bad will receive bad in the same lifetime? Why people still stick to the old then?
soul2soul
post Sep 13 2011, 04:37 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Sep 9 2011, 04:17 PM)
You mean Karma need to change to: do good receive good and bad will receive bad in the same lifetime? Why people still stick to the old then?
what do you mean stick to old?
SUSedge85
post Sep 13 2011, 06:29 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

I'm an atheist, and still am.

This took place a few years ago. One day I was making fun of my friend's Kuan Yin idol in his car, and also making fun of Jesus Christ.

Then within 2 weeks, I met 2 big accidents when I was driving his car. Yes, his car.

Not sure if this has anything to do with karma, but it's a true story.
3dassets
post Sep 13 2011, 09:47 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Sep 13 2011, 04:37 PM)
what do you mean stick to old?
Old as ancient believe since karma / god is created, does people in the past dare not to believe? I wonder if they are stoned to death but now we can choose not to believe and nothing bad will happen. It only make sense if it happen within the lifetime, that is why we have law, only decent people afraid of Karma, criminals don't and karma punish even the innocent, only god knows, primitive rules are created for primitive people.
soul2soul
post Sep 14 2011, 12:05 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(3dassets @ Sep 13 2011, 09:47 PM)
Old as ancient believe since karma / god is created, does people in the past dare not to believe? I wonder if they are stoned to death but now we can choose not to believe and nothing bad will happen. It only make sense if it happen within the lifetime, that is why we have law, only decent people afraid of Karma, criminals don't and karma punish even the innocent, only god knows, primitive rules are created for primitive people.
Well if you think there is only this life , then karma won't make lots of sense to you. But if you think there could be something before or after this, then karma may make sense.

More so if you contemplate on the different grades of human beings are not due to chance but perhaps something that happen before this, then karma might be able to explain it.

Added on September 14, 2011, 12:08 pm
QUOTE(edge85 @ Sep 13 2011, 06:29 PM)
I'm an atheist, and still am.

This took place a few years ago. One day I was making fun of my friend's Kuan Yin idol in his car, and also making fun of Jesus Christ.

Then within 2 weeks, I met 2 big accidents when I was driving his car. Yes, his car.

Not sure if this has anything to do with karma, but it's a true story.
so don't simply make fun of other people's religious belief lor.

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Sep 14 2011, 12:08 PM
3dassets
post Sep 14 2011, 10:05 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Sep 14 2011, 12:05 PM)
Well if you think there is only this life , then karma won't make lots of sense to you. But if you think there could be something before or after this, then karma may make sense.

More so if you contemplate on the different grades of human beings are not due to chance but perhaps something that happen before this, then karma might be able to explain it.

I can accept all possibilities and have my explanation about life in a timeline, to me it is a game and the name is "descendant". we are the game characters and being lead to build or destroy, so the reincarnation of previous life affect us to continue our role, the ultimate goal is to entertain the creator / creators.

We can live without a purpose and like to hear and see things that created music & dramas as entertainment, we develop and consume which is never ending because the end would be game over. I think we have a long way to go and the Universe is the game console, we record our time (memories) into a medium from negative film to digital but it only capture and store moments of time.

The Universe could be the medium that store dimensional time and layers of it sometimes, imagine we are tied to a balloon that carries all the memories / game assets of our past lives that influence our luck. That is my version of karma / reincarnation or destiny, how did human invent such a thing? Maybe it exist and we need creativity to describe it since we are not suppose to know.

Our brain never stop working like the heart, but why do we need to dream instead of shutdown? Sleep is to rest the body parts but not the brain, it just retreat to itself and create an artificial realm we call dream but it feels as real as in reality until we reconnect to the physical senses. It is in this realm that Prophet Mohammad became the messenger and meet god / the creator.

Seems like we receive our game instruction from dream and we are not suppose to remember it, so we are tricked by ridiculous concoction of fantasies to prevent us from remembering but we are influenced to carry out the action, hey, stop dreaming, its time to wake up and go to work! Damn. laugh.gif
IcyDarling
post Sep 18 2011, 08:03 PM

1,372 posts

For the Hindus in India, they believe in karma because of their good life. In doing good, they hope to be reborned in a better caste, a Brahman where you can reach Moksya. They also have "bad" karma, which also impose on your next life. Heres wat ponders me, they say that there's a chance of you taking the shape of an animal if you were really bad this life. So as an animal, how do you do good to collect karma? If they can, does this mean that animals too are as smart as us as to have understood the concept of religion?
3dassets
post Sep 19 2011, 01:10 PM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

I could not find the reason to believe, hence a non believer because it always lead to questions that cannot be answer and only the creator know, pray when insecure, desperate, sick... Do bad things will cause your next life to suffer is to caution the unscrupulous mind.

This post has been edited by 3dassets: Sep 19 2011, 01:12 PM
bashlyner
post Sep 19 2011, 05:29 PM

200 posts

There's no formula or pattern to calculate the action and reaction of karma, unlike Newton Law,Don't believe those Buddhist High Monk "Those who eat chicken born as chicken on next life" bullshxt.

You can make logical prediction about action and consequences, but that's basic nature only, Karma is more than that because it involve not only your action but also your mental state.

That's why Buddha say those who reach enlightenment can escape karma, regardless of how many bad deed that individual previously committed. And our mind play major role in determine our karma, that's why most Traditional Buddhist practice meditation rather than making good deed.

This post has been edited by bashlyner: Sep 19 2011, 05:34 PM

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:34 PM