168 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

shanelai
post Jun 13 2010, 05:01 PM

MAyd@y M@ydAy!
1,820 posts

singtel home bb using phone line is streamyx in malaysia right?
Mackiddo
post Jun 13 2010, 05:04 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Jun 13 2010, 05:01 PM)
singtel home bb using phone line is streamyx in malaysia right?
yup ... but the speed, performance and pricing difference is like heaven and earth. TMNet only know how to squeeze the locals.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 13 2010, 05:05 PM
seantang
post Jun 13 2010, 05:24 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jun 13 2010, 03:10 PM)
huh?..y mobile broadband?

Oh ya... why mobile BB?

Because I can be online outside the house, or when those iPad beaters running on Android or Windows 7 show up later this year, I can use the simcard with that.

Added on June 13, 2010, 5:27 pm
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 13 2010, 05:04 PM)
yup ... but the speed, performance and pricing difference is like heaven and earth. TMNet only know how to squeeze the locals.

Streamyx has an issue with trying to go 'nationwide' without perfecting Klang Valley or the big towns first.

And also most of the phone lines were installed 30-40 years ago. TM might have new exchanges, but the final mile cabling is way too old. And they don't want to invest in recabling, unlike the telcos in Singapore. Can't blame them entirely though, as the consumers don't want to pay for it either.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 13 2010, 05:27 PM
shanelai
post Jun 13 2010, 05:56 PM

MAyd@y M@ydAy!
1,820 posts

my old fixed bb from SH expring its 2 years contract in coming september. Im still thinking whether to recontract or change telco. Currently running on 2mb at 27dollar. It is far too expensive than all the current promotion.
BTW, can we just recontract without waiting the expiration of the contract?
-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 06:03 PM

55 posts

Which mobile broadband is better? I'm considering to get a mobile broadband 2Mbps..monthly roughly S$20+..think M1 is cheapest among all, with 2-yrs contract..
seantang
post Jun 13 2010, 06:07 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(-SaSa- @ Jun 13 2010, 06:03 PM)
Which mobile broadband is better? I'm considering to get a mobile broadband 2Mbps..monthly roughly S$20+..think M1 is cheapest among all, with 2-yrs contract..

I'm currently using Singtel BBOM at lowest speed and cheapest package. Costs me $15.47 per month when I recontracted last year. Speed is supposed to be the slowest but I still use up my 50GB data limit each month.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 13 2010, 06:07 PM
-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 06:23 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 13 2010, 06:07 PM)
I'm currently using Singtel BBOM at lowest speed and cheapest package. Costs me $15.47 per month when I recontracted last year. Speed is supposed to be the slowest but I still use up my 50GB data limit each month.

Your lowest speed is roughly ard? 1Mbps? Is it 2-yrs contract as well? I'm still deciding on Singtel or M1 too..hehe..Is d connection stable?
seantang
post Jun 13 2010, 06:34 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(-SaSa- @ Jun 13 2010, 06:23 PM)
Your lowest speed is roughly ard? 1Mbps? Is it 2-yrs contract as well? I'm still deciding on Singtel or M1 too..hehe..Is d connection stable?

Either 1 or 2. When I started 2 contracts ago, it was 384kbps, but the speed's been automatically upgraded a couple of times since then.

Anyway, I find the speed rating fairly meaningless for surfing, youtube and normal use. There's not much difference between the lowest bbom and the highest cable bb. It's only when you do gaming or downloading when you see a difference. Even then,.. the high theoretical speed might not be much use if the data source is slower, for eg. torrents or direct dl sites.

-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 06:51 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 13 2010, 06:34 PM)
Either 1 or 2. When I started 2 contracts ago, it was 384kbps, but the speed's been automatically upgraded a couple of times since then.

Anyway, I find the speed rating fairly meaningless for surfing, youtube and normal use. There's not much difference between the lowest bbom and the highest cable bb. It's only when you do gaming or downloading when you see a difference. Even then,.. the high theoretical speed might not be much use if the data source is slower, for eg. torrents or direct dl sites.
I see..thanks for d explanation, I think I noe which one to go for now..haha..Will only be getting it next mth when I move to new place..thinking of getting mobile broadband easier than to share home broadband with other ppl smile.gif
Mackiddo
post Jun 13 2010, 08:23 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 13 2010, 06:34 PM)

lot's of different for PP Stream ...

i wanna SELL my Aztech 3G Wireless Router, anyone interested ? biggrin.gif , no more use for it since i got fix line and also can tethering on my iphone

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 13 2010, 08:25 PM
seantang
post Jun 13 2010, 08:34 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 13 2010, 08:23 PM)

If the stream has lots of seeds, then yeah.
crapp0
post Jun 13 2010, 09:45 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 13 2010, 08:23 PM)

i wanna SELL my Aztech 3G Wireless Router, anyone interested ?  biggrin.gif  , no more use for it since i got fix line and also can tethering on my iphone
Is the world cup televised on pp stream? I heard some of those IPTV dongles have world cup streaming albeit with a significant delay in broadcast schedule and commentary from a mainlander.
Lester1987
post Jun 13 2010, 09:47 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(-SaSa- @ Jun 13 2010, 06:03 PM)
i tried M1 mobile BB b4, sux to the max. can't even online during peak hours (8pm-11pm). better sign an iPhone plan and tether with the 12GB that u have. i can run torrent at 300-400kb/s with internet tethering.

edited, i am using Starhub for my iPhone plan.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Jun 13 2010, 09:48 PM
crapp0
post Jun 13 2010, 09:51 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 13 2010, 09:47 PM)
i tried M1 mobile BB b4, sux to the max. can't even online during peak hours (8pm-11pm). better sign an iPhone plan and tether with the 12GB that u have. i can run torrent at 300-400kb/s with internet tethering.

If depends on geographical location as well, i did noticed that the speed and overall usage of my m1 mobile broadband (dongle) has improved in my area during peak period. Last time i had to wait for youtube to stream but now i can watch it without having to wait for it to load. Though things can still be improved such as overall speed connectivity over the republic and maximum throughput speed.
SUSkockroach
post Jun 13 2010, 10:04 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

Am using starhub cable 8mbps and no complaint so far.hehe
-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 10:22 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 13 2010, 09:47 PM)

owh really? hmm.gif starhub more stable line?
uberlebender
post Jun 13 2010, 10:37 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(klsingapore5800 @ Jun 12 2010, 10:05 PM)
When I started working in Singapore last year, 1 thing I don't like the most is squeezing in MRT/Bus and ~50-60 mins commuting hours. After few weeks of feeling no quality of life (sorry no offense), I decided to get a bike and ride it until now (downgraded after coming to SG haha... previously having a car in KL).

Bike cost is cheap but not cheaper than MRT/Bus. Second hand Honda Wave ~2.5k. Parking at HDB ~15 per month. Petro ~8 per week. Many places has free bike parking. http://www.sgwiki.com/wiki/Motorcycle_Parking
The main motivation is door to door commuting, less afraid of traffic jam and save lots of time. Using bike, it takes just ~20mins to me. 1 more advantage of bike is easier to get a cheap rent since you don't need to find a room which near to MRT.

Ridding bike to me is more about whether a person willing to risk the safety rather than whether a person is rich or not. I saw many above average people ridding good bike in Singapore and many below average people dare not to ride a bike. Anyway, thanks to the fact that not many people willing to ride bike lest the road will be crowded with bikes and parking will be more difficult to find.

I agree on the pros and cons above. Yes, SG is safer than KL. Here has better road, better cars and good security (I never double lock my bike in SG. If I do this in MY, it will be gone in 5 mins). Anyway, it is skin cover steel. You have to take the risks. Also, beware during midnight, lots of drunk drivers.
Are you using Malaysian registered bike or Singaporean registered bike? Mind sharing with me the procedures in either one. Interested in using bike also.
giorgene
post Jun 13 2010, 10:44 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(-SaSa- @ Jun 13 2010, 10:22 PM)
owh really? hmm.gif starhub more stable line?
I think depends on location, I'm using starhub, thetering from my mobile phone package, sometimes can't even load google!!
seantang
post Jun 13 2010, 10:47 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Jun 13 2010, 10:44 PM)
I think depends on location, I'm using starhub, thetering from my mobile phone package, sometimes can't even load google!!

You might be right.

I'm using the Starhub iphone plan as well on an E72 with HSUPA enabled. With tethering, I can't get torrent beyond 20-30kb/s and direct downloads are about the same.

-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 10:48 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Jun 13 2010, 10:44 PM)
Where is ur location? How about west area? which one more stable? smile.gif

168 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:44 AM