168 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

Aloong
post Jun 11 2010, 10:37 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 10 2010, 07:17 PM)
respect, malay bro that don't work in malaysia although got so many subsidy. you earn my respect.  i dun understand why but u may say i am racist, bcoz malay got so many advantage in MY, it makes me hate (or mayb jeolous?) them. Singapore malay earn my respect and i even treat them better than chinese as i admire the way they are able to survive here and i have not encounter any mat rempit type malay in Singapore b4.

back to your question, you can try sengkang/punggol/serangoon area. with circle line open now. it is very easy to go to ur office now. just alight at macpherson station and walk there. FYI, my aunty works there as well.
Actually I know quite a number of malays gotten out or are trying to get out from M'sia, not necessary to SG tho. Not all Malays enjoy the subsidy.
Only those "UMNO Malays" enjoy most of the subsidies. While those not so educated ones and maybe those highly religioned ppl stay on for obvious reason.

Shariah laws, perception and peer pressure are main reasons, without further explanation due to sensitivity.
SUSkockroach
post Jun 11 2010, 10:39 AM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 11 2010, 10:30 AM)
i got her msn. u no nid buaya. she is too pretty (if she didn't put fake photo tongue.gif ) and i am sure we both are not qualified for it. biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif hahaha.buaya me la
Lester1987
post Jun 11 2010, 10:41 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jun 11 2010, 10:39 AM)
rclxms.gif hahaha.buaya me la
status = in a relationship, how to buaya.
allens
post Jun 11 2010, 11:00 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 11 2010, 10:31 AM)
Perhaps... riding a kapcai on a little muddy path is somewhat different from riding a big bike on the expressway.

But that's the other thing. Kampung riders who suddenly ride in cities and highways... greatly increase their risk of accidents. Just like how all those people who normally drive to supermarket only, suddenly think they are competent to do high speed long distance driving during Raya and CNY.
i ride motor is for convenient in malaysia, especially like in penang, which is hard to find carpark, ride motor save alot of time,
but in sg, for my experience, riding in sg is not convenient as in malaysia, u can simply park ur motor at any lorong(if u don scare kena curi) brows.gif brows.gif
Aloong
post Jun 11 2010, 11:05 AM

484 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 10 2010, 10:30 PM)
there is only 2 type of people will answer like this.

1. rich fellow (above average income where family at least have 1 car when he is young). so family members will tend to say riding a bike is dangerous blah blah blah.
2. living in big cities. riding a bike in KL is dangerous. but the 1st factor actually contribute to this as well because if u are from those poor or low income family, u will have no choice.
3. i can confirm he is a chinese. and confirm he never grow up in a family which house hold income less than RM2k before. thats why he answer like that.
I actually i do agree that riding bike is relatively more dangerous than cars and mrt, in logical sense. In chinese saying, "steel cover skin" is safer than skin cover steel".

I was riding bike for 4yrs in KL during college and during my first few yrs working. Sometimes up to one hour from KL -Klang - KL everyday, due to auditng works. I still remember carrying 3 bags (for laptops, lugagge and files) to office, to join colleauges for an outstation job. Dangerous, but depends on luck. If unlucky u die will sleepin/eating, if lucky u'll live even being hit and by car and goin under it.

So u got to weight the pros and cons, the advantage of faster than MRT/cheaper than cars/more freedom/ as opposed to dangerous. I hot SG shd be safer? correct me if im wrong, Isit a lot of accident?

bloggerblue
post Jun 11 2010, 12:00 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 11 2010, 10:30 AM)
i got her msn. u no nid buaya. she is too pretty (if she didn't put fake photo tongue.gif ) and i am sure we both are not qualified for it. biggrin.gif
wtf.. u r so fast sad.gif

hahaha... who know? share share the info la...

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 11 2010, 10:41 AM)
status = in a relationship, how to buaya.
that's... great!
giorgene
post Jun 11 2010, 01:13 PM

435 posts

so many buayas in apple!!
seantang
post Jun 11 2010, 01:32 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Jun 11 2010, 11:05 AM)
I actually i do agree that riding bike is relatively more dangerous than cars and mrt, in logical sense.  In chinese saying, "steel cover skin" is safer than skin cover steel".

Over the years, I had some friends and classmates who "wood cover skin / cloth cover skin" due to traffic accidents. All were motorbike related, with the exception of one or two spectacular cases in cars.

As for non-fatal accidents... I dare say 50-75% of all the bikers I know/known have had some sort of accident which resulted in bleeding at least. Broken bones are also common. Those unsightly abrasion scars on the elbows/forearms and legs are almost like a membership badge. A few ladies I know have never worn shorts or short skirts in the last 20 years... thanks to incidents while riding a motorbike to school in their secondary school uniforms.
planetshaker
post Jun 11 2010, 05:45 PM

142 posts

hi there, i wanna ask rent room in singapore near the MRT of green line where is the cheapest?working in tanjong pagar there...and if i found a place online with agent need to pay agent free?
cierra_tansy
post Jun 11 2010, 05:54 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(planetshaker @ Jun 11 2010, 06:45 PM)
hi there, i wanna ask rent room in singapore near the MRT of green line where is the cheapest?working in tanjong pagar there...and if i found a place online with agent need to pay agent free?
If with agent then you need to pay agent fee. Normally they charge half month
rental for 1 year contract.
Green line is so long, I think you better specified the range in the green line.
For cheapest, I guess west side which nearby jurong there.
gaphashugo
post Jun 11 2010, 06:08 PM

hi.. i'm going for an interview next week in singapore. mech. design engineer position with 1 year not-so-related exp.
can somebody tell me the range of expected salary. is it relatively harder to negotiate salary to them as to here in m'sia?
uberlebender
post Jun 11 2010, 06:35 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 10 2010, 07:17 PM)
respect, malay bro that don't work in malaysia although got so many subsidy. you earn my respect.  i dun understand why but u may say i am racist, bcoz malay got so many advantage in MY, it makes me hate (or mayb jeolous?) them. Singapore malay earn my respect and i even treat them better than chinese as i admire the way they are able to survive here and i have not encounter any mat rempit type malay in Singapore b4.

back to your question, you can try sengkang/punggol/serangoon area. with circle line open now. it is very easy to go to ur office now. just alight at macpherson station and walk there. FYI, my aunty works there as well.
erm. thanks? I try my best to stand on my own two feet. just trying to make a living and living within my means. n thanks on the macpherson info bit. i'll take that into consideration. but still got no offers yet for a place. got any sing forum active like this forum?

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 10 2010, 07:46 PM)
i'm just curious. have you guys ever thought of owning a bike in Sg ? I mean it's faster than the mrt and economical. Unless rain then no choice.
yeah i was thinking of that since im still young and without a family of my own yet. will save a lot of my time n probably make the quality of life just that much better. i like the public and all but it still takes time to commute especially in the morning and for those long distance travel.

Nobody have a place in Singapore or know a person that is renting a place near Eunos area?
Lester1987
post Jun 11 2010, 07:02 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(uberlebender @ Jun 11 2010, 06:35 PM)
erm. thanks? I try my best to stand on my own two feet. just trying to make a living and living within my means. n thanks on the macpherson info bit. i'll take that into consideration. but still got no offers yet for a place. got any sing forum active like this forum?
yeah i was thinking of that since im still young and without a family of my own yet. will save a lot of my time n probably make the quality of life just that much better. i like the public and all but it still takes time to commute especially in the morning and for those long distance travel.

Nobody have a place in Singapore or know a person that is renting a place near Eunos area?
just to confirm, ur eunos tech park is near the ubi avenue there rite? if yes, then Macpherson is the nearest place. fyi, i went there once to find my aunty , if get down from eunos station, u need to take another bus which will take another 20 mins travel time. my aunty say if u walk, also 20 mins because the bus will round and round in the taman. if walk fro macpherson, then 10-15 mins. if u wan cheap, mayb can check tampines, punggol, sengkang. but u have to switch lines which will take time. regarding taking a bike. its not economical. u have to pay the monthly rental for the motor parking. according to my colleague. its around 60 cents a day. haven include ur petrol and also maintenance. also u have to get a SG driving license to drive in SG which u have to give up ur MY driving license and pay $100 for the theory test in woodland.
uberlebender
post Jun 11 2010, 07:17 PM

115 posts

yeah. that's the place. currently i commute from parkway. i get to stay in a staff house temporarily. but i want to find a place of my own. want some privacy instead of sharing with others in a room.

about the bike, actually can bring in malaysian bike as long as u have employment pass n not holder of PR. on one hand like u said, there's the monthly rental for parking and other stuff. on the other hand u get more quality time instead of the commute. for now, i'm still taking the public and i would say it is reliable however, it still takes quite some time even for quite short distances to travel by bus.
Lester1987
post Jun 11 2010, 08:17 PM

2,017 posts

it depends. last time in KL, i got bike and car, my weight is increasing like sky rocket. peak at 123KG. after came to singapore. because have to walk to MRT and stuff. if helped me keep fit and my weight drop a lot and feel more healthy that way. and also i don't have to worry about rainy days. and i find the trains and bus are all very punctual and the time is fixed every day. every morning, i reach MRT at 8am, 813am reach Yio Chu Kang MRT and there is a bus at 815am to my office. definitely i wont miss the schedule and will reach office before 830am. 7 months in SG. so far so good.
-SaSa-
post Jun 11 2010, 11:10 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(planetshaker @ Jun 11 2010, 05:45 PM)
I think there are no "cheapest" one if u plan to find near MRT one..u can try lakeside/boonlay cos it's quite far away from CBD area..might can get cheaper without aircond/unfurnished etc.

I also work In Tanjong Pagar, staying at Clementi area (rental quite expensive) but it's v convenient..ard 25mins to TP smile.gif

Yes, usually pay half month rental if u found thru agent..usually very hard to get room by urself without agent help (esp when u are busy working)

This post has been edited by -SaSa-: Jun 11 2010, 11:11 PM
wlcling
post Jun 12 2010, 12:26 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

changing place to rent... agent commision is 1 month oh... depends some agent la shocking.gif
yinyum
post Jun 12 2010, 01:00 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Jun 11 2010, 01:13 PM)
so many buayas in apple!!
I guess they just buaya here, not in the office.... hahaha

btw, lester & bloggerblue, do u guys use iChat in the office? LOL brows.gif

This post has been edited by yinyum: Jun 12 2010, 01:07 AM
Lester1987
post Jun 12 2010, 06:46 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 12 2010, 01:00 AM)
I guess they just buaya here, not in the office.... hahaha

btw, lester & bloggerblue, do u guys use iChat in the office? LOL brows.gif
i use iChat + MSN + Skype so that i will not be bored when no calls

planetshaker
post Jun 12 2010, 08:53 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(-SaSa- @ Jun 11 2010, 11:10 PM)
I think there are no "cheapest" one if u plan to find near MRT one..u can try lakeside/boonlay cos it's quite far away from CBD area..might can get cheaper without aircond/unfurnished etc.

I also work In Tanjong Pagar, staying at Clementi area (rental quite expensive) but it's v convenient..ard 25mins to TP smile.gif

Yes, usually pay half month rental if u found thru agent..usually very hard to get room by urself without agent help (esp when u are busy working)
thanks for the info...i was wandering it is possible to get a half year contract instead of 1 year?

168 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:52 AM