Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

-SaSa-
post May 12 2010, 07:15 PM

55 posts

I'll be working in Spore soon, most probably early June..work at Tanjong Pagar, staying temporarily at Clementi smile.gif

Pls add me to d list~ Thx
-SaSa-
post May 12 2010, 08:48 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(k8118k @ May 12 2010, 07:37 PM)
my female house mate room need 1 ppl
you interest?
amk
amk? hmm..i think i'll prefer to stay ard Clementi area..thanks anyway smile.gif

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 12 2010, 08:24 PM)
added..i will work around that area too smile.gif
Really?? You started working adi? smile.gif

Added on May 12, 2010, 8:51 pm@ dokidoki,

Btw, I noticed a typo error..d list u added, it's 'tanjong' pagar, not 'tanjung' tongue.gif LOL~~

This post has been edited by -SaSa-: May 12 2010, 08:51 PM
-SaSa-
post May 12 2010, 11:05 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(jae @ May 12 2010, 10:28 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm currently looking for a third flatmate (male or female acceptable; no sharing of room except for couples) while me and my other friend (both guys) are looking for a 3-bedroom apartment, plan to move in by end of June but that can be negotiated. Our budget is about $600+/- per person without bills (so that's about $1,800+/- for the whole apartment unit).

A lil bit of background info, we had 3 ppl initially but one of our friends couldn't make it so we are now looking for 1 more person to take that empty spot. Both of us are professionals and would be working ( I have already started working while he'll be starting in July) in Raffles Place, so we plan to look for a place not more than 30minutes away from Raffles Place mrt if possible.

Anyone interested please PM me asap. Alternatively, if you happen to have 2 empty rooms to let out please do contact me too.

Cheers.
no sharing of room except for couples --> means cannot 2gals/2guys sharing d room? which area are u looking for? too bad i cant afford to rent a single room by myself, budget <S$500 only tongue.gif
-SaSa-
post May 21 2010, 04:06 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ May 21 2010, 03:57 PM)
I am going to Sg soon, working at Jurong but my friend might be working at Bedok (other side of the freaking island). What would be a nice compromise location to stay in terms of distance? His place is just in front of Bedok mrt, so for him is quite easy as long as he can get access to mrt.

I'm thinking either Clementi area or the red line MRT area near CCK , although I welcome any suggestions. I am guessing in terms of rental, preferably if can keep below $300 per pax.
I think with budget below $300 it's impossible to get in Clementi area..it's kinda expensive..common room ard $700-750..
-SaSa-
post May 21 2010, 04:13 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 21 2010, 04:10 PM)
clementi is a shiet place... i recommend buena vista or bishan
Pls respect others before u speak...everyone hv their own preference..just bcos u dun like Clementi doesnt mean u can criticized it shakehead.gif
-SaSa-
post May 21 2010, 06:29 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ May 21 2010, 04:42 PM)
so i am living in a shit place.

however if you stick with red line, it will be quite far for your friend to travel.

i think your best bet would be sticking with green line.
Haha, I also live in the so-called 'shit place' also but I found it to be a great place, easy access to town, convenient and peaceful neighborhood smile.gif Yea, agree that better to stick with green line. Commonwealth also not too bad...
-SaSa-
post Jun 5 2010, 10:56 PM

55 posts

Hi all,

I'm currently looking for a roommate to share a common room ard Clementi area. Preferably to be Msian chinese lady, working adult. Budget will be ard S$300-400/pax include PUB and internet.

Plan to move in by mid July.

Interested, pls PM me asap. Thanks ya smile.gif
-SaSa-
post Jun 11 2010, 11:10 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(planetshaker @ Jun 11 2010, 05:45 PM)
hi there, i wanna ask rent room in singapore near the MRT of green line where is the cheapest?working in tanjong pagar there...and if i found a place online with agent need to pay agent free?
I think there are no "cheapest" one if u plan to find near MRT one..u can try lakeside/boonlay cos it's quite far away from CBD area..might can get cheaper without aircond/unfurnished etc.

I also work In Tanjong Pagar, staying at Clementi area (rental quite expensive) but it's v convenient..ard 25mins to TP smile.gif

Yes, usually pay half month rental if u found thru agent..usually very hard to get room by urself without agent help (esp when u are busy working)

This post has been edited by -SaSa-: Jun 11 2010, 11:11 PM
-SaSa-
post Jun 12 2010, 04:02 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(planetshaker @ Jun 12 2010, 08:53 AM)
thanks for the info...i was wandering it is possible to get a half year contract instead of 1 year?
I think it depends on d house owner..usually it's 1-yr contract..seldom got ppl sign half-yr unless on certain special condition smile.gif
-SaSa-
post Jun 12 2010, 07:37 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(nicedriver @ Jun 12 2010, 07:25 PM)
hey, anyone working near raffles place? Can go for lunch during working days or hang out together during weekends once in a while
I'm working at Tanjong Pagar, quite near to Raffles Place smile.gif Sure, maybe can lunch tog sometimes? Are u new working in Spore?
-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 12:14 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jun 13 2010, 12:06 AM)
where u working?..i near robinson rd there~
I'm at Shenton Way there..I think quite near to Robinson Rd, is it?
-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 12:21 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Jun 13 2010, 12:17 AM)
yes...very near..just a street behind me ur shenton way.. wink.gif
owh is it? haha..dint really explore the area well yet =)
-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 06:03 PM

55 posts

Which mobile broadband is better? I'm considering to get a mobile broadband 2Mbps..monthly roughly S$20+..think M1 is cheapest among all, with 2-yrs contract..
-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 06:23 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 13 2010, 06:07 PM)
I'm currently using Singtel BBOM at lowest speed and cheapest package. Costs me $15.47 per month when I recontracted last year. Speed is supposed to be the slowest but I still use up my 50GB data limit each month.

Your lowest speed is roughly ard? 1Mbps? Is it 2-yrs contract as well? I'm still deciding on Singtel or M1 too..hehe..Is d connection stable?
-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 06:51 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 13 2010, 06:34 PM)
Either 1 or 2. When I started 2 contracts ago, it was 384kbps, but the speed's been automatically upgraded a couple of times since then.

Anyway, I find the speed rating fairly meaningless for surfing, youtube and normal use. There's not much difference between the lowest bbom and the highest cable bb. It's only when you do gaming or downloading when you see a difference. Even then,.. the high theoretical speed might not be much use if the data source is slower, for eg. torrents or direct dl sites.
I see..thanks for d explanation, I think I noe which one to go for now..haha..Will only be getting it next mth when I move to new place..thinking of getting mobile broadband easier than to share home broadband with other ppl smile.gif
-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 10:22 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 13 2010, 09:47 PM)
i tried M1 mobile BB b4, sux to the max. can't even online during peak hours (8pm-11pm). better sign an iPhone plan and tether with the 12GB that u have. i can run torrent at 300-400kb/s with internet tethering.

edited, i am using Starhub for my iPhone plan.
owh really? hmm.gif starhub more stable line?
-SaSa-
post Jun 13 2010, 10:48 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(giorgene @ Jun 13 2010, 10:44 PM)
I think depends on location, I'm using starhub, thetering from my mobile phone package, sometimes can't even load google!!
Where is ur location? How about west area? which one more stable? smile.gif

0.0607sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:16 AM