168 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

reign226
post Jun 2 2010, 10:23 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jun 2 2010, 09:57 AM)
I find it odd that if a person wants to scam, he/she would want 2 scam on an acer laptop, the mud scummer of the PC world in terms of QC.
Actually HP laptops perform even worse than Acer...
seantang
post Jun 2 2010, 10:44 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Monstar @ Jun 2 2010, 09:44 AM)
Hi guys,

I did some online apartment hunting and as I am really unfamiliar with Singapore, I have no idea what to expect. Could you guys roughly let me know what to expect for the following rent amount and conditions. Thanks

Rent: SGD 2500-3000
Rooms: 3
Near MRT
Furnished
As near to Raffles Place as possible.

Which area would I be able to rent for that amount? Would I be able to rent a place that is less than 5-6 MRT stops away from Raffles Place that comes with gym facilities?

Take a look at the rail map for Singapore, mark out the stations that you would want to live nearby and then on the online real estate websites, choose apartments for that budget within those areas. The good thing about Singapore MRT is that the names of the stations are the same as the names of the areas.

I'm more familiar about the North South MRT line and 5-6 stations from Raffles Place means Newton or Novena. Since you want gym facilities, that means private condos and not HDB flats. For Newton and Novena... 3 bedroom furnished private condo with decent gym... you might want to double your budget to get more options.

bloggerblue
post Jun 2 2010, 12:07 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 2 2010, 09:06 AM)
online as in internet, or tele as in telephone?

What does Apple sell online or over the phone? I didn't think that you had any products that would require online solicitation or cold calling customers.

Or do you mean customer service / service desk?
it's inbound customer support post sales team smile.gif no cold calling.

Lester1987
post Jun 2 2010, 12:16 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Jun 2 2010, 08:43 AM)
I thought once you restore, Apple won't know if you jailbreak it before?
like i said lo, at this point of time, u can restore it and the jail break will be gone, my trainer told me Apple is finding a way to detect if the phone is jail broken before. once they got it, then u can't jail break anymore. If u are used to a jail break phone now, then in the future, if u din jail break, i think u will feel hard and feel iphone is crappy. so prefer not to jail break it to get use to what that is offer by Apple and use the phone the way it is. 1 more thing is if the phone is jail broken, it will void ur phone support.

Added on June 2, 2010, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Jun 2 2010, 12:07 PM)
it's inbound customer support post sales team smile.gif no cold calling.
so ASCS is a contract position?? I think ASCS is permanent position la. most probably they are working for sales . where cust got the number from Apple online store and call to inquire a product, their job is to push the cust to buy the product during the phone call.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Jun 2 2010, 12:19 PM
yinyum
post Jun 2 2010, 12:52 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Jun 2 2010, 08:12 AM)
Am working in Apple as well.... Good Benefit.. depend on which department you join.. my department is stressful...  cry.gif

Apple is the fastest company that ever response when your resume been screen through... interview done.. i got my confirmation in... 3 -4 days.. lol
Yes, actually is Online Sales Team... it's a contract bound, not permanent.
Really?? But I'm still waiting the call from Apple.. I'm so nervous, scare they would not shortlist me, but I got experience in promoting apple products in roadshow and I was working as Apple Merchandiser previously.. Hope they would give me a chance.. sad.gif

Added on June 2, 2010, 12:55 pmThe position that I applied is a half year contract basis, but they consider to extend it if ur performance is good and there's a chance converting to permenant staff too

This post has been edited by yinyum: Jun 2 2010, 12:55 PM
bloggerblue
post Jun 2 2010, 01:03 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 2 2010, 12:16 PM)
like i said lo, at this point of time, u can restore it and the jail break will be gone, my trainer told me Apple is finding a way to detect if the phone is jail broken before. once they got it, then u can't jail break anymore. If u are used to a jail break phone now, then in the future, if u din jail break, i think u will feel hard and feel iphone is crappy. so prefer not to jail break it to get use to what that is offer by Apple and use the phone the way it is. 1 more thing is if the phone is jail broken, it will void ur phone support.

so ASCS is a contract position?? I think ASCS is permanent position la. most probably they are working for sales . where cust got the number from Apple online store and call to inquire a product, their job is to push the cust to buy the product during the phone call.
ASCS is contract 3 months, then review.. there are 2 ASCS... post sales and another.. not sure..

My team always receive job opening de.. haha.. so i got all the email

Added on June 2, 2010, 1:03 pm
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 2 2010, 12:16 PM)

ASCS is contract 3 months, then review.. there are 2 ASCS... post sales and another.. not sure..

My team always receive job opening de.. haha.. so i got all the email

This post has been edited by bloggerblue: Jun 2 2010, 01:03 PM
geo
post Jun 2 2010, 01:43 PM

I am HUNGRY
770 posts

i would like to ask for advice from seniors here...
I'm currently working in Malaysia dy... and thking of going to singapore for further progress. Should I quit my job 1st and go singapore to find or should i maintain my job and jobstreet?

Thank you..
bloggerblue
post Jun 2 2010, 01:53 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 2 2010, 12:52 PM)
Really?? But I'm still waiting the call from Apple.. I'm so nervous, scare they would not shortlist me, but I got experience in promoting apple products in roadshow and I was working as Apple Merchandiser previously.. Hope they would give me a chance.. sad.gif

Added on June 2, 2010, 12:55 pmThe position that I applied is a half year contract basis, but they consider to extend it if ur performance is good and there's a chance converting to permenant staff too
if u join ad, let go out for lunch smile.gif
seantang
post Jun 2 2010, 01:56 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(geo @ Jun 2 2010, 01:43 PM)
i would like to ask for advice from seniors here...
I'm currently working in Malaysia dy... and thking of going to singapore for further progress. Should I quit my job 1st and go singapore to find or should i maintain my job and jobstreet?

Thank you..
How long will it take you to find a job?
Lester1987
post Jun 2 2010, 04:46 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Jun 2 2010, 01:53 PM)
buaya spotted.... but good also... can know people from other department so next time if need help, also easier.. biggrin.gif
Mackiddo
post Jun 2 2010, 05:17 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

seriously, i think Apple is a good company to be in. Good working culture.
reign226
post Jun 2 2010, 05:25 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Jun 2 2010, 05:17 PM)
seriously, i think Apple is a good company to be in. Good working culture.
Hw much is the pay for fresh grad? say one with bachelors in comp sci from msian uni.
bloggerblue
post Jun 2 2010, 05:54 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Jun 2 2010, 05:25 PM)
Hw much is the pay for fresh grad? say one with bachelors in comp sci from msian uni.
depend on what nature of ur job
reign226
post Jun 2 2010, 06:01 PM

804 posts

lets say cust support like the previous poster mentioned
Lester1987
post Jun 2 2010, 06:21 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Jun 2 2010, 06:01 PM)
u will get $2k++, but cust support position, they prefer to take someone with exp. so far i never heard any fresh grad in the department. only 1 guy, but he is a master grad tongue.gif
Monstar
post Jun 2 2010, 06:44 PM

1,895 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 2 2010, 10:44 AM)
Take a look at the rail map for Singapore, mark out the stations that you would want to live nearby and then on the online real estate websites, choose apartments for that budget within those areas. The good thing about Singapore MRT is that the names of the stations are the same as the names of the areas.

I'm more familiar about the North South MRT line and 5-6 stations from Raffles Place means Newton or Novena. Since you want gym facilities, that means private condos and not HDB flats. For Newton and Novena... 3 bedroom furnished private condo with decent gym... you might want to double your budget to get more options.
Thanks for the info.

I have looked at the map. Most likely I would like to stay at the east side of the island. One of my housemate flies a lot and prefer to be near the airport. How far is Bedok to Raffles Place by car? It is about 8 stops away by MRT. Gym is of secondary importance. It would be nice to have but not vital. tongue.gif Is it possible to get any decent 3 beds around EW5-EW14 for my budget of SGD2500-3000? Sorry for the myriad of questions. Thanks in advance.
yinyum
post Jun 2 2010, 11:19 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Jun 2 2010, 01:53 PM)
Hahaha.. Ok ok.. Wat dept u r in now? I got a call from the agency this afternoon! And I'll be having interview with Vincent tmr morning 9.30am..! So happy..! Hehehe.. Hope I can nail it

This post has been edited by yinyum: Jun 2 2010, 11:20 PM
jonnie
post Jun 3 2010, 02:39 AM

481 posts

guys.. if i were to work in bukit merah, which area should i live at ?
need some opinion smile.gif
badzvino
post Jun 3 2010, 07:13 AM

140 posts

All sifus, need some opinion here.
What is the salary for a 1 yr experienced QS there?
Currently I got 1 job offer here RM2500, as site QS.
But I am thinking to further my career in Singapore.

Yesterday there is an agent called me, offering $2200, but its kind of tiles supplier - Polybuilding. Anyone heard this before?

Should I take it or keep waiting for another job offer? Since I am no really into supplier line, looking for developer, main-con or consultant company. I am planning to take it as a temporary job, just to set my feet in Singapore, than look for what I want. But is there any harm if I change job in few months time? I mean for my permit or whatsoever, does it affect anythg?!

Please Comment, Thanks!

This post has been edited by badzvino: Jun 3 2010, 07:17 AM
bloggerblue
post Jun 3 2010, 08:33 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 2 2010, 04:46 PM)
buaya spotted.... but good also... can know people from other department so next time if need help, also easier..  biggrin.gif
yeah tongue.gif lol... whr got buaya.. know more friend!!

QUOTE(reign226 @ Jun 2 2010, 06:01 PM)
2++

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jun 2 2010, 06:21 PM)
u will get $2k++, but cust support position, they prefer to take someone with exp. so far i never heard any fresh grad in the department. only 1 guy, but he is a master grad tongue.gif
unless u r doing well in ur interview.. show confident.. and can sell yourself to Apple confidently.. then they will consider tongue.gif

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 2 2010, 11:19 PM)
Hahaha.. Ok ok.. Wat dept u r in now? I got a call from the agency this afternoon! And I'll be having interview with Vincent tmr morning 9.30am..! So happy..! Hehehe.. Hope I can nail it
I'm in CR.... that's great smile.gif good luck in ur interview smile.gif

168 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:39 PM