134 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

BenSow
post Dec 3 2010, 09:00 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Ok.. i searched the thread gonna warm the water.. Do i need to put salt into the water?

and electronic pets are not my thing. if i would feed my turtle to my RTC i wouldnt even bother posting this question.

Is there any reptile vet in near taman segar? the one I noe i dun think treats reptiles...
LZ Zach
post Dec 3 2010, 09:12 PM

280 posts

I don't think you have to, salt doesn't go well with turtle..

You should try google maps, it might bring up a few or so.
BenSow
post Dec 3 2010, 09:39 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Ok my turtle is now basking without worries... even if i move around make noise(not too loud) it's settled in its quarantine tank.. later gonna steal some foil from the kitchen to maintain the heat in the tank...

Added on December 3, 2010, 9:44 pmthey say to keep the surrounding area warm... how do i do tat?? o.o my turtle has to sleep so i cant turn on the light for the whole night...

Added on December 3, 2010, 10:05 pmAnyone lives around taman segar? I need someone knowledgable to look after my turlte.. my trusted neighbour is way sad.gif

Added on December 5, 2010, 12:21 pmGuys... my RES recovered!!! now swimming actively, eating and wont float at all.. ahhh im so relieved biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BenSow: Dec 5 2010, 12:21 PM
TScamillenoir
post Dec 5 2010, 05:04 PM

373 posts

naa, getting emotional again eh?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1651635

nonono, since you are a 'tortoise god' and i'm just a nobody with a few red eared sliders, please enlighten us with your knowledge.

i hereby challenge you to discuss properly and provide evidence that those tortoises you are selling really are G. pardalis ssp. pardalis. icon_idea.gif

please note that i'm not a trader - i have nothing to gain. this discussion is solely for the purpose of knowledge.

and thanks for the nice siggy - i love it!

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Dec 5 2010, 05:18 PM
SAMPERTH
post Dec 5 2010, 05:51 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Dec 5 2010, 06:04 PM)
naa, getting emotional again eh?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1651635

nonono, since you are a 'tortoise god' and i'm just a nobody with a few red eared sliders, please enlighten us with your knowledge.

i hereby challenge you to discuss properly and provide evidence that those tortoises you are selling really are G. pardalis ssp. pardalisicon_idea.gif

please note that i'm not a trader - i have nothing to gain. this discussion is solely for the purpose of knowledge.

and thanks for the nice siggy - i love it!
Come-on man (nonono) What Camillenoir stated is a fact (not made up K ) do your research !!

So its either you make it up or you are being duped into believing that they are indeed G.pardalis pardalis and imported as such !!

TScamillenoir
post Dec 6 2010, 08:17 AM

373 posts

not that i expected much from a self-proclaimed 'tortoise specialist' that thinks he can get away with everything because he has throngs of fans, but to immediately close his thread after throwing derogatory remarks is pure cowardice.

nonono, come here and explain about the G. pardalis ssp. pardalis please.

and if you're sore about things i've commented in this thread about your husbandry or knowledge earlier, please do note that you're representing a pet shop, and discussing and condemning the malpractices of pet shops are not beyond the norms of Pets Wonderland section.

This post has been edited by camillenoir: Dec 6 2010, 01:05 PM
Daniel Chok
post Dec 6 2010, 08:28 AM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 3 2010, 06:42 PM)
Like I mention before are the pellets even the right stuff ??
Now, i smash and turn the pellets to powder, then sprinkle to the hibicus leaves and wet it. I hope its okay? lol
ncl1511
post Dec 8 2010, 04:56 PM

Hi...does anyone know how I can transport my Sulcata back to Sarawak?

volrath
post Dec 8 2010, 05:35 PM

440 posts

hi! im new in this thread.

never owned a turtle/tortoise before (i have 3 cute hermit crabs though, still with me since 9 months ago hehe)

and so i have an interest with tortoise/turtle (the same feeling when i had for my crabbies tongue.gif)

i prefer dry turtles/tort..which requires least water in the tank (for bathing purpose is nvm, i can always bring to my tub)

coz i keep my pets right beside the place i work (my working table), air-conditioned and dry...so i prefer to have a tort/turt that suits my environment.

if so, can u recommend me where to buy one? i occasionally will go to Ikano pet store there, n sometimes, petsmore at various places...so where can i get the best deals? thanks alot
TScamillenoir
post Dec 8 2010, 08:06 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(volrath @ Dec 8 2010, 05:35 PM)
hi! im new in this thread.

never owned a turtle/tortoise before (i have 3 cute hermit crabs though, still with me since 9 months ago hehe)

and so i have an interest with tortoise/turtle (the same feeling when i had for my crabbies tongue.gif)

i prefer dry turtles/tort..which requires least water in the tank (for bathing purpose is nvm, i can always bring to my tub)

coz i keep my pets right beside the place i work (my working table), air-conditioned and dry...so i prefer to have a tort/turt that suits my environment.

if so, can u recommend me where to buy one? i occasionally will go to Ikano pet store there, n sometimes, petsmore at various places...so where can i get the best deals? thanks alot
the only tortoises that exactly suit your requirements and can be legally obtained (read: make sure they come with legal papers) at the moment are sulcata and leopard tortoises. however, i would like to suggest redfoots, as they are some of the best tortoises for beginners, but they should be kept in a more tropical setting (more humid, etc).

just be sure to give them enough heat (basking light) to counter the coolness of air conditioning and be sure to monitor their humidity. hatchlings and juveniles grassland/savannah tortoises, especially leopards, can be very sensitive to environmental variables.

the best deal, sincerely speaking, is to do a little bit of research and get a little bit of the basics regarding husbandry and prepare yourself for what you're getting, and then you can browse the shops to compare the condition of stocks and the prices before making your decision. the reasoning behind that is simple - information you get from shops and sellers are often misleading, as most of them are only interested in generating sales. heck, some of them don't even know what they're selling (e.g. nonono).

dENz ibeN
post Dec 8 2010, 11:46 PM

Hihi guys, very happy to find this TTT info thread. ;DD

I'm very new with tortoise, but am very interested in having a Sulcata tortoise. I did some research on how to take care one, but most of the websites info are not according to our weather and environment here.

And sadly, the tortie of my choice is Sulcata, and it can be very big --I mean enormous. So I worry that I don't have enough space for them to roam around. If I were to keep them indoor with the appropriate setting, will there be any smell?

According to your response above, is redfoot tortie the best choice if I were to have a tortie that can accustom to Malaysia setting?
akuning
post Dec 9 2010, 11:35 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(dENz ibeN @ Dec 8 2010, 11:46 PM)
Hihi guys, very happy to find this TTT info thread. ;DD

I'm very new with tortoise, but am very interested in having a Sulcata tortoise. I did some research on how to take care one, but most of the websites info are not according to our weather and environment here.

And sadly, the tortie of my choice is Sulcata, and it can be very big --I mean enormous. So I worry that I don't have enough space for them to roam around. If I were to keep them indoor with the appropriate setting, will there be any smell?

According to your response above, is redfoot tortie the best choice if I were to have a tortie that can accustom to Malaysia setting?
I think most of the sulcatas lover will have this kind of problem...i dont have enough space to keep them as they can grow untill very big.

but the real question is are u able to keep them untill so big?
dENz ibeN
post Dec 9 2010, 12:09 PM

haha! Yes, true true. ;D
That's why I'm still considering and doing research. wink.gif
SAMPERTH
post Dec 9 2010, 03:58 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(ncl1511 @ Dec 8 2010, 05:56 PM)
Hi...does anyone know how I can transport my Sulcata back to Sarawak?

Legally I dont think possible - even if you legally own it/them over in Kl or surround !!
ncl1511
post Dec 9 2010, 04:53 PM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 9 2010, 03:58 PM)
Legally I dont think possible - even if you legally own it/them over in Kl or surround !!
That's what I thought!! Just trying my luck here if anyone done that before tongue.gif
kenn91
post Dec 9 2010, 09:13 PM

121 posts

Hey guys. Regarding my setup I posted a few pages ago, my tortoise were abducted by something. I am guessing birds. My neighbour found 1 back and another by the side of the enclosure. So what's the best way to prevent this from happening? I put chicken wire mash on top of the enclosure? Any better solutions? The best is to show me some of your enclosures so I can apply whatever that I'm lack of on my enclosure as I am a beginner and am willing to take note of all your seniors' comments biggrin.gif
TScamillenoir
post Dec 10 2010, 12:35 AM

373 posts

looking back at your enclosure, the size of animals and by your description of the problem, my personal opinion would be, the chances that your RES climbed are greater than them being abducted by birds wink.gif

kenn91
post Dec 11 2010, 12:40 PM

121 posts

Yeah I've done setting up my wires above the enclosure. Missing 1 more patch of wire. Lol. Will be getting more wire to completely cover the enclosure. no birds can abduct them and they should not be able to climb out cause I'm using bricks to hold onto the wires.
SAMPERTH
post Dec 11 2010, 01:00 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(kenn91 @ Dec 11 2010, 01:40 PM)
Yeah I've done setting up my wires above the enclosure. Missing 1 more patch of wire. Lol. Will be getting more wire to completely cover the enclosure. no birds can abduct them and they should not be able to climb out cause I'm using bricks to hold onto the wires.
May I make a suggestion , since you are going to "cage" them why not just get a cage for them (at night and when it rain a lot) and use that enclosed area for basking and roaming when weather permit !!
kenn91
post Dec 12 2010, 11:03 AM

121 posts

Yeah. Currently doing that. How bout the 6incher? Should I bring it in when it rains? It seems to be okay lately.

134 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0322sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:03 PM