Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

BenSow
post May 2 2010, 03:07 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Congrats on the new thread!!! Go turtles!!
BenSow
post May 3 2010, 05:49 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Cheras not good... no pro vet... or else my old turtles would hav still be here... all oso dog, cats and bird...
BenSow
post May 29 2010, 03:39 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Guys, is it ok if i place my 12cm pleco(DBKL) with my 4.5inch female RES? He will have his own hideout(under the tile). here are pics:
For size comparison:

His hideout is under the tile:

BenSow
post Jun 8 2010, 08:56 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ May 30 2010, 06:41 PM)
hideout is for the pleco, not the res.

anyway, don't take tolerance between animals for granted - those animals can hurt one another, by intention or by accident. and plecos are known to be such nuisance - chewing off cables, suction-cupping the underbellies of companion animals, etc.

saying all that, you can try whatever you see fit, at your own risk.
update:

pleco has been hiding under the tile all along and no conflict between the animals...

BenSow
post Jun 13 2010, 02:08 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

guys where's the best place to get matured male RES? around KL but preferably not from nature tat i hv to catch myself ><
BenSow
post Jul 31 2010, 05:11 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

yea i read abt this in the star... i was here to post the news but since auhckw oredi done it... tongue.gif
BenSow
post Aug 28 2010, 01:21 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

my RES is very well taken care of i bought him nov/dec last year and he's only 2.5" in carapace length!! he is very healthy in 1.5' plastic container water level around 4" i have another 4" female in there there get along just fine... anyone knows why? and i read this:

"These turtles will do very well on a varied diet consisting of approximately 25% commercial turtle pellets, 25% live feeder fish, and 50% fruits and vegetables."

How do I feed them according to the plan? 25% of a week feed sticks or 25% of a meal?

Added on August 28, 2010, 1:27 pmuser posted image

This post has been edited by BenSow: Aug 28 2010, 01:27 PM
BenSow
post Aug 28 2010, 02:40 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

I feed him prawn,pellets and mealworms... pellets are staple though... so i do need feeders? ok thx good to know he's a male biggrin.gif

actually the 4" female isnt very dominant... when she hears food all she does is look up even when food is already floating on the water... the small one however is much more agile...

but there was once my small one had a piece of food on his claw and the female bit it... one claw is dislodged slightly... will it grow back?

"according to that plan, i'd prefer to do it this way - 4 weekly feeding sessions, 1 time pellet, 1 time feeder fish and 2 times plant matters."
so how much quantity should i feed foreach category and where do mealworm/prawn fit in?

Added on August 28, 2010, 4:26 pmwill commong snapping turtle eat RES?

Added on August 28, 2010, 4:28 pmim planning to DIY a basking platform for my RES...

wat easy-to-buy material can i use for the platform like in this photo:

Added on August 28, 2010, 5:10 pmnvrm i already have a plan.... will acrylic and glass filter UV rays? and if they do filter the turtle cant bask under that kind of sunlight rite?

Added on August 28, 2010, 5:40 pmnow i nid to gather acrylic or glass but preferbly acrylic... lighter.... the basking dock will be on top of the tank measuring 15cm x 32cm should be sufficient.... now if turtles can bask behind acrylic sheets then i can raise the water level twice but if they cant the water level remains at 12cm... im gonna draw the plan...

This post has been edited by BenSow: Aug 28 2010, 05:40 PM
BenSow
post Aug 28 2010, 09:50 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

ooo sexing RES... vry simple..

1) claws
- females' claws are much shorter than males... the difference in claw length is very obvious.

2) tail
-male's tail is much longer than female also quite obvious...
BenSow
post Aug 28 2010, 11:39 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

that im not sure but i used to hav a male and female once its very obvious... the tail?
BenSow
post Aug 28 2010, 11:44 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

Plan for my turtle dock...

black lines- turtle dock
brown line- ramp
blue line- acrylic to keep turtles in
yellow line- direction of sunlight

BenSow
post Aug 29 2010, 01:25 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

ur water level too low... water level must be at least the length of their shell... x1.5 is better... RES are born to be great swimmers

Added on August 29, 2010, 1:29 pm
QUOTE(`arthas @ Aug 29 2010, 08:20 AM)
if the box is with wheel, so it is easier for you to change water i guess?  hmm.gif
no wheel lol when i bought it i scared it will roll off... i can carry it as the water level isnt so high so its not that heavy... but usually i jus dragg to the grass(abt 4 feet away) and tilt the container to pour the water...

hmm... thanks for asking... if u hadnt ask i wouldnt have thought of a way to change water after building platform...

This post has been edited by BenSow: Aug 29 2010, 01:29 PM
BenSow
post Aug 29 2010, 02:21 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

but ur land is quite shallow... how big is the tank?

Added on August 29, 2010, 2:24 pm
QUOTE(Blutangskink @ Aug 29 2010, 09:04 AM)
Very very creative....hope they healthy and long life....!!
r u talkign abt my setup? if so thanks a lot... but i think its still quite small...

This post has been edited by BenSow: Aug 29 2010, 02:24 PM
BenSow
post Aug 29 2010, 02:52 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(Blutangskink @ Aug 29 2010, 02:38 PM)
Looks good man, the important I think when turtle have spot to posing or sun bathing or just rest on the floating stone or like little island, they so cute when they do that !! They climb and just sun bathing with legs open like just about to take off...
Just be careful with predator around or cover up when u not around.

Cheers
i like it when they extend their necks ^^

Added on August 29, 2010, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(camillenoir @ Aug 29 2010, 02:37 PM)
the ideal plan would only to give them only as much as they'd eat during a feeding session (until they stop eating) and feed again only on next feeding session.

(but heck, i do release feeder fish in their tanks to stimulate their natural hunting behavior and to get them some exercise)

mealworm/prawn should fit in pellet/feeder fish slot nicely. (rotate/alternate food item)
that would apply only to claws on the front limbs  smile.gif

in many turtle species, males have longer claws on the front limbs to help them mount on the females during mating. and for some Emydidae (new world turtles) like those from genus Trachemys, Chrysemys, etc, the long front claws would help attract females during their mating dance.

females typically have longer nails on the hind limbs for the purpose of digging nests.
I only assumed that you had its sex determined as you described it as a He  laugh.gif

at 2.5", it is quite difficult to get them sexed correctly.

my previous post (about males being smaller) is valid, but might not apply to your case though. sorry Ben, seems like my bad  smile.gif
females hind claws can be painful when you hold them....

but there's something i still dont get... my fren that i got my female from... they gave me a 3.5in male to then but one night i left them in the water fountain to swim and he escaped... the female still remains tho...

the 2 males and females were kept in very bad conditions but yet they grow very fast and very healthy!!!

bad condition:
-tank: the smallest rectangular tank by guppy!! and yet he grew to 3.5"!!! only the male was in it however. female was in those paint(DULUX/NIPPON) buckets...
-water quality: very bad all the shit inside... and when change water they jus pour all the water and replace with TAP WATER...
-feeding: this is ok but they feed them ONLY pellets and sometimes prawn and fish since the turtles r in kitchen...
-water level: less an inch....

all these bad condition yet i watched the male grew from1inch to 3.5inch in a matter of months!!! the female did nt change in size tho...

This post has been edited by BenSow: Aug 29 2010, 03:02 PM
BenSow
post Aug 29 2010, 08:24 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

PICS PICS
BenSow
post Aug 29 2010, 08:30 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

found jus wat i need for u!!

MALE

FEMALE
BenSow
post Aug 29 2010, 10:12 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

lol the pics frm ATP
BenSow
post Aug 30 2010, 06:22 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

the nail is for mating and to indicate the male is interested by clawing at the females head so i believe its essential for breeding... it doesnt hurt anyway its too long to reach ur hand when u carry ur male..
BenSow
post Aug 30 2010, 09:45 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

link nt available
BenSow
post Aug 30 2010, 10:16 PM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

no nid...