creatine and amino acid, are they necessary?

TSfivewinning
post May 1 2010, 09:12 AM, updated 16y ago

70 posts

i'm taking whey nw. i could see the effect a lil bt i think it's just slow. my friends suggested to take amino acid and creatine. i tried his creatine and amino acid once and i could feel the effect almost immediately. but can i know if they are necessary ? or is there any side effect?
david890701
post May 1 2010, 09:37 AM

-
3,152 posts

they're safe
thinesh2711
post May 1 2010, 09:41 AM

62 posts

they're abosolutely safe and does give almost instant effect. im using it too. only one thing though depending on your body.. after drinking creatine you might feel bloated and indigestion.. this is a normal side effect. and brings no harm..
John91
post May 1 2010, 10:20 AM

1,193 posts

Its not necessary, but it does help.
ReonLim83
post May 1 2010, 01:19 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(thinesh2711 @ May 1 2010, 09:41 AM)
they're abosolutely safe and does give almost instant effect. im using it too. only one thing though depending on your body.. after drinking creatine you might feel bloated and indigestion.. this is a normal side effect. and brings no harm..
Normal creatine doesnt work for me sad.gif
Bcaa should be take pre n post workout, + if ur rich during workout /on empty stomach. There's no harm.
gtoforce
post May 1 2010, 02:15 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

creatine sometimes work and sometimes they dont
hahaha
but u can get creatine from beef
John91
post May 1 2010, 03:24 PM

1,193 posts

Creatine+ NO pre workout does help a bit for me, i think. Or maybe its just placebo effect. I take my BCAA's during workout tho.
ReonLim83
post May 1 2010, 04:26 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(John91 @ May 1 2010, 03:24 PM)
Creatine+ NO pre workout does help a bit for me, i think. Or maybe its just placebo effect. I take my BCAA's during workout tho.
Have u tried shock theraphy (no)?? That stuff gave me bad headache after workout...
Which NO u using?
darklight79
post May 1 2010, 04:51 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(fivewinning @ May 1 2010, 09:12 AM)
i'm taking whey nw. i could see the effect a lil bt i think it's just slow. my friends suggested to take amino acid and creatine. i tried his creatine and amino acid once and i could feel the effect almost immediately. but can i know if they are necessary ? or is there any side effect?
They're called supplementation for a reason. They're not necessary but they can help. That being said, you should take a look at angrydog, a member here. This guy is huge and strong, we've met several times and he has done bodybuilding without any form of supplementation.
pedro
post May 1 2010, 05:03 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 1 2010, 04:51 PM)
They're called supplementation for a reason. They're not necessary but they can help. That being said, you should take a look at angrydog, a member here. This guy is huge and strong, we've met several times and he has done bodybuilding without any form of supplementation.
He is supplementing with natural Creatine!
John91
post May 1 2010, 05:25 PM

1,193 posts

QUOTE(ReonLim83 @ May 1 2010, 05:26 PM)
Have u tried shock theraphy (no)?? That stuff gave me bad headache after workout...
Which NO u using?
I'm using USP Jacked.
FirstOne
post May 1 2010, 06:42 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(ReonLim83 @ May 1 2010, 01:19 PM)
Normal creatine doesnt work for me sad.gif
Bcaa should be take pre n post workout, + if ur rich during workout /on empty stomach. There's no harm.
Sad case, it doesnt work for me as well =(
wasted my money
TSfivewinning
post May 1 2010, 07:39 PM

70 posts

erm.. i'm planning to buy creatine actually.. u could just feel the power in the gym after taking it.. plus whey protein i think should be enough.. amino acid i think next time only buy .. : )

ReonLim83
post May 1 2010, 08:16 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(FirstOne @ May 1 2010, 06:42 PM)
Sad case, it doesnt work for me as well =(
wasted my money
Steak brooo, steak...
Im going for one now tongue.gif
TSfivewinning
post May 4 2010, 06:46 PM

70 posts

can i know what brand and what kind of creatine is good? no water retention and no digest problem ?
darklight79
post May 4 2010, 06:59 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(fivewinning @ May 4 2010, 06:46 PM)
can i know what brand and what kind of creatine is good? no water retention and no digest problem ?
Creatine is creatine IMO. Eas, Universal Nutrition, etc.
JonYeap
post May 4 2010, 07:05 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

i am using ON micronized creatine powder.
dont seem to have those affect u mention.
tineagle
post May 4 2010, 08:32 PM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

I had digestive problems during my first month of taking creatine, it was EAS brand. 15mins after consumption, I'd have to rush to the toilet.

It isn't the brand that's the issue, just that some people have low tolerance for this supplement.

I took half a serving(2.5g) instead of the 5g recommended for 3 weeks, and from the forth week onwards I was taking 5g just fine.
cheezzzz
post May 4 2010, 08:34 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(gtoforce @ May 1 2010, 02:15 PM)
creatine sometimes work and sometimes they dont
hahaha
but u can get creatine from beef
u gotta eat like heaps of steak to get the same amount in creatine supplements lolol.
yeeck
post May 4 2010, 09:15 PM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ May 4 2010, 08:32 PM)
I had digestive problems during my first month of taking creatine, it was EAS brand.  15mins after consumption, I'd have to rush to the toilet.

It isn't the brand that's the issue, just that some people have low tolerance for this supplement.

I took half a serving(2.5g) instead of the 5g recommended for 3 weeks, and from the forth week onwards I was taking 5g just fine.
To overcome this, you need to make sure your mix a lot of water with your creatine. Also make sure that it is properly mixed and not still clumpy when you consume it. The first sign of stomach discomfort after consuming creatine is to immediately down a few cups of water...
John91
post May 4 2010, 11:46 PM

1,193 posts

Have to drink freakin a lot of water right... I take whey pre wo, and NO, and creatine, then intra workout take bcaa (1 litre plus water), after workout take weight gainer+ whey. I feel so full with water... jelak.
tineagle
post May 5 2010, 12:14 AM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 4 2010, 09:15 PM)
To overcome this, you need to make sure your mix a lot of water with your creatine. Also make sure that it is properly mixed and not still clumpy when you consume it. The first sign of stomach discomfort after consuming creatine is to immediately down a few cups of water...
its not the water, trust me i drink more than enough. 5-6liters a day, 500ml with the 5g creatine alone.
JonYeap
post May 5 2010, 12:21 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

i think different individuals have different response to creatine.

yeeck
post May 5 2010, 11:45 PM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ May 5 2010, 12:14 AM)
its not the water, trust me i drink more than enough. 5-6liters a day, 500ml with the 5g creatine alone.
How much is 500ml? I usually add 1 tablespoon of creatine to my 2 scoops of whey and 1 tablespoon of glucose as post workout, and add water until the shaker is almost full to the brim.

Added on May 5, 2010, 11:46 pm
QUOTE(John91 @ May 4 2010, 11:46 PM)
Have to drink freakin a lot of water right... I take whey pre wo, and NO, and creatine, then intra workout take bcaa (1 litre plus water), after workout take weight gainer+ whey. I feel so full with water... jelak.
Better to feel full of water than to have the feeling of having to s#$% when driving home from gym....

This post has been edited by yeeck: May 5 2010, 11:46 PM
darklight79
post May 6 2010, 12:06 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

You need a lot of water with creatine. And mix sure it dissolves! Else hello tummy upset.
John91
post May 6 2010, 12:25 AM

1,193 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 6 2010, 01:06 AM)
You need a lot of water with creatine. And mix sure it dissolves! Else hello tummy upset.
So THATS why... The UN 100% Micronized Creatine Mono damn hard to dissolve if its not in warm/ hot water. Leceh to make, cuz NO needs cold water.
FirstOne
post May 6 2010, 02:28 AM

168 posts

WTH..The creatine have to be dissolve?? zzzzzz
darklight79
post May 6 2010, 02:32 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(FirstOne @ May 6 2010, 02:28 AM)
WTH..The creatine have to be dissolve?? zzzzzz
Yeah, if there're still a lotta solid particles floating around, you'll be best friends with the toilet seat.
FirstOne
post May 6 2010, 02:49 AM

168 posts

I already stop taking them =.=
I remember last time when I mixed it with whey and glucose + 500ml of water, but it just cant dissolve =S
wildcat90
post May 6 2010, 06:19 AM

273 posts

Lol. We're all talking about creatine and we forgot about amino acids.

I guess creatine stole all the attention.

Yo TS! If you're not taking creatine, I tell you man, you're losing out on the MOST cost effective supplement on the market.

When you first take creatine, your body will gain 4-5kg of weight. Most of it is water weight, but your strength will shoot up and if you train hard enough, you can make those gains permanent.

Check this out. Hope it helps, especially tip #10

http://fabodylous.blogspot.com/2010/05/tru...upplements.html
janson_kaniaz
post May 6 2010, 08:27 AM

6,955 posts

any help with the nausea and dizziness after taking NO?
david890701
post May 6 2010, 08:30 AM

-
3,152 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ May 4 2010, 08:32 PM)
I had digestive problems during my first month of taking creatine, it was EAS brand.  15mins after consumption, I'd have to rush to the toilet.

doesnt appear for me. I'm taking EAS Phosphagen as well
yeeck
post May 6 2010, 09:50 AM

3,578 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ May 6 2010, 08:27 AM)
Hmm..never had that experience with NO. But the best effect is to take it on an empty stomach, at least 2-3 hrs after ur last meal. My veins felt like they were gonna burst out yesterday after all the pulldowns, pullups and bicep curls...and I take NO during workout.
janson_kaniaz
post May 6 2010, 10:01 AM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 6 2010, 09:50 AM)
Hmm..never had that experience with NO. But the best effect is to take it on an empty stomach, at least 2-3 hrs after ur last meal. My veins felt like they were gonna burst out yesterday after all the pulldowns, pullups and bicep curls...and I take NO during workout.
during workout? i tot b4 workout? usually i have it half an hour b4 workout, and b4 i even start, i could feel the dizziness and my head is pounding hard. after some time during workout the effect will b gone.

This post has been edited by janson_kaniaz: May 6 2010, 10:01 AM
John91
post May 6 2010, 10:10 AM

1,193 posts

Different NO works differently for different people. You could adjust your intake time, like take it 10 minutes b4 workout, doesn't really matter, as long as you get the desired effects.
tineagle
post May 6 2010, 11:30 AM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(david890701 @ May 6 2010, 08:30 AM)
doesnt appear for me. I'm taking EAS Phosphagen as well
yeah like I said, its not the brand. It was my tolerance, needed the body to get used to it. perhaps just wasn't used to creatine in my digestive system since i never eat steak, pork(rarely), salmon(rarely) and other food packed with creatine previously.

I've taken EAS, Egonutritions and Generic Brand creatine ever since with zero problems till now.
darklight79
post May 6 2010, 12:39 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(wildcat90 @ May 6 2010, 06:19 AM)
Lol. We're all talking about creatine and we forgot about amino acids.

I guess creatine stole all the attention.

Yo TS! If you're not taking creatine, I tell you man, you're losing out on the MOST cost effective supplement on the market.

When you first take creatine, your body will gain 4-5kg of weight. Most of it is water weight, but your strength will shoot up and if you train hard enough, you can make those gains permanent.

Check this out. Hope it helps, especially tip #10

http://fabodylous.blogspot.com/2010/05/tru...upplements.html
Stop blogwhoring. Notice no one is not paying any attention?
jamis
post May 6 2010, 01:45 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

Creatine cant dissolve? Mix it with warm water. Works freaking well with my UN micronize mono last time.
FirstOne
post May 6 2010, 01:57 PM

168 posts

Hmm, then I guess I need to prepare everything b4 go to the gym
cause there is no warm water in the gym =S
jamis
post May 6 2010, 01:59 PM

3,385 posts

do u drink it post, intra or pre?

Neek
post May 6 2010, 02:02 PM

Stop imagining whats supposed to be here.
1,593 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ May 6 2010, 01:45 PM)
Creatine cant dissolve? Mix it with warm water. Works freaking well with my UN micronize mono last time.
I've been taking it without dissolving.... so far seems ok. no tummy upset when i'm in the gym. hmm.gif
but FF does have a supply of luke warm water/hot tea.
is mixing it with plain sugarless and milkless tea ok?
might make it more effective/faster to absorb altho i dun have the tummy upsets.
jamis
post May 6 2010, 02:11 PM

3,385 posts

QUOTE(Neek @ May 6 2010, 02:02 PM)
I've been taking it without dissolving.... so far seems ok. no tummy upset when i'm in the gym.  hmm.gif
but FF does have a supply of luke warm water/hot tea.
is mixing it with plain sugarless and milkless tea ok?
might make it more effective/faster to absorb altho i dun have the tummy upsets.
There is study showing that caffeine might blunt the effect. However, the cup of green tea or coffee is insufficient to do so. So yeah, it is fine, i took it with sugarless black coffee.
pizzaboy
post May 6 2010, 02:26 PM

9,495 posts

I've read that high temperatures kill off the creatine effects. Just like how liquid creatine doesn't work cuz creatine starts to denature or something the moment it gets in contact with liquid. SO you've gotta drink it fast the moment you get it
jamis
post May 6 2010, 02:41 PM

3,385 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 6 2010, 02:26 PM)
I've read that high temperatures kill off the creatine effects. Just like how liquid creatine doesn't work cuz creatine starts to denature or something the moment it gets in contact with liquid. SO you've gotta drink it fast the moment you get it
Temperature wise i did some reading as well, but cant really find a solid conclusion yet thou hehe but to be safe, use warm water. But yeah, u cant leave ur creatine for too long in liquid.

This post has been edited by jamis: May 6 2010, 02:42 PM
ReonLim83
post May 6 2010, 03:02 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ May 6 2010, 08:27 AM)
some are quite strong, I get headache after working out with NO.

Added on May 6, 2010, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(darklight79 @ May 6 2010, 02:32 AM)
Yeah, if there're still a lotta solid particles floating around, you'll be best friends with the toilet seat.
eh really?
last time when i took creatine i just threw a few scoop of it in my mouth and swollow it with water.
Dint have any tummy probs though.

This post has been edited by ReonLim83: May 6 2010, 03:05 PM
arekey
post May 6 2010, 03:05 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(ReonLim83 @ May 6 2010, 04:02 PM)
some are quite strong, I get headache after working out with NO.

Added on May 6, 2010, 3:05 pm

eh really?
last time when i took creatine i just threw a few scoop of it in my mouth and swollow it with water.
Dint have any tummy probs though.
Decrease the dose.
janson_kaniaz
post May 6 2010, 03:07 PM

6,955 posts

hmm i took the minimum scoop of one scope, if i reduce it dun think it has any effect then.
arekey
post May 6 2010, 03:11 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ May 6 2010, 04:07 PM)
hmm i took the minimum scoop of one scope, if i reduce it dun think it has any effect then.
Try it. then check your tolerance.
ReonLim83
post May 6 2010, 03:21 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(arekey @ May 6 2010, 03:05 PM)
Decrease the dose.
nope
tried it, didnt get really pumped up during workout.
the feel is kinda like HALF WAY THERE, hate that feeling.
i can train better without it then taking some only.

training with NO is crazy, but just the after effect sometimes felt like your body doesnt wanna stop training.

pizzaboy
post May 6 2010, 03:30 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(ReonLim83 @ May 6 2010, 03:21 PM)
nope

training with NO is crazy, but just the after effect sometimes felt like your body doesnt wanna stop training.
Then don't stop?
janson_kaniaz
post May 6 2010, 04:09 PM

6,955 posts

err why do u wanna overtrain?
darklight79
post May 6 2010, 05:11 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(ReonLim83 @ May 6 2010, 03:21 PM)
nope
This is why. Just because you don't get tummy upset doesn't mean the creatine is working for you. Why do you think you're not getting the effect? Why do you think sup companies always stress PURE creatine, mixability, etc.

QUOTE(ReonLim83 @ May 6 2010, 03:02 PM)
eh really?
ReonLim83
post May 6 2010, 05:37 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ May 6 2010, 04:09 PM)
err why do u wanna overtrain?
not why, just the feeeling brooo.
wildcat90
post May 6 2010, 06:00 PM

273 posts

Eh Dr. Wu, I'm trying to contribute la. U can't expect me to copy and paste the whole thing here right?

This post has been edited by Syd G: May 6 2010, 06:12 PM
pedro
post May 6 2010, 06:26 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

QUOTE(wildcat90 @ May 6 2010, 06:00 PM)
Eh Dr. Wu, I'm trying to contribute la. U can't expect me to copy and paste the whole thing here right?
Syd at work!

No,we expect you to summarize it here.
Syd G
post May 6 2010, 06:33 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ May 6 2010, 06:26 PM)
Syd at work!
No,we expect you to summarize it here.
Being annoying is not breaking the rule. Being spammy is.

Btw did anyone buy into the Kre-Alkalyn hype?
tineagle
post May 6 2010, 07:30 PM

The Animal Within
1,276 posts

QUOTE(jamis @ May 6 2010, 02:11 PM)
There is study showing that caffeine might blunt the effect. However, the cup of green tea or coffee is insufficient to do so. So yeah, it is fine, i took it with sugarless black coffee.
I've came across this 'caffeine blunts creatine' statement a handful of times, but then I look at top pre-workout NO boosters like NO XPLODE and Superpump and find a good blend of caffeine and (more than one type) creatine..*shrugs*

QUOTE(Syd G @ May 6 2010, 06:33 PM)
Being annoying is not breaking the rule. Being spammy is.

Btw did anyone buy into the Kre-Alkalyn hype?
nope, but I did get some CEE.

Will get on that next week or so since my creatine mono finished last week.
I wanna get all the creatine mono out of my system first so I can see CEE at work and if its any different(better?).
ReonLim83
post May 6 2010, 08:14 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ May 6 2010, 07:30 PM)
I've came across this 'caffeine blunts creatine' statement a handful of times, but then I look at top pre-workout NO boosters like NO XPLODE and Superpump and find a good blend of caffeine and (more than one type) creatine..*shrugs*

I wanna get all the creatine mono out of my system first so I can see CEE at work and if its any different(better?).
Hah!
I'm getting animal pump in 2 days time, just drop the order.
Hopefully it'll work.

Edited before someone shoots.

I'm not promoting

This post has been edited by ReonLim83: May 6 2010, 08:25 PM
TSfivewinning
post May 6 2010, 08:56 PM

70 posts

what's NO?

i checked on the supplement website. so many types of creatine.which is the best?of course with no side effect as well..
• Creatine • Creatine Capsule • Creatine Diphosphate
• Creatine Ester Orotate • Creatine Ethyl Ester • Creatine Kre-Alkalyn
• Creatine Malate
John91
post May 6 2010, 08:58 PM

1,193 posts

Creatine Mono is cheap and does the job. The others are overpriced. NO is nitric oxide.
jamis
post May 6 2010, 09:27 PM

3,385 posts

QUOTE(tineagle @ May 6 2010, 07:30 PM)

Yeah, but superpump is kind of dodgy, the creatine content volume is 'Patent pending' and some ppl in the bb.com claim it only has less than 1g of creatine perserving lol.

CEE .... i read it from tmuscle, claim to be very acidic and taste bad but do help in creatine digestion.
John91
post May 6 2010, 09:35 PM

1,193 posts

But then again, a lot of people seem to favor Superpump.
zyulander
post May 8 2010, 10:52 PM

471 posts

anyone tried dymatize xpand caplets? contains CEE and in caplet form.
darklight79
post May 9 2010, 01:24 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(zyulander @ May 8 2010, 10:52 PM)
anyone tried dymatize xpand caplets? contains CEE and in caplet form.
Capsules are useless except for fat burners. You pay extra for
the packaging.

This post has been edited by darklight79: May 9 2010, 01:24 AM
zyulander
post May 9 2010, 09:11 AM

471 posts

thats what i thought.its fused with NO somemore.somewhat i kinda doubt the CEE inside might be less than effective does.
4Rings
post May 9 2010, 09:25 AM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

According to studies done by Colgan Institute, creatine is best taken together with whey protein and glucose polymer. It yields better results than creatine alone or creatine + glucose polymer. Take it on post workout only after the loading phase.

0.0230sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:27 AM