2011 Hyundai Avante/Elantra

twincharger07
post Dec 31 2011, 03:53 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(DiamondBar @ Dec 31 2011, 01:40 AM)
I doubt this Hyundai Avante can sell well in Malaysia.
Unless the price and Hyundai service are very fantastic.

I predict the sales volume should not more than 700 units per months...
just slightly better than Kia Forte's monthly sales volume..
with civic dissapointing appearance and more darling attitude of msian towards korean cars, the automobile landscape in msia is changing.... kia forte sales figure is already considered a big break thru....
ivn79
post Dec 31 2011, 06:03 PM

203 posts

LOL... For first time, i rather to see the beautiful looking Elantra than the hot chic next to it! This is awesome and it wil not happen to other car even civic! LOL
FluidicSculpture
post Dec 31 2011, 08:43 PM

Nu Engine Commercial, no GDI no CVVL for Malaysia's spec.

And for the Veloster fans out there

This post has been edited by FluidicSculpture: Dec 31 2011, 08:47 PM
devinz
post Dec 31 2011, 09:48 PM

597 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Dec 31 2011, 08:43 PM)

And for the Veloster fans out there

Arrrggh! Veloster!!!
When is it coming???!

The wait is really miserable.

Someone in Facebook spotted Veloster being transported on a trailer. BUT it's in Brunei though...
sad.gif
ivn79
post Dec 31 2011, 10:06 PM

203 posts

Veloster... another awesome car produced by Hyundai!
DiamondBar
post Jan 1 2012, 12:48 AM

125 posts

QUOTE(Chongkor @ Dec 31 2011, 11:50 AM)
Elantra sure can beat more than 700 units per month, it's nice and will pawn Civic in the market race, anyway i didn't see any forum M'sia  actively discuss about Civic 2012.
I will be happy if Avante can sell more than 700 units per month,
this will teach Japanese car makers and Proton a lesson.

Hopefully Avante prices are competitive, If Avante High spec can sell
below RM 85K, then I believe Avante wants to sell more than 700 units
per month should not be the problem...

kekura
post Jan 1 2012, 02:57 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Chongkor @ Dec 31 2011, 11:50 AM)
Elantra sure can beat more than 700 units per month, it's nice and will pawn Civic in the market race, anyway i didn't see any forum M'sia  actively discuss about Civic 2012.
The Honda CEO admit his mistake on new Honda Civic strategy. They thought the consumers can accept the facts that due to the bad economy in 2008, new car has to be affordable (low cost) hence they stripped off as much feature as possible including the design. That is his big mistake because other car makers (eg. hyundai, ford, chevrolet) were going on the opposite strategy by stuffing in as much values/features as possible and making way of their market without much competition. So now, the CEO wants to re-strategize for improved Civic. He mentioned that the next version of Honda Civic will be carried out sooner as expected, which is in 2013. Because of this, the Civic 2012 buyers are starting to worry their car resale value will drop so much as this 2012 version of civic could be perceived as failed product.

I found this in one of articles in the internet.

Added on January 1, 2012, 3:04 am
QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Dec 30 2011, 08:10 PM)
My friend is brining in HUs, DRLs and bodykits for Elantra smile.gif As for the orange colour, I don't know, Hyundai said there's 7 colours choice for the Elantra and only one remain a mystery, maybe it's the orange? brows.gif
Please ask him to bring rear bumper LED reflector too....

This post has been edited by kekura: Jan 1 2012, 03:04 AM
WheelieWonka
post Jan 1 2012, 10:49 AM

QUOTE(DiamondBar @ Jan 1 2012, 12:48 AM)
I will be happy if Avante can sell more than 700 units per month,
this will teach Japanese car makers and Proton a lesson.

Hopefully Avante prices are competitive, If Avante High spec can sell
below RM 85K, then I believe Avante wants to sell more than 700 units
per month should not be the problem...
Currently Forte sell about 500 - 600 units per month. If SD price Elantra RM90k - RM110k, surely sells will be nowhere close to 700 units. Maybe 300 - 400 only at best. See the current pricing strategy with Sonata, initially sold up to 500 units per month after launching, last couple of months, 100+ units per month only.

I have to admit, the the 2012 is an utter dissapointment, looks like a lousy facelift... equally slammed by the motoring press worldwide for a low quality product.
kekura
post Jan 1 2012, 10:56 AM

322 posts

Sonata less take up on recent months is probably because of limited supply. SA ask me to wait around 4-6 months if i want to book. He said it is difficult to bring more cbu car here with limited AP.
FluidicSculpture
post Jan 1 2012, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(kekura @ Jan 1 2012, 10:56 AM)
Sonata less take up on recent months is probably because of limited supply. SA ask me to wait around 4-6 months if i want to book. He said it is difficult to bring more cbu car here with limited AP.
It more of a case where demand outstrips supply worldwide. There is just isn't enough Hyundais to supply the market.
lunchtime
post Jan 1 2012, 01:58 PM

487 posts

when is the elantra launch date?
DiamondBar
post Jan 1 2012, 02:03 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 1 2012, 01:58 PM)
when is the elantra launch date?
Was told in Jan or Feb 2012..

caddilac
post Jan 1 2012, 10:18 PM

QUOTE(kekura @ Jan 1 2012, 02:57 AM)
The Honda CEO admit his mistake on new Honda Civic strategy. They thought the consumers can accept the facts that due to the bad economy in 2008, new car has to be affordable (low cost) hence they stripped off as much feature as possible including the design. That is his big mistake because other car makers (eg. hyundai, ford, chevrolet) were going on the opposite strategy by stuffing in as much values/features as possible and making way of their market without much competition. So now, the CEO wants to re-strategize for improved Civic. He mentioned that the next version of Honda Civic will be carried out sooner as expected, which is in 2013. Because of this, the Civic 2012 buyers are starting to worry their car resale value will drop so much as this 2012 version of civic could be perceived as failed product.

I found this in one of articles in the internet.

Added on January 1, 2012, 3:04 am

Please ask him to bring rear bumper LED reflector too....

But Honda never drop the price of the new Civic... biggrin.gif
Few more days will get to see the Accord concept, let's see how they play with it... Accord 2.4DI with CVT? laugh.gif
kienu
post Jan 1 2012, 11:34 PM

18 posts

how abt Veloster? bila launch?
cybermaster98
post Jan 2 2012, 12:54 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 1 2012, 11:06 AM)
It more of a case where demand outstrips supply worldwide. There is just isn't enough Hyundais to supply the market.
Demand can be high but this demand cannot sustain. Not many ppl will opt to wait 4-6 months for a new car. If Hyundai/Kia does not improve on their production, these bookings will transfer to other makes. So even if you have high demand now but if it cant translate into actual physical sales, then its back to square one. Remember that if sales are slow and production cannot meet demand, then its a worse case for spare part availability as well. This is where the Japanese excel.

Look at the Kia Optima. Great looking car with good specs but launched in Malaysia more than 1.5 years after the global launch. This means that a facelift is already in the works and could be launched by early 2013 and this facelift will reach Malaysia much faster than the original car since America has already started its own production lines.

Now what is that gonna do to those who opt to buy the Optima now? The same predicament the owners of the 1st gen Forte & Peugeot 308 are experiencing. The facelifts for each arrived quite fast. Despite its higher price, the change in auto transmission to 6 speed was a big difference and this will be felt in the resale value. Not sure what kind of changes the facelifted Optima will have but if its anything major, then current owners will feel the pinch.
FluidicSculpture
post Jan 2 2012, 09:17 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 2 2012, 12:54 AM)
Demand can be high but this demand cannot sustain. Not many ppl will opt to wait 4-6 months for a new car. If Hyundai/Kia does not improve on their production, these bookings will transfer to other makes. So even if you have high demand now but if it cant translate into actual physical sales, then its back to square one. Remember that if sales are slow and production cannot meet demand, then its a worse case for spare part availability as well. This is where the Japanese excel.
Assembly plants and production lines of Hyundai are running at three shift globally(3x8 hours), Hyundai themselves are still expanding their production capacity but unfortunately demand is still outstripping supply. It is easy for you to just say 'Open more factories, build more assembly plants', but in the current time of economy uncertainty, expanding too fast and producing too much vehicle is tying a noose around your neck while praying the execution lever malfunctions. It only took one recession to force Korea's oldest car manufacturer into bankruptcy, and also the world biggest car manufacturer into the same situation.

You seems to be talking like you're working with Hyundai to even conclude spare parts availability is dire in Hyundai, maybe cause you haven't visit the spare part warehouse in Glenmarie? Bear in mind too, Hyundai's hot models now are CBU, uncommon spare parts takes time to be sent from Korea.

Talk is cheap, unless you're the boss of some car company, you do not understand the situation HMC is in. It's ridiculous to expect Hyundai Sime Darby Motors to achieve in 3 years what Honda/Toyota achieved in 20 years, 5 years is a more optimistic target.

This post has been edited by FluidicSculpture: Jan 2 2012, 09:51 AM
vong
post Jan 2 2012, 11:42 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 2 2012, 09:17 AM)
Assembly plants and production lines of Hyundai are running at three shift globally(3x8 hours), Hyundai themselves are still expanding their production capacity but unfortunately demand is still outstripping supply. It is easy for you to just say 'Open more factories, build more assembly plants', but in the current time of economy uncertainty, expanding too fast and producing too much vehicle is tying a noose around your neck while praying the execution lever malfunctions. It only took one recession to force Korea's oldest car manufacturer into bankruptcy, and also the world biggest car manufacturer into the same situation.

You seems to be talking like you're working with Hyundai to even conclude spare parts availability is dire in Hyundai, maybe cause you haven't visit the spare part warehouse in Glenmarie? Bear in mind too, Hyundai's hot models now are CBU, uncommon spare parts takes time to be sent from Korea.

Talk is cheap, unless you're the boss of some car company, you do not understand the situation HMC is in. It's ridiculous to expect Hyundai Sime Darby Motors to achieve in 3 years what Honda/Toyota achieved in 20 years, 5 years is a more optimistic target.
thumbup.gif *like*
caddilac
post Jan 2 2012, 12:31 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 2 2012, 12:54 AM)

Look at the Kia Optima. Great looking car with good specs but launched in Malaysia more than 1.5 years after the global launch. This means that a facelift is already in the works and could be launched by early 2013 and this facelift will reach Malaysia much faster than the original car since America has already started its own production lines.

Now what is that gonna do to those who opt to buy the Optima now? The same predicament the owners of the 1st gen Forte & Peugeot 308 are experiencing. The facelifts for each arrived quite fast. Despite its higher price, the change in auto transmission to 6 speed was a big difference and this will be felt in the resale value. Not sure what kind of changes the facelifted Optima will have but if its anything major, then current owners will feel the pinch.
One of the main reason is that Hyundai is putting their focus in bigger market. Asia Pacific (exclude India and China) is their smallest market in terms of the worldwide sales of Hyundai and Kia. This year they will open a third plant in China and their first in Brazil and no other site is being planned. So maybe you can expect the same problem for the next 3 years. But i think that our distributor got some problem as well because they are too slow in bringing in the new models compared to our neighbour such as Singapore.
By the way, the facelifted Sonata will be unveiled by the end of this year. New Santa Fe a.k.a. ix45 and i20 facelift will be unveiled in Geneva show 2012. Veloster turbo will be unveiled next week at Detroit 2012 and a new MPV concept called HND7 will be out in few days time in the AutoExpo Delhi 2012 and also another model which is likely to be called i15 by the end of this year (a model dedicated to Brazil). Looking forward to those new models!
PS: All-New Forte may be out in a year time!

This post has been edited by caddilac: Jan 2 2012, 12:38 PM
rahtid
post Jan 2 2012, 02:07 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(caddilac @ Jan 2 2012, 12:31 PM)
One of the main reason is that Hyundai is putting their focus in bigger market. Asia Pacific (exclude India and China) is their smallest market in terms of the worldwide sales of Hyundai and Kia. This year they will open a third plant in China and their first in Brazil and no other site is being planned. So maybe you can expect the same problem for the next 3 years. But i think that our distributor got some problem as well because they are too slow in bringing in the new models compared to our neighbour such as Singapore.
By the way, the facelifted Sonata will be unveiled by the end of this year. New Santa Fe a.k.a. ix45 and i20 facelift will be unveiled in Geneva show 2012. Veloster turbo will be unveiled next week at Detroit 2012 and a new MPV concept called HND7 will be out in few days time in the AutoExpo Delhi 2012 and also another model which is likely to be called i15 by the end of this year (a model dedicated to Brazil). Looking forward to those new models!
PS: All-New Forte may be out in a year time!
a source to support caddilac ! cool2.gif

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/busines...growth-in-2012/
raptorclans
post Jan 2 2012, 02:47 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Dec 30 2011, 09:46 PM)
The aftermarket GPS HUs my friend is bringing in are for those that opt'ed for the 1.6 variant.
wow you mean those wif 1.6 will be able to fit in these HUs? do they look like the ones in the 1.8 variant? rclxms.gif

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Dec 31 2011, 08:43 PM)
oh no.... then what spec engine are we getting leh? sad.gif

128 Pages « < 125 126 127 128 >Top

0.0324sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:34 AM