2011 Hyundai Avante/Elantra

tunasandwich
post Jan 2 2012, 04:25 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(raptorclans @ Jan 2 2012, 02:47 PM)
wow you mean those wif 1.6 will be able to fit in these HUs? do they look like the ones in the 1.8 variant?  rclxms.gif
oh no.... then what spec engine are we getting leh? sad.gif
means the 1.8 version in malaysia doesnt come with cvvl or elsewhere doesn't have it too?
cybermaster98
post Jan 2 2012, 05:40 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 2 2012, 09:17 AM)
Assembly plants and production lines of Hyundai are running at three shift globally(3x8 hours), Hyundai themselves are still expanding their production capacity but unfortunately demand is still outstripping supply. It is easy for you to just say 'Open more factories, build more assembly plants', but in the current time of economy uncertainty, expanding too fast and producing too much vehicle is tying a noose around your neck while praying the execution lever malfunctions. It only took one recession to force Korea's oldest car manufacturer into bankruptcy, and also the world biggest car manufacturer into the same situation.

You seems to be talking like you're working with Hyundai to even conclude spare parts availability is dire in Hyundai, maybe cause you haven't visit the spare part warehouse in Glenmarie? Bear in mind too, Hyundai's hot models now are CBU, uncommon spare parts takes time to be sent from Korea.

Talk is cheap, unless you're the boss of some car company, you do not understand the situation HMC is in. It's ridiculous to expect Hyundai Sime Darby Motors to achieve in 3 years what Honda/Toyota achieved in 20 years, 5 years is a more optimistic target.
Read my earlier response again. All im saying is that its pointless saying 'demand outstrips supply' over n over again and using that to justify lower sales. That was the excuse in 2010 when the Sonata was launched and its still the same excuse in 2012. Global economic uncertanity wont disappear overnight. Im quite sure its gonna be here even in 2013. So does that mean Hyundai is gonna sit back with limited processing plants as you said just cuz they fear an economic downturn?

Yes i dont expect the Koreans to improve immediately and ive clearly mentioned this in earlier posts. So if Hyundai cannot supply cars fast enough or expand fast enough then their current sales are as what it is. Dont bother justifying it by that demand supply scenario.

Wat do you define as an 'uncommon' spare part? Dont forget that i have a Korean make in my house as well and despite having a warehouse stocked full of spares in Glenmarie, it took them 1 day to get simple brake pads. Took even longer to get the brake disk. Are these not common spares as well? Dont tell me they had to order brake pads /disks from Korea only when i asked for them? Whats the point having a huge warehouse when your procurement & supply system is in shambles and spares cant reach the individual service centres in time?

Dont get me wrong in all of this. I am in support of the Koreans as i think the Japns need a strong competitor. Although the Koreans are improving but that improvement needs to be in all areas not just in design and specs alone. To compete with the Japs you need to focus on areas which consumers in Asia find important. Specs, build quality, after sales service, spare part availability, resale value, etc are all important areas to an Asian consumer especially. Focusing on just 2-3 areas while negletting the others will not ensure much swing in new buyers.

The Koreans have now got their design and specs right so isnt this the time to focus on production and availability of spares?
caddilac
post Jan 2 2012, 08:13 PM

QUOTE(tunasandwich @ Jan 2 2012, 04:25 PM)
means the 1.8 version in malaysia doesnt come with cvvl or elsewhere doesn't have it too?
The Nu CVVL engine currently only available in the Europe spec Kia Optima and the production of Nu CVVL is not started yet... Our Elantra 1.8 will be using the same engine as found in US which is the Dual CVVT version.

Added on January 2, 2012, 8:18 pm
QUOTE(raptorclans @ Jan 2 2012, 02:47 PM)
wow you mean those wif 1.6 will be able to fit in these HUs? do they look like the ones in the 1.8 variant?  rclxms.gif
oh no.... then what spec engine are we getting leh? sad.gif
Currently there are 4 versions of Nu engine. 1.8Dual CVVT is used on Elantra, 2.0 Dual CVVT is used on 2012 Kia Soul and Kia Sportage in China, 2.0 Nu GDi is used on i40 while 2.0 Nu CVVL can be found in the Europe spec Optima but not yet on sale. So maybe we can expect the Sonata, Tucson, Sportage and optima to get the 2.0 Nu Dual CVVT engine and replace the 2.0 Theta II engine as the Sportage in China just received the revision 2 months ago.
Torque is 2Nm more than the Theta II while fuel consumption is 6% lower

This post has been edited by caddilac: Jan 2 2012, 08:21 PM
FluidicSculpture
post Jan 2 2012, 10:04 PM

oh no.... then what spec engine are we getting leh?

Normal MPI engine with Dual CVVT, Nu engine design is the same, minute the GDI and CVVL system.

By the way I think it's time for V2, since thread is over 2500 post. smile.gif

This post has been edited by FluidicSculpture: Jan 2 2012, 10:12 PM
raptorclans
post Jan 2 2012, 10:26 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 2 2012, 10:04 PM)
Normal MPI engine with Dual CVVT, Nu engine design is the same, minute the GDI and CVVL system.
aww shucks... was reading bout the GDI engine and got excited sad.gif
FluidicSculpture
post Jan 2 2012, 10:28 PM

QUOTE(raptorclans @ Jan 2 2012, 10:26 PM)
aww shucks... was reading bout the GDI engine and got excited sad.gif
Welcome to the bands of disappointed brothers. laugh.gif

The only reason they gave us is our fuel quality is not up to par for GDI engines but I think cost is also a big factor.
raptorclans
post Jan 2 2012, 10:35 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(FluidicSculpture @ Jan 2 2012, 10:28 PM)
Welcome to the bands of disappointed brothers. laugh.gif

The only reason they gave us is our fuel quality is not up to par for GDI engines but I think cost is also a big factor.
but is the engine we're getting any good? fuel consumption and power-wise?
sad or not sad, still gonna wait since already made booking... *hopeful*
FluidicSculpture
post Jan 2 2012, 10:45 PM

QUOTE(raptorclans @ Jan 2 2012, 10:35 PM)
but is the engine we're getting any good? fuel consumption and power-wise?
sad or not sad, still gonna wait since already made booking... *hopeful*
I am optimistic fuel consumption will be good. I'll test drive the car myself when it launches, see how low the FC can go.

Anyway, time for V2 smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2174173

0.0173sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:30 AM