125 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, v3

amduser
post Aug 7 2011, 01:59 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Aug 7 2011, 12:46 AM)

Yea, you should pay RayLoke a visit at ICW. I went there today and I got a lot of tips and tricks from him, thxs Ray.

I also spent almost RM100 just to get the most basic modelling tools which would last me quite a while.
i also went there today around 2pm, got lost in those kampung road doh.gif

today so many people there, i saw someone call someone else "Raymond" so i think i know who is RayLoke la tongue.gif

spent around RM65 for the enamel paint, a lot of nice gunpla there drool.gif
General_Nic
post Aug 7 2011, 09:34 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

found a very cheap replacement panel line gundam marker GM63(the water based 1) thumbup.gif

bought from Daiso, RM5 for 2 markers, works the same as the Gundam Marker thumbup.gif
kumanosuke
post Aug 7 2011, 10:48 PM

717 posts

what is the size of the tip ? pics with reference to another object, plzz

This post has been edited by kumanosuke: Aug 7 2011, 10:49 PM
nazrul90
post Aug 7 2011, 11:48 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 7 2011, 09:34 PM)
found a very cheap replacement panel line gundam marker GM63(the water based 1)  thumbup.gif

bought from Daiso, RM5 for 2 markers, works the same as the Gundam Marker  thumbup.gif
wow, good bargain

so far i only found Artline 0.2
not test it yet tongue.gif
General_Nic
post Aug 8 2011, 08:09 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Aug 7 2011, 10:48 PM)
what is the size of the tip ? pics with reference to another object, plzz
0.8mm. u mean pics of size reference?

btw, any1 know which brand spray paint got chrome like gold plating colour?
i tried so many n all gave the metallic gold finish :swt:
i want effect like Akatsuki gold sad.gif
amduser
post Aug 8 2011, 08:42 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Aug 8 2011, 08:09 AM)
0.8mm. u mean pics of size reference?
btw, any1 know which brand spray paint got chrome like gold plating colour?
i tried so many n all gave the metallic gold finish :swt:
i want effect like Akatsuki gold sad.gif
wow....akatsuki gold is really hard, but isn't that one more like chrome gold finished?

wanna do it do SF ka? brows.gif
General_Nic
post Aug 8 2011, 08:55 AM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 8 2011, 08:42 AM)
wow....akatsuki gold is really hard, but isn't that one more like chrome gold finished?

wanna do it do SF ka? brows.gif
ya, want chrome gold for SF tongue.gif
rayloke
post Aug 9 2011, 12:32 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 5 2011, 05:54 PM)
what is space camo?

space camo:normally in gunpla, duo tone color camo, consist of straight lines.

example:
http://matome.naver.jp/odai/21270084657258...008893626040503

Ha, bro, u should have called me when u were there. Btw, there'r 2 raymond around there that day. the other Raymond is the one won last year Bakwc with his 4 leg unicorn vs Khsatria.

This post has been edited by rayloke: Aug 10 2011, 01:47 AM
shauno
post Aug 9 2011, 12:59 PM

249 posts

4 leg unicorn la ah-pek!

btw, whenever i paint enamel, why does it feel quick sticky? does anyone have the same problem as me? is it cos the paint hasn't cured yet?
nazrul90
post Aug 11 2011, 01:38 AM

302 posts

do Zippo fluid good for washing lacquer paint? so far i know Zippo fluid good for enamel paint

and between Zippo and China fluid made which one are better?
i saw huge different price for both (RM5.50 vs RM1.50
wonder if quality are same

amduser
post Aug 11 2011, 02:03 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Aug 9 2011, 12:32 PM)
space camo:normally in gunpla, duo tone color camo, consist of straight lines.

example:

Ha, bro, u should have called me when u were there. Btw, there'r 2 raymond around there that day. the other Raymond is the one won last year Bakwc with his 4 leg unicorn vs Khsatria.
i see......

the 4 leg unicorn is awesome, i keep staring at it for like a minute before i start to move again

i'm too shy to call anyone la, everyone so busy there, dont want to disturb you all having fun with all the sticky stuff tongue.gif
shauno
post Aug 11 2011, 08:46 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Aug 11 2011, 01:38 AM)
do Zippo fluid good for washing lacquer paint? so far i know Zippo fluid good for enamel paint

and between Zippo and China fluid made which one are better?
i saw huge different price for both (RM5.50 vs RM1.50
wonder if quality are same
urm.. Zippo fluid won't work on lacquer paint mate. that's why people use it for enamel wash. because it attacks enamel paint, but not lacquer paint.

also, i think its very ill advised to go china brand. if you take and burn, maybe no difference, but if you take for modelling, better to stick to zippo brand. i mean, difference only rm4 mah..
Jetpeh
post Aug 11 2011, 11:19 AM

Hi Guys,

I am installing some metal thrusters on my kit. Normally do you all spray the metal parts as I saw some of the thruster at the end has some gold or red shading.

Anyone who has done it please do comment

nazrul90
post Aug 11 2011, 02:29 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(shauno @ Aug 11 2011, 08:46 AM)
urm.. Zippo fluid won't work on lacquer paint mate. that's why people use it for enamel wash. because it attacks enamel paint, but not lacquer paint.

also, i think its very ill advised to go china brand. if you take and burn, maybe no difference, but if you take for modelling, better to stick to zippo brand. i mean, difference only rm4 mah..
issit? then lucky i dont buy it yet.. thanks for helping!
rayloke
post Aug 11 2011, 05:52 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Jetpeh @ Aug 11 2011, 11:19 AM)
Hi Guys,

I am installing some metal thrusters on my kit. Normally do you all spray the metal parts as I saw some of the thruster at the end has some gold or red shading.

Anyone who has done it please do comment

Some metal thrusters comes with colors, mostly is red color.

If yours do not, or u intend to have other color, eg blue, yes, u gotta paint it, with clear paint.

if u find the paint having problem sticking onto the metal, prime the thruster with metal primer. Metal primer is a transparent liquid so it wont disturb the metal shine of the metal thruster.
dfcloud
post Aug 11 2011, 08:31 PM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

dunno if this have been posted before, but for those who cant find the pop sickle stick for elcheapo sanding stick in a nearby shop,
you can try pharmacy. i just told the pharmacist there i want the stick that doc used to check for sore throat laugh.gif
not sure this is considered cheap or not hmm.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:37 pmbtw if i use UHU to glue the sand paper to the stick, will it come off when use for wet sanding?

This post has been edited by dfcloud: Aug 11 2011, 08:37 PM
Jetpeh
post Aug 11 2011, 09:51 PM

QUOTE(rayloke @ Aug 11 2011, 05:52 PM)
Some metal thrusters comes with colors, mostly is red color.

If yours do not, or u intend to have other color, eg blue, yes, u gotta paint it, with clear paint.

if u find the paint having problem sticking onto the metal, prime the thruster with metal primer. Metal primer is a transparent liquid so it wont disturb the metal shine of the metal thruster.
Thanks Rayloke,

I am actually not using the ready made thrusters which are already coloured. As it is already metal thought of spraying just the end of it with the clear yellow or blue to have the burnt effect, but as I am only spraying the end not sure if it will turn out with a line where it is not sprayed....guess will have to try it out....

As always thanks for the assist Rayloke.

Added on August 11, 2011, 9:53 pm
QUOTE(dfcloud @ Aug 11 2011, 08:31 PM)
dunno if this have been posted before, but for those who cant find the pop sickle stick for elcheapo sanding stick in a nearby shop,
you can try pharmacy. i just told the pharmacist there i want the stick that doc used to check for sore throat laugh.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:37 pmbtw if i use UHU to glue the sand paper to the stick, will it come off when use for wet sanding?
I normally use the coffee stick stirrers from Ikea's cafeteria..

This post has been edited by Jetpeh: Aug 11 2011, 09:53 PM
rayloke
post Aug 11 2011, 11:48 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(dfcloud @ Aug 11 2011, 08:31 PM)

Yes, this is good, my opinion, even better than using ice cream stick which is more narrow. Good tips!

QUOTE(Jetpeh @ Aug 11 2011, 09:51 PM)
Thanks Rayloke,

I am actually not using the ready made thrusters which are already coloured. As it is already metal thought of spraying just the end of it with the clear yellow or blue to have the burnt effect, but as I am only spraying the end not sure if it will turn out with a line where it is not sprayed....guess will have to try it out....

As always thanks for the assist Rayloke.

Added on August 11, 2011, 9:53 pm
I normally use the coffee stick stirrers from Ikea's cafeteria..
after try, do share with us biggrin.gif

i think no need to worry that much, if u thin the clear color well, u will see actually it's very transparent. So basically u need to slowly spray quite a number of layers before it become very visible. This means u have a lot of time to spray, check, n spray until the effect u like. it's pretty safe process actually.

Probably the only dangerous thing in this is, when u almost cant see anything after the 1~2 layers, got impatient n spray with high volume of paint; which result in tearing of the paint. Just spray thin layer by layer, u can eliminate this.
dfcloud
post Aug 11 2011, 11:57 PM

(屮ʘДʘ)屮
719 posts

QUOTE(rayloke @ Aug 11 2011, 11:48 PM)
Yes, this is good, my opinion, even better than using ice cream stick which is more narrow. Good tips!

but after soaking it in a water for some time, the stick will bend.
not much a problem i guess. hmm.gif

General_Nic
post Aug 12 2011, 12:07 AM

3,508 posts

use sanding sticks(hard sticks with sanding surface) best thumbup.gif
if cant find it, can use those for manicure ones instead tongue.gif

or else jz wrap around a metal ruler laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top