Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V39!, The Orange Legion

vikingw2k
post May 3 2010, 08:09 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ May 3 2010, 08:01 PM)
I have not tried the 35mm F1.4G nor the Sigma 50mm F1.4 HSM. But reading from Dyxum lens review, my perception is that 35mm F1.4G is not as you say "not worth it at all".
At this time, my preference is still 35mm F1.4G + A700 over Sigma 50mm F1.4 HSM + A850.  smile.gif (although I know I maybe wrong  whistling.gif )
I tried to ask my friend to send me some of the 35G shots but he's not online now, anyway since 35G is well known for its horrible sharpness, it's not hard to find samples and reviews and you can actually read more here smile.gif
myjunk
post May 3 2010, 08:10 PM

3,446 posts

ier : I wait the day you change your tune. There will come a day when you will say that it's the gear that's limiting you. eg: Entry level A200 or 1000D canon, high ISO is bad and all that. Then you want to upgrade cos by that time, it'll be the gear.

200mm F4 vs 50mm 1.4? the thing different between these is how the tele will compress the image. May not get you the flattering effect on the person's face for instance.

Again, all these depends on your usage and what you want to shoot.

Time... time will tell the difference. I'll just stand back and let you convince yourself otherwise.

I was there once.
vikingw2k
post May 3 2010, 08:10 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 08:00 PM)
neo_lam : No idea how the Siggy beats the 35mm la. But when I used the 35G i was like, this ain't a "G" lens! But when I used the Sigma 50mm f1.4 HSM. I was just lovestruck. XD
At least you are honest and not G-sided.
Banzai_san
post May 3 2010, 08:11 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ May 3 2010, 08:01 PM)
I have not tried the 35mm F1.4G nor the Sigma 50mm F1.4 HSM. But reading from Dyxum lens review, my perception is that 35mm F1.4G is not as you say "not worth it at all".
At this time, my preference is still 35mm F1.4G + A700 over Sigma 50mm F1.4 HSM + A850.  smile.gif (although I know I maybe wrong  whistling.gif )

fancy me quoting myself... tongue.gif

Ok, I've read the reviews of both the 35mmG and Sigma 50F1.4 HSM.
I think the Sigma 50F1.4 HSM is a better lens from F2 and brighter and beats the Sony 35mmG at that aperture range.
Value for money wise, I also think that the Sigma 50 F1.4 HSM beats the Sony 35mm G hands down. I think the 35mm G is priced too high (and as Moo bro mention "not worth it at all" ... for me, at its currect price, may not worth that much.

I stand corrected.

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: May 3 2010, 08:13 PM
Kul | Mo0
post May 3 2010, 08:18 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

The legendary kitlens the best la! Can do wonders!
zstan
post May 3 2010, 08:25 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 08:18 PM)
The legendary kitlens the best la! Can do wonders!
YEA! kit lens rocks!!!! drool.gif
Banzai_san
post May 3 2010, 08:34 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ May 3 2010, 08:25 PM)
YEA! kit lens rocks!!!! drool.gif

+1
however, when I bought my A550, it came with 1680Z kit lens... biggrin.gif
zstan
post May 3 2010, 08:53 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ May 3 2010, 08:34 PM)
+1
however, when I bought my A550, it came with 1680Z kit lens...  biggrin.gif
THAT'S NOT a kit lens!!!!!
lwliam
post May 3 2010, 09:07 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

THIS is a KITty lens

source: Google
freddy manson
post May 3 2010, 09:21 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

william, is that lens for sale? link me to the WTS thread hahaha flex.gif
yeah, ofcourse kitlens is the best..

flex.gif hooorah!
destfull
post May 3 2010, 09:43 PM

Brain for Creativity
1,063 posts

where is a7XX?... tik tok tik tok... -___-
fansoption
post May 3 2010, 09:48 PM

3,065 posts

nice
wingster
post May 3 2010, 10:00 PM

mr.Uiinshiida.
1,418 posts

QUOTE(destfull @ May 3 2010, 09:43 PM)
where is a7XX?... tik tok tik tok... -___-
still unknown .... so probably need to wait for a few months tongue.gif
kev da man
post May 3 2010, 10:21 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

not all G lenses are great la... laugh.gif
Braynumb
post May 3 2010, 10:41 PM

Yea, Still Broke
1,409 posts

QUOTE(hazril @ May 3 2010, 04:26 PM)
when u master using a prime,a zoom lens is much more easier to use as u got used to a certain focal length already....thats my POV...
ya lo... after practice using a prime lens, zoom lens should be a piece of cake already... and usually, by that time, framing and composing would be so much easier...

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 04:29 PM)
RM 40~RM50 for a used Phottix battery worth it?
Depend also Mo0... how long the previous owner used it already... also depends on how he charges it... but brand new phottix battery also not much difference in price from that wo...

QUOTE(shootkk @ May 3 2010, 04:29 PM)

all and all, I'd just have to say that it's depends on personal preference... For me, I'd use Zoom... roughly the Tamron 17-50mm since I'm using APS-C... BEST lens so far for me... and especially for the price... will get one with a Tamron 28-75mm f2.8 also sometime soon... great for weddings and any events!

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 05:16 PM)
My Sony strap can kill me when I hang my a700 + VG + 70200. So planning to get a Blackrapid R-strap. Got an offer for Rm110. Worth it?
Waaaaa... shopping mode again Mo0?? steady wooo...

QUOTE(clivengu @ May 3 2010, 05:32 PM)
Why u wanna sell ur bag?  laugh.gif funding for other things?  laugh.gif
Mo0 is always on a shopping spree...

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 05:36 PM)
hazril : Should be the most basic RS-4 only la.

clivengu : Thought of upgrading bag lo.
what you planning on getting?? Flipside 400??

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ May 3 2010, 05:45 PM)
I'll take A850 + Siggy 50mm f1.4 HSM anytime. It's ff yo and  the A700 is already like ancient body waiting to be replaced.
It IS getting replaced! biggrin.gif I'd get the same too...

QUOTE(zstan @ May 3 2010, 07:08 PM)
hmmm..i have seen some pros carrying two bodies at a same time..one telephoto and one prime lens...is that a good idea too?

Added on May 3, 2010, 7:09 pm

my matin strap works perfectly good for me.rm50 nia..maybe cheaper..
Again i'll state that it's purely user preference... If you don't mind carrying the weight of 2 bodies, why not? I would MIND... moving around for shots during events while carrying 2 bodies with zoom and prime lenses, not to mention flash is troublesome for me...
kev da man
post May 3 2010, 10:47 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

carrying two alphas during last PC fair damn nice. one for closeups with models, using my 50mm then the other one with the 1635 for group and booth shots BESTTTT thumbup.gif
ieR
post May 3 2010, 11:03 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

clivengu: i mentioned on top, that zuiko is olympus system's lens. it has 2.0x crop factor, means the DOF also 2stop more... hence, the result out from that F2 lens is = FF at F4. the only benefit from that lens is the shutter gain from the bright lens.

vikingw2k, moo, banzai: i tested the KM 35G (not sony coating), its rather, hard to use, coz, u dont really understand why cant u get sharp picture. also, FYI, 35mm on crop @ F1.4 has better DOF then 50mm F1.4 on FF. hence, theoretically, its easier to get a good focus photo then 50 F1.4's shallow dof. so, practically, 35mm is a better 'range' to use then 50mm, but if u were a pixel peeper, 50mm F1.4 "Sigma" definitely wins ur heart

myjunk: dear myjunk, i think u get offended right to the heart, why? my gear HAD already limiting of what i can shoot, but it Does Not stop me from pushing it (as a lot of people knows here...) and i still pushes it harder and ppl seen my works on the limit wink.gif and close friend knows what is my next haul... i mean, how do u define limiting u? ur body has not even combo-ed with all the available(ok i was harsh) with at least 5 lens and break the limit of the body WITH the LENS? aside iso, u are like telling, the new body has 5fps, the old body has 3fps, time to upgrade @.@ or the 3fps is limiting u. i dont think iso is even a limitation~ to me, its a weakness, and weakness means challenges for u to find ways to overcome it!(which improves the shooting skill) upgrading is not the answer, because it does not improve the skill.

200F4 vs 50 F1.4: i said this, because i afraid people will argue with me when i said 50F1.4 for shuttlespeed improvement(which can be compensate by iso on high end bodies or ur case, canon bodies) into a bokeh debate, hence i pin point the bokeh-ness of 200mm if far nicer(softer creamy bokeh) then 50mm (harsh sharp bokeh). maybe my example of 200 is a little too over the line, perhaps i say a 135mm F2 is even better then 50mm at F1.4, do u agree? flattering effect? i tot that is user's problem? not camera or lenses. waittttt... i hope u dont rejudge this topic into other issue, as i am on 'bokeh' issue only.

if it's a really experienced photographer, the first thing they going to fire back at me bout the 200mm is the shake vs 50mm.... 200 shake more violently compare to handheld 50mm, that definately the strength of why a 50mm is better at low light/natural light~ but u still lose out on nicer bokeh. again, it depend what people really wan out of the photo and situation they are in (small room, big hall etc)

i dont have to convince myself. coz i been using those gears i mentioned all the while. i know what i am talking about, and i overcome the weakness of each lenses.

Banzai_san: when u talk about the 35mm and 50mm comparison, seriously, when u buys it, its about what u need, not which is better... summore u cant directly compare a 35 with 50... u should taken a 50 vs 50 and 35 vs 35..., what if a person pops up with the question, 35G vs sigma50F1.4 vs 85F1.4Z vs 135F1.8Z? LOL

QUOTE(kev da man @ May 3 2010, 10:21 PM)
not all G lenses are great la... laugh.gif
+100....

for example, the sony 70-200G is a 9 year old design... (or was it 7?) and its pretty soft at 70 and 200 end compare to newer sigma and tamron.

Added on May 3, 2010, 11:05 pmcarry 2 bodies, i did that once... and on wedding coz i was solo (partner sick) and i can say, morning u can shoot a lot, once night come, i rather pass the wedding money to other photographer to shoot... that day onwards, i never carry 2 bodies if i shoot a whole day.

event (2-5 hours) still bearable... wedding(morning and night session) = dead wish....

This post has been edited by ieR: May 3 2010, 11:05 PM
zstan
post May 3 2010, 11:20 PM

15,856 posts

@braynumb
aiyo..get both f2.8 lens and nikon d3 then dun need use flash already..iso can spam gao gao..wondering whether we can spam iso on alpha models..=/

@kev da man
syok lea!!!! HAHA

@ier
OMG. whole day? sorry la..should specify..few hours can la...can join iron man competition already if can tahan whole day flex.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: May 3 2010, 11:24 PM
Kul | Mo0
post May 3 2010, 11:24 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

zstan : What a term. Spam ISO. LOL. f2.8 cant help much on low light also la. At least a f1.8.
porkchop
post May 3 2010, 11:33 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

wanna ask what is the sign that i need to send a lens for cleaning or service?? erm jsut got a second hand wan....but duno if should send..

125 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:51 PM