shootkk
post May 3 2010, 04:29 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(Braynumb @ May 3 2010, 04:00 PM)

Imagine yourself as journalism/event/fashion photographer, during and event or shooting for a story, they don't have the time or liberty to change lens every few moment coz every shot is precious to them coz it's their bread and butter. That's why fixed aperture zoom lens is their choice of lens.

Ah, yes! I do agree that fixed aperture zooms have their uses and is convenient but only if the photog has understood that he needs to make an image work and not see if there's a working image in the scene.

I highly doubt that experienced field journalism photogs shoots the same way most of us shoot with a zoom. I highly doubt they zoom in and out to see what pic will appear. They would have looked at a scene and have already decided on an approximate focal length and what kind of pic he would like to make out of the scene playing out in front of him . He/she would then move into such a position as to give them as close an image as possible as the one they had in their mind.

If a zoom lens can make or break an image, then how in the world did photogs get their pics back when zoom lenses did not even exists?

I myself have found that shooting a wedding with a prime, forces you to think out of the box at times. Like during a tea ceremony in a chinese wedding. If you had a wide angle zoom, wouldn't you be tempted to take most of your shots to include the one serving the tea and the one being served? Most probable result is either party at opposite sides on the frame and the cup in the middle approximately, no?

If you are limited to using just a 50mm, you cannot possibly fit in all the people in one shot. So you have to decide, to catch the one serving or the one being served? And from which angle? Over the shoulder of the one serving or what? Or just plain focus on the hands and cup itself while throwing the smiling faces in the background into a bokeh?

I find that this results in shots that are more varied and to some extend, much more personal. You constantly move and think as you shoot as opposed to rooting yourself in a convenient spot and turn the zoom ring. Don't you agree?
Kul | Mo0
post May 3 2010, 05:16 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

My Sony strap can kill me when I hang my a700 + VG + 70200. So planning to get a Blackrapid R-strap. Got an offer for Rm110. Worth it? (:
kev da man
post May 3 2010, 05:17 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 05:16 PM)
My Sony strap can kill me when I hang my a700 + VG + 70200. So planning to get a Blackrapid R-strap. Got an offer for Rm110. Worth it? (:
woah, you sure that price can get you an R-strap? that's like 50% off!
Kul | Mo0
post May 3 2010, 05:17 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

Used la. XD
kev da man
post May 3 2010, 05:18 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 05:17 PM)
Used la. XD
ceh, of course lah worth it LOL
Kul | Mo0
post May 3 2010, 05:20 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

LOL. But I scared won't get used to it as it's different from normal straps. XD
hazril
post May 3 2010, 05:30 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 05:20 PM)
LOL. But I scared won't get used to it as it's different from normal straps. XD
for that kind of price worth trying moo...if not suitable,i'll be 1st in line to buy from u.... biggrin.gif

from where u got the offer...???which version is it....???
clivengu
post May 3 2010, 05:32 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 12:06 PM)
Aiseh! Cepat kerja kuat kuat. So dapat more gaji buy from me faster! XD
Why u wanna sell ur bag? laugh.gif funding for other things? laugh.gif

QUOTE(shootkk @ May 3 2010, 12:11 PM)
In an effort to make the thread more photography related without yakking about hauls and wishlists and going OT, I have a topic up for debate. Hope you guys can put in your 2 cents worth...  biggrin.gif
Taking an image or making an image?
Nowadays, zoom lenses are all the rage. No photography forums lack any mention about lenses like the 24-70 f2.8 or the 70-200 f2.8 lenses. Then there's the 16-35mm or the 11-18mm.

There's nothing wrong with these lenses of course but I feel that zooms tend to make you shoot in a more hasty fashion. Zooms can sometimes be impatient and lacks 'personality'.

Primes on the other hand, tend to make you work for a picture. It does not allow you to 'take the easy way out', so to speak.

Zoom lenses tend to make the photographer more pre-disposed to taking an image as opposed to making an image. How do I explain this?

If you have always used and zoom lens and seldom used a prime, you will no doubt have this habit:

- You see a scene in front of you that you want to take some pictures of. You raise your camera to your eyes and then you zoom in and out trying to find a frame to shoot.

That's taking an image. Not making one.

If you had a prime, you know you cannot zoom. You see a scene in front of you and you begin to think. How can I get this image here inside the frame? Do you want to show everything? Or will part of it suffice? What angle will work the best? You begin to 'look' for a picture before you even raise the camera to your eye. When you have a rough outline of what kind of picture you want, you then move yourself into position to get that image.

That's making an image.

The difference? When you are out making an image, you have to have a picture of the final result in your head (at least roughly) before you press the shutter. When you are taking an image, you just zoom in and out until something looks good and you press the shutter. There's no pre-conceptualized image in your head.

Does it matter? That depends. If you're happy just to click away and have images that is sharp, clear and noise-free, then it matters little. If you want to tell a story or show something a little differently, then it makes a world of difference.

For that reason, I think that every photographer should learn to live with using just prime lenses before opting for zooms. Especially premium zooms with constant aperture. Once you have learned the basics of photography with the 18-55mm kit lens, ditch it for a 28mm or 30mm prime if you're on APS-C, a 50mm prime if you're on full frame and shoot with that for an extended period before deciding on your next lens purchase.

You can get a 28mm/30mm/50mm prime for less than RM800 and I believe it would be the best investment you can make.

Do you agree or disagree? State your reasons why and let's discuss.
QUOTE(Braynumb @ May 3 2010, 04:00 PM)
From my POV, having a prime is a good thing to teach you about framing and finding a good angle for the picture you're about to take/make. Better yet, you can use a M42 Prime lens to teach you about focus too! But you have to remember that some photographers, even pros, don't have time to change lens from a certain focal length to another. If you're a nature/wildlife photographer, then it's a different thing.

Imagine yourself as journalism/event/fashion photographer, during and event or shooting for a story, they don't have the time or liberty to change lens every few moment coz every shot is precious to them coz it's their bread and butter. That's why fixed aperture zoom lens is their choice of lens. And for me, I'd go with the Fixed aperture Zoom rather than a prime. A few prime would be ok during a wedding shoot though... biggrin.gif
Couldn't agree more!!! Good Point Shookk. I have to agree i tend to become "lazy" when using a zoom lens... the photos will turn out.. "typical"... something u will see in newspaper... just for the sake of capturing the event... but not in a creative way. I will tend to shoot MORE than i need to when using zoom lens.. n realise that i crop a lot during editing just to make the photos less boring. whistling.gif Thats why i have decided instead of bring my 1750F2.8 lens to my trip, I choose to just bring my 50mm prime + UWA (11-16 im refering d tokina i target to buy) ... I think I will be spending too much time figure what focal length i wan to shoot if i use a zoom lens during my trip. Even the UWA also considering almost fix since 11-16 really not much difference.

But is undeniable that zoom lens works most jobs... reporters .. sports photography etc. when it is crucial to get the subject captured... Editor will probably be on fire if u submit a photo of a football star in action ... but without his head tongue.gif

in my opinion.. for creative work. Studio photos, graphic, or just hobby purpose.. Fix prime is good. To get the job done for commercial use (less creativity required)... zoom lens probably still win.

Kul | Mo0
post May 3 2010, 05:36 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

hazril : Should be the most basic RS-4 only la. (:

clivengu : Thought of upgrading bag lo. XD
clivengu
post May 3 2010, 05:40 PM

1,850 posts

A quick thought of the day:

A700 + 35mm F1.4G vs A850 + 50mm F1.4 (picture quality , value?)

Can these 2 combination be compared side by side?
Which will u choose lets say u already own A700 and the 50mm F1.4. Both A850 and 35mm F1.4G i think has almost similar price.. rm 5500++ laugh.gif
Kul | Mo0
post May 3 2010, 05:42 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

A850 + 50mm f1.4 , Sigma HSM version. XD

This post has been edited by Kul | Mo0: May 3 2010, 05:42 PM
lwliam
post May 3 2010, 05:44 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

hazril, we lost our bets to each other d.. Mo0 tak perlu sampai 2 bulan sudah pre-haul dah... brows.gif flex.gif
vikingw2k
post May 3 2010, 05:45 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ May 3 2010, 05:40 PM)

Which will u choose lets say u already own A700 and the 50mm F1.4. Both A850 and 35mm F1.4G i think has almost similar price.. rm 5500++  laugh.gif
I'll take A850 + Siggy 50mm f1.4 HSM anytime. It's ff yo and the A700 is already like ancient body waiting to be replaced. biggrin.gif
Kul | Mo0
post May 3 2010, 05:46 PM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

lwliam & hazril : Wakakakaka losers! XD Either just get the R-strap or sell off flipside and add another amazing topup value for a Think Tank Streetwalker Pro. XD

Added on May 3, 2010, 5:46 pmvikingw2k : Great minds think alike. XD

This post has been edited by Kul | Mo0: May 3 2010, 05:46 PM
hazril
post May 3 2010, 05:51 PM

.: This Is Brazil! :.
3,070 posts

QUOTE(lwliam @ May 3 2010, 05:44 PM)
hazril, we lost our bets to each other d.. Mo0 tak perlu sampai 2 bulan sudah pre-haul dah... brows.gif flex.gif
well,the person who told us that he wont haul for this year should belanja us mcd...correct or not will...??? brows.gif

a850 or wait for a700 replacement...???
vikingw2k
post May 3 2010, 05:54 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 05:46 PM)
vikingw2k : Great minds think alike. XD
The 35mm f1.4 is a lousy and soft crappy lens. Siggy pwn that lens anytime. Hence I would suggest A850 considering it's ff.

QUOTE(hazril @ May 3 2010, 05:51 PM)

a850 or wait for a700 replacement...???
A850 anytime, A700 replacement will still be a cropped sensor. Might as well take a bigger hop straight to ff rather than the same cropped sensor again.
lwliam
post May 3 2010, 05:58 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ May 3 2010, 05:54 PM)
The 35mm f1.4 is a lousy and soft crappy lens. Siggy pwn that lens anytime. Hence I would suggest A850 considering it's ff.
A850 anytime, A700 replacement will still be a cropped sensor. Might as well take a bigger hop straight to ff rather than the same cropped sensor again.
i 2nd that...

hazril, yea... let's wait for our McD supper, someone belanja... brows.gif
clivengu
post May 3 2010, 05:59 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ May 3 2010, 05:42 PM)
A850 + 50mm f1.4 , Sigma HSM version. XD
The Sigma 50mm F1.4 is very heavy n bulky.. but i heard review says the sharpness wide open is better than the sony version right?

QUOTE(lwliam @ May 3 2010, 05:44 PM)
HAHAHHAA.. PRE-haul.. i like tat.. no need 2bulan.. tak sampai 2 minggu.

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ May 3 2010, 05:45 PM)
I'll take A850 + Siggy 50mm f1.4 HSM anytime. It's ff yo and  the A700 is already like ancient body waiting to be replaced. biggrin.gif
I don think im ready to move to Fullframe yet... I still havent feel the urge to upgrade as i think my A700 still can fullfill my need at the moment... By upgrading to fullframe i believe it cant help me improve my photography much. I rather spend on lens that can help me achieve something differently. I could have stick with A700 for a while.

My only thought is that... the 50mm on fullframe is just such excellent focal length. I WISH i have that focal length prime f1.4 on my apsc body as a walkaround lens. but the 35mm F1.4G is bloody expensive... so much more expensive than the 50mm~~
MechaHerc
post May 3 2010, 05:59 PM

アルファ ソニ
1,967 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ May 3 2010, 05:40 PM)

Which will u choose lets say u already own A700 and the 50mm F1.4. Both A850 and 35mm F1.4G i think has almost similar price.. rm 5500++  laugh.gif
cant bro..

even the focal lenght is about same but DOF is different.. u need 35mm F0.9 (lol) for that.. *thanks to albert fo this biggrin.gif
ieR
post May 3 2010, 06:00 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ May 3 2010, 12:11 PM)
In an effort to make the thread more photography related without yakking about hauls and wishlists and going OT, I have a topic up for debate. Hope you guys can put in your 2 cents worth...  biggrin.gif
Taking an image or making an image?
Nowadays, zoom lenses are all the rage. No photography forums lack any mention about lenses like the 24-70 f2.8 or the 70-200 f2.8 lenses. Then there's the 16-35mm or the 11-18mm.

There's nothing wrong with these lenses of course but I feel that zooms tend to make you shoot in a more hasty fashion. Zooms can sometimes be impatient and lacks 'personality'.

Primes on the other hand, tend to make you work for a picture. It does not allow you to 'take the easy way out', so to speak.

Zoom lenses tend to make the photographer more pre-disposed to taking an image as opposed to making an image. How do I explain this?

If you have always used and zoom lens and seldom used a prime, you will no doubt have this habit:

- You see a scene in front of you that you want to take some pictures of. You raise your camera to your eyes and then you zoom in and out trying to find a frame to shoot.

That's taking an image. Not making one.

If you had a prime, you know you cannot zoom. You see a scene in front of you and you begin to think. How can I get this image here inside the frame? Do you want to show everything? Or will part of it suffice? What angle will work the best? You begin to 'look' for a picture before you even raise the camera to your eye. When you have a rough outline of what kind of picture you want, you then move yourself into position to get that image.

That's making an image.

The difference? When you are out making an image, you have to have a picture of the final result in your head (at least roughly) before you press the shutter. When you are taking an image, you just zoom in and out until something looks good and you press the shutter. There's no pre-conceptualized image in your head.

Does it matter? That depends. If you're happy just to click away and have images that is sharp, clear and noise-free, then it matters little. If you want to tell a story or show something a little differently, then it makes a world of difference.

For that reason, I think that every photographer should learn to live with using just prime lenses before opting for zooms. Especially premium zooms with constant aperture. Once you have learned the basics of photography with the 18-55mm kit lens, ditch it for a 28mm or 30mm prime if you're on APS-C, a 50mm prime if you're on full frame and shoot with that for an extended period before deciding on your next lens purchase.

You can get a 28mm/30mm/50mm prime for less than RM800 and I believe it would be the best investment you can make.

Do you agree or disagree? State your reasons why and let's discuss.
LOL, it like another discussion, using burst mode are noobs, using singleshot drive and manually burst with ur finger tapping are Pro.... so, use manual!

shootkk: (or anyone else): shootkk, this is not directly to u, but just MY Opinion (u can choose to ignore)...

to me, those mumbo jumbo talk and discussion are pure crap, its just talk to make u sound smarter, not shoot better. there is no right or wrong in photographing or making painting shooting editing tak'ing' or creat'ing', magically appear'ing' or anyth'ing' to do with a photo.

the arguement saying u use prime u are better? or more pro, or better learning or 'classified' u as better? that is big BS to me. i do not expect myself to swap 200mm, to 85mm or 35 then 20mm during a wedding job. does that makes me a noob(ok not so harsh, but 'taking') a picture?

journalism may use prime* but of all journalism photo i see, non are super nice(iq) as those shoot for advert in mag by zoom lens. how to justify?

coming back a little to the discussion point, zoom lens gave people versatile, not title of 'taking a picture', technology is so wonderful, use it... impossible u know u have 7fps, u go use single shoot drive and manually use ur hand to burst because using fps is noob mode? tongue.gif alright...

(my opinion of primes is they can get better aperture then standard zoom, although tech had let zoom caught up with F2.8(up to 200mm)... prime is when i do need the aperture below F2.0)

okay, serious talk here: there are people, who are experienced (who i like to call pro) knows a 'zoom lens' like knowing their wife... coz, when using a 24-70 F2.8(lets say), when shooting a subject, they know how much they need to zoom (distance vs zoom plays a role in determine DOF without changing aperture) and still walks in front to compose with the 'zoom' then set the appropriate required aperture (dof) to shoot... , like i said before, zoom are versatile, many learners might just did what u quote, "you just zoom in and out until something looks good" but how many would next think about the DOF appearing to the result? who many would turn down to F8 to shoot at 50mm?(so u get the subject, perhaps small or big but near to be sharp)

prime or zoom lens do not give u(not u shootkk) right to brand people...

*edit; eh, i check there is not [ spoiler] in my reply, but why is my reply spoilered? lol
*edit: fixed, thanks to the mod who helped... wink.gif

This post has been edited by ieR: May 3 2010, 06:13 PM

125 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:22 PM